Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 220 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (36) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (16) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/28/2015 - SAMMAMISH, WA
WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH ON THE FREEWAY, THE CAR ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN TO 72 MPH AS IF GOING INTO CRUISE CONTROL. CONFIRMED THE CRUISE CONTROL SWITCH WAS TURNED OFF. APPLIED THE BRAKES SEVEN TIMES. CAR DID NOT RESPOND TO BRAKING. ENGINE SEEMED TO RACE AGAINST THE BRAKES. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, MOVED TO SIDE OF THE ROAD. APPLIED THE HAND BRAKE. TURNED KEY OFF. CAR SLOWED THEN STOPPED. SINCE THIS INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TEST DRIVEN TWICE BY MECHANICS, DURING WHICH IT SEEMED TO OPERATE NORMALLY. ON JANUARY 27, 2015 THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER, BELLEVUE AUDI, FOR DIAGNOSIS. AWAITING RESULTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/28/2015 - SAMMAMISH, WA
WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH ON THE FREEWAY, THE CAR ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN TO 72 MPH AS IF GOING INTO CRUISE CONTROL. CONFIRMED THE CRUISE CONTROL SWITCH WAS TURNED OFF. APPLIED THE BRAKES SEVEN TIMES. CAR DID NOT RESPOND TO BRAKING. ENGINE SEEMED TO RACE AGAINST THE BRAKES. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL, MOVED TO SIDE OF THE ROAD. APPLIED THE HAND BRAKE. TURNED KEY OFF. CAR SLOWED THEN STOPPED. SINCE THIS INCIDENT THE CAR WAS TEST DRIVEN TWICE BY MECHANICS, DURING WHICH IT SEEMED TO OPERATE NORMALLY. ON JANUARY 27, 2015 THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER, BELLEVUE AUDI, FOR DIAGNOSIS. AWAITING RESULTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2013 - SAND POINT, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 AUDI A6. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, SMOKE AND FLAMES BEGAN TO ENTER THE VEHICLE THROUGH THE AIR VENTS. THE CONTACT MOVED THE VEHICLE OVER AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE WITH A FIRE EXTINGUISHER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED BURNS TO THE FINGERS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR INSPECTION AND THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS UNKNOWN. THERE WAS NOT A POLICE OR FIRE REPORT FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 96,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2012 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
AUDI CLAIMS THAT TRANSMISSION FLUID AND FILTER NEVER NEEDS TO BE CHANGED, THIS IS NOT ONLY INCORRECT, BUT THIS ALSO CAUSES TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS ON A REGULAR BASIS. THIS SHOULD NOT BE TOLD TO THE CUSTOMER FOR IT IS A LIE JUST SO THE CUSTOMER HAS CONSTANT TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WHILE AUDI RACKS IN THE MONEY. IT IS A SCAM AND IT SHOULD BE ELIMINATED FROM POTENTIAL AND EXISTING AUDI CUSTOMERS. NO OIL WAS EVER MADE NOT TO BREAK DOWN AND NOT EVER BE CHANGED. A NEW AUDI OWNER USUALLY LISTENS TO THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THEIR CARS, AND USUALLY DON'T CHANGE THE FLUIDS OR FILTERS, HENCE TRANSMISSION BREAK DOWNS AND EXPENSIVE REPAIRS. SCAM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2012 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
AUDI CLAIMS THAT TRANSMISSION FLUID AND FILTER NEVER NEEDS TO BE CHANGED, THIS IS NOT ONLY INCORRECT, BUT THIS ALSO CAUSES TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS ON A REGULAR BASIS. THIS SHOULD NOT BE TOLD TO THE CUSTOMER FOR IT IS A LIE JUST SO THE CUSTOMER HAS CONSTANT TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WHILE AUDI RACKS IN THE MONEY. IT IS A SCAM AND IT SHOULD BE ELIMINATED FROM POTENTIAL AND EXISTING AUDI CUSTOMERS. NO OIL WAS EVER MADE NOT TO BREAK DOWN AND NOT EVER BE CHANGED. A NEW AUDI OWNER USUALLY LISTENS TO THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THEIR CARS, AND USUALLY DON'T CHANGE THE FLUIDS OR FILTERS, HENCE TRANSMISSION BREAK DOWNS AND EXPENSIVE REPAIRS. SCAM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2012 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THE AUDI A6 SINCE INCEPTION. CAR STARTED MAKING A HORRIBLE NOISE THAT SOUNDS LIKE IT IS COMING FROM ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION. CAR CANNOT PASS EMISSIONS. ENGINE SMOKING FLUID IS POURING OUT OF FRONT OF TRANSMISSION. THE CAR DEALER: NALLEY AUDI IN ROSWELL, GEORGIA. THE CAR DEALER NALLEY AUDI FRAUDULENTLY TOOK MONEY FROM ME AND NEVER REPAIRED VEHICLE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/8/2012 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THE AUDI A6 SINCE INCEPTION. CAR STARTED MAKING A HORRIBLE NOISE THAT SOUNDS LIKE IT IS COMING FROM ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION. CAR CANNOT PASS EMISSIONS. ENGINE SMOKING FLUID IS POURING OUT OF FRONT OF TRANSMISSION. THE CAR DEALER: NALLEY AUDI IN ROSWELL, GEORGIA. THE CAR DEALER NALLEY AUDI FRAUDULENTLY TOOK MONEY FROM ME AND NEVER REPAIRED VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2012 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THE AUDI A6 SINCE INCEPTION. CAR STARTED MAKING A HORRIBLE NOISE THAT SOUNDS LIKE IT IS COMING FROM ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION. CAR CANNOT PASS EMISSIONS. ENGINE SMOKING FLUID IS POURING OUT OF FRONT OF TRANSMISSION. THE CAR DEALER: NALLEY AUDI IN ROSWELL, GEORGIA. THE CAR DEALER NALLEY AUDI FRAUDULENTLY TOOK MONEY FROM ME AND NEVER REPAIRED VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/18/2012 - ATLANTA, GA
MY 1999 AUDI A6 2.8 HAS ABS CONTROL MODULE FAILURE. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AMONG 1996 TO 2001 AUDI'S AND VW'S LACK OF ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM CONTROL MAKES MY VEHICLE UNSAFE. AUDI IS NOT WILLING TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS A LARGE NUMBER OF VEHICLES.

View Details

TIRES

12/12/2011 - ST. LOUIS, MO
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING TO WORK THIS MORNING WHEN SHE HAD A TIRE BLOWOUT ON THE HIGHWAY GOING 60MPH. I MET UP WITH HER TO PUT THE SPARE ON AND I WAS EXPECTING A NAIL OR SOMETHING IN THE TIRE. WHEN I INSPECTED THE TIRE I WAS SURPRISED TO NOTICE A SEVERE BLOWOUT ON THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE ON THE INSIDE SIDE WALL OF THE TIRE FROM THE TREAD TO THE RIM. THIS IS CONCERNING TO ME BECAUSE WE STILL HAD 40,000 MILES LEFT ON THE WARRANTY AND WE STILL HAVE THE SAME BRAND/SIZE ON THE OTHER TIRES. I AM WORRIED THAT THIS MAY HAPPEN ON THE OTHER TIRES. THE BRAND OF TIRE IS YOKOHAMA AVID TRZ SIZE: P205/55R16 89T. I KNOW THIS TIRE IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST, BUT I AM SUSPECT OF THIS TIRE AFTER THIS INCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds