Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA - 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 118 complaints filed for the 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (19)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (7) Seat Belts (4) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Structure (7) Visibility (15)
Exterior Lighting (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/25/2018 - MISSOULA, MT
1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VOLTAGE DROPPING WHILE VEHICLE IN STOPPED CAUSING HEADLIGHTS TO DIM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2018 - MISSOULA, MT
1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VOLTAGE DROPPING WHILE VEHICLE IN STOPPED CAUSING HEADLIGHTS TO DIM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/12/2014 - WEST MIFFLIN, PA
WHILE DRIVING MY 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA THE CAR SHUT OFF UNEXPECTEDLY AND CONTINUED TO STALL. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF OF THE ROAD AND RESTART THE CAR. I DROVE TO MY MECHANICS GARAGE AND HE REPLACED THE IGNITION HARNESS. THIS HAS HAPPED TO ME A TOTAL OF ( 4) FOUR TIMES. THE FREQUENCY HAS BEEN ABOUT EVERY 6 MONTHS TO 1 YEAR. THE MILEAGE OF THE VEHICLE WAS ABOUT 100,000 THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USEDWITH ABOUT 95,000 MILES. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/27/2013 - VISALIA, CA
WHILE DRIVING I WOULD HEAR LIKE A MOTOR RUNNING SOUND THAT WOULD LAST APPROX 5/10 SEC. AND DURING THIS TIME THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD RISE AND GET HARD AND I WOULD HAVE TO APPLY LOTS OF PRESSURE IN ORDER FOR VEHICLE TO STOP WHICH DOES SO WITH GRIND. I REPLACED BOTH ROTORS,CALIPERS,BRAKE PADS,MASTERCYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER.ABS LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHEN HIT BUMP AND GO OFF AFTER AWHILE .FINALLY I REMOVED FUSE FROM ABS AND PROBLEM CEASED.IN PROCESSES OF DIOGNOSING PROBLEM.DISCOVERED SUSPENSION IN FRONT FALLING APART REPLACED INNER/OUTER TIERODS,PITMAN ARM,BOTH UPPER/LOWER BALL JOINTS,PASSENGER UPPER CONTROL ARM AND WHEEL HUB.REAR WINDSHEILD WIPER NO LONGER WORKS AND WINDSHIELD WIPER FREEZES DURING RAIN WHICH HAS CAUSED WIPER MOTOR TO BE REPLACED.DRIVER SIDE DOOR HINGES REPLACED NUMEROUS TIMES CAUSING DOOR NOT TO SHUT PROPERLY AND DOESNT SIT LEVEL,FUEL GAUGE DOESNT READ PROPERLY WHEN FULL IT READS 1/2 TANK AND WHEN READS EMPTY ITS UNKNOWN HOW MUCH GAS IS REALLY IN TANK HAVE TO RELY ON MILES COUNTER AND CARRY EXTRA GALLON OF GAS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/27/2013 - VISALIA, CA
WHILE DRIVING I WOULD HEAR LIKE A MOTOR RUNNING SOUND THAT WOULD LAST APPROX 5/10 SEC. AND DURING THIS TIME THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD RISE AND GET HARD AND I WOULD HAVE TO APPLY LOTS OF PRESSURE IN ORDER FOR VEHICLE TO STOP WHICH DOES SO WITH GRIND. I REPLACED BOTH ROTORS,CALIPERS,BRAKE PADS,MASTERCYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER.ABS LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHEN HIT BUMP AND GO OFF AFTER AWHILE .FINALLY I REMOVED FUSE FROM ABS AND PROBLEM CEASED.IN PROCESSES OF DIOGNOSING PROBLEM.DISCOVERED SUSPENSION IN FRONT FALLING APART REPLACED INNER/OUTER TIERODS,PITMAN ARM,BOTH UPPER/LOWER BALL JOINTS,PASSENGER UPPER CONTROL ARM AND WHEEL HUB.REAR WINDSHEILD WIPER NO LONGER WORKS AND WINDSHIELD WIPER FREEZES DURING RAIN WHICH HAS CAUSED WIPER MOTOR TO BE REPLACED.DRIVER SIDE DOOR HINGES REPLACED NUMEROUS TIMES CAUSING DOOR NOT TO SHUT PROPERLY AND DOESNT SIT LEVEL,FUEL GAUGE DOESNT READ PROPERLY WHEN FULL IT READS 1/2 TANK AND WHEN READS EMPTY ITS UNKNOWN HOW MUCH GAS IS REALLY IN TANK HAVE TO RELY ON MILES COUNTER AND CARRY EXTRA GALLON OF GAS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/27/2013 - VISALIA, CA
WHILE DRIVING I WOULD HEAR LIKE A MOTOR RUNNING SOUND THAT WOULD LAST APPROX 5/10 SEC. AND DURING THIS TIME THE BRAKE PEDAL WOULD RISE AND GET HARD AND I WOULD HAVE TO APPLY LOTS OF PRESSURE IN ORDER FOR VEHICLE TO STOP WHICH DOES SO WITH GRIND. I REPLACED BOTH ROTORS,CALIPERS,BRAKE PADS,MASTERCYLINDER AND BRAKE BOOSTER.ABS LIGHT WOULD COME ON WHEN HIT BUMP AND GO OFF AFTER AWHILE .FINALLY I REMOVED FUSE FROM ABS AND PROBLEM CEASED.IN PROCESSES OF DIOGNOSING PROBLEM.DISCOVERED SUSPENSION IN FRONT FALLING APART REPLACED INNER/OUTER TIERODS,PITMAN ARM,BOTH UPPER/LOWER BALL JOINTS,PASSENGER UPPER CONTROL ARM AND WHEEL HUB.REAR WINDSHEILD WIPER NO LONGER WORKS AND WINDSHIELD WIPER FREEZES DURING RAIN WHICH HAS CAUSED WIPER MOTOR TO BE REPLACED.DRIVER SIDE DOOR HINGES REPLACED NUMEROUS TIMES CAUSING DOOR NOT TO SHUT PROPERLY AND DOESNT SIT LEVEL,FUEL GAUGE DOESNT READ PROPERLY WHEN FULL IT READS 1/2 TANK AND WHEN READS EMPTY ITS UNKNOWN HOW MUCH GAS IS REALLY IN TANK HAVE TO RELY ON MILES COUNTER AND CARRY EXTRA GALLON OF GAS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/18/2010 - BATAVIA, IL
1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA BECAME COMPLETELY ENGULFED IN FLAMES AFTER THE DRIVER PULLED OVER AFTER SEEING SMOKE. OHIO TRAFFIC CRASH REPORT # 10-0002-89 UPDATED LETTER 04/29/10

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2009 - ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL
BRAVADA SHUTS DOWN WHILE DRIVING. WHILE ON HIGHWAY I WAS TRAVELING AT 70 MPH. THEN THE TRUCK IS COMPLETELY DEAD. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND SAT FOR 5 TO 10 MINUTES TRYING TO RESTART IT. IT FINALLY STARTED. (NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON) AFTER I LET IT SIT FOR A FEW MONTH I DECIDED TO REPLACE THE EGR VALVE GASKET AND CLEAN THE CARBON OUT OF THE THROTTLE BODY. A FEW MONTHS GO BY I WAS DRIVING ON A ROAD OFF OF A HIGH WAY GOING 40 MPH. SAME THING OCCURRED. I GOT IT STARTED IN THE SAME AMOUNT OF TIME AND IT WILL RUN FINE LIKE NOTHING EVER HAPPENED. AFTER READING THE OTHER COMPLAINTS I AM GOING TO REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH EVEN THOUGH THE DEALER SAID IT COULD BE NUMEROUS OF OTHER THINGS AND NOT THE IGNITION SWITCH. IN FACT THEY NEVER HEARD OF AN IGNITION SWITCH DOING THIS.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: UPPER BALL JOINT

8/7/2007 - SOUTHFIELD , MI
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. HE STATED THAT THE RIGHT FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE COLLAPSED. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CONTROL ARM COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THE UPPER BALL JOINTS (NHTSA CAMPAIGN #01V200000) HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED AS PART OF THE RECALL. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 125,000. UPDATED 02/08/08.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/25/2007 - BURLINGTON, IA
WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON MY 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA BEGAN FLASHING THEN THERE WAS AN EXPLOSION AT THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. WE PULLED OVER AND I PULLED MY CHILDREN FROM THE VEHICLE. THE ENTIRE UNDERSIDE OF THE VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE AND FLAMES WERE COMING OUT OF THE GAS CAP. MY HUSBAND USED TWO FULL FIRE EXTINGUISHERS ON THE FIRE AND WAS UNABLE TO PUT IT OUT. FOLLOWING THE ATTEMPT TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES THERE WERE TWO MORE EXPLOSIONS. THE SHERIFFS AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS CAME AND PUT IT OUT. EACH FILED REPORTS ON THE INCIDENT. IT IS BELIEVED THAT THE FUEL PUMP (LOCATED INSIDE THE GAS TANK) SHORTED OUT CAUSING A SPARK THAT IGNITED THE GAS TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS A TOTAL LOSS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds