Auto Recalls for Consumers

AUDI A6 - 1999 AUDI A6 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 1999 AUDI A6

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 AUDI A6. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 AUDI A6, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (33) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (37) Fuel System Gasoline (27) Seats (8) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Fuel System Other (15) Service Brakes (1) Structure (8) Visibility (15)
Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Air (5) Suspension (17) Wheels (3)
Exterior Lighting (9) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Electric (3) Tires (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/30/2010 - COLTS NECK, NJ
SMOKE ERUPTED THROUGH VENT SYSTEM. PULLED CAR TO SIDE OF ROAD AND FAMILY OF 4 EVACUATED. WITHIN 90 SECONDS, THE DASH ERUPTED INTO FLAMES. INTERIOR/DASH ETC. WAS TOTALLY DESTROYED. MOTOR COMPARTMENT UNTOUCHED BY FIRE. SEEMS TO HAVE OCCURRED IN ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. HAVE PICTURES OF FIRE AND FIRE DEPT RESPONSE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

7/6/2010 - ALPHARETTA, GA
I HAVE A 1999 AUDI A6 QUATTRO -- ABS UNIT LIGHT FLASHES, DIAGNOSED AS A DEFECTIVE CONTROL UNIT. THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH AUDI AND VW AND A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SEATS

2/6/2010 - RIVER FALLS, WI
THE SEATS HAVE THE OPTION TO BE HEATED. THE HEAT GOT SO HOT IT BURNED SEAT, AND A PILLOW THAT WAS ON THE SEAT, DESTROYING BOTH THE PILLOW AND THE SEAT FILLING THE CAR WITH A SMOKEY FILM. THE SMELL WAS SO BAD IT FILLED THE CAR AND GARAGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/8/2009 - LAKE MILLS, WI
WHILE DRIVING MY AUDI A6 AVANT QUATTRO, SMOKE BEGAN COMING OUT OF THE DRIVERS SIDE DASH VENT. I STOPPED THE CAR AS SOON AS I SAFELY COULD AND CALLED 911, AS SOON AS I WAS OUT OF THE VEHICLE THE SMOKE BECAME WORSE AND FLAMES BEGAN ROLLING OUT OF THE DASH AREA. THE FIRE WAS EXTINGUISHED ALMOST IMMEDIATELY WITH A FIRE EXTINGUISHER WHICH A NEARBY RESIDENT LUCKILY HAD HANDY. BY VIEWING THIS FIRE AT CLOSE RANGE I AM CERTAIN THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE BEEN COMPLETELY ENGULFED WITHIN MINUTES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT USED A HEAT SENSING TOOL TO DETERMINE THAT THE SOURCE OF THE FIRE OR HOTSPOT WAS VERY NEAR THE FUSE BOX BEHIND THE HEADLIGHT SWITCH. THEY CUT THE DASH APART TO BE SURE THE FIRE WAS COMPLETELY OUT. I HAD NO WARNING OF THIS MALFUNCTION AND AM JUST THANKFUL THAT I WAS ABLE TO GET AWAY FROM THE VEHICLE AS QUICKLY AS I DID.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/1/2009 - MAPLEWOOD, NJ
CAR: 1999 AUDI AVANT WAGON 1. THE CAR WAS LEFT OUTSIDE DURING THE WINTER OF 2008/9 AND UNUSED FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. IN SPRINT OF 2009, THE CAR WAS JUMP STARTED AND THIS IS WHEN THE PROBLEMS STARTED OCCURRING. 2. REGARDLESS OF COLD WEATHER, THE CAR WILL ACCELERATE. MORE SPECIFICALLY, WHEN THE GAS PEDAL IS RELEASED, THE CAR WILL NOT DECELERATE. THIS MEANS THE CAR WILL PROPEL ITSELF FORWARD. WITHOUT DEPRESSING THE GAS PEDAL, THE CAR WILL SOMETIMES ACHIEVE A SPEED OF 40-45 MPH. BY PUSHING THE PEDAL DOWN AND RELEASING IT QUICKLY (PUMPING THE PEDAL), THE THROTTLE WILL RELEASE AND THE CAR WILL COME BACK DOWN TO IDLE SPEED. THIS OCCURS NOT EVERY TIME BUT APPROXIMATE 1 OUT OF 10 TIMES THAT THE CAR IS DRIVEN. 3. THE TUBE THAT LEADS TO THE THROTTLE, THE ACCELERATOR CABLE, AND THE THROTTLE BODY HAVE ALL BEEN REPLACED. THERE IS A RECALL ON THE THROTTLE BODY ON THIS CAR RELATED TO THIS SPECIFIC ISSUE BUT THE RECALL IS ONLY BASED ON VERY COLD AMBIENT WEATHER. I AM EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE DURING WARM WEATHER ALSO. THE MECHANIC NOW THINKS THIS IS DUE THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE (ECM).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

6/17/2009 - TACOMA, WA
ALL OF A SUDDEN MY ABS LIGHT CAME ON IN MY 1999 AUDI A6, AND THE BRAKE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING. I HAD A FULL LOSS OF MY ABS BRAKES ON ICY WINTER ROADS. I EVENTUALLY SLID OFF THE ROAD AND HIT A FENCE. THE ABS CONTROL MODULE ON MY CAR HAD FAILED, AND I'VE READ POSTS OF SEVERAL HUNDREDS OTHER HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM. IN MY CAR IT IS A CONSTANT ERROR, AND NO-ONE BUT AUDI CAN FIX THE PROBLEM. I ALSO CONTACTED AUDI, WHICH CLAIMS THAT THE ABS SYSTEM DISABLING IS NOT A SAFETY CONCERN. WHEN THERE'S A CHANCE THAT YOUR ABS (SOMETHING YOU'VE RELIED ON FOR YEARS) SUDDENLY SHUTS DOWN BECAUSE OF A WAY TOO COMMON ERROR, IT IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. I WAS LUCKY I ONLY GOT SOME DENTS TO MY CAR, BUT IF AUDI HAD RECALLED THESE I WOULDN'T HAVE HAD TO GET REPAIRS DONE TO MY CAR. UNFORTUNATELY SOMEONE WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO DIE BEFORE THIS SAFETY CONCERN IS TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND AUDI WILL DO A RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2009 - WAUWATOSA, WI
DURING NORMAL USE AND DRIVING ABS, BRAKE LIGHT AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON. ERRATIC AT FIRST THEN STEADY. DIAGNOSIS: ABS CONTROLLER FAILURE. DURING PERIOD OF FAILURE VEHICLE OPERATES BUT WITHOUT AUTOMATIC BRAKING SYSTEM. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON CONCERN AFTER CONDUCTING A QUICK INTERNET SEARCH. MECHANIC STATES THIS IS COMMON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, ELECTRIC

12/30/2008 - ST. PAUL, MN
I DRIVE A 1999 AUDI A6 AVANT WHICH IS OUR PRIMARY FAMILY CAR. WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ONE DAY, THE CAR'S ABS WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ILLUMINATED UNTIL THE CAR IS SHUT OFF. AT THE SAME TIME THE RED BRAKE WARNING LIGHT FLASHES ON AND OFF UNTIL THE CAR IS TURNED OFF. THIS SAME THING HAPPENS EVERY TIME THE CAR IS TURNED ON. DESPITE THE FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS, THE BRAKES OPERATED NORMALLY ON DRY PAVEMENT. HOWEVER, ON WET, SNOWY PAVEMENT THE ABS DID NOT WORK WHEN BRAKING FOR A STOP. I CALLED THE AUDI DEALER TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THIS PROBLEM (AND OTHER ISSUES) BECAUSE I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THE BRAKES ESPECIALLY DURING THE WINTER. THE PERSON I SPOKE WITH AT THE AUDI DEALERSHIP DID NOT SOUND ALARMED OR VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE WARNING LIGHTS FOR THE ABS AND THE BRAKE. I ASKED AGAIN ABOUT THE SAFETY ISSUE, AND THE PERSON SAID I WOULD BE FINE AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR ME FOR TWO AND A HALF WEEKS LATER. WE DROVE THE CAR CAREFULLY FOR THE NEXT TWO AND A HALF WEEKS UNTIL OUR APPOINTMENT AT AUDI. BEFORE EVEN LOOKING AT THE CAR, AUDI SERVICE DESK SAID THAT THE WARNING LIGHTS WERE PROBABLY, MORE THAN LIKELY THE ABS CONTROL MODULE. I WAS TOLD IT WOULD COST $975 TO REPLACE THE ABS CONTROL MODULE. I DIDN'T HAVE THE DEALERSHIP REPLACE THAT ABS MODULE YET BECAUSE I NEEDED OTHER REPAIRS FIRST. AFTER RESEARCHING THE ABS CONTROL MODULE ONLINE AND AFTER TALKING TO A FEW PEOPLE I REALIZE THAT IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM FOR THIS MAKE AND MODEL CAR AND FOR OTHER AUDI CARS BUT THERE IS NO RECALL CAMPAIGN IN EFFECT FOR THE BATCH OF FAULTY ABS MODULES. I LIVE IN MINNESOTA WHERE THERE IS POTENTIAL TO BE SNOW 5 MONTHS OUT OF THE YEAR. I BOUGHT THIS CAR USED BECAUSE OF ALL THE SAFETY FEATURES THAT ARE USEFUL IN SNOWY WEATHER. TO HAVE THE ABS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THEN TO REALIZE THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM IN THIS MAKE OF CAR SEEMS TO ME TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE THAT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY THE MANUFACTURE. AUDI SHOULD RECALL THE ABS MODULE. THANKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/8/2008 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 AUDI A6. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED A TOXIC ODOR FROM THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. HE NOTICED GREEN SMOKE COMING FROM THE VENTS AND PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER. THE SMOKE FROM ALL FOUR OF THE VENTS TURNED INTO FLAMES. THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED AND FILED A REPORT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD AND THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND HAD TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 9,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE

8/26/2008 - COLUMBIA , SC
RAIN WATER LEAKING IN THE CABIN OF MY CAR, COLLECTING ON PASSENGER SIDE FLOOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds