Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK LESABRE - 1997 BUICK LESABRE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 413 complaints filed for the 1997 BUICK LESABRE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 BUICK LESABRE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 BUICK LESABRE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Exterior Lighting (9) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (33) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (40) Fuel System Gasoline (43) Seat Belts (23) Structure (16) Visibility (30)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (2) Suspension (20) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (127) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes (1) Tires (15) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2018 - VINTON, VA
THE HORN WILL SOUND WITHOUT PRESSING THE HORN BUTTON(S) WHEN THE CAR IS IN MOTION OR UNOCCUPIED. THIS OCCURS WHEN THE WEATHER IS COLD. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ONLINE AND IT IS APPARENTLY AN ISSUE FOR MANY OWNERS. PART OF THE AIR BAG CONTRACTS DURING THE WINTER MONTHS PRESSING ON PART OF THE HORN BUTTON. THE ONLY WAY TO SHUT IT OFF IS TO PULL THE HORN FUSE. I AM CONCERNED THIS MAY LEAD TO AN ELECTRICAL FIRE IF THE HORN SOUNDS FOR TOO LONG OR AN AIR BAG MALFUNCTION. ALSO, THE VEHICLE HAS TO BE DRIVEN WITHOUT THE ABILITY TO USE THE HORN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/21/2018 - VINTON, VA
THE HORN WILL SOUND WITHOUT PRESSING THE HORN BUTTON(S) WHEN THE CAR IS IN MOTION OR UNOCCUPIED. THIS OCCURS WHEN THE WEATHER IS COLD. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS ONLINE AND IT IS APPARENTLY AN ISSUE FOR MANY OWNERS. PART OF THE AIR BAG CONTRACTS DURING THE WINTER MONTHS PRESSING ON PART OF THE HORN BUTTON. THE ONLY WAY TO SHUT IT OFF IS TO PULL THE HORN FUSE. I AM CONCERNED THIS MAY LEAD TO AN ELECTRICAL FIRE IF THE HORN SOUNDS FOR TOO LONG OR AN AIR BAG MALFUNCTION. ALSO, THE VEHICLE HAS TO BE DRIVEN WITHOUT THE ABILITY TO USE THE HORN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2018 - BALTIMORE, MD
TRANSMISSION SHUDDERS BETWEEN 30 TO 40 MPH. ALSO AT 50 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. HAVE BEEN TOLD MAY NEED TRANSMISSION. CAR ONLY HAS 56,000 MILES. TRANSMISSION FLUID HAS BEEN DRAINED. DID NOT HELP. PLEASE ADVISE

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

10/19/2017 - HONOMU, HI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 BUICK LESABRE. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH FAILED TO HOOK AND LOCK, WHICH CAUSED THE DOOR TO OPEN. THE DOOR AJAR WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000. UPDATED 8/1/18

View Details

ENGINE

7/26/2017 - MARSEILLES, IL
WE WERE DRIVING AND HEARD IT MISSING AND IT STARTED OVERHEATING, SO WE PUT MORE WATER IN AND DECIDED TO COME HOME. SO WHEN WE TURNED AROUND IT DIED 2X THEN THE CYLINDERS LOCKED UP AND IT WOULDNT START. WHEN WE GOT HOME MY HUSBAND FOUND WATER IN THE INTAKE AND THE OIL. SO WE REPLACED THE INTAKE GASKET AND PUT IT BACK TOGETHER AND IT DID IT AGAIN, BUT THEN IT MADE A LOUD NOISE AND WE FOUND THAT THE BAR CONNECTION THE PISTON TO THE CRANK SHAFT BUSTED. THE CAR ONLY HAS 103,K MILES ON IT.. DONT UNDERSTAND HOW ITS EVEN POSSIBLE. THE ONLY OTHER PERSON THAT OWNED IT WAS AN OLD GUY. WE ONLY PUT 300MILES ON IT WHEN THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/21/2017 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
INTAKE MANIFOLD FAILED WATER LEAKED INTERNALLY INTO COMBUSTION CHAMBER CAUSING HYDROLOCKING OF ENGINE. UPON RESEARCHING CAUSATIVE ACTIONS I FIND THAT GENERAL MOTORS IS AWARE OF THIS DEFECT AND HAS REDESIGNED THE FAULTY PARTS BUT DISAVOW ANY CULPABILITY EVEN THOUGH A CONSCIENTIOUS OWNER WHO PROPERLY MAINTAINS THE VEHICLE CANNOT KNOW WHAT IS TRANSPIRING INSIDE A COMPOSITE MATERIALS INTAKE MANIFOLD,MANY HAVE BEEN KNOWN TO BURST INTO A FIRE AND DESTROY THE VEHICLES. ONE WOULD TEND TO BELIEVE THIS TO BE A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY THREAT THAT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED IN A RECALL TO REPLACE THIS RECOGNIZED FAILURE OF SIGNIFICANT NUMBERS,I THAT WOULD WARRANT MANUFACTURERS REPLACEMENT TO PROVIDE SAFE TRANSPORTATION. BY THE GRACE OF GOD I NOTED THE VEHICLE ACTING UP AND RETURNED HOME JUST AS THE ENGINE QUIT AND NOW IS HYDROLOCKING DUE TO COOLANT FILLING COMBUSTION CYLINDERS.

View Details

STEERING

11/30/2016 - SAINT CLOUD, MN
SUB FRAME IS COMPLETELY ROATED OUT ON THE BACK DRIVE. COMPLETE SAFTY HAZARD NEEDS RECALL

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2016 - SAINT CLOUD, MN
SUB FRAME IS COMPLETELY ROATED OUT ON THE BACK DRIVE. COMPLETE SAFTY HAZARD NEEDS RECALL

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/30/2016 - SAINT CLOUD, MN
SUB FRAME IS COMPLETELY ROATED OUT ON THE BACK DRIVE. COMPLETE SAFTY HAZARD NEEDS RECALL

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/17/2016 - WORCESTER, MA
THE SUB FRAME BUSHING IS COMPLETELY ROTTED. DAY IT WAS SOLD TO ME PASSED INSPECTION BUT ON CAR FAX IT FAILED SAFETY INSPECTION? IT CRACKS AND CREAKS WHEN TURNING LEFT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds