Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE DURANGO - 1999 DODGE DURANGO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 1960 complaints filed for the 1999 DODGE DURANGO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 DODGE DURANGO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 DODGE DURANGO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Equipment (15) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Service Brakes (11) Tires (21)
Child Seat (2) Exterior Lighting (24) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (5) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (180) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (180) Vehicle Speed Control (38)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Power Train (194) Steering (167) Visibility (58)
Engine (27) Fuel System Other (9) Seat Belts (30) Structure (18) Wheels (27)
Engine And Engine Cooling (297) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (32) Suspension (1661)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 314
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2017 - QUITSMAN, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE DURANGO. WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. CASS BURCH (801 E SCREEN ST, QUITMAN, GA) WAS CONTACTED AND OFFERED NO ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 170,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/19/2017 - SUGAR CITY, CO
0943

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/16/2017 - SANTA ROSA, CA
1999 DODGE DURANGO PCM/ECU WILL FAIL WHEN IT GETS HOT, GIVING A NO BUS, AND CAUSING THE ENGINE TO STALL AND LOSE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MY VEHICLE ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AT HIGHWAY SPEED WHERE I WAS BARELY ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE HAD THE PCM/ECU REPLACED OVER 5 TIMES, WHICH IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. EXPERTS HAVE PIN POINTED THE ISSUES TO CERTAIN CHIPS COMING UNSOLDERED IN THE PCM/ECU DUE TO HEAT. KEENAN LAWS HAS YOUTUBE VIDEOS ON EXACTLY WHAT THE ISSUES ARE, AS WELL AS MANY OTHER HAVE DONE. DODGE CONTRACT'S OUT THE SOLDERING OF THESE CHIPS, BUT THEY DON'T DO A GOOD JOB AS SOME DON'T WORK AT ALL. FOR EXAMPLE, WE PUT THREE IN BEFORE WE GOT ONE THAT WORKED. THIS IS INEXCUSABLE AND PUTS PEOPLE LIVES AT VERY HIGH RISK. I PAID AROUND $800 TO A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN SANTA ROSA CALIFORNIA FOR A PCM/ECU THAT LASTED ONLY MONTHS. IT TAKES A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF STRENGTH TO CONTROL THE DURANGO WITH NO POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. DODGE HASN'T BEEN A HELP OR THE PCM/ECU REBUILDERS. CURRENTLY I'M WAITING ON ANOTHER REBUILT PCM/ECU, WHICH THE REBUILDER CAN'T EVEN GIVE A TIME WHEN I COULD GET ONE. THE DATE BELOW IS THE MOST CURRENT INCIDENT, BUT THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE ABOUT 2009 AND APPROXIMATELY 170,000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2017 - SANTA ROSA, CA
1999 DODGE DURANGO PCM/ECU WILL FAIL WHEN IT GETS HOT, GIVING A NO BUS, AND CAUSING THE ENGINE TO STALL AND LOSE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO MY VEHICLE ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AT HIGHWAY SPEED WHERE I WAS BARELY ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE HAD THE PCM/ECU REPLACED OVER 5 TIMES, WHICH IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. EXPERTS HAVE PIN POINTED THE ISSUES TO CERTAIN CHIPS COMING UNSOLDERED IN THE PCM/ECU DUE TO HEAT. KEENAN LAWS HAS YOUTUBE VIDEOS ON EXACTLY WHAT THE ISSUES ARE, AS WELL AS MANY OTHER HAVE DONE. DODGE CONTRACT'S OUT THE SOLDERING OF THESE CHIPS, BUT THEY DON'T DO A GOOD JOB AS SOME DON'T WORK AT ALL. FOR EXAMPLE, WE PUT THREE IN BEFORE WE GOT ONE THAT WORKED. THIS IS INEXCUSABLE AND PUTS PEOPLE LIVES AT VERY HIGH RISK. I PAID AROUND $800 TO A DODGE DEALERSHIP IN SANTA ROSA CALIFORNIA FOR A PCM/ECU THAT LASTED ONLY MONTHS. IT TAKES A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF STRENGTH TO CONTROL THE DURANGO WITH NO POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. DODGE HASN'T BEEN A HELP OR THE PCM/ECU REBUILDERS. CURRENTLY I'M WAITING ON ANOTHER REBUILT PCM/ECU, WHICH THE REBUILDER CAN'T EVEN GIVE A TIME WHEN I COULD GET ONE. THE DATE BELOW IS THE MOST CURRENT INCIDENT, BUT THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE ABOUT 2009 AND APPROXIMATELY 170,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2017 - COOPER CITY, FL
MY DODGE DURANGO WILL SUDDENLY SHUT OFF WHILE I'M DRIVING IT HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES ON THE HIGHWAY I LOSE ALL POWER AND HAVE ALMOST GOT INTO ACCIDENTS WHEN THIS HAS HAPPENED IT ALSO HAPPENED WHEN MY CAR IS JUST SITTING IT HAPPENS AFTER THE CAR HAS BEEN ON FOR ABOUT 15 MINS I HAVE READ ONLINE FROM SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO THEM AS WELL

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/26/2017 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
THE PCM HAS ALREADY BEEN REPLACED AND IT RAN PERFECTLY FINE FOR 2 MONTHS AND THE SAME PROBLEM STARTING HAPPENING SHUTTING OFF WHILE IM DRIVING IVE ALMOST BEEN IN 3 CAR ACCIDENTS WHILE I WAS DRIVING CAUSE THE VEHICLE SHUT ITSELF OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A 45 MPH ROAD AN TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY DRIVING 65MPH SOMETHING NEEDS TO BEEN DOWN SO ONCE ON CITY STREETS AND 2 TIMES ON STATE ROUTE 75 HIGHWAY

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/26/2017 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
THE PCM HAS ALREADY BEEN REPLACED AND IT RAN PERFECTLY FINE FOR 2 MONTHS AND THE SAME PROBLEM STARTING HAPPENING SHUTTING OFF WHILE IM DRIVING IVE ALMOST BEEN IN 3 CAR ACCIDENTS WHILE I WAS DRIVING CAUSE THE VEHICLE SHUT ITSELF OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A 45 MPH ROAD AN TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY DRIVING 65MPH SOMETHING NEEDS TO BEEN DOWN SO ONCE ON CITY STREETS AND 2 TIMES ON STATE ROUTE 75 HIGHWAY

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/26/2017 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
THE PCM HAS ALREADY BEEN REPLACED AND IT RAN PERFECTLY FINE FOR 2 MONTHS AND THE SAME PROBLEM STARTING HAPPENING SHUTTING OFF WHILE IM DRIVING IVE ALMOST BEEN IN 3 CAR ACCIDENTS WHILE I WAS DRIVING CAUSE THE VEHICLE SHUT ITSELF OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON A 45 MPH ROAD AN TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY DRIVING 65MPH SOMETHING NEEDS TO BEEN DOWN SO ONCE ON CITY STREETS AND 2 TIMES ON STATE ROUTE 75 HIGHWAY

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/27/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
THE GASOLINE TANK STRAP BROKE WHILE IN MOTION IN THE CITY AND THE TANK WAS AT 1/8 FILLED UP. THE SAME DAY OF THE ISSUE I SEARCH ONLINE AT NHTSA.GOV SITE AND FOUND A RECALL FOR THE SAME ISSUE. WHEN I CHECKED WITH THE DEALER TO FIX IT THEY CLAIM MY VEHICLE IS NOT ELIGIBLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/18/2017 - JOPLIN, MO
THE DURANGO ACTS LIKE IT'S RUNNING OUT OF GAS AND IT DOESN'T WANT TO SHIFT I'VE CHANGED THE SENSORS A WHILE BACK AND I'VE HAD A TRANSMISSION FLUSH AND IT STILL KEEPS NOT WANTING TO SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 2ND IT JUST KEEPS RPMS ARE GOING WAY HIGH LIKE UP TO FIVE AND SIX BEFORE IT'LL SHIFT AND THEN IT STILL DOESN'T WANT TO SHIFT UNLESS YOU LET OFF THE GAS AND WHEN YOU GIVE IT GAS IT JUST CHUGS AND CHUGS LIKE IT'S RUNNING OUT OF GAS AND IT WILL NOT SHIFT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 314
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds