Auto Recalls for Consumers

CADILLAC ELDORADO - 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 81 complaints filed for the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Interior Lighting (1) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Equipment (4) Power Train (2) Structure (2) Visibility (8)
Electrical System (22) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Wheels (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Tires (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DRUM: SHOES/LININGS

10/27/2004 - WASHINGTON, DC
CONSUMER CLAIMED THAT VEHICLE LOST THE BRAKES, AND THE BRAKE LINES RUSTED. CONSUMER CONTACTED THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER, AND NEITHER WAS WILLING TO DO ANYTHING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/15/2004 - RIVERSIDE, CA
NHTSA RECALL 04V110000 REGARDING FUEL RAIL TUBING. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP FOR THE RECALL. SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED CONSUMER THAT IN ORDER FOR THEM TO PERFORM REPAIRS THEY WOULD HAVE TO PERFORM WORK ON THE THROTTLE BODY, AND IT WOULD COST CONSUMER $690.00. CONSUMER INFORMED MANAGER THAT HE WANTED VEHICLE BACK, AND THAT HE WOULD TAKE IT TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. HOWEVER, MANAGER ADVISED CONSUMER THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $96.00 FOR THEM TO PUT BACK THE VEHICLE TOGETHER.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: FUEL RAIL

10/15/2004 - RIVERSIDE, CA
NHTSA RECALL 04V110000 REGARDING FUEL RAIL TUBING. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALERSHIP FOR THE RECALL. SERVICE MANAGER INFORMED CONSUMER THAT IN ORDER FOR THEM TO PERFORM REPAIRS THEY WOULD HAVE TO PERFORM WORK ON THE THROTTLE BODY, AND IT WOULD COST CONSUMER $690.00. CONSUMER INFORMED MANAGER THAT HE WANTED VEHICLE BACK, AND THAT HE WOULD TAKE IT TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. HOWEVER, MANAGER ADVISED CONSUMER THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $96.00 FOR THEM TO PUT BACK THE VEHICLE TOGETHER.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/13/2004 - BUENA PARK, CA
CRACKING OF FUEL RAIL OR RETURN LINE TUBING CAN RESULT IN FUEL LEAK. THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED A FIRE IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. RECALL FOR FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:DELIVERY:HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS # 04V110000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/20/2004 - GOODLETTSVILLE, TN
WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE CONSUMER NOTICED THAT OIL WAS LEAKING FROM UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THE MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE OIL PAN GASKET WAS REPLACED.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL

6/14/2004 - VINELAND, NJ
COMPLAINT REGARDING RECALL 95V224000: ANALOG INSTRUMENT CLUSTER DEFECT. THERE WERE PROBLEMS WITH THE CLIMATE CONTROL, ODOMETER, GAUGES, TRUNK RELEASE, GAS DOOR RELEASE, STEERING WHEEL/RADIO CONTROLS, DOME LIGHTS AND THE "TWILIGHT SENT." THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD HIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

11/20/2003 - LANCASTER, KY
THE VEHICLE'S FUEL TANK HAS MELTED FROM THE INSIDE. AS A RESULT FUEL LEAKS FROM THE VEHICLE. PLEASE PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM: FUEL RAIL

11/4/2003 - MUSKEGON, MI
OVER POWERING GAS SMELL. LIFTED HOOD AND FOUND THERE WAS GAS ON TOP OF THE ENGINE. TOOK INTO BETTEN CADILLAC AND THEY DISCOVERED FUEL RAIL LEAKING. THEY REPLACED IT FOR $554.14. I JUST READ IN THE PAPER 11\04\03 THAT THEY NHTSA WAS THINKING OF A RECALL. I WOULD SAY "YES" AS WE WERE AFRAID TO DRIVE OUR CAR IN FEAR OF FIRE. WE HAVE A 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO VIN # [XXX]. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

11/4/2003 - HIGHLAND, CA
FUEL LEAK, PIN HOLE IN FUEL LINE, ABOVE ENGINE, SPRAYING GASOLINE ON ENGINE, 1996 CADILLAC ELDORADO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/12/2003 - CLOVIS, CA
AFTER SITTING IN A PARKING LOT WHILE I WENT INTO THE BANK FOR 15-20 MIN. I GOT INTO MY CAR AND STARTED THE ENGINE. I HEARD A "POP", PULLED FORWARD ABOUT 10 TO 15 FEET WHEN I STARTED TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING. I LOOKED DOWN AT THE GAUGES AND EVERYTHING LOOKED OFF. WHEN I LOOKED BACK UP I SAW BLACK SMOKE COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. I THEN TURNED TO MY DAUGHTER AND TOLD HER TO GET OUT OF THE CAR AND GET AWAY FROM IT. BY THAT TIME FLAMES WERE COMING OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. WE BOTH GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND CALLED 911. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED THE FIRE HAD GOTTEN IN SIDE THE CAR AND CRACKED ALL THE WINDOWS. THE FIREMAN SMASHED THE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW TO GET TO THE HOOD RELEASE BUT THE CABLE HAD ALREADY BEEN BURNED AND THE RELEASE DID NOT WORK. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO PRY THE HOOD OF THE CAR OFF. BY THIS TIME THE CAR WAS IN FLAMES FROM THE DOORS FORWARD. THE CAR IS NOW A TOTAL LOSS. MY HUSBAND SUSPECT A FUEL SUPPLY LINE HAD DISCONNECTED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds