Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER CONCORDE - 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 177 complaints filed for the 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (11) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (17) Tires (2)
Communications (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Power Train (14) Steering (10) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (16) Interior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (66) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Seats (9) Suspension (10) Visibility (15)
Equipment (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/2/2013 - SOUTH PORTLAND, ME
AUTOMATIC SHIFT ON THE FLOOR. DOES NOT SHIFT CORRECTLY. KEY CANNOT BE REMOVED. IT STAYS ON ACCESSORY AND DRAINS MY BATTERY. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM, HOWEVER I WAS TOLD IT WAS NOT COVERED BECAUSE OF THE YEAR OF THE CAR. I PURCHASED THE CAR IN AUGUST 2012. RAN FINE UNTIL 06/01/13. I FEEL IT SHOULD STILL BE UNDER THE RECALL. IT DOESN'T GO INTO PARK PROPERLY. I FEEL THIS COULD BE A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/25/2011 - BROOKFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. THE CONTACT STATED THE BRAKE AND POWER STEERING LINES WERE COVERED WITH EXCESSIVE RUST. THE CONTACT STATED THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED DUE TO FLUID LEAKING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC IN ORDER TO HAVE THE BRAKE AND POWER STEERING LINES REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS FAULTY WHICH MADE IT POSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE KEY WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON. THE CONTACT DID NOT NOTIFY THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

7/25/2011 - BROOKFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. THE CONTACT STATED THE BRAKE AND POWER STEERING LINES WERE COVERED WITH EXCESSIVE RUST. THE CONTACT STATED THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED DUE TO FLUID LEAKING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC IN ORDER TO HAVE THE BRAKE AND POWER STEERING LINES REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS FAULTY WHICH MADE IT POSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE KEY WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON. THE CONTACT DID NOT NOTIFY THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2011 - BROOKFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. THE CONTACT STATED THE BRAKE AND POWER STEERING LINES WERE COVERED WITH EXCESSIVE RUST. THE CONTACT STATED THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTIONED DUE TO FLUID LEAKING. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC IN ORDER TO HAVE THE BRAKE AND POWER STEERING LINES REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS FAULTY WHICH MADE IT POSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE KEY WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON. THE CONTACT DID NOT NOTIFY THE MANUFACTURER OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 152,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/2/2010 - KANNAPOLIS, NC
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN INSPECTED OR REPAIRED WHEN THE COMPLAINT WAS FILED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE APPROXIMATELY 110,000. THE CONSUMER STATED THE TIMING CHAIN FAILD AND BLEW OUT THE ENGINE. UPDATED 07/23/10

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/30/2009 - LEHIGH ACRES, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 117,750.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/8/2008 - LAPORTE, IN
I BOUGHT A USED 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE IN THE SPRING OF 2008. THREE WEEKS AFTER I BOUGHT THE CAR THE OIL LIGHT TURNED ON, I THOUGHT NOTHING OF IT, THOUGH I GAVE THE CAR AN OIL CHANGE. ROUGHLY 5 DAYS AFTER GIVING THE CAR AN OIL CHANGE I DROVE IT AROUND FOR THE DAY AND THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME WHEN I SHUT THE CAR OFF IT WOULDN'T START AGAIN. WHEN I DID GET THE CAR TO START I TOOK IT TO HARMON'S EXPERT AUTO TO SEE WHAT WAS WRONG WITH IT. I WAS THEN INFORMED THE CAR'S OIL PORTALS WERE CLOGGED DUE TO OIL SLUDGE. THE RECOMMENDED FIX WAS A NEW ENGINE. I WAS TOLD THE CAR HAD ONLY 15 POUNDS OF OIL PRESSURE AND THAT EVENTUALLY THE MOTOR WILL BLOW DUE TO THE OIL SLUDGE. LASTLY I WAS INFORMED THAT THEY SEE THIS PROBLEM ALL THE TIME WITH THE 2.7L ENGINE IN THE CHRYSLER CONCORDES, AND THAT THEY CAN'T UNDERSTAND WHY CHRYSLER WILL DO NOTHING ABOUT IT. NEITHER CAN I.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

8/15/2008 - BALTIMORE, MD
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1998 CHRYSLER CONCORDE. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND THEY STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 68,000. UPDATED 09/10/08. UPDATED 09/11/08

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/31/2008 - MEMPHIS, TN
CHRYSLER/DODGE 2.7 LITER DOHC ENGINE HAS OIL ENGINE SLUDGE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/25/2008 - UNCASVILLE, CT
ENGINE ON OUR 1998 CONCORDE WITH ONLY 47,000 MILES ON IT BLEW OUT WHILE MY SON WAS DRIVING IT. HE HAD THE OIL CHANGED 3 MONTHS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds