Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 418 complaints filed for the 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (2) Other (10) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (28)
Child Seat (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (110) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (53) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (56) Steering (115) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Seat Belts (7) Structure (4) Visibility (37)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Fuel System Other (7) Seats (5) Suspension (21) Wheels (2)
Equipment (7) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/14/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
MY 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN C-2500 IS LEAKING OIL FROM UNDERNEATH THE ENGINE AND MAKING ENGINE VERY "HOT". THIS HAPPENS WHEN I'M DRIVING THIS VEHICLE.I TOUCH THE ENGINE HOOD AND FEEL THAT IT'S VERY, VERY HOT. I JUST WENT HOME TO PREVENT ANY FIRE OR ACCIDENT. MY MECHANIC SAID IT'S NOT ORDINARY FOR THIS HEAVY DUTY TRUCK TO LEAK OIL WITH ONLY 77,000 MILES. I NEED YOU TO INVESTIGATE MY PROBLEM AND CONTACT GM. YOU CAN EMAIL ME AT [email protected] FOR AN UPDATES REGARDING THIS PROBLEMS. LOOKING FORWARD TO HEAR FROM YOU SOON. THANKS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/15/2012 - COLTS NECK, NJ
DECEMBER 2009, REPLACED RUPTURED BRAKE LINES ABOVE THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. SEVERELY RUSTED. JULY 15, 2012, RUPTURED BRAKE LINE BY THE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR BOARD AND FIRE WALL. SEVERELY RUSTED. FUEL LINES UNDER THE VEHICLE IS ALSO SEVERELY RUSTED. LEAK CAN CAUSE FIRE. BRAKE FAILURE OCCURRED DURING DRIVING ON ROAD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/15/2012 - COLTS NECK, NJ
DECEMBER 2009, REPLACED RUPTURED BRAKE LINES ABOVE THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. SEVERELY RUSTED. JULY 15, 2012, RUPTURED BRAKE LINE BY THE DRIVER SIDE FLOOR BOARD AND FIRE WALL. SEVERELY RUSTED. FUEL LINES UNDER THE VEHICLE IS ALSO SEVERELY RUSTED. LEAK CAN CAUSE FIRE. BRAKE FAILURE OCCURRED DURING DRIVING ON ROAD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/24/2011 - MILWAUKEE, WI
THE AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOYED AM VEER DISAPPOINTED MY SON WAS INJURED.

View Details

VISIBILITY

9/30/2011 - GREENFIELD, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AND WASHERS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACT AND CONFIRMED THAT REMEDY REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER:03V159000(VISIBILITY:WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER) PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE VHEICLE WAS NOT FURTHER REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 99,200.

View Details

STEERING

11/10/2009 - WAYNESBORO, VA
ERRATIC POWER STEERING ASSIST WHILE DRIVING RESULTING IN ERRATIC CONTROL AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. STARTED IN 2006 AND ENDED IN 2009. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER NUMEROUS TIMES TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/18/2008 - BETHEL PLACE, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FULLY LOADED, THE CONTACT NOTICES THAT THE VEHICLE BECOMES DIFFICULT TO STEER. HE HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC 15 TIMES AND THEY HAVE MADE NUMEROUS REPAIRS, INCLUDING VARIOUS COMPONENTS OF THE STEERING UNIT, STEERING SENSORS, ACTUATOR, AND ALSO ADDITIONS TO THE SPRINGS OF THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM. ALL OF THE REPAIRS HAVE NOT ADEQUATELY REPAIRED THE FAILURES. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS REFERRED BACK TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,464 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 86,000. UPDATED 10/08/08. UPDATED 10/10/08.

View Details

STEERING

8/18/2008 - BETHEL PLACE, PA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS FULLY LOADED, THE CONTACT NOTICES THAT THE VEHICLE BECOMES DIFFICULT TO STEER. HE HAS TAKEN THE VEHICLE TO A MECHANIC 15 TIMES AND THEY HAVE MADE NUMEROUS REPAIRS, INCLUDING VARIOUS COMPONENTS OF THE STEERING UNIT, STEERING SENSORS, ACTUATOR, AND ALSO ADDITIONS TO THE SPRINGS OF THE SUSPENSION SYSTEM. ALL OF THE REPAIRS HAVE NOT ADEQUATELY REPAIRED THE FAILURES. THE CONTACT CALLED THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS REFERRED BACK TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,464 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 86,000. UPDATED 10/08/08. UPDATED 10/10/08.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HOOD: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

8/17/2008 - ASHLAND, OH
HOOD LATCH ON 1997 CHEVY SUBURBAN KEEP FAILING, HOOD FLIES UP WHILE DRIVING. HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN TWO YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

7/30/2008 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CAR WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY. IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT IT BURST INTO FLAMES. OUR DOGS WOKE US UP. THE FIRE STARTED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. BY THE TIME THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED 7 MINUTES LATER THERE WAS NOTHING LEFT TO THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR. THE ENGINE AND UNDERSIDE OF THE CAR WERE UNDAMAGED BY THE FIRE. A TREE NEAR THE CAR ALSO CAUGHT FIRE. CHEVROLET SAID THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON OUR CAR. THEY DO NOT SEEM INTERESTED IN EXAMINING THE CAR SINCE WE SETTLED WITH OUR INSURANCE COMPANY. NEITHER THE FIRE DEPARTMENT NOR THE POLICE SUSPECT ARSON. IT WOULD APPEAR TO BE ELECTRICAL. IF THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED IN OUR GARAGE WE WOULD HAVE LOST OUR HOUSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds