Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE RAM 3500 - 1999 DODGE RAM 3500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 103 complaints filed for the 1999 DODGE RAM 3500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 DODGE RAM 3500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 DODGE RAM 3500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel System Diesel (5) Power Train (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (14) Trailer Hitches (2)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seat Belts (3) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (3) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (2)
Exterior Lighting (3) Other (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Fuel Propulsion System (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS: UNDERBODY SHIELDS

2/8/2019 - COARSEGOLD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE RAM 3500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPARE TIRE CABLES UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE WERE RUSTED. THE FAILURE PREVENTED THE CONTACT FROM PLACING THE TIRE BACK IN THE SPARE TIRE COMPARTMENT, AS IT COULD FALL WHILE DRIVING. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 240,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2018 - WEST CHARLSTON, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE RAM 3500. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SPOUSE WAS DRIVING 30 MPH, SHE TURNED A CORNER AND CRASHED INTO A BAND OF TREES THAT WERE COVERING THE ROAD. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE CONTACT CALLED GOSS DODGE CHRYSLER AT (802) 658-0120 (LOCATED AT 1485 SHELBURNE RD, SOUTH BURLINGTON, VT 05403), BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND NO ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 196,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HOOD: LATCH

10/2/2017 - FLEMINGTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 DODGE RAM 3500. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE HOOD OPENED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO A SHOULDER LANE SO THAT THE CONTACT COULD CLOSE THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE LOCAL DEALER (FLEMINGTON CHRYSLER JEEP DODGE RAM (204 ROUTES 202-31N. FLEMINGTON, NJ 08822) CONFIRMED THAT THERE WERE NO OPEN RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 220,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/7/2017 - WILLISTON, FL
DASH IS NO GOOD BREAKING UP IF AIRBAG IS INFLATED THE PARTS OF DASH WOULD PUT OUT YOUR EYES COULD EVEN DO MORE ALL THE DODGE DASHES ARE BREAKING THEY NEED TO BE FIXED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/13/2016 - TUCSON, AZ
EVER SINCE WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK USED FROM DODGE DEALER IN TUCSON ARIZONA WE HAVE HAD CONCERNS WITH SUSPENSION AND STEERING OF THE TRUCK. WHEN DRIVING THE TRUCK STEERING IS BOUNCY AND UNSTABLE. WE THOUGHT IT WAS ALIGNMENT SO WE TOOK IT IN AND TRUCK CONTINUES THE SAME. WHEN PULLING OUT 34' 5TH WHEEL STEERING IS VERY SHAKY AND VIBRATES A LOT. AFTER YEARS OF BRINGING UP CONCERN WITH DODGE DEALER WE TOOK TO ANOTHER SHOP WHERE THEY GAVE US A HUGE LIST OF THINGS NEEDING TOO GET FIXED. WE WENT BACK TO DODGE DEALER WHERE THEY GAVE US A 2ND OPINION AND CAME UP WITH ADDITIONAL CONCERNS WITH TRUCK. WE HAVE CHANGED SHOCKS, STRUTS, BE ALL JOINTS AND OTHER THINGS WITH THE SUSPENSION AND TRUCK CONTINUES TO RUN THE SAME WAY. BUT RECENTLY WE GOT BRAKES, DRUMS, AND MASTER CYLINDER SINCE WE RAN OUT OF BRAKES WHILE PULLING OUT 34' 5TH WHEEL. ALL THIS THINGS WERE RECOMMENDED SO THAT THE TRUCK WOULD RUN WELL. WE HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND ISSUE IS STILL UNRESOLVED. WE WOULD LIKE SOMEONE TO HELP US SINCE ALL THE RECOMMENDED REPAIRS HAVE BEEN DONE AND STILL HAVING SAME PROBLEM. WE TRAVEL QUITE A BIT WITH OUR ANIMALS AND WOULD HATE TO HAVE A DEADLY ACCIDENT DUE TO TRUCK PROBLEMS. PLEASE LET US KNOW WHAT WOULD BE THE BEST STEP TO REPAIRING OUR TRUCK TO SAFE CONDITIONS. STEERING SHAKY AND BRAKES FAILURE EVEN AFTER ALL RECOMMENDED REPAIRS. THANK YOU [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STEERING

7/13/2016 - TUCSON, AZ
EVER SINCE WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK USED FROM DODGE DEALER IN TUCSON ARIZONA WE HAVE HAD CONCERNS WITH SUSPENSION AND STEERING OF THE TRUCK. WHEN DRIVING THE TRUCK STEERING IS BOUNCY AND UNSTABLE. WE THOUGHT IT WAS ALIGNMENT SO WE TOOK IT IN AND TRUCK CONTINUES THE SAME. WHEN PULLING OUT 34' 5TH WHEEL STEERING IS VERY SHAKY AND VIBRATES A LOT. AFTER YEARS OF BRINGING UP CONCERN WITH DODGE DEALER WE TOOK TO ANOTHER SHOP WHERE THEY GAVE US A HUGE LIST OF THINGS NEEDING TOO GET FIXED. WE WENT BACK TO DODGE DEALER WHERE THEY GAVE US A 2ND OPINION AND CAME UP WITH ADDITIONAL CONCERNS WITH TRUCK. WE HAVE CHANGED SHOCKS, STRUTS, BE ALL JOINTS AND OTHER THINGS WITH THE SUSPENSION AND TRUCK CONTINUES TO RUN THE SAME WAY. BUT RECENTLY WE GOT BRAKES, DRUMS, AND MASTER CYLINDER SINCE WE RAN OUT OF BRAKES WHILE PULLING OUT 34' 5TH WHEEL. ALL THIS THINGS WERE RECOMMENDED SO THAT THE TRUCK WOULD RUN WELL. WE HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND ISSUE IS STILL UNRESOLVED. WE WOULD LIKE SOMEONE TO HELP US SINCE ALL THE RECOMMENDED REPAIRS HAVE BEEN DONE AND STILL HAVING SAME PROBLEM. WE TRAVEL QUITE A BIT WITH OUR ANIMALS AND WOULD HATE TO HAVE A DEADLY ACCIDENT DUE TO TRUCK PROBLEMS. PLEASE LET US KNOW WHAT WOULD BE THE BEST STEP TO REPAIRING OUR TRUCK TO SAFE CONDITIONS. STEERING SHAKY AND BRAKES FAILURE EVEN AFTER ALL RECOMMENDED REPAIRS. THANK YOU [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/13/2016 - TUCSON, AZ
EVER SINCE WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK USED FROM DODGE DEALER IN TUCSON ARIZONA WE HAVE HAD CONCERNS WITH SUSPENSION AND STEERING OF THE TRUCK. WHEN DRIVING THE TRUCK STEERING IS BOUNCY AND UNSTABLE. WE THOUGHT IT WAS ALIGNMENT SO WE TOOK IT IN AND TRUCK CONTINUES THE SAME. WHEN PULLING OUT 34' 5TH WHEEL STEERING IS VERY SHAKY AND VIBRATES A LOT. AFTER YEARS OF BRINGING UP CONCERN WITH DODGE DEALER WE TOOK TO ANOTHER SHOP WHERE THEY GAVE US A HUGE LIST OF THINGS NEEDING TOO GET FIXED. WE WENT BACK TO DODGE DEALER WHERE THEY GAVE US A 2ND OPINION AND CAME UP WITH ADDITIONAL CONCERNS WITH TRUCK. WE HAVE CHANGED SHOCKS, STRUTS, BE ALL JOINTS AND OTHER THINGS WITH THE SUSPENSION AND TRUCK CONTINUES TO RUN THE SAME WAY. BUT RECENTLY WE GOT BRAKES, DRUMS, AND MASTER CYLINDER SINCE WE RAN OUT OF BRAKES WHILE PULLING OUT 34' 5TH WHEEL. ALL THIS THINGS WERE RECOMMENDED SO THAT THE TRUCK WOULD RUN WELL. WE HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS AND ISSUE IS STILL UNRESOLVED. WE WOULD LIKE SOMEONE TO HELP US SINCE ALL THE RECOMMENDED REPAIRS HAVE BEEN DONE AND STILL HAVING SAME PROBLEM. WE TRAVEL QUITE A BIT WITH OUR ANIMALS AND WOULD HATE TO HAVE A DEADLY ACCIDENT DUE TO TRUCK PROBLEMS. PLEASE LET US KNOW WHAT WOULD BE THE BEST STEP TO REPAIRING OUR TRUCK TO SAFE CONDITIONS. STEERING SHAKY AND BRAKES FAILURE EVEN AFTER ALL RECOMMENDED REPAIRS. THANK YOU [XXX] INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/6/2016 - ABERDEEN, NJ
I JUST GOT THE TRUCK AND HAVE HAD BRAKES ACT FUNNY FRONT BRAKES SOME TIMES LOCK UP PULLS TO THE RIGHT, ACTS LIKE YOUR ON ICE, AND SOME TIMES LIKE YOU STEP ON A BRICK SO I LOOK IT UP ON THE INTERNET TO SEE THEY HAVE HAD THIS GOING ON FROM 1997 TO TODAY ALL THE SAME THINGS NOT 100 BUT 10000S OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME THING WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN A RECALL ON THIS PLUS I HAVE READ OF 100S HAVING ACCIDENTS WHEN THIS HAPPENS I BELIEVE THIS IS A ABS ISSUE FOR A LONG TIME WITH ALL DODGE TRUCKS 1500,2500 3500, PICKUPS I HAVE LOOK AT THE BRAKE SYSTEM BUT DON'T SEE WHY THIS IS GOING ON I HAVE HAD THIS GO ON AT ALL SPEEDS 15 TO 65 IT COMES AND GO'S

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/4/2016 - MATAWAN, NJ
RUNS OUT OF FUEL AT 1/4 TANK,BREAKS ACT LIKE FRONT BREAKS OR ON ICE WHEN COMING TO STOP DRY ROAD , CRUSE CONTROL DONT WORK WITH VACUUM LEAK

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/4/2016 - MATAWAN, NJ
RUNS OUT OF FUEL AT 1/4 TANK,BREAKS ACT LIKE FRONT BREAKS OR ON ICE WHEN COMING TO STOP DRY ROAD , CRUSE CONTROL DONT WORK WITH VACUUM LEAK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds