Auto Recalls for Consumers

KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD - 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by KAWASAKI

There are 13 complaints filed for the 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (1) Engine (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Power Train (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/11/2012 - NEW CASTLE, IN
I WAS RIDING MY 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD AT 60MPH WHEN WITH NO WARNING THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND DIED OUT, GOOD THING MY HAND WAS COVERING THE CLUTCH. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED IT IN AND COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HAD IT TOWED TO MY HOUSE. TOOK TO MECHANIC AND THE GEAR FOR THE OIL PUMP WENT OUT CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE MOTOR. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY KAWASAKI WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, ARE THEY WAITING FOR A HUGE LAW SUIT AFTER SOMEONE LOSES THERE LIFE. GUESS THEY DO NOT HOLD THERE PRODUCT TO THE HIGHEST REGARDS TO QUALITY OR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. SO NOW I AM OUT 3200 DOLLARS FOR A FAULT OF THE MANUFACTURER, VERY DIS SATISFIED AND NOW EMBARRASSED TO SAY I OWN ONE. SHAME ON YOU KAWASAKI!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2012 - NEW CASTLE, IN
I WAS RIDING MY 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD AT 60MPH WHEN WITH NO WARNING THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND DIED OUT, GOOD THING MY HAND WAS COVERING THE CLUTCH. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED IT IN AND COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HAD IT TOWED TO MY HOUSE. TOOK TO MECHANIC AND THE GEAR FOR THE OIL PUMP WENT OUT CAUSING DAMAGE TO THE MOTOR. I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY KAWASAKI WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, ARE THEY WAITING FOR A HUGE LAW SUIT AFTER SOMEONE LOSES THERE LIFE. GUESS THEY DO NOT HOLD THERE PRODUCT TO THE HIGHEST REGARDS TO QUALITY OR CUSTOMER SATISFACTION. SO NOW I AM OUT 3200 DOLLARS FOR A FAULT OF THE MANUFACTURER, VERY DIS SATISFIED AND NOW EMBARRASSED TO SAY I OWN ONE. SHAME ON YOU KAWASAKI!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/3/2011 - VICTORVILLE , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD MOTORCYCLE. THE ONTACT WAS DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70-75 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC THAT LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE PLASTIC AND METAL GEAR. THE PLASTIC AND METAL GEAR FAILED AND CAUSED THE OIL PUMP TO FAIL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE, BUT DENIED ASSISTANCE WITH THE REPAIR DUE TO VEHICLE AGE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 19,256.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

11/4/2010 - DISPUTANTA, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2009 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD.(N/A) THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FROM THE MANUFACTURER PERTAINING TO THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT; NHTSA CAMPAIGN RECALL NUMBER 10V507000, SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC:PEDALS AND LINKAGES. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND REFUSED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE UNTIL SPRING OF 2011 DUE TO THE VEHICLE NOT BEING PURCHASED AT THAT SPECIFIC LOCATION. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THERE WERE NO FAILURES AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/2/2010 - SINPSONVILLE, KY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE OIL LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE OIL GEAR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE WERE NO PRIOR WARNINGS AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 43000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM

4/20/2010 - MCCRORY, AR
I HAVE A 1999 KAWASAKI VULCAN NOMAD. THE GEAR ON THE OIL PUMP STRIPED AND DID DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. KAWASAKI KNOWS THAT THE GEAR FAILS. IT DID ON MY BIKE AT 57,000 MILES. IT IS IN THE KAWASAKI SHOP NOW AND WILL COST AROUND $2200 TO FIX. KAWASAKI HAS FIXED SOME BIKES BUT I WAS TOLD BY KAWASAKI THAT THEY STOPPED THIS LAST YEAR. I LIVE IN ARKANSAS AND WAS IN FLORIDA ON A TRIP WHEN I HAD THE PROBLEM. I LOADED IT IN A U-HAUL AND BROUGHT IT BACK HOME. KAWASAKI KNOWING THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THIS AND DOING NOTHING TO FIX THE PROBLEM IS NO DIFFERENT THAT WHAT TOYOTA HAS DONE OVER THE PAST FEW YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/9/2005 - BROWNS MILLS, NJ
DEFECTIVE OIL GEAR DESTROYED THE ENGINE ON MY 1999 VULCAN NOMAD. KAWASAKI IS WILLING TO COVER ONLY THE PUMP AND GEAR OF THE ENGINE BUT NOT THE REST OF THE DAMAGE. I AM GOING TO BE CHARGED OVER $1,700 FOR THEIR FAULTY GEAR. THERE WAS NO WARNING, NO OFFICIAL RECALL, NO INSTRUCTIONS ON WHAT TO DO IF THE GEAR FAILED. I TRIED TO WORK IT OUT WITH KAWASAKI. THE LOCAL DEALER IS EVEN ON MY SIDE AND CALLED KAWASAKI MOTOR CORP TO FAUGHT FOR ME. WHEN I TRIED TO WORK IT OUT WITH KAWASAKI MOTOR CORP TECH DEPART, THE TECHNICIAN STATED TO ME THAT THE ENGINE DAMAGE WAS MY FAULT. I SHOULD HAVE NOTICED THE OIL LIGHT WAS ON AND THEIR SHOULD HAVE BEEN A NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. WHEN I ROAD THE BIKE, THERE WAS NO LIGHT NOR ANY NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE EXCEPT RIGHT BEFORE IT TURNED OFF. ONCE THAT HAPPENED I COASTED OFF THE ROAD AND HAD IT TOWED BACK TO MY HOUSE. THE ONLY ONES TO TOUCH THE AREA LOCATED WITH THE OIL LIGHT WAS CERTIFIED KAWASAKI MECHANICS. THE ONLY TIMES THE AREA WAS TOUCHED WAS WHEN THERE WAS AN ELECTRICAL FIRE WAS UNDER THE TANK RIGHT BELOW THE LIGHT. THE OTHER TIME WAS WHEN THE OFFICIAL KAWASAKI MECHANICS REBUILT THE IGNITION SWITCH/LIGHT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/23/2004 - SHELBYVILLE, KY
LODGED ORIGINAL COMPLAINT UNDER SUBCATEGORY 'OTHER'. PLASTIC (NYLON) OIL GEAR FAILURE. MINE FAILED AT 41000 MILES. MOST HAVE FAILED AT EARLIER MILEAGE. FAILURE OCCURRS WITHOUT WARNING, RESULTS IN SUDDEN LOSS OF ALL OIL PRESSURE, CAN LEAD TO ENGINE LOCK-UP, AND LOSS OF CONTROL. NO INJURIES HAVE BEEN REPORTED AS YET. KAWASAKI IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM, BUT ARE WAITING FOR FAILURE BEFORE REPLACEMENT. FAILURE ONLY OCCURRS WHILE RIDING, WHICH ALWAYS LEAVES THE RIDER STRANDED, REQUIRING A TOW. I HOPE DEATH AND INJURY ARE NOT PREREQUISITES TO RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/9/2004 - SHELBYVILLE, KY
PLASTIC OIL GEAR FAILURE RESULTS IN TOTAL LOSS OF OIL PRESSURE, WHICH COULD LEAD TO ENGINE FAILURE, WHICH WOULD RESULT IN TOTAL LOSS OF CONTROL. MINE STARTED AND WARMED NORMALLY, BUT THE OIL PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON LESS THAN FIVE MILES DOWN THE ROAD. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND COASTED ONTO A SIDE ROAD, WHERE A CHECK OF MY OIL LEVEL SHOWED IT WAS FULL BUT NO PRESSURE. SEEMS TO ONLY INVOLVE 1999 AND EARLY 2000 MODEL VULCANS. WELL DOCUMENTED DESIGN FLAW THAT KAWASAKI IS AWARE OF. KAWASAKI IS REPAIRING THIS AFTER IT FAILS, WHICH CAN ONLY HAPPEN WHILE RIDING, RESULTING IN MANDATORY STRANDING OF THE RIDER. MINE FAILED WHILE ON VACATION IN MICHIGAN. MY CHOICE WAS TO HAVE THE BIKE TOWED TO A LOCAL GARAGE AND GET A MOTEL ROOM UNTIL REPAIRED ($225/TOW, $50-60/NIGHT IN A MOTEL, (MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS ,IF THEY CAN FIT YOU INTO THEIR SHOP SCHEDULE; OTHERWISE, WHO KNOWS) OR RENT A TRUCK, $564 (800 MILES FROM HOME), FUEL FOR 10MPG TRUCK, $150, MISSING TWO DAYS OF VACATION, PRICELESS. RATHER THAN BE A STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND, I ELECTED TO RENT THE TRUCK. AT LEAST I WOULD BE HOME, AND THE WORK DONE BY MY LOCAL SHOP. KAWASAKI IS ELECTING TO LET THEIR CUSTOMERS SUFFER, RIDING POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS MOTORCYCLES, IN THE HOPE OF NOT HAVING TO FIX SOME OF THE BIKES. MY BIKE IS NOT YET REPAIRED, SO I CAN NOT COMMENT ON THE SUCCESS OF THE FIX (STEEL GEAR). THE REPAIR REQUIRES TH EREMOVAL AND DISASSEMBLY OF THE ENGINE (MIN 16 HRS.). I AM DISAPPOINTED IN KAWASAKI, AND CAN ONLY ASSUME THAT THE NHTSA HAS NOT RECEIVED A SUFFICIENT NUMBER OF REPORTS TO FORCE A RECALL. AND IT WOULD HAVE TO BE FORCED AS KAWASAKI HAS DEMONSTRATED THAT THEY CAN NOT BE TRUSTED TO RECALL THE BIKES ON THEIR OWN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

1/14/2004 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
1999 KAWASAKI NOMAD MOTORCYCLE LOST POWER. WHILE DRIVING THE MOTORCYCLE'S OIL PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE MOTORCYCLE LOST ALL POWER. THE BIKE WAS TOWED TO THE CONSUMER'S HOME. THE CONSUMER REMOVED THE OIL FILTER AND FOUND DEPOSITS OF NYLON MATERIAL. THE CONSUMER WENT ONTO A KAWASAKI CLUB WEBSITE AND SAW INFORMATION THAT A NYLON OIL PUMP GEAR WAS USED IN THAT SERIES BIKE AND THAT IT WOULD FAIL BELOW 30K MILES. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED AND TOLD THE CONSUMER THAT THIS WAS A FACTORY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds