Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK CENTURY - 1998 BUICK CENTURY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 237 complaints filed for the 1998 BUICK CENTURY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 BUICK CENTURY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 BUICK CENTURY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (20) Power Train (27) Service Brakes Hydraulic (28) Unknown Or Other (16)
Communications (12) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Seat Belts (12) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Other (2) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (23) Interior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (5) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2016 - GLOUCESTER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1998 BUICK CENTURY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING OPERATED, THE BRAKES AND STEERING COLUMN SEIZED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND DEEMED DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SHORT TERM MEMORY LOSS, A CONCUSSION, AND SEVERAL UNKNOWN INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 09E005000 (STEERING) AND 03V527000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

STEERING

10/4/2016 - GLOUCESTER, MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 1998 BUICK CENTURY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS BEING OPERATED, THE BRAKES AND STEERING COLUMN SEIZED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A FRONT END CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND DEEMED DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED SHORT TERM MEMORY LOSS, A CONCUSSION, AND SEVERAL UNKNOWN INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 09E005000 (STEERING) AND 03V527000 (STEERING); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

TIRES

11/6/2015 - SOUTH LYON , MI
MULTIPLE CRACKING ON SIDEWALLS OF 4 MICHELIN HARMONY TIRES BEING USED 3000 MILES A YEAR. TIRES BOUGHT IN 2007 AND HAVE 99% OF TREAD STILL PRESENT ON TIRE. FEEL MICHELIN USED INSUFFICIENT UV/OZONE INHIBITOR CHEMICALS IN RUBBER COMPOUND MANUFACTURING THESE TIRES. TIRES MAY BE UNSAFE AND NOT DUE TO CAR OWNER'S FAULT. FEEL MICHELIN SHOULD REPLACE THESE AT THEIR EXPENSE, NOT MY MOTHER'S EXPENSE. TIRES SHOULD LAST MUCH LONGER THAN 7-8 YEARS AT 3000 MILES A YEAR WHEN 80,000 IS ADVERTISED FOR THESE TIRES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/21/2014 - CONESVILLE, OH
WAS DRIVEN OFF THE ROAD BY ANOTHER VEHICLE I THEN HIT A POTHOLE AT THE SAME TIME MY PASSENGER DASH AIRBAG DEPLOYED.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: TRUNK LID: LOCK

9/8/2014 - GREENBROOK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 BUICK CENTURY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE IS NO ALTERNATIVE WAY TO UNLOCK THE TRUNK. THE CONTACT LOCKED THE KEYS IN THE TRUNK OF THE VEHICLE AND WAS UNABLE TO ACCESS THE TRUNK. THE CONTACT HAD TO GO HOME TO RETRIEVE A SPARE SET OF KEYS TO UNLOCK THE TRUNK. THE CONTACT FELT THIS WAS A SAFETY RISK FOR CHILDREN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2014 - ELLENWOOD, GA
TL * THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 BUICK CENTURY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE AIR BAG WAS STARTING TO DETACH FROM THE STEERING WHEEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 144,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 162,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2014 - TERRE HAUTE, IN
I FIRST NOTICED THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF IN JANUARY OF 2014, ESPECIALLY GOING DOWN A HILL. THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THAT THERE WAS MOISTURE IN MY GAS TANK, BUT AFTER FILLING UP A COUPLE OF TIMES AND PUTTING IN SOME GAS DRYER, THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. I USUALLY SHIFT TO NEUTRAL AND START THE ENGINE WHILE THE CAR IS STILL MOVING. I TOOK MY REMOTE AND OTHER KEYS OFF THE KEY RING. IT STILL SHUTS OFF THE ENGINE WITH JUST ONE KEY IN THE IGNITION SWITCH, BUT NOT AS MUCH. CAN YOU TELL ME HOW I CAN REMEDY THIS PROBLEM WITH MY 1998 BUICK CENTURY? WILL THIS BE AT MY OWN EXPENSE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/6/2014 - TERRE HAUTE, IN
I FIRST NOTICED THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF IN JANUARY OF 2014, ESPECIALLY GOING DOWN A HILL. THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT STAYS ON. AT FIRST I THOUGHT THAT THERE WAS MOISTURE IN MY GAS TANK, BUT AFTER FILLING UP A COUPLE OF TIMES AND PUTTING IN SOME GAS DRYER, THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. I USUALLY SHIFT TO NEUTRAL AND START THE ENGINE WHILE THE CAR IS STILL MOVING. I TOOK MY REMOTE AND OTHER KEYS OFF THE KEY RING. IT STILL SHUTS OFF THE ENGINE WITH JUST ONE KEY IN THE IGNITION SWITCH, BUT NOT AS MUCH. CAN YOU TELL ME HOW I CAN REMEDY THIS PROBLEM WITH MY 1998 BUICK CENTURY? WILL THIS BE AT MY OWN EXPENSE?

View Details

SEATS

6/27/2013 - MURFREESBORO, TN
NO TOP TETHER ANCHOR AVAILABLE FOR CHILD CAR SEAT. GM REFUSES TO RETROFIT AND SAYS THAT THERE IS NO RETROFIT KIT AVAILABLE, EVEN THOUGH THERE WAS A BULLETIN IN MARCH 2012 THAT SAYS THAT THEY WILL RETROFIT ONE FOR FREE. UNABLE TO SAFETY TRANSPORT MY CHILD.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/31/2013 - MENTOR, OH
AFTER A SNOWFALL, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD NOT PARK, STOOD STRAIGHT UP AND OBSTRUCTED MY VIEW. I CALLED BUICK AND WAS TOLD TO TAKE IT TO MY DEALERSHIP AND IT WOULD BE REPAIRED. WHEN I PICKED UP THE CAR, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE PREVIOUS YEAR'S MODEL HAD BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS PROBLEM. THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE WIPERS. I HAVE BEEN TOLD BY TWO MECHANICS THAT MY CAR HAS THE EXACT ISSUE AS THE PREVIOUS MODEL. I FIND THAT THIS IS A DANGER TO MYSELF, MY CHILDREN AND OTHER DRIVERS/PASSENGERS AND FEEL THAT IT SHOULD BE ON THE RECALL LIST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds