Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 1997 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2764 complaints filed for the 1997 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (132) Equipment (38) Latches Locks Linkages (14) Service Brakes Electric (2) Trailer Hitches (2)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (34) Parking Brake (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (236) Unknown Or Other (48)
Communications (4) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Power Train (154) Steering (210) Vehicle Speed Control (225)
Electrical System (199) Fuel System Diesel (1) Seat Belts (37) Structure (226) Visibility (163)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (235) Seats (7) Suspension (213) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (4) Tires (334) Wheels (118)
Engine And Engine Cooling (564) Interior Lighting (25) Service Brakes Air (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 328
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/14/2016 - ROSEBURG, OR
LINKAGE BRACKET BROKE WONT SHIFT COMPLETELY INTO PARK WONT STRART I HAVE LOOKED THIS UP AND ALSO THE CRUSE CONTROL SWITCH LEAKS BRAKE FLUID BOTH OF THESE HAVE BEEN RECALLED BY FORD BUT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I TOO IT SAID MY VIN # WASNT ON RECALL LIST EVEN THOUGH THESE ARE BOTH ADMITTED TO BE FAULTY BY FORD HOW CAN I GET MINE REPAIRED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/14/2016 - HICKORY, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. WHILE LOOKING UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED SECTIONS THAT WERE RUSTED ALL THE WAY THROUGH. THE BUMPER AND STEPS NEAR THE DOORS WERE ALSO RUSTED AND SLIGHTLY DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 177,582.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
MY TRUCK WAS TURNED OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. A NEIGHBOR CAME TO TELL US AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO COME PUT OUT THE FIRE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/8/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
MY TRUCK WAS TURNED OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. A NEIGHBOR CAME TO TELL US AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO COME PUT OUT THE FIRE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2016 - SLIDELL, LA
MY TRUCK WAS TURNED OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY FOR ABOUT AN HOUR AND IT CAUGHT ON FIRE UNDER THE HOOD. A NEIGHBOR CAME TO TELL US AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO COME PUT OUT THE FIRE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/24/2016 - GRANDVIEW, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT ONE OF THE FUEL TANK STRAPS FAILED DUE TO EXCESSIVE CORROSION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT MANUFACTURED WITHIN THE STATE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 11V385000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 126,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/9/2016 - HAZEL CREST, IL
STARTED THE VEHICLE IN A PARKING LOT. THE SPARK PLUG BLEW OUT OF THE HEAD ON THE PASSENGER REAR OF THE MOTOR. TRIED THE APPROPRIATE HELICOIL REPAIR KIT BUT THERE WERE NO THREADS TO TAP INTO.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - ELMA, WA
MY FORD F150 SOMEHOW GOT WATER IN THE CYLINDER AND BENT A CONNECTING ROD AT111000 MILES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/6/2016 - JUNEAU, AK
FUEL TANK STRAPS BROKE AND FUEL TANK FELL TO THE GROUND WHILE IN MOTION AT SLOW SPEED. FUEL FILLER NECK CRACKED AND FUEL CONNECTION AND FUEL PUMP DO NOT WORK. VEHICLE IS DRIVABLE AND TEMPORARILY SUPPORTED BY STRAPS. ON MY OWN I DISCOVERED THERE WAS A RECALL FOR 1997-2004 FORD TRUCKS AND CONTACTED FORD WHO INFORMED, TO MY DISBELIEF, THAT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. FORD COULD OFFER ME NO HELP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/16/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
FUEL TANK STRAPS ARE UNDER RECALL FOR RUST AND HAVE BEEN REPLACED TO HAVE THE FUEL TANK TO START TO LEAK. THE WHOLE FUEL TANK IS RUSTED UP AND IS DANGEROUS. FORD WILL NOT REPLACE THE FUEL TANK. THERE IS A DANGER THAT THE FUEL WILL CATCH ON FIRE AND WILL BE HAZARD TO THE DRIVER AS WELL AS OTHER MOTORISTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 328
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds