Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1998 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 129 complaints filed for the 1998 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (18) Tires (3)
Electrical System (9) Fuel System Gasoline (33) Power Train (2) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Fuel System Other (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (2) Suspension (14) Visibility (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/12/2014 - CHESTNUTRIDGE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE DASHBOARD WIRES HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM

3/16/2012 - WEIRTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 AUDI A6. WHILE TRAVELING 25 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE HAD SUDDENLY DROPPED TO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM WAS REPLACED TWICE. THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 150,000. UPDATED 5/7/12 THE CONSUMER STATED ONE MONTH PRIOR, WHILE TURNING OFF A ROAD, THE VEHICLE DROPPED TO 25 MPH, THERE WAS LOSS OF BRAKES AND THE VEHICLE WAS HARD TO CONTROL. UPDATED 05/30/10

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/16/2012 - WEIRTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 AUDI A6. WHILE TRAVELING 25 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE HAD SUDDENLY DROPPED TO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM WAS REPLACED TWICE. THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 150,000. UPDATED 5/7/12 THE CONSUMER STATED ONE MONTH PRIOR, WHILE TURNING OFF A ROAD, THE VEHICLE DROPPED TO 25 MPH, THERE WAS LOSS OF BRAKES AND THE VEHICLE WAS HARD TO CONTROL. UPDATED 05/30/10

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

2/25/2010 - HUXLEY, IA
I AM EXPERIENCING AN ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE THAT WAS RECALLED BY THE FACTORY AUDI AG BUT MY VEHICLE WAS NOT LISTED AS ONE OF THE RECALLED VEHICLE. I AM AFRAID OF GETTING STRANDED DUE TO AN IMPROPER FUEL READING. PLEASE ADDRESS THIS ACCORDINGLY, THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/11/2009 - UNION, NJ
DEAR DOT, I'VE A 1998 AUDI A6 QUATTRO. MY ABS SYSTEM SHOWS WARNING YELLOW ABS LIGHT AND RED FLASHING BRAKE LIGHT AT ALL TIME. I'VE TAKEN MY TWO SHOPS AND THEY BOTH INDICATED THAT THE ABS UNIT IS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDS REPLACEMENT. THEY TESTED ALL 4 WHEEL SENSORS ON THE CAR AND ALSO MAPPED OUT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THE CONCLUSION WAS A DEFECTIVE ABS UNIT. I'VE DONE SOME RESEARCH AND OTHER AUDI OWNER FROM 1998 - 2001 ALSO HAVE THE SAME ISSUES. IF THIS SYSTEM IS KNOWN TO BE DEFECTIVE, IT SHOULD BE RECALLED IN ALL FAIRNESS. I AM PRETTY HAPPY WITH THIS CAR, BUT THE ABS IS AN UNCOMFORTABLE EXPERIENCE. IT COST ABOUT $2000 TO REPLACE THE ABS UNIT AND AUDI DOES NOT WANT TO ADMIT THE PROBLEM. REFERENCES: HTTP://AUDI-VW-ABS-RECALL.BLOGSPOT.COM HTTP://WWW.ALLWORLDAUTO.COM/COMMENTS/AUDI_A4_AVANT_COMMENTS_AND_COMPLAINTS_65-34245-1.HTML

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

4/15/2009 - BARRE, VT
FIRE HAZARD DUE TO OIL LEAKING ONTO EXHAUST.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

2/4/2009 - HOOKSETT, NH
I HAVE AN 1998 AUDI A6, 2.8L, V6, QUATTRO, AVANT WITH A 115000 MLS AND MY CARS'S REAR SEAT, SEAT BELT IN (THE MIDDLE PASSENGER "BELT SHAPE, ONE") SEAT STOP WORKING AND IT IS STUCK IN ITS OPEN POSITION ABOUT 15"-16" OUT. AFTER TALKING TO THE AUDI DEALER NEAR HOME THEY SAID, YEAH NOT WORKING BUT SORRY OUT OF WARRANTY, I ASKED IS THIS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THIS CAR? THEY SAID NO! ITS NOT! I AM NOT SURE ABOUT THAT. IS THAT OK A SEAT BELT IN REAR SEAT HARDLY USED BY ME BREAK SO EASY?! I HAVE SEEN MANY PARENTS USE THIS SEAT BELT TO SECURE THERE CHILD'S CAR SEAT TO THE CAR'S SEAT? THANK YOU.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE

5/6/2007 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I PURCHASED A USED 98 AUDI A6 PN 4/28/07. WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR, THE ONLY ISSUES WITH THE CAR WERE THIS GASSY SMELL INSIDE THE CAR WHEN YOU TURN ON THE HEAT, AND A SMOKE COMING FROM THE SOME PIPE. MY MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THE BREATHER WAS CUT, AND IT HAD TO BE REPLACED . AFTER FIXING THE PROBLEM WHICH I HAD TO PAY FOR. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON. COULD NOT DO THE INSPECTION BECAUSE OF THAT PROBLEM. A FEW DAYS LATER I STARTED WHILE DRIVING I HEAR THIS BEEPING SOUND. THE FUEL NEEDLE IMMEDIATELY WENT DOWN TO EMPTY, AND BACK UP AGAIN SHOWING THAT I HAD HALF A TANK OF GAS. I WENT TO CHECK IT AGAIN. THE MECHANIC COULD NOT SEE ANYTHING. SO I DECIDED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER. IN THE MEAN TIME, I DECIDED TO FILL UP MY GAS TANK. THAT'S WHEN I REALIZED A GAS SMELL COMING FROM OUTSIDE THE CAR. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER MECHANIC ON MY WAY HOME, TO FIND OUT THAT MY GAS TANK WAS LEAKING BECAUSE THERE IS A CRACK AND I COULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR UNDER SUCH CONDITIONS BECAUSE THE CAR CAN SET ON FIRE WHILE I AM DRIVING IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/8/2007 - ST ALBANS BAY , VT
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 AUDI A6. THERE RECALL 04V495000 IN OCTOBER 2004 CONCERNING VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL. ON 3/08/07 THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING AT 65 MPH AND WITHOUT WARNING THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO 90 MPH. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO REDUCE THE SPEED, ENGAGE THE BRAKES OR PLACE THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL. THE CONTACT HAD TO FORCE THE VEHICLE IN PARK WITH THE TRANSMISSION GRINDING AND TURNED THE ENGINE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, AND THEY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED FOR EVERY RECALL. ROAD CONDITIONS WERE NOT A FACTOR. AUDI AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THE RECALL REPAIR WAS PERFORMED ON THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DIDN'T AGREE THAT THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED DUE TO THE FAILURE SHE EXPERIENCED. AUDI ASSURED THE CONTACT THAT PRIOR TO PURCHASING THE VEHICLE ALL RELATED RECALL REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE BOTH 100,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

8/21/2006 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ABS/BRAKE LIGHT ON ALL THE TIME. I GOT MY BRAKES CHANGED, MY MECHANIC CHECKED IT, AND TOLD ME THE ABS SYSTEM IS MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds