Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD WINDSTAR - 1998 FORD WINDSTAR Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1471 complaints filed for the 1998 FORD WINDSTAR

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 FORD WINDSTAR. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 FORD WINDSTAR, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (22) Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (7) Traction Control System (2)
Child Seat (7) Exterior Lighting (20) Parking Brake (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (198) Trailer Hitches (1)
Communications (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (354) Steering (157) Unknown Or Other (41)
Electrical System (110) Fuel System Gasoline (62) Seat Belts (30) Structure (85) Vehicle Speed Control (79)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Other (12) Seats (14) Suspension (241) Visibility (46)
Engine (5) Interior Lighting (26) Service Brakes (7) Tires (57) Wheels (84)
Engine And Engine Cooling (229) Latches Locks Linkages (17) Service Brakes Air (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 195
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/29/2019 - SEDAN, KS
MY REAR AXLE BROKE AND THEN MY DOOR AJAR CONSTANTLY GOES OFF EVEN WHEN DOORS ARE CLOSED. THE AXLE BROKE REAR DRIVERS SIDE LEAVING ME STRANDED. I WAS DRIVING IN TOWN 20 MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/29/2019 - SEDAN, KS
MY REAR AXLE BROKE AND THEN MY DOOR AJAR CONSTANTLY GOES OFF EVEN WHEN DOORS ARE CLOSED. THE AXLE BROKE REAR DRIVERS SIDE LEAVING ME STRANDED. I WAS DRIVING IN TOWN 20 MPH.

View Details

STEERING

5/4/2018 - ABINGDON, VA
MY FRONT CRADLE AT STEERING AREA HAS COMPLETELY RUSTED INTO FROM AC LEAK AND ROAD SALT VAN WAS SOLD IN VERMONT NOW IS LOCATED IN VIRGINIA UNSAFE ALMOST UNDRIVABLE TO FORD DEALER FOR A REAR AXLE RECALL FOR AXLE BRACES PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/4/2018 - ABINGDON, VA
MY FRONT CRADLE AT STEERING AREA HAS COMPLETELY RUSTED INTO FROM AC LEAK AND ROAD SALT VAN WAS SOLD IN VERMONT NOW IS LOCATED IN VIRGINIA UNSAFE ALMOST UNDRIVABLE TO FORD DEALER FOR A REAR AXLE RECALL FOR AXLE BRACES PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/28/2018 - BRONX, NY
MY MINI VAN LIGHTS WOULD FLICKER WHILE I'M DRIVING AND EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE STARTER IN THE CAR, IT STILL TURNS OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING. THERE'S RUST COMING FROM UNDER THE CAR, I SMELL A BURNT SMELL WHEN I'M DRIVING. I'M HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES, MY CAR STOPS WHEN IT WANTS TO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, .. IT MAKES NOISES WHEN I'M TURNING, I HAVE RUST COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR. THE SIGNAL LIGHTS FLICKER. WHILE DRIVING THE WINDSHIELD WASHER, SEAT BELT, AND DOOR AJAR WARNING LIGHTS FLASH ON AND OFF. WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING THE WIPER BLADES STOP WORKING, FRONT BRAKE ROTORS IS CAUSING STEERING WHEEL TO SHIMMY WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED. NOW WHEN I TURN MY WHEEL TO THE LEFT, IT MAKES THIS LOUD NOSE. WHAT IS THAT?!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2018 - BRONX, NY
MY MINI VAN LIGHTS WOULD FLICKER WHILE I'M DRIVING AND EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE STARTER IN THE CAR, IT STILL TURNS OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING. THERE'S RUST COMING FROM UNDER THE CAR, I SMELL A BURNT SMELL WHEN I'M DRIVING. I'M HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES, MY CAR STOPS WHEN IT WANTS TO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, .. IT MAKES NOISES WHEN I'M TURNING, I HAVE RUST COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR. THE SIGNAL LIGHTS FLICKER. WHILE DRIVING THE WINDSHIELD WASHER, SEAT BELT, AND DOOR AJAR WARNING LIGHTS FLASH ON AND OFF. WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING THE WIPER BLADES STOP WORKING, FRONT BRAKE ROTORS IS CAUSING STEERING WHEEL TO SHIMMY WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED. NOW WHEN I TURN MY WHEEL TO THE LEFT, IT MAKES THIS LOUD NOSE. WHAT IS THAT?!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/28/2018 - BRONX, NY
MY MINI VAN LIGHTS WOULD FLICKER WHILE I'M DRIVING AND EVEN AFTER REPLACING THE STARTER IN THE CAR, IT STILL TURNS OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING. THERE'S RUST COMING FROM UNDER THE CAR, I SMELL A BURNT SMELL WHEN I'M DRIVING. I'M HAVING ELECTRICAL ISSUES, MY CAR STOPS WHEN IT WANTS TO IN THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY, .. IT MAKES NOISES WHEN I'M TURNING, I HAVE RUST COMING FROM UNDER MY CAR. THE SIGNAL LIGHTS FLICKER. WHILE DRIVING THE WINDSHIELD WASHER, SEAT BELT, AND DOOR AJAR WARNING LIGHTS FLASH ON AND OFF. WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING THE WIPER BLADES STOP WORKING, FRONT BRAKE ROTORS IS CAUSING STEERING WHEEL TO SHIMMY WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED. NOW WHEN I TURN MY WHEEL TO THE LEFT, IT MAKES THIS LOUD NOSE. WHAT IS THAT?!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/15/2018 - STANCHFIELD, MN
ABS DASHBOARD LIGHT STAYS ON VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING WHILE IN MOTION VIBRATION IS PROPORTIONAL TO SPEED

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/30/2017 - PORT JERVIS, NY
REGARDING FORD MOTOR COMPANY SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 15S27: FORD MOTOR COMPANY IS REFUSING TO REPAIR MY REAR AXLE WHICH FRACTURED DUE TO A POORLY DESIGNED AXLE THAT HAS BEEN THE SUBJECT OF NUMEROUS RECALLS, INCLUDING THE INSTALLATION OF AXLE REINFORCEMENT BRACKETS (WHICH HAD BEEN DONE AND LATER INSPECTED AT PHIL'S FORD IN PORT JERVIS, NY - WINTER OF 2015). I WAS TOLD THE BRACKET REINFORCEMENT REPAIR HAD BEEN PROPERLY INSTALLED, HOWEVER THE AXLE STILL BROKE ON 8/17/17 WHILE I WAS DRIVING AT 65 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE - AN INCREDIBLY DANGEROUS SITUATION! THE BREAK OCCURRED AT AND WITHIN THE REINFORCEMENT BRACKET. EVENTUALLY, SOMEONE WILL BE HURT OR KILLED BECAUSE OF FORD'S NEGLECT TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. THE MORE I SEE OF FORD'S RESISTANCE TO TAKE CARE OF THIS SAFETY ISSUE THE GREATER MY CONCERN IS FOR OTHER DRIVERS (OF A VAN DESIGNED FOR FAMILIES WITH CHILDREN) WHO ARE UNAWARE OF THE DANGER THEY ARE IN DUE TO THE COMPANY'S NEGLECT. THEY ARE TELLING PEOPLE THAT THEIR WINDSTAR VANS ARE SAFE TO DRIVE AFTER THE BRACKET REINFORCEMENT REPAIR. THEY ARE NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. MY LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP (HEALEY BROTHERS FORD IN GOSHEN, NY) IS REFUSING TO HONOR THE EARLIER RECALL, FORD MOTOR COMPANY CUSTOMER RELATIONS IS REFUSING TO HONOR THE EARLIER RECALL CLAIMING THAT THE OFFER TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE HAS EXPIRED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/23/2017 - SPRING CITY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 FORD WINDSTAR. WHILE DRIVING, THE STEERING WHEEL SHOOK AND THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE SUBFRAME WAS RUSTED DUE TO CORROSION AND THE SUBFRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT CALLED JOHN KENNEDY FORD- POTTSTOWN AT (800) 790-8132 (LOCATED AT 3189 W RIDGE PIKE, POTTSTOWN, PA 19464) WHERE THE DEALER REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 10V385000 (SUSPENSION), BUT NOT FOR THE SUBFRAME. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,197.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 195
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds