Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW K1200LT - 1999 BMW K1200LT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW

There are 44 complaints filed for the 1999 BMW K1200LT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 BMW K1200LT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 BMW K1200LT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (36) Suspension (4) Visibility (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
STARTED ENGINE, NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER VEHICLE, TURNED ENGINE TO OFF, GOT OFF AND SAW FIRE ON LEFT SIDE. GRABBED FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND EXTINGUISHED FIRE. FIRE CAUSED BY PLASTIC FUEL RAIL FAILURE AND SPILLING FUEL ONTO ENGINE HEADER. PROBABLE CAUSE OF FUEL RAIL FAILURE IS ETHANOL FUEL DETERIORATING FUEL RAIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2013 - GREENFIELD, IN
LEAKING REAR END LUBE STARTED INVESTIGATION. ULTIMATE CAUSE OF LEAK WAS PENDING FAILURE OF CROWN GEAR BEARINGS ON BIKE WITH PARALEVER STYLE FINAL DRIVE. REPLACED BEARINGS AND SEALS AS NO DAMAGE TO GEAR(S) WAS APPARENT. DONE ON TRIP OUT WEST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2013 - LEBANON, KY
THE FINAL DRIVE LEAKED FLUID ON THE REAR WHEEL, THE REAR DRIVE BEGAN TO GRIND AND SEIZE. END OF RIDE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/11/2012 - SUNSET BEACH, NC
REAR DRIVE SEAL AND BEARINGS FAILED, LEAKING OIL, LOOSING BRAKING POWER, WITH TIRE WOBBLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/6/2012 - FRANKLIN, TN
THIS IS SAME FAILURE AS DESCRIBED IN ODI NO. 10439549, AND CURRENTLY BEING INVESTIGATED UNDER CAMPAIGN DP12001. MY 1999 K1200LT HAS HAD THE FINAL DRIVE REBUILT TWICE AND REPLACED TOTALLY ONCE AT BMW DEALERSHIPS. THE FIRST TIME WAS A REBUILD ON 9/25/2004 AT 37290 MILES AFTER THE FINAL DRIVE STARTED GRINDING. THE NEXT WAS 9/12/07 AT 54929 MILES WITH THE SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. THE MOST RECENT WAS 8/28/2012 AT 73001 MILES AFTER THE FINAL DRIVE FAILED COMPLETELY, LEAKING DRIVE LUBRICATION ALL OVER THE REAR WHEEL AND DISK BRAKE. REAR BRAKES SUBSEQUENTLY FAILED AS WELL. THIS HAPPENED AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS OF 75MPH. COSTS FOR REBUILDS RUN $400-600 AND THE LAST REPAIR/ REPLACEMENT OF FINAL DRIVE AND BRAKES WAS $2023.00. MY EXPERIENCE INDICATES THAT THE DRIVES ONLY LAST 20-30,000 MILES. I BOUGHT THE BIKE WITH 11,000 MILES ON IT AND I DO NOT KNOW IF THE FINAL DRIVE HAD BEEN REPLACED PRIOR TO MY PURCHASE. THESE FAILURES HAVE ALL BEEN ATTRIBUTED TO THE FAULTY ASSEMBLY OF THE FINAL DRIVES, WHICH REQUIRE A VERY CAREFUL MEASUREMENT OF A TAPERED WHEEL BEARING PRELOAD. MOST REBUILDS BLAME THE FAILURE ON TOO MUCH PRELOAD. NEWER DESIGNS BY BMW HAVE REPLACED THE TAPERED BEARING WITH A BETTER DESIGN THAT DOES NOT REQUIRE THE EXACTING STANDARDS FOR PRELOAD. FAILURES ON THESE UNITS HAVE BEEN DRASTICALLY REDUCED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/29/2012 - MARSHFIELD , MA
FINAL DRIVE HAVE BEING REBUILT ONE YEAR EARLIER & AGAIN I LOST CONTROL REAR TIRE WHILE RIM START IT WOBBLING OUT CONTROL, BIKE WEIGHT 840 POUNDS VERY DIFFICULT AND WITH MY WIFE ON BOARD THANKS GOD WE ARE ALIVE. GOLD STAR BMW DEALER IN QUEENS DETERMINE THAT I NEED A BRAND NEW FINAL DRIVE,I WAS VERY FORTUNATE TO BE ALIVE; FINAL DRIVE IT WAS TOTAL BLOWN AWAY INTO LITTLE PIECES . REPAIR COST AROUND $1500.00 DOLLARS. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/29/2012 - MARSHFIELD , MA
FINAL DRIVE HAVE BEING REBUILT ONE YEAR EARLIER & AGAIN I LOST CONTROL REAR TIRE WHILE RIM START IT WOBBLING OUT CONTROL, BIKE WEIGHT 840 POUNDS VERY DIFFICULT AND WITH MY WIFE ON BOARD THANKS GOD WE ARE ALIVE. GOLD STAR BMW DEALER IN QUEENS DETERMINE THAT I NEED A BRAND NEW FINAL DRIVE,I WAS VERY FORTUNATE TO BE ALIVE; FINAL DRIVE IT WAS TOTAL BLOWN AWAY INTO LITTLE PIECES . REPAIR COST AROUND $1500.00 DOLLARS. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

WHEELS

6/29/2012 - MARSHFIELD , MA
FINAL DRIVE HAVE BEING REBUILT ONE YEAR EARLIER & AGAIN I LOST CONTROL REAR TIRE WHILE RIM START IT WOBBLING OUT CONTROL, BIKE WEIGHT 840 POUNDS VERY DIFFICULT AND WITH MY WIFE ON BOARD THANKS GOD WE ARE ALIVE. GOLD STAR BMW DEALER IN QUEENS DETERMINE THAT I NEED A BRAND NEW FINAL DRIVE,I WAS VERY FORTUNATE TO BE ALIVE; FINAL DRIVE IT WAS TOTAL BLOWN AWAY INTO LITTLE PIECES . REPAIR COST AROUND $1500.00 DOLLARS. [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/24/2012 - EAGLE, ID
ON JUNE 17, 2011 THE FINAL DRIVE OF MY 1999 BMW K1200LT STARTED LEAKING GEAR OIL FROM THE CROWN BEARING SEAL. THE SUSPECTED CAUSE IS THE CROWN BEARING FAILURE PUSHED THE SEAL OUT OF PLACE AND ALLOWED THE GEAR OIL TO LEAK ON THE REAR BRAKE DISC AND REAR TIRE. THIS IN TURN CAUSED THE REAR BRAKE TO FAIL DUE TO OIL ON THE BRAKE PADS AND THE REAR TIRE TO BE UNSTABLE WITH OIL ON IT. I REPLACED THE REAR DRIVE IN JANUARY 2012.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2012 - SALT LAKE CITY, UT
1999 BMW K1200LT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS POWER TRAIN FINAL DRIVE BEARING FAILURES BEING INVESTIGATED UNDER CAMPAIGN DPI 12001 THE CONSUMER STATED THE FAILURE OF THE FINAL DRIVE OCCURRED ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS, WHICH RESULTED IN GEAR LUBE OIL LEAKING ON TO THE HIGHWAY. THE SECOND TIME IT OCCURRED, THE FINAL DRIVE SEIZED WHEN THE BIKE WAS BEING UNLOADED FROM A TOW TRUCK AT THE REPAIR FACILITY. AGAIN, THE REAR SEAL, O-RING, ROLLER BEARING, GASKETS AND GEAR LUBE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE THIRD TIME THE FINAL DRIVE FAILED, THE REPAIR FACILITY STATED THE FRAGMENTS OF THE CRUSHED BEARING HAD DAMAGED THE GEARS IN THE POWER TRAIN FINAL DRIVE ASSEMBLY. THE REPAIR INCLUDED REPLACING THE GEARS IN THE FINAL DRIVE, THE GASKETS, O-RING, BEARING AND GEAR LUBE OIL AGAIN. THE FOURTH FAILURE, THE MECHANIC STATED IT WOULD BE BEST TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE DRIVE TRAIN, FINAL DRIVE ASSEMBLY WHICH CONTAINED ALL NEW GEARS, GASKETS, SEALS, O-RING, BEARINGS AND THE HOUSING WHICH HELD ALL OF THE PARTS. WHEN THE BEARING FAILURE HAPPENED, THERE WAS A MAJOR OIL LEAK FROM THE FINAL DRIVE UNIT AND THE REAR WHEEL WOBBLED DANGEROUSLY. THE CONSUMER BELIEVED THE BEARING WAS NOT ADEQUATE TO HANDLE THE WEIGHT, TORQUE AND OTHER DEMANDS OF THE MOTORCYCLE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds