Auto Recalls for Consumers

JAGUAR XJ8 - 1999 JAGUAR XJ8 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by JAGUAR

There are 9 complaints filed for the 1999 JAGUAR XJ8

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 JAGUAR XJ8. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 JAGUAR XJ8, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Fuel System Other (1) Power Train (2)


 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/4/2013 - DANVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 JAGUAR XJ8. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 65 MPH, THE CONTACT RAN INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY UPON IMPACT. THE POLICE CAME AND DOCUMENTED THE ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BRUISES TO THE SHOULDER AND CHEST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WOULD NOT DEPLOY UNTIL THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGES WERE 170,000.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, OTHER

4/30/2010 - CIBOLO, TX
OUR 1999 JAGUAR XJ8 HAS HAD NUMEROUS THROTTLE BODY FAILURES. IT HAS BEEN REPLACED BY JAGUAR AND I HAVE HAD TO HAVE IT REPLACED TWICE. THE PROBLEM WITH FAILURE IS THAT IT CAUSES A STABILITY CONTROL FAILURE WHICH CAUSES THE CAR TO BE UNCONTROLLABLE. IN FACT, MY WIFE HIT THE EDGE OF OUR GARAGE ENTRANCE WAY DO TO IT;S FAILURE. I HAVE CONTACTED JAGUAR ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS BY LETTER, EMAIL AND PHONE AND THEY APPEAR TO BE UNCONCERNED AND SUGGEST THAT I CONTINUE TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE BODY ONCE IT GOES BAD. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY ISSUE AND REQUIRES THE ATTENTION OF YOUR OFFICE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/23/2009 - WINSOR, CA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 JAGUAR XJ8. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START AND THE CONTACT TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. BECAUSE THE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER WAS MADE OF PLASTIC, THE PLASTIC SHEARS KEPT ENTERING INTO THE ENGINE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER. THE REPAIR COST OVER $1,000 AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO ASSIST BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE LESS THAN 98,817.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/31/2008 - MARTINEZ, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 JAGUAR XJ8. WHENEVER THE CONTACT ATTEMPTS TO STOP THE VEHICLE, IT DRAMATICALLY LUNGES FORWARD. ALSO, WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FEELS AS IF IT IS LOSING POWER. PRIOR TO THE FAILURES, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT CONTROL PANEL. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT YET BEEN INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 91,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

3/14/2008 - CHICAGO, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 JAGUAR XJ8. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT CORRECTLY FROM GEAR TO GEAR. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, THEY STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $3,800. THE DEALER STATED THAT HIS VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 99V138000 (POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION). THE PURCHASE DATE WAS UNKNOWN. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 103,000 AND FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

2/14/2006 - WESTLAKE VILLAGE, CA
LTR FM (CA) RE A DEFECTIVE PLASTIC TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER INSTALLED IN THEIR 1999 JAGUAR XJ8. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WAS NOT PROPERLY MAINTAINED PRIOR TO PURCHASING IT. THE CONSUMER WAS TOLD THERE WAS OIL SLUDGE BUILD UP IN THE ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

1/19/2006 - WESTLAKE VILLAGE, CA
DT: THE CONTACT STATES VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. SHE HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP, AND THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS SLUDGE IN THE OIL PAN AND THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE. THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE PLASTIC TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER FAILED AND JAMMED IN THE TIMING CHAIN WHICH CAUSED THE CHAIN TO BREAK IN HALF. THIS RESULTED IN THE VALVES BEING STUCK OPEN AND THE PISTONS TO COLLIDE. THE CONSUMER LEARNED OF SB X303-68 AND 303-30 WHICH ADDRESSED THIS PROBLEM. THE CONSUMER LEARNED A DEFECTIVE TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER WAS INSTALLED WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED. UPDATED 01/25/06

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: BELTS AND ASSOCIATED PULLEYS

12/23/2005 - SALEM, VA
ENGINE FAILURE `99 JAGUAR XJ8 VANDEN PLAAS ("LOWER ENGINE DISFUNCTION," DUE TO DEFICIENT TENSIONER MALFUNCTION PER DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSIS) AT 61,400 MILES. VEHICLE WELL MAINTAINED AND CHECKED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. WE WERE SENT MANY WARNINGS AND SUGGESTIONS ABOUT OTHER MAINTENANCE OBJECTIVES, BUT A POTENTIAL PROBLEM WITH TENSIONERS WAS NEVER MENTIONED. WE KNOW OF WELL OVER A HUNDRED CASES. ONE DEALER TOLD US THEY SEE AT LEAST ONE CASE LIKE OURS A MONTH AND SUGGESTED THAT A LARGER DEALERSHIP IN NORTHERN VIRGINIA WOULD MAKE THEIR NUMBERS LOOK SKIMPY. THE IGNORANCE OF THIS PROBLEM HAS NEARLY CAUSED SOME CATASTROPHIC ACCIDENTS THAT COULD HAVE EASILY RESULTED IN THE LOSS OF LIMB OR LIFE. IF THAT IN ITSELF FAILS TO MOVE THE NHTSA WE HAVE TO WONDER WHAT WILL. THERE ARE SEVERAL RESPECTED AUTOMOTIVE EXPERTS WHO CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHY JAGUAR AND FORD HAVE NOT SOLVED THIS SITUATION (I.E. REPLACED THE FAULTY PARTS AND/OR TAKEN CARE OF THE COST OF INSTALLING A NEW POWER PLANT IN THE `98, `99, AND SOME `00 XJ8 MODELS). THIS VEHICLE IS STILL DISABLED BECAUSE WE HAD BEEN LED TO BELIEVE THAT A REP. FROM JAGUAR PLANNED ON "HELPING US OUT." AND, WE HAVE BEEN QUOTED A WIDE RANGE OF ENGINE REPLACEMENT COSTS, NONE BY FORMAL WRITTEN QUOTE, NOT EVEN THE 12 MONTH WARRANTY TEXT PROMISED SEVERAL MONTHS AGO. WE FEEL JAGUAR NEEDS TO "COME TO THE TABLE" AS FAR AS THIS EXAMPLE OF POTENTIAL CONSUMER FRAUD AND REQUEST PROPER INVESTIGATION RELATIVE TO WHAT WE CONSIDER TO BE THE MOST RAMPANT DISREGARD FOR WHAT MOST CONSUMERS EXPECT WHEN BUYING A VEHICLE, ESPECIALLY WHEN THE SALES PITCH CENTERS ON DEPENDABILITY THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO RESULT FROM THE ACQUISITION OF JAGUAR BY FORD. THESE ALLEGATIONS ARE WELL DOCUMENTED AND COULD HOLD UP IN ANY COURT IN VIRGINIA AS FAR AS STATING OUR CASE OF MISINFORMATION AND THE AFOREMENTIONED FALSE PROMISE. WE WOULD GLADLY "JOIN IN" AS FAR AS ANY CLASS ACTION IS CONCERNED YET ARE HOPEFUL THAT THE NHTSA WILL DO WHAT WE BELIEVE IS THEIR "DUE DILIGENCE."

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE

11/14/2004 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
1999 XJ-8 SECONDARY TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. PLASTIC SECONDARY TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER BROKE INTO PIECES, DISABLING ENGINE AND CAUSING SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE. DAMAGE INCLUDED 3 VALVES, ONE CONSTANTLY VARIABLE VALVE TIMING UNIT (CVVT), TIMING CHAINS AND SPROCKETS. REQUIRED REMOVAL OF B BANK HEAD FOR MACHINING NECESSARY TO REPLACE VALVES AND REPAIR VALVE SEATS. NO TSB OR RECALL HAS BEEN ISSUED BY JAGUAR WITH REGARD TO THIS DESIGN DEFICIENCY. CONTACT WITH OTHER JAGUAR OWNERS HAS IDENTIFIED THAT THIS PROBLEM AFFECTS MANY OWNERS. JAGUAR REPAIR IS TO REPLACE ENTIRE ENGINE ($7,000-10,000). I REBUILT ENGINE MYSELF, AND CONTACTED JAGUAR TO QUESTION WHY REPLACEMENT OF THE TENSIONERS IS NOT SPECIFIED AT SOME REASONABLE INTERVAL TO PREVENT TENSIONER FAILURE. JAGUAR RESPONSE TO DATE HAS BEEN TO DENY THAT ANY DESIGN DEFICIENCY EXISTS. FAILURE OF THIS COMPONENT WILL DISABLE THE ENGINE, AND IN CERTAIN CONDITIONS COULD CAUSE ACCIDENT LEADING TO LOSS OF PROPERTY OR LIFE. COST TO REPAIR BY OWNER WAS OVER $3,000 (PARTS AND HEAD MACHINING); DEALER REPLACES ENTIRE ENGINE VICE REBUILD/REPLACE DAMAGED. COMPONENTS.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds