Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 151 complaints filed for the 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (26) Exterior Lighting (4) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (13) Unknown Or Other (9)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Power Train (34) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Visibility (18)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2017 - LOWELL, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT NOTICED A STRONG FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A FRACTURE/CRACK IN THE FUEL TANK THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED ON JANUARY 5, 2000 PER NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: SQ00003 (FUEL CAP REPLACEMENT); HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS ALSO SERVICED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 00V095002 OR 00V095001 (FUEL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR REMAINED ILLUMINATED OVER THE PAST FOUR YEARS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/16/2016 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE ODOR OF FUEL WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO DISCOVERED FUEL LEAKING FROM THE FUEL TANK. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V095002 (FUEL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 189,000. UPDATED 04/18/17

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2016 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE ODOR OF FUEL WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO DISCOVERED FUEL LEAKING FROM THE FUEL TANK. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V095002 (FUEL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 189,000. UPDATED 04/18/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, MY CAR GOT TOTALED ON 5/18/2015,. I RECEIVED A CONCUSSION AND JOINT PAIN ALL OVER FOR MONTHS FROM A COLLISION THAT HAPPENED THIS DAY. MY AIRBAG FAILED TO DEPLOY. I WAS GOING 40 TO 45 MPH WHEN A VAN MADE A RIGHT HAND TURN IN FRONT OF ME. HER FAULT, I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKES, BUT IT WAS TOO LATE TO DO ANY GOOD. MY HEAD HIT THE STEERING WHEEL. I AM STILL HAVING PROBLEMS. I HAD NO WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. I CONTACTED NHTSA ON 5/19/15 MADE A COMPLAINT. I CALLED HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY WHO FINALLY CAME AND LOOKED AT THE CAR BEFORE IT WAS TAKEN BY THE INSURANCE, DUE TO IT BEING TOTALED. IT WOULDN'T EVEN START. HYUNDAI TOTALLY DISMISSED IT AND CONTRADICTED THEMSELVES IN THE LETTER THEY SENT ME. THEY SAID THE CAR DID WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. REALLY? I NOW HAVE POST CONCUSSION SYNDROME. PTSD. I REPLAY THIS OVER AND OVER IN MY HEAD. THERE NEEDS TO BE A CLASS ACTION AND RECALL FOR THIS. I DON'T HAVE MY VEHICLE ANYMORE BUT THE SCARS ARE STILL THERE BECAUSE OF HYUNDAI. AN AIRBAG IS SUPPOSED TO PROTECT YOU DURING A COLLISION. FAILURE TO DEPLOY IS A FAILURE AND NOT DOING WHAT IT WAS SUPPOSED TO DO. HYUNDAI HAS ALREADY RECALLED OTHER VEHICLES WITH THE SAME PROBLEM OR GLITCH. IT WON'T BE TOO LATE FOR THEM. UPDATED 9/15/15 UPDATED 12/10/2015

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/19/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TRAVELING WEST ON ADAM SHEPHERDS PKWY, I HAD A GREEN LIGHT, LADY OPPOSITE SIDE TURNED LEFT IN FRONT OF ME, RESULTED IN COLLISION. HER FAULT. WITNESSES SAID SHE HESITATED BUT WENT ANYWAY. SHE WAS SUPPOSED TO YIELD. I COULD OF BEEN KILLED! MY FRONT DUAL AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. I CAN HARDLY MOVE MY RIGHT ARM, MY BACK, MY NECK MY CHEST HURTS. I WAS TAKEN THEN TO NORTON'S EMERGENCY ROOM . I CAN'T SIT OR LAY DOWN OR STAND TOO LONG. CAN'T HOLD ON TO ANYTHING. VERY SORE, STRAINED MUSCLES AND BRUISING OF MUSCLES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TRAVELING WEST ON ADAM SHEPHERDS PKWY, I HAD A GREEN LIGHT, LADY OPPOSITE SIDE TURNED LEFT IN FRONT OF ME, RESULTED IN COLLISION. HER FAULT. WITNESSES SAID SHE HESITATED BUT WENT ANYWAY. SHE WAS SUPPOSED TO YIELD. I COULD OF BEEN KILLED! MY FRONT DUAL AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. I CAN HARDLY MOVE MY RIGHT ARM, MY BACK, MY NECK MY CHEST HURTS. I WAS TAKEN THEN TO NORTON'S EMERGENCY ROOM . I CAN'T SIT OR LAY DOWN OR STAND TOO LONG. CAN'T HOLD ON TO ANYTHING. VERY SORE, STRAINED MUSCLES AND BRUISING OF MUSCLES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
TRAVELING WEST ON ADAM SHEPHERDS PKWY, I HAD A GREEN LIGHT, LADY OPPOSITE SIDE TURNED LEFT IN FRONT OF ME, RESULTED IN COLLISION. HER FAULT. WITNESSES SAID SHE HESITATED BUT WENT ANYWAY. SHE WAS SUPPOSED TO YIELD. I COULD OF BEEN KILLED! MY FRONT DUAL AIR BAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY. I CAN HARDLY MOVE MY RIGHT ARM, MY BACK, MY NECK MY CHEST HURTS. I WAS TAKEN THEN TO NORTON'S EMERGENCY ROOM . I CAN'T SIT OR LAY DOWN OR STAND TOO LONG. CAN'T HOLD ON TO ANYTHING. VERY SORE, STRAINED MUSCLES AND BRUISING OF MUSCLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/24/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
HYUNDAI CHARGED FOR RECALL - DID NOT PERFORM RECALL. CAR STILL NOT FIXED. HYUNDAI STILL HAS THE MONEY.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/16/2012 - COVENTRY, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE PARKED, THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL ODOR. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A FRACTURE ON THE TOP OF THE FUEL TANK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE FUEL TANK. THE FAILURE OCCURRED A SECOND TIME AFTER THE REPAIR. THE FUEL TANK WAS FRACTURED IN THE SAME LOCATION. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 00V095001 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE:STORAGE:TANK ASSEMBLY), THAT MAY RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, BUT THE ORIGINAL PART WOULD HAVE TO BE AVAILABLE IN ORDER FOR THE REPAIR TO BE PERFORMED. THE CONTACT DID NOT SAVE THE ORIGINAL PART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

7/19/2009 - EAGLE GROVE, IA
SAFETY RECALL ON THE 1997 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WAGON REGARDING EXCESSIVE FUEL PRESSURE IN THE GAS TANK WAS INITIATED IN 2001. AS AN OWNER OF SUCH VEHICLE, I RESPONDED AND RECEIVED IN THE MAIL A NEW GAS CAP.........AND WAS INFORMED THAT WAS THE FIX. THE TANK WAS NEVER CHECKED FOR CRACKS OR EVEN IF THE PRESSURE WAS CORRECTED BY THE NEW GAS CAP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds