Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY - 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 362 complaints filed for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (59) Equipment Adaptive (1) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (12)
Communications (17) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (45) Service Brakes Hydraulic (23) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (6) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Seats (47) Structure (19) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Fuel System Other (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (32) Wheels (28)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (7)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/6/2013 - TAYLORSVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD IMMEDIATELY RESTART AFTER THE FAILURE BUT ALL THE GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WOULD REMAIN OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 178,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2013 - DESOTO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING IN RAINY WEATHER AT APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH WHEN SHE TRAVELED OVER A PUDDLE OF WATER AND THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE BATTERY WARNING LIGHT AND THE KEY ICON ILLUMINATED. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN AND THE CONTACT MOVED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2013 - SHREVEPORT, LA
WHEN I STARTED THE CAR THE ENGINE WAS COLD FROM SITTING IN THE DRIVEWAY ALL NIGHT. I SMELLED GASOLINE. I OPENED THE HOOD TO FIND GASOLINE SHOOTING OUT OF THE FUEL HOSE RIGHT WHERE IT FITS INTO THE PRESSED CRIMPED METAL CONNECTION. IT WAS SPRAYING GASOLINE ALL OVER THE ENGINE. I TURNED OF THE ENGINE BEFORE IT BECAME HOT. IF THIS LEAK HAD OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING, THE MOTOR WOULD HAVE BEEN HOT, AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE GARAGE REPLACED THE PLENUM GASKET SET, FUEL INJECTION, O RING, AND THE FUEL RAIL. NOTE: THE RECALL #RQ00008 DC MINIVAN FUEL INJECTOR RAIL LEAK WAS DONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/6/2013 - NAPERVILLE, IL
MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN GOING HAYWIRE. SOMETIMES THE LOCKS GOES UP AND DOWN BY ITSELF AND YOU CAN HEAR SOMETHING SORT OF LIKE A TAZER. THE ODOMETER BLINKS WHILE ALL OF THIS IS GOING ON. ALSO, I TOOK MY VAN TO THE SHOP AT SEARS BECAUSE WHEN I TURN THE SWITCH FOR AIR, IT ONLY WORKS ON HIGH AND NOT ALL THE TIME. THEY TOLD ME THAT SEEMS TO BE THE CASE WITH MANY OF THE TOWN AND COUNTRY VANS THAT COME IN THERE. ALSO THE PIPE THAT RUNS COOLANT TO THE BACK VENTS RUSTED OUT. AGAIN, AFTER RESEARCHING WITH MANY SHOPS, WAS TOLD THAT IT APPEARS THE SAME ISSUES ARE TAKING PLACE WITH THIS MODEL VAN. ALSO THERE IS A LOT OF RUST UNDERNEATH. NOT SURE AS TO HOW IT IS HAPPENING. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE MY RADIATOR TWICE WITH THE LAST 6 YEARS AS IF SOMETHING IS RUSTING PARTS UNDERNEATH. I WILL BE VISITING MANY SHOPS AND HAVING THE OWNERS SIGN A PETITION AS TO WHAT ARE THE ONGOING ISSUES WITH THESE VEHICLES. I HAVE STARTED A BLOG AND I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/6/2013 - NAPERVILLE, IL
MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN GOING HAYWIRE. SOMETIMES THE LOCKS GOES UP AND DOWN BY ITSELF AND YOU CAN HEAR SOMETHING SORT OF LIKE A TAZER. THE ODOMETER BLINKS WHILE ALL OF THIS IS GOING ON. ALSO, I TOOK MY VAN TO THE SHOP AT SEARS BECAUSE WHEN I TURN THE SWITCH FOR AIR, IT ONLY WORKS ON HIGH AND NOT ALL THE TIME. THEY TOLD ME THAT SEEMS TO BE THE CASE WITH MANY OF THE TOWN AND COUNTRY VANS THAT COME IN THERE. ALSO THE PIPE THAT RUNS COOLANT TO THE BACK VENTS RUSTED OUT. AGAIN, AFTER RESEARCHING WITH MANY SHOPS, WAS TOLD THAT IT APPEARS THE SAME ISSUES ARE TAKING PLACE WITH THIS MODEL VAN. ALSO THERE IS A LOT OF RUST UNDERNEATH. NOT SURE AS TO HOW IT IS HAPPENING. I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE MY RADIATOR TWICE WITH THE LAST 6 YEARS AS IF SOMETHING IS RUSTING PARTS UNDERNEATH. I WILL BE VISITING MANY SHOPS AND HAVING THE OWNERS SIGN A PETITION AS TO WHAT ARE THE ONGOING ISSUES WITH THESE VEHICLES. I HAVE STARTED A BLOG AND I AM NOT THE ONLY PERSON WITH ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/19/2012 - EL DORADO SPRINGS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE GEARS COULD BE SHIFTED WITHOUT THE CONTACT DEPRESSING THE BRAKES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS WHERE THEY ADVISED HIM THAT THE BRAKE SHIFT INTERLOCK WAS NOT PLACED IN THAT PARTICULAR YEAR, MAKE AND MODEL VEHICLE. THEREFORE, THE FAILURE WAS CONSIDERED A NORMAL CHARACTERISTIC OF THE PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 185,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/10/2012 - SIMSBURY, CT
MY 17 YEAR OLD SON WAS DRIVING THE CAR; HE APPLIED THE BRAKES WHILE APPROACHING A RED LIGHT AND THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. HE WAS DRIVING SLOW ENOUGH AND STARTED BRAKING SOON ENOUGH THAT HE WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR PRIOR TO THE INTERSECTION BY PUMPING THE BRAKE PEDAL VIGOROUSLY. BOTH OF THE SOLID FRONT BRAKE LINES HAD RUSTED OUT AT THE CONNECTION POINTS WITH THE FLEXIBLE HOSES... I HAD PREVIOUSLY REPLACED THE REAR BRAKE LINES DUE TO SIMILAR RUSTING PROBLEMS (3 YEARS AGO), AND DID ASK THE DEALER TO INSPECT THE FRONT BRAKE LINES ABOUT A YEAR AGO PRIOR TO LETTING MY SON DRIVE THE 'OLD' MINIVAN; THE BRAKE LINES WERE GIVEN A CLEAN BILL OF HEALTH...

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2012 - HAMPTON, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 CHRYSLER TOWN AND COUNTRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CLUSTER CIRCUIT BOARD ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THERE WAS AN OPEN CIRCUIT BOARD THAT CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO NOT START, WHICH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/30/2012 - SHREVEPORT, LA
THIS IS THE 2ND INCIDENT FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. FIRST COMPLAINT #10468365. I WAS STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION. I CROSSED THE STREET AND MY TIRES SPLASHED WATER THAT WAS RUNNING DOWN THE STREET GUTTER. THE WATER WAS 2-4" DEEP. I ONCE AGAIN IMMEDIATELY LOST STEERING AND THE ENGINE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT. I WAS ABLE TO MUSCLE THE STEERING WHEEL ENOUGH TO PULL IT OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND FOUND THE BELT HAD SLIPPED OFF AGAIN. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE GARAGE. THE MECHANIC CHECKED OUT THE BELT AND THE TENSIONER AND SAID THEY WERE OK, AND THEY REINSTALLED THE BELT. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED I WAS TURNING A CORNER, AND THE VAN WENT INTO THE OPPOSITE LANE. I GUESS I CAN BE THANKFUL FOR THE DRAUGHT THESE PAST FEW MONTHS. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. IT MAKES ME AFRAID OF DRIVING WHEN IT IS RAINING OR WITH ANY WATER ON THE ROAD. I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70MPH, PASSING SOMEONE, OR TAKING A CURVE IN THE ROAD. I CONTACTED THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP. A BULLETIN #07-0299 WAS ISSUED IN 7.14.99. THE DEALERSHIP SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PURCHASE ANY FIXES AS IT WASN'T A RECALLED PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD MY MECHANIC THEY OFFERED A $400 KIT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, OR I COULD PURCHASE A "SNOW" SHIELD AND HAVE IT INSTALLED. WHY WOULD I NEED A "SNOW" SHIELD IN LOUISIANA?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/30/2012 - SHREVEPORT, LA
THIS IS THE 2ND INCIDENT FOR THE SAME PROBLEM. FIRST COMPLAINT #10468365. I WAS STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION. I CROSSED THE STREET AND MY TIRES SPLASHED WATER THAT WAS RUNNING DOWN THE STREET GUTTER. THE WATER WAS 2-4" DEEP. I ONCE AGAIN IMMEDIATELY LOST STEERING AND THE ENGINE BEGAN TO OVERHEAT. I WAS ABLE TO MUSCLE THE STEERING WHEEL ENOUGH TO PULL IT OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND FOUND THE BELT HAD SLIPPED OFF AGAIN. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE GARAGE. THE MECHANIC CHECKED OUT THE BELT AND THE TENSIONER AND SAID THEY WERE OK, AND THEY REINSTALLED THE BELT. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED I WAS TURNING A CORNER, AND THE VAN WENT INTO THE OPPOSITE LANE. I GUESS I CAN BE THANKFUL FOR THE DRAUGHT THESE PAST FEW MONTHS. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM. IT MAKES ME AFRAID OF DRIVING WHEN IT IS RAINING OR WITH ANY WATER ON THE ROAD. I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70MPH, PASSING SOMEONE, OR TAKING A CURVE IN THE ROAD. I CONTACTED THE CHRYSLER DEALERSHIP. A BULLETIN #07-0299 WAS ISSUED IN 7.14.99. THE DEALERSHIP SAID I WOULD HAVE TO PURCHASE ANY FIXES AS IT WASN'T A RECALLED PROBLEM. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD MY MECHANIC THEY OFFERED A $400 KIT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, OR I COULD PURCHASE A "SNOW" SHIELD AND HAVE IT INSTALLED. WHY WOULD I NEED A "SNOW" SHIELD IN LOUISIANA?

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds