Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC ELDORADO - 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 80 complaints filed for the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (4) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (2) Structure (2) Visibility (8)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/17/2014 - SPRING HILL, FL
FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM WAS SPRAYING FUEL ONTO HOT ENGINE (INCIDENT OCCURRED ON 11/17/10, AND REPAIRED AT LOCAL CERTIFIED REPAIR CENTER.) NHTSA RECALL #04V110000/GM RECALL NO. 41921. OWNER WAS NEVER NOTIFIED OF RCALL. THE RECALL BEGAN ON 06/02/04 FOR 1996-1997 OLDSMOBILE AND 1996-1997 AURORA VEHICLES. OWNERS OF 1995 CADILLACS AND OLDSMOBILE AURORA'S WERE SENT LETTERS ON 08/06/04. NO MENTION OF 1996 CADILLAC EL DORADO ! CADILLAC DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO REIMBURSE OWNER FOR REPAIR, EVEN THOUGH ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION HAS BEEN PROVIDED TO THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/31/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
ON OUR WAY TO A FAMILY FUNERAL BELLS STARTED GOING OFF AND LIGHTS FLASHING. MY HUSBAND HAD PUT IN A NEW ENGINE FROM ONE STOP AUTO DON'T KNOW WHY. WHEN WE CAME BACK FROM VIRGINIA I TOOK THE CAR TO MY MECHANIC HE DIDN'T WANT TO DO ANYTHING TO IT. HE BELIEVED THE BRAIN AND THE ENGINE WASN'T COMMUNICATING. MY HUSBAND SUGGESTED WE TAKE THE CAR TO CHESAPEAKE CADILLAC IN COCKEYSVILLE WHERE HE USUALLY BUY HIS CAR FROM. WHEN WE WENT INTO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT MY HUSBAND AND THE SERVICE PERSON [XXX] NEW EACH OTHER BECAUSE HE WOULD TAKE HIS CAR THERE FOR SERVICE. WE ALSO TOLD THEM WE BELIEVED THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE CAR. MY HUSBAND ALSO TOLD HIM TO DEAL WITH ME BECAUSE THE CAR WAS GIVEN TO ME. AND WE WERE SEPARATED AND HE WAS MOVING NOT TO SEND ANYTHING TO HIS OLD ADDRESS BUT TO TALK TO ME. WHEN I WOULD CALL [XXX] TO ASK ABOUT THE VEHICLE HE MADE IT SOUND LIKE SOMETHING SUSPICIOUS WAS GOING ON WITH THE CAR. HE TOLD ME TO TELL MY HUSBAND TO CALL HIM AND I ASKED HIM TO TELL ME WHAT WAS GOING ON WAS THE CAR READY. IT WAS ONLY TAKEN THERE FOR DIAGNOSTIC SO I COULD TAKE THE CAR BACK TO WHERE THE ENGINE WAS PUT IN JUST NEEDED CONFIRMATION. [XXX] NEVER TOLD ME THE CAR WAS DONE AND I COULD PICK IT UP. THEY SEND INFORMATION TO MY HUSBAND OLD ADDRESS NOT TO ME SINCE HE DIDN'T RESPOND AND I DIDN'T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE [XXX] NEVER TOLD ME IT WAS READY. AND IT WAS READY NOR DID HE TELL ME THEY SEND INFO TO MY HUSBAND. THEY TOLD ME TO STORIES THEY GAVE IT TO A JUNK YARD BUT THEY WOULDN'T GIVE THEM ANYTHING BECAUSE THE CAR WAS A PIECE OF JUNK. THE OTHER WAS THAT THEY HAD FIXED IT AND I NEVER CAME TO PAY FOR IT. WHEN I CALLED AND TOLD [XXX] THAT I WAS COMING TO PICK THE CAR UP HE TOLD ME TO HOLD ON TO SEE IF THE CAR WAS ON THE LOT. HE CAME BACK AND ASKED ME IF I HAD ALREADY PICKED THE CAR UP. I TOLD THEM ABOUT THE RECALL. THEY TOOK MY CAR FROM ME. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/5/2013 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
STRONG GAS SMELL INSIDE CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2012 - MARTINSVILLE , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, HE NOTICED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS WERE FLASHING BEFORE COMPLETELY FAILING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND BUT PROVIDED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 61,200.

View Details

WHEELS

2/20/2010 - DRY FORK, VA
TIRES LEAKING AT RIM. FIRST NOTICED IN 2008. REPAIRED BY WALMART BY "GLUING TIRE TO RIM" (MY WORDS). LASTED ABOUT 1.5 YEARS. NOW TWO TIRES LEAKING AT RIM ON 1996 ELDORADO. AFTER RESEARCH I UNDERSTAND THAT THE PROBLEM IS CORROSION IN THE ALLOY (CHROME) WHEEL. GM'S RECOMMENDATION IS TO REPLACE THE WHEEL. THIS IS BIG BUCKS FOR 4 WHEELS (ABOUT $1500).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

8/22/2008 - BAKERSFIELD , CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. THE CONTACT SMELLED GASOLINE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND TOOK IT TO A REPAIR SHOP. THE MECHANIC DISCOVERED THAT THE FUEL LINE COVERING CRACKED AND CAUSED FUEL TO LEAK. THE FUEL LINES WILL BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 04V110000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY HOSES, LINES PIPING, AND FITTINGS). THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 26,109.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/28/2008 - WASILLA, AK
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER MALFUNCTIONED. THE ENTIRE INSTRUMENT PANEL IS INOPERABLE, EXCEPT FOR THE SPEEDOMETER AND ODOMETER. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER WILL GO BLANK, WHICH CAUSES A LOSS OF GAUGE FUNCTIONALITY EXCEPT FOR THE ABS, SIR, PARK BRAKE, AND SERVICE ENGINE SOON INDICATORS. THE DEALER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 95V224000 (EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 103,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 103,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

4/10/2008 - SUISUN, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED DIFFICULTY STARTING HIS VEHICLE FOR A COUPLE OF MONTHS. WHEN HE WAS FINALLY ABLE TO START IT, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS NOT WORKING. THE LOCAL DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT BELIEVES THAT HIS VIN SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 95V224000 (EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL). THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THEY WERE UNFAMILIAR WITH THIS RECALL. THE POWERTRAIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000 AND APPROXIMATE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 155,000.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL

2/28/2008 - ANACORTES, WA
1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO ELECTRICAL FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. CONSUMER STATED THAT HE WILL LOSE GAUGES, AUTO HEADLIGHTS, WARNING LAMPS, AND TURN SIGNAL INDICATORS. HE SAYS THIS FAILURE USUALLY OCCURS ON THE FREEWAY. THE CONSUMER STATED EVERYTHING BLINKED AND FLASHED AS IF A SWITCH WAS BEING RAPIDLY TURNED ON AND OFF. AFTER 2 MINUTES EVERYTHING WENT BLACK. THE CONSUMER LOCATED A RECALL REGARDING THE PROBLEM HE EXPERIENCED, HOWEVER CADILLAC INFORMED HIM, THAT HIS VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER WAS OUTSIDE OF THE PRODUCTION DATE. RECALL# 95V224000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/17/2007 - CONCORD TOWNSHIP, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 30-65 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE LIGHTS FUNCTIONED NORMALLY TWO MINUTES AFTER THE FAILURES. THE FAILURES ONLY OCCURRED IN THE WINTER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE MODULE (PART NUMBER 16214848) AND THE BATTERY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 95V224000 (EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds