Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/8/2012 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH THE AUDI A6 SINCE INCEPTION. CAR STARTED MAKING A HORRIBLE NOISE THAT SOUNDS LIKE IT IS COMING FROM ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION. CAR CANNOT PASS EMISSIONS. ENGINE SMOKING FLUID IS POURING OUT OF FRONT OF TRANSMISSION. THE CAR DEALER: NALLEY AUDI IN ROSWELL, GEORGIA. THE CAR DEALER NALLEY AUDI FRAUDULENTLY TOOK MONEY FROM ME AND NEVER REPAIRED VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/18/2012 - ATLANTA, GA
MY 1999 AUDI A6 2.8 HAS ABS CONTROL MODULE FAILURE. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AMONG 1996 TO 2001 AUDI'S AND VW'S LACK OF ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM CONTROL MAKES MY VEHICLE UNSAFE. AUDI IS NOT WILLING TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS A LARGE NUMBER OF VEHICLES.

View Details

TIRES

12/12/2011 - ST. LOUIS, MO
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING TO WORK THIS MORNING WHEN SHE HAD A TIRE BLOWOUT ON THE HIGHWAY GOING 60MPH. I MET UP WITH HER TO PUT THE SPARE ON AND I WAS EXPECTING A NAIL OR SOMETHING IN THE TIRE. WHEN I INSPECTED THE TIRE I WAS SURPRISED TO NOTICE A SEVERE BLOWOUT ON THE REAR PASSENGER TIRE ON THE INSIDE SIDE WALL OF THE TIRE FROM THE TREAD TO THE RIM. THIS IS CONCERNING TO ME BECAUSE WE STILL HAD 40,000 MILES LEFT ON THE WARRANTY AND WE STILL HAVE THE SAME BRAND/SIZE ON THE OTHER TIRES. I AM WORRIED THAT THIS MAY HAPPEN ON THE OTHER TIRES. THE BRAND OF TIRE IS YOKOHAMA AVID TRZ SIZE: P205/55R16 89T. I KNOW THIS TIRE IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST, BUT I AM SUSPECT OF THIS TIRE AFTER THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

9/2/2011 - POINT ROBERTS, WA
ABS MODULE FAILURE, ABS SYSTEM FAILED, ABS WARNING LIGHT ON , ALARM AND BRAKE WARNING LIGHT ON. COMMON FAILURE ON THIS MODEL BOSCH UNIT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/23/2011 - MOSCOW, ID
1999 AUDI A6 QUATTRO SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SLOT AT MAYBE 5 MPH, MY FOOT WAS LIGHTLY PRESSING ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, AS I WAS NEARLY IN THE PARKING STALL. THE ENGINE WAS AT IDLE SPEED. AS I COASTED INTO THE PARKING STALL WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL THE ENGINE SUDDENLY AND WITHOUT ANY PRIOR WARNING REVVED UP TO ABOVE 3000 RPM. THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD HITTING THE PARKING CURB DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME. I IMMEDIATELY APPLIED MORE PRESSURE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO KEEP THE CAR FROM JUMPING OVER THE CURB, AND SHIFTED THE GEAR SELECTOR INTO N. THE ENGINE THEN REVVED EVEN HIGHER, AT WHICH POINT I TURNED OFF THE KEY. WITH THE KEY OFF, I MOVED THE GEAR SELECTOR TO P, AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE THEN RAN IDLED AT NORMAL SPEED, AND DROVE NORMALLY TO MY HOME ABOUT 1/4 MILE AWAY. I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED; THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED WAS AS I WAS COASTING TO A STOP AT A RED TRAFFIC LIGHT. AGAIN MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE AND THE ENGINE WAS RETURNING TO IDLE SPEED. AS I APPROACHED THE INTERSECTION THE ENGINE REVVED CAUSING ME TO COAST THROUGH THE INTERSECTION BEFORE BEING ABLE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A FULL STOP, AGAIN BY APPLYING STRONG BREAKING FORCE. I THEN PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN N AND THE ENGINE REVVED HIGHER, SO I SWITCHED OFF THE KEY. THANKFULLY THE OTHER VEHICLES HAD ALREADY CLEARED THE INTERSECTION AND THERE WAS NO COLLISION. WHEN I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, IT IDLED AND DROVE AS NORMAL AGAIN. THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOVE 45 DEGREES FAHRENHEIT AND THE PAVEMENT WAS DRY IN BOTH CASES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/17/2011 - GREAT NECK, NY
CATALYTIC CONVERTERS (2 FRONT) NEED TO BE REPLACED. AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON STEADY, INDICATES ENGINE MISFIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/9/2011 - ARDEN HILLS, MN
DRIVING HOME TONIGHT MY CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN STARTED ACCELERATING (I DRIVE AN AUDI A6 1999). USING THE BRAKES I WAS ABLE TO SLOW IT DOWN ENOUGH TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY THOUGH MY BRAKES SEEMED TO BE FIGHTING AGAINST THE CAR. I ROLLED THROUGH TWO STOP SIGNS AS MY CAR WOULD NOT STOP AND LUCKILY AVOIDING THE OTHER CARS WAITING THERE I WAS ABLE TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I WAITED TEN MINUTES OR SO AND TRIED STARTING MY CAR. THE ENGINE REVVED TO 4 TO 5000 RPMS SO, I QUICKLY SHUT IT OFF AGAIN. I WAITED AGAIN, TRIED IT ONCE MORE AND THE CAR STARTED FINE. I DROVE HOME, CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD I COULD BE SEEN ON 02/14/11. FOUR DAYS FROM NOW. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/9/2011 - ARDEN HILLS, MN
DRIVING HOME TONIGHT MY CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN STARTED ACCELERATING (I DRIVE AN AUDI A6 1999). USING THE BRAKES I WAS ABLE TO SLOW IT DOWN ENOUGH TO GET OFF THE FREEWAY THOUGH MY BRAKES SEEMED TO BE FIGHTING AGAINST THE CAR. I ROLLED THROUGH TWO STOP SIGNS AS MY CAR WOULD NOT STOP AND LUCKILY AVOIDING THE OTHER CARS WAITING THERE I WAS ABLE TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK AND TURN OFF THE ENGINE. I WAITED TEN MINUTES OR SO AND TRIED STARTING MY CAR. THE ENGINE REVVED TO 4 TO 5000 RPMS SO, I QUICKLY SHUT IT OFF AGAIN. I WAITED AGAIN, TRIED IT ONCE MORE AND THE CAR STARTED FINE. I DROVE HOME, CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD I COULD BE SEEN ON 02/14/11. FOUR DAYS FROM NOW. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/28/2010 - BROADVIEW HEIGHTS, OH
ON THE MORNING OF NOVEMBER 20, 2010, I WAS PULLING IN TO A PARKING SPACE AT THE LOCAL LIBRARY, APPROXIMATELY 10 MINUTES FROM MY HOME. AS I WAS MAKING THE TURN TO PULL INTO THE PARKING SPACE, I HEARD THE ENGINE REV, AND THE CAR ACCELERATED AS THOUGH THE CRUISE CONTROL HAD "KICKED IN" AND MY BRAKE WOULD NOT STOP THE CAR. RATHER THAN HIT A CAR THAT WAS PARKED IN FRONT OF MY PARKING SPACE, I TURNED THE VEHICLE TO GO UP A CURB AND HIT A TREE. ONCE THE TREE STOPPED THE CAR, I WAS ABLE TO PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, BACK DOWN OFF THE CURB, PUT THE CAR IN PARK, AND PULL OUT THE KEY. OIL WAS POURING OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND IT HAD TO BE TOWED TO MY HOME, WAS EXAMINED BY MY INSURANCE COMPANY, AND WAS WRITTEN OFF AS A TOTAL LOSS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

11/17/2010 - LATHAM, NY
ABS WARNING STARTED FLASHING INFREQUENTLY. ABS CONTROL MODULE FAILED COMPLETELY. DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED THAT ABS MODULE HAS FAILED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds