Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE - 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 523 complaints filed for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (88) Unknown Or Other (11)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (52) Steering (177) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (50) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Structure (11) Visibility (35)
Engine (27) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (33) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (73) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (3) Tires (13) Wheels (9)
Equipment (8) Latches Locks Linkages (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/6/2018 - ALTON, IL
MY SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR AND IT STARTED MAKING A NOISE AND I PULLED OVER AND CHECKED AND DIDN'T SEE ANYTHING AND CONTINUED DRIVING. I NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND PULLED INTO A GAS STATION AND NOTICED THE CAR WAS ON FIRE AND RAN INTO THE GAS STATION AND ASKED FOR A FIRE EXTINGUISHER. THE ATTENDANT HAD ONE AND WENT AND PUT THE FIRE. I HAVE CONTACTED GM AND WAS TOLD THIS WAS DUE TO A RECALL WHICH CAUSED OIL TO LEAK ONTO THE MANIFOLD AND THUS FAR THEY HAVE BEEN UNABLE OR UNWILLING TO HELP WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

9/27/2017 - MAUMELLE, AR
VEHICLE CAN NO LONGER TURN TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. I DON'T THINK RECALL 03052 WAS EVER DONE ON IT. CAN NO LONGER DRIVE THIS CAR BECAUSE IT'S UNSAFE FOR ME AS WELL AS THE PUBLIC.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/2/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM BRACKET FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM BRACKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/6/2016 - APPLETON, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH IN THE RAIN. THE FAILURE OCCURRED THREE OTHER TIMES AND, SOMETIMES, THE WIPERS WOULD REMAIN IN THE UP POSITION AND WOULD NOT MOVE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED TWICE FOR THE SAME FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AGAIN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. UPDATED 01/11/2017

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/16/2016 - P O BOX 43, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE CAUGHT FIRE INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A FIRE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V116000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNAVAILABLE. UPDATED 11/08/16

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - EULESS, TX
I HAVE CALLED MULTIPLE GM DEALERSHIPS IN ORDER TO GET MY IGNITION RECALL, OIL LEAK FROM VALVE COVER RECALL, AND REAR SEATBELT RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF AND SO FAR NONE HAVE RETURNED MY PHONE CALLS REGARDING THE ISSUES. I HAVE HAD THE APPOINTMENTS SET FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS AT 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS AND HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK ON ANY PARTS ARRIVING. THEY TOLD ME OVER THE PHONE AT BOTH DEALERS THAT IT WOULD TAKE A WEEK AND A HALF FOR PARTS TO ARRIVE AND THAT THEY WOULD RETURN MY CALL WHEN PARTS DID ARRIVE, BUT I HAVE YET TO HEAR ANYTHING.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

9/7/2016 - EULESS, TX
I HAVE CALLED MULTIPLE GM DEALERSHIPS IN ORDER TO GET MY IGNITION RECALL, OIL LEAK FROM VALVE COVER RECALL, AND REAR SEATBELT RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF AND SO FAR NONE HAVE RETURNED MY PHONE CALLS REGARDING THE ISSUES. I HAVE HAD THE APPOINTMENTS SET FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS AT 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS AND HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK ON ANY PARTS ARRIVING. THEY TOLD ME OVER THE PHONE AT BOTH DEALERS THAT IT WOULD TAKE A WEEK AND A HALF FOR PARTS TO ARRIVE AND THAT THEY WOULD RETURN MY CALL WHEN PARTS DID ARRIVE, BUT I HAVE YET TO HEAR ANYTHING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/7/2016 - EULESS, TX
I HAVE CALLED MULTIPLE GM DEALERSHIPS IN ORDER TO GET MY IGNITION RECALL, OIL LEAK FROM VALVE COVER RECALL, AND REAR SEATBELT RECALLS TAKEN CARE OF AND SO FAR NONE HAVE RETURNED MY PHONE CALLS REGARDING THE ISSUES. I HAVE HAD THE APPOINTMENTS SET FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS AT 2 DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS AND HAVE YET TO HEAR BACK ON ANY PARTS ARRIVING. THEY TOLD ME OVER THE PHONE AT BOTH DEALERS THAT IT WOULD TAKE A WEEK AND A HALF FOR PARTS TO ARRIVE AND THAT THEY WOULD RETURN MY CALL WHEN PARTS DID ARRIVE, BUT I HAVE YET TO HEAR ANYTHING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

5/26/2016 - LEXINGTON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V701000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. UPDATED 07/13/16 UPDATED 08/03/16.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2016 - LEMONT, IL
CAR WENT TO A MEINEKE SHOP NOV2015. IN BOLINGBROOK, IL AT 1330 W BOUGHTON RD. NOT TOLD THE CAR WAS UNDER RECALL AT TIME OF REPAIR WORK-SHOULD I BE COMPENSATED?!? OR AT LEAST THE $$ RETURNED FOR THE ORIGINAL WORK DONE AT THE MEINEKE SHOP NOV2015? I HAVE RECEIPT. SEE BELOW FOR DETAILS. BACKGROUND: THE 1998 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE THE WHEEL DID NOT TURN, CAR SEEMED TO BE READY TO DIE OUT-DROVE IT TO A PARKING LOT AT LOCAL PARK A FEW BLOCKS AWAY; CALLED PERSONS WHO KNEW SOMETHING ABOUT CARS; DECIDED TO DRIVE IT DRIVE SLOWLY-WITH FLASHERS ON TO A LOCAL REPAIR SHOP (MEINEKE) IN BOLINGBROOK, IL; THEY TOOK A LOOK; SAID A PULLEY BROKE/A NEW SERPENTINE BELT WAS NEEDED. NEVER WAS THERE A MENTION UP THAT THIS CAR WAS UNDER RECALL! ALL THEY SAID WAS-"IT IS AN OLDER CAR. " I PAID $350-$400 IN REPAIR WORK; DROVE THE CAR 1-2 DAYS. IT KEPT DYING OUT WHILE DRIVING. I WENT BACK TO THE SAME MEINEKE SHOP; AGAIN NO MENTION CAME UP THAT THE CAR WAS UNDER RECALL! THEY JUST SAID"WHAT CAN WE SAY, IIT IS AN OLDER CAR. UNLESS YOU WANT TO PAY MORE $$$, WE CAN'T (OR WON'T) DO ANYTHING MORE FOR YOU" NO MORE WORK WAS DONE BY THEM; I DECIDED TO SLOWLY DRIVE THE CAR BACK TO THE HOUSE, AND LEAVE IT ON THE DRIVE WAY, WHERE IT HAS BEEN PARKED SINCE THAT TIME. IN LATE DECEMBER/2015 I FOUND OUT THE CAR WAS IN RECALL VIA A LETTER FROM GM; IT IS UNSAFE; DO NOT DRIVE IT & PARTS WOULD NOT BE IN UNTIL FEB2016 -LAST WEEK IT WAS SOLD FOR PARTS & TOWED AWAY SHOULD SOMETHING MORE BE DONE? SOME SORT OF RESPONSIBLY TAKEN BY THE REPAIR SHOP SINCE IT WAS UNDER RECALL? ALSO, SHOULD GM HAVE PAID FOR ANY DAMAGE DONE BY DRIVING THE CAR NOT KNOWING IT WAS IN RECALL? THE CAR DID START ON FIRE A FEW MONTHS LATER-ONE LAST TRY AT DECIDING WHAT TO DO TO HAVE IT BEFORE IT WAS "JUNKED" ; NOTE: VIN # GIVEN HERE IS ACTUALLY THE RECALL # ON VEHICLE FROM GM

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds