Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 1999 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 523 complaints filed for the 1999 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (36) Fuel System Other (1) Seats (11) Suspension (10)
Child Seat (3) Equipment (6) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes Air (2) Tires (19)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Latches Locks Linkages (78) Service Brakes Hydraulic (19) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (114) Exterior Lighting (3) Other (2) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (170) Structure (79) Visibility (7)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Seat Belts (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

6/4/2018 - SANTA FE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 HONDA ODYSSEY EQUIPPED WITH FIRESTONE FR710 TIRES, SIZE: 215/65R16. WHILE DRIVING 70-75 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD, ABNORMAL RUMBLING NOISE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE SHUDDERED. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER TREAD WAS SEPARATED FROM THE TIRE. THE CONTACT CALLED ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY REPLACED THE FAILED TIRE WITH THE SPARE TIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE A REPLACEMENT TIRE WAS EXCHANGED FOR THE SPARE TIRE; HOWEVER, THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE LOCAL DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 212,729 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,600.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

1/18/2018 - NEW YORK, NY
1999 HONDA ODYSSEY. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO IGNITION ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO ASSIST DUE TO THE CONSUMER NO LONGER OWNING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/8/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
RIGHT REAR POWER SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT LATCH SHUT

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/8/2017 - DES MOINES, IA
RIGHT REAR POWER SLIDING DOOR WILL NOT LATCH SHUT

View Details

ENGINE

8/22/2017 - DENVER, CO
IGNITION SWITCH RECALL

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2017 - DENVER, CO
IGNITION SWITCH RECALL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/22/2017 - DENVER, CO
IGNITION SWITCH RECALL

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/26/2017 - BUTLER, PA
SEVERAL TIMES OVER PAST TWO WEEKS VEHICLE HAS STALLED UNEXPECTEDLY SHORTLY AFTER STARTING OR WHILE DRIVING - DASHBOARD LIGHTS AND GAUGES (INCLUDING ODOMETER) ALL BLANK EXCEPT 3 BLINKS OF GREEN "KEY" LIGHT (IMMOBILIZER INDICATOR); ACCESSORIES STAY OPERATIONAL (RADIO, ETC) BUT ENGINE SHUTS OFF. WILL RE-START AFTER A FEW TRIES, TYPICALLY; FAILED TRIES INCLUDE ENGINE STARTING WHILE KEY HELD IN START POSITION BUT DYING IMMEDIATELY WHEN RETURNING KEY TO "RUN" POSITION. WILL STAY RUNNING IF KEY IS HELD BETWEEN "START" AND "RUN" LOCATION. WHEN THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING, WAS ABLE TO SHIFT TO NEUTRAL WHILE COASTING AND RESTART THE ENGINE, HOLDING KEY NEAR START, TO GET ENOUGH RUNTIME TO GET THE CAR TO A SAFE PLACE OFF THE ROAD. RECALL TO THIS EFFECT APPARENTLY WAS PERFORMED BACK IN 2002-2003; LOOKS LIKE RECURRENCE OF SAME PROBLEM?? WHAT ARE MY RECOURSES?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2017 - DETROIT, MI
RECENTLY, WHILE TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 94, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN MY VEHICLE ALONG WITH A LIGHT THAT READS "TCS". SHORTLY AFTER THESE TWO LIGHTS CAME ON, MY VEHICLE BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS ACCELERATING. WHEN I DRIVE MY VEHICLE, I HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE VAN TAKING OFF AND MAINTAINING STABILITY ONCE IN MOTION. DURING TRAVEL ON HIGHWAYS, FREEWAYS, INTERSTATES, OR CITY STREETS, MY VEHICLE VIOLENTLY SHIFTS FROM FIRST GEAR TO SECOND GEAR WHEN I PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, CAUSING IT TO SLOW DOWN UNEXPECTEDLY BEFORE JERKING INTO MOTION IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. ALSO, DURING RECENT NIGHT TIME TRAVEL THE HEADLIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER, GO DIM THEN GET BRIGHT AGAIN. THE VEHICLE ALSO SLOWS DOWN WHEN TURNING CORNERS THEN WILL SUDDENLY JUMP INTO MOTION. ALSO, THE DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR RECENTLY WENT OFF TRACK CAUSING A SCREAMING ALARM TO SOUND DURING TRAVEL. I HAVE RECENTLY HAD TO HAVE THE HIGH PRESSURE POWER STEERING LINE REPLACED BECAUSE IT HAD A HOLE IN THE UPPER HOSE.I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED THAT THE POOR ACCELERATION OF MY VEHICLE AND THE VIOLENT JERKING FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. MY VEHICLE IS MY ONLY MODE OF TRANSPORTATION TO WORK, SCHOOL AND ANY IMPORTANT PLACE THAT I NEED TO TRAVEL TO.

View Details

STEERING

3/12/2017 - DETROIT, MI
RECENTLY, WHILE TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 94, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON IN MY VEHICLE ALONG WITH A LIGHT THAT READS "TCS". SHORTLY AFTER THESE TWO LIGHTS CAME ON, MY VEHICLE BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS ACCELERATING. WHEN I DRIVE MY VEHICLE, I HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THE VAN TAKING OFF AND MAINTAINING STABILITY ONCE IN MOTION. DURING TRAVEL ON HIGHWAYS, FREEWAYS, INTERSTATES, OR CITY STREETS, MY VEHICLE VIOLENTLY SHIFTS FROM FIRST GEAR TO SECOND GEAR WHEN I PRESS ON THE ACCELERATOR, CAUSING IT TO SLOW DOWN UNEXPECTEDLY BEFORE JERKING INTO MOTION IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. ALSO, DURING RECENT NIGHT TIME TRAVEL THE HEADLIGHTS BEGAN TO FLICKER, GO DIM THEN GET BRIGHT AGAIN. THE VEHICLE ALSO SLOWS DOWN WHEN TURNING CORNERS THEN WILL SUDDENLY JUMP INTO MOTION. ALSO, THE DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR RECENTLY WENT OFF TRACK CAUSING A SCREAMING ALARM TO SOUND DURING TRAVEL. I HAVE RECENTLY HAD TO HAVE THE HIGH PRESSURE POWER STEERING LINE REPLACED BECAUSE IT HAD A HOLE IN THE UPPER HOSE.I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED THAT THE POOR ACCELERATION OF MY VEHICLE AND THE VIOLENT JERKING FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. MY VEHICLE IS MY ONLY MODE OF TRANSPORTATION TO WORK, SCHOOL AND ANY IMPORTANT PLACE THAT I NEED TO TRAVEL TO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds