Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA - 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 118 complaints filed for the 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1997 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (19)
Electrical System (22) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (19) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (7) Seat Belts (4) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Equipment (3) Interior Lighting (3) Seats (2) Structure (7) Visibility (15)
Exterior Lighting (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: UPPER BALL JOINT

11/3/2004 - LOMIRA, WI
I HAD BEEN EXPERIENCING EXCESSIVE VIBRATION ON THE FRONT END OF MY 1997 OLD'S BRAVADA. I TOOK IT IN AND WAS TOLD IT REQUIRED BALL JOINTS BUT APPARENTLY THERE IS A NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID # OF 01I018000 IN REFERENCE TO IT AND THAT GM HAD DECIDED TO CONDUCT A CUSTOMER SATISFACTION CAMPAIGN TO REPLACE THEM FOR A PEIOD OF 8YR'S OR 100,000 MILES WHICHEVER COMES FIRST FROM THE DATE THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN SERVICE. WELL, I DID THAT AND WAS TOLD AFTER A TOTAL RUN AROUND AS WELL AS THE SERVICE GARAGE GOING THRU THE RUN AROUND AS WELL CALLING ON IT, THAT IT DOES NOT AFFECT MY 97' OLD'S BRAVADA. SO HERE I AM WITH A TRUCK THAT IS UNDER THE STATED TIME OF REPAIR BY GM WITH FRONT END WORK THAT WILL COST ME OVER $800.00 TO FIX AND GM DOES NOT CARE. SO WHAT WAS THE PURPOSE OF HAVING A CAMPAIGN ON THE VEHICLE IF GM HAD NOT INTENTION OF DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT? THE SERVICE GUY AT THE GARAGE EVEN ASKED THE REP. FROM GM, "SO AM I SUPPOSED TO LET THE GUY DRIVE OFF WITH THE BAD BALLJOINTS SO HIS WHEELS FALL OFF AND POSSIBLY CREATING AN ACCIDENT?" SHE DID NOT RESPOND AND SAID THERE IS NOTHING THEY WILL DO. SO IN THE MEANTIME I HAVE A TRUCK THAT I CAN NOT DRIVE MUCH FOR FEAR OF THE WHEELS FALLING OFF, UNLESS I PAY FOR THE WORK TO DO SO. SO WHAT WAS THE POINT OF THE COMPAINT WHEN GM INTENDED ON DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT? I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEM AFTER PROBLEM SINCE I BOUGHT THIS CAR FROM THE DEALER A COUPLE OF MONTHS BACK AND WILL NEVER BUY A GM PRODUCT AS LONG AS I LIVE AGAIN. I SHOULD HAVE JUST STAYED WITH MY TOYOTA.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/20/2004 - ORLANDO, FL
MY 1997 OLDS BRAVADA IS EXPERIENCING A FAILURE OF THE HAZARD AND BRAKE LIGHT, SIMILAR TO THE RECALL ISSUED FOR THE 2000-2001 MODELS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: CARBURETOR SYSTEM

5/11/2004 - SPARTA, GA
CONSUMER STATED VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNED. EARLIER CONSUMER SMELLED GAS, BUT DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 7 MILES. HE PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY INTO A WAY STATION AND CHECKED THE VEHICLE. HE DID NOT SEE ANY GAS OR ANY LEAK. VEHICLE REMAINED PARKED FOR ABOUT 15-20 MINUTES. CONSUMER CALLED 911, THE POLICE CAME AND EXAMINED THE VEHICLE, AN DID NOT FIND ANY LEAKS OR SMELLED ANY GAS. HE WAS ADVISED BY THE POLICE NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BUT TO HAVE IT CHECKED. CONSUMER TOWED VEHICLE TO A CADILLAC DEALER, WHO CHECKED THE VEHICLE, AND DID NOT FIND ANY GAS SMELL. AFTER KEEPING THE VEHICLE FOR 2 DAYS IT WAS RETURNED TO CONSUMER, WHO LET THE VEHICLE SIT FOR APPROXIMATELY 3 DAYS BEFORE DRIVING IT AGAIN. THEN, ON HIS WAY BACK FROM A TRIP CONSUMER LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SAW FLAMES COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THEN IT EXPLODED.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

5/11/2004 - SPARTA, GA
CONSUMER STATED VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNED. EARLIER CONSUMER SMELLED GAS, BUT DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 7 MILES. HE PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY INTO A WAY STATION AND CHECKED THE VEHICLE. HE DID NOT SEE ANY GAS OR ANY LEAK. VEHICLE REMAINED PARKED FOR ABOUT 15-20 MINUTES. CONSUMER CALLED 911, THE POLICE CAME AND EXAMINED THE VEHICLE, AN DID NOT FIND ANY LEAKS OR SMELLED ANY GAS. HE WAS ADVISED BY THE POLICE NOT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE BUT TO HAVE IT CHECKED. CONSUMER TOWED VEHICLE TO A CADILLAC DEALER, WHO CHECKED THE VEHICLE, AND DID NOT FIND ANY GAS SMELL. AFTER KEEPING THE VEHICLE FOR 2 DAYS IT WAS RETURNED TO CONSUMER, WHO LET THE VEHICLE SIT FOR APPROXIMATELY 3 DAYS BEFORE DRIVING IT AGAIN. THEN, ON HIS WAY BACK FROM A TRIP CONSUMER LOOKED IN THE REAR VIEW MIRROR AND SAW FLAMES COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THEN IT EXPLODED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: UPPER BALL JOINT

4/19/2004 - OWOSSO, MI
AT 80,000 MILES I HAD TO HAVE THE TRASMISSION REPLACED. AT THE TIME I INQUIRED ABOUT THE BALL JOINTS RECALL. DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THERE WAS NO SUCH RECALL. 6 MONTHS LATER I TOOK IT IN BECAUSE OF A CLUNKING SOUND UNDER THE CAR. THEY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW DRIVE SHAFT, TRANSFER CASE AND BALL JOINTS FOR A TOTAL OF $3747.00! IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY TO FIX IT. HAS BEEN A LEMON FROM THE START.

View Details

STEERING

1/15/2004 - WARREN, PA
AC COMPRESSOR REPLACED TWICE. FLUSH COOLING SYSTEM (DEXCOOL). IDLER ARM REPLACED 48222. LOWER BALL JOINTS.48222 RECALLED LEFT REAR AXLE LEAK.48222 OIL COOLER LINES REPLACED,48222. CHARGING SYSTEM FAILER REPLACED ALTERNATER 47577 REPLACED BATTERY 47577 FRNT BRAKES AND ROTORS 45631 FUEL SENDER UNIT39434 DRIVER SIDE DOOR PIN 39434 SES LIGHT ON OXYGEN SENSOR REPLACE AC COMPRESSOR 35338 CLEAN EGR VALVE 35338 AC COMPRESSOR 33196 51000 LOWER BALL JOINTS ARE WORN AGAIN (DEALER REPLACED ORIGINAL BECAUSE OF RECALL) PUT JUNK BACK ON VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/15/2004 - WARREN, PA
AC COMPRESSOR REPLACED TWICE. FLUSH COOLING SYSTEM (DEXCOOL). IDLER ARM REPLACED 48222. LOWER BALL JOINTS.48222 RECALLED LEFT REAR AXLE LEAK.48222 OIL COOLER LINES REPLACED,48222. CHARGING SYSTEM FAILER REPLACED ALTERNATER 47577 REPLACED BATTERY 47577 FRNT BRAKES AND ROTORS 45631 FUEL SENDER UNIT39434 DRIVER SIDE DOOR PIN 39434 SES LIGHT ON OXYGEN SENSOR REPLACE AC COMPRESSOR 35338 CLEAN EGR VALVE 35338 AC COMPRESSOR 33196 51000 LOWER BALL JOINTS ARE WORN AGAIN (DEALER REPLACED ORIGINAL BECAUSE OF RECALL) PUT JUNK BACK ON VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

1/15/2004 - WARREN, PA
AC COMPRESSOR REPLACED TWICE. FLUSH COOLING SYSTEM (DEXCOOL). IDLER ARM REPLACED 48222. LOWER BALL JOINTS.48222 RECALLED LEFT REAR AXLE LEAK.48222 OIL COOLER LINES REPLACED,48222. CHARGING SYSTEM FAILER REPLACED ALTERNATER 47577 REPLACED BATTERY 47577 FRNT BRAKES AND ROTORS 45631 FUEL SENDER UNIT39434 DRIVER SIDE DOOR PIN 39434 SES LIGHT ON OXYGEN SENSOR REPLACE AC COMPRESSOR 35338 CLEAN EGR VALVE 35338 AC COMPRESSOR 33196 51000 LOWER BALL JOINTS ARE WORN AGAIN (DEALER REPLACED ORIGINAL BECAUSE OF RECALL) PUT JUNK BACK ON VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - WARREN, PA
AC COMPRESSOR REPLACED TWICE. FLUSH COOLING SYSTEM (DEXCOOL). IDLER ARM REPLACED 48222. LOWER BALL JOINTS.48222 RECALLED LEFT REAR AXLE LEAK.48222 OIL COOLER LINES REPLACED,48222. CHARGING SYSTEM FAILER REPLACED ALTERNATER 47577 REPLACED BATTERY 47577 FRNT BRAKES AND ROTORS 45631 FUEL SENDER UNIT39434 DRIVER SIDE DOOR PIN 39434 SES LIGHT ON OXYGEN SENSOR REPLACE AC COMPRESSOR 35338 CLEAN EGR VALVE 35338 AC COMPRESSOR 33196 51000 LOWER BALL JOINTS ARE WORN AGAIN (DEALER REPLACED ORIGINAL BECAUSE OF RECALL) PUT JUNK BACK ON VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/15/2004 - MILFORD, NJ
OTHER: REPLACING THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR ENGINE: A CYCLINDER ON THE VEHICLE CRACKED AND NEEDED A NEW MOTOR. THIS IS ABSURD. WITH A REGULARLY MAINTAINED VEHICLE, WITH ONLY 5 1/2 YEARS OF OWNERSHIP THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON OTHER THAN IMPROPER CASTING, METAL FATIGUE, DEFAULT FROM THE FACTORY THAT A NEW MOTOR SHOULD HAVE BEEN NEEDED WITH THIS KIND OF MILEAGE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds