Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 1997 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2768 complaints filed for the 1997 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (132) Equipment (38) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Electric (2) Trailer Hitches (2)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (34) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (236) Unknown Or Other (48)
Communications (4) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Power Train (154) Steering (212) Vehicle Speed Control (225)
Electrical System (200) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (37) Structure (226) Visibility (163)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (235) Seats (7) Suspension (213) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (334) Wheels (118)
Engine And Engine Cooling (564) Interior Lighting (25) Service Brakes Air (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 328
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/14/2017 - RUTHER GLEN, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THERE WAS A STRONG ODOR OF FUEL COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, FUEL LEAKED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND CONFIRMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V385000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 258,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/1/2017 - MALDEN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP SIGN AND ATTEMPTED TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD AND A POP SOUND EMERGED FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FOR APPROXIMATELY A HALF A BLOCK THEN THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE AND THEN THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER THAT ADVISED HIM THAT THE VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE PARTS REPLACED WERE UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 207,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/24/2017 - WOLVERINE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 68 MPH, THE CRUISE CONTROL AND WINDSHIELD WIPER BLADES STOP OPERATING, ALONG WITH THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW INADVERTENTLY OPENING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER THAT CONTROLS THE CAB NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURES PERSISTED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ANOTHER DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE NEW COMPUTER WAS NOT OPERABLE AND WAS TOLD THAT THE COMPUTER WAS ON BACK ORDER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 189,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/19/2017 - POWAY, CA
I JUST STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH MY STEERING. I WAS TURNING RIGHT AND MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND I HAD TO TUG HARD TO UNBIND AND REGAIN CONTROL OF MY TRUCK. I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT, BUT THIS JUST STARTED HAPPENING AND HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES WHILE DRIVING AND TURNING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/14/2016 - ROSEBURG, OR
LINKAGE BRACKET BROKE WONT SHIFT COMPLETELY INTO PARK WONT STRART I HAVE LOOKED THIS UP AND ALSO THE CRUSE CONTROL SWITCH LEAKS BRAKE FLUID BOTH OF THESE HAVE BEEN RECALLED BY FORD BUT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I TOO IT SAID MY VIN # WASNT ON RECALL LIST EVEN THOUGH THESE ARE BOTH ADMITTED TO BE FAULTY BY FORD HOW CAN I GET MINE REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/14/2016 - HICKORY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. WHILE LOOKING UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED SECTIONS THAT WERE RUSTED ALL THE WAY THROUGH. THE BUMPER AND STEPS NEAR THE DOORS WERE ALSO RUSTED AND SLIGHTLY DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,582.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
MY TRUCK WAS TURNED OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. A NEIGHBOR CAME TO TELL US AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO COME PUT OUT THE FIRE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/8/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
MY TRUCK WAS TURNED OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. A NEIGHBOR CAME TO TELL US AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO COME PUT OUT THE FIRE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
MY TRUCK WAS TURNED OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. A NEIGHBOR CAME TO TELL US AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO COME PUT OUT THE FIRE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/24/2016 - GRANDVIEW, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT ONE OF THE FUEL TANK STRAPS FAILED DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MANUFACTURED WITHIN THE STATE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V385000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 328
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds