Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC ELDORADO - 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 81 complaints filed for the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Equipment (4) Power Train (2) Structure (2) Visibility (8)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

12/17/2007 - CONCORD TOWNSHIP, OH
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 30-65 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS AND INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE LIGHTS FUNCTIONED NORMALLY TWO MINUTES AFTER THE FAILURES. THE FAILURES ONLY OCCURRED IN THE WINTER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE MODULE (PART NUMBER 16214848) AND THE BATTERY; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 95V224000 (EQUIPMENT:ELECTRICAL). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 31,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

12/13/2006 - DETROIT, MI
ON NOVEMBER 22 2006, I BROUGHT FOUR TIRES (SUMITOMO 225 40Z18 SU HTRII 8) FROM SEARS AT FAIRLANE TOWN CENTER IN DEARBORN MICHIGAN. I BELIEVE THAT THE INSTALLER OF THE TIRE AT SEARS WAS AWARE OF THE BUBBLE. I WOULD NOT HAVE NOTICE THE BUBBLE UPON INSPECTION OF THE VEHICLE AT SEARS BECAUSE IT IS DARK IN THEIR SERVICE AREA. THE BUBBLE IS HARD TO SEE EVEN IN SUNLIGHT. A FEW DAYS (NOVEMBER 26 2006) LATER I NOTICED A BUBBLE IN THE SIDEWALL OF MY RIGHT FRONT TIRE. IT LOOKED LIKE A SEPARATION OF THE BELT WITHIN THE TIRE. I SHOWED MY FRIEND. HE AGREED AND TOLD ME TO TAKE IT BACK TO SEARS. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO SEARS ON DECEMBER 6 2006. THE AUTO CENTER SERVICE MANAGER SAID THAT THE BUBBLE WAS CAUSED BY A POT HOLE. I TOLD HIM THAT I HAD NOT HIT ANYTHING. HE WAS ADAMANT ABOUT HIS POSITION. HE GAVE ME A NUMBER FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. CUSTOMER SERVICE CALLED THAT SAME MANAGER AND WHEN CUSTOMER SERVICE CALLED ME THEY HAD AGREED WITH THE MANAGER AND SAID THEY CANNOT HELP ME. I CALLED THE MANUFACTURER OF THE TIRE AND LEFT A MESSAGE, A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE MANUFACTURER CONTACTED ME, I EXPLAINED THE SITUATION TO THE REPRESENTATIVE. HE CALLED THE AUTO SERVICE MANAGER AND HE (REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE TIRE MANUFACTURER) ALSO AGREED WITH THE MANAGER. THE REPRESENTATIVE SAID, " THE TIRE IS NOT UNDER A WARRANTY AND MY PROBLEM IS BETWEEN YOU AND SEARS". I RESEARCHED THE INTERNET FOR COMPLAINTS OR PROBLEMS WITH THIS TYPE OF TIRES. I READ OVER 484 REVIEWS ON THIS TIRES AND I FOUND SEVERAL SIMILAR OR THE SAME COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME TIRE. I WOULD LIKE FOR A TIRE EXPERT TO LOOK AT MY TIRE. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THESE TIRES AND THE MANUFACTURER IS REFUSING TO ADMIT THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THESE TIRES.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

10/23/2006 - EADS, TN
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD LEAK INTERMITTENTLY WHILE PARKED OR DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO REPLACED THE FUEL RAIL OF THE GAS TANK AS A RECALL BUT THE PART WAS DEFECTIVE AND DID NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER'S VEHICLE DEVELOPED ANOTHER LEAK, HOWEVER THE DEALER STATED THE RECALL PROBLEM AND THE SECONS PROBLEM WERE NOT RELATED. UPDATED 12/01/06.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2006 - TUCSON, AZ
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHICH REPAIRED THE ANALOG INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER TO FIX THE STARTING FAILURE. THE DASH LIGHT FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING 35MPH AND AT NIGHT. THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL, # 95V224000. THE VEHICLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL; HOWEVER IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE VIN.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

2/16/2006 - TUCSON, AZ
: THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START AND THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP WHICH REPAIRED THE ANALOG INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER TO FIX THE STARTING FAILURE. THE DASH LIGHT FAILURE OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING 35MPH AND AT NIGHT. THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL, # 95V224000. THE VEHICLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL; HOWEVER IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE VIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2005 - OZARK, AL
DT:THE CONTACT COMPLAINED ABOUT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. THERE WAS NHTSA RECALL 95V224000. CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER, AND THEY STATED THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN. THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED TWICE. ON BOTH OCCASIONS THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN. THE INDICATOR LIGHTS CAME ON STATING SECURITY SYSTEM DEFAULT. THE VEHICLE RAN FINE UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. IT WOULD NOT RESTART. THE INDICATOR LIGHTS CAME BACK ON "STATING SYSTEM DISABLED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AT COST ON THE FIRST OCCASION IN 2003. NOW IT HAS TO BE REPAIRED AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/25/2005 - WINCHESTER, VA
IP GOES DARK. ENGINE STOPS RUNNING. WILL NOT START. CAR TOWED TO DEALER. PROBLEM WAS A SHORTED FUEL SENDER WIRE WITH A GROUND WIRE INSIDE THE FUEL TANK. BULKHEAD CONNECTOR WAS MELTED. THIS FAILURE COULD HAVE CAUSED AN EXPLOSION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

5/13/2005 - PROSPECT PARK, NJ
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC REPLACED THE FRONT AND REAR BRAKE ROTORS. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED, BUT MECHANIC COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM . ALSO, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD, AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. HOWEVER, MECHANIC COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM .

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

5/13/2005 - PROSPECT PARK, NJ
WHILE APPLYING THE BRAKE PEDAL VEHICLE FAILED TO STOP. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION, AND MECHANIC REPLACED THE FRONT AND REAR BRAKE ROTORS. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM RECURRED, BUT MECHANIC COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM . ALSO, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED ON THE DASHBOARD, AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION. HOWEVER, MECHANIC COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

11/18/2004 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHT FAILED TO COME ON. THE LIGHTS WOULD COME ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY. CONSUMER WAS ABLE TO CONTACT THE DEALER. RECALL 95V224000 CONCERNING INTERIOR SYSTEMS INSTRUMENT PANEL ELECTRONIC MESSAGE WAS ISSUED. HOWEVER, THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN. CONSUMER HAD TO PAY FOR PARTS AND LABOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds