Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE - 1999 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 245 complaints filed for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 OLDSMOBILE INTRIGUE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (5) Power Train (16) Steering (66) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (6) Exterior Lighting (28) Seat Belts (10) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (48) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Seats (3) Suspension (15) Visibility (22)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (22) Tires (7) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (52) Interior Lighting (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2014 - SYLVANIA, OH
3 MONTHS AGO MY ELECTRICAL STARTED GOING HAYWIRE. TURN SIGNALS, DASH, LIGHTS, WINDOWS. MOST OCCUR WHILE TURNING CAR ON. IT'S HIT AND MISS WHETHER IT STARTS. BATTERY DRAINS SOMETIMES NO RHYME OR REASON. IT STARTS WITHOUT INCIDENT ONE DAY AND THEN NEEDS RECHARGED THE NEXT. I'VE HAD MULTIPLE PEOPLE TELL ME AN ARAY OF DIFFERENT POSSIBILITIES, ALTERNATOR, IGNITION SWITCH, BATTERY, WORN DOWN KEY, LEAVING SOMETHING ON ETC. I BELIEVE THE PROBLEM OCCURS BECAUSE THE KEY CAN COME IN AND OUT WHILE IN ANY POSITION. BECAUSE OF THIS I BELIEVE THE BATTERY IS BEING DRAINED BECAUSE PEOPLE ARE UNAWARE THAT THEY ARE REMOVING THE KEY WHILE IT IS STILL IN THE ACC OR ON POSITION. THIS DOESNT EXPLAIN WHY VARIOUS ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS AREN'T WORKING AT FULL CAPACITY ALL THE TIME. I DID NOTICE THAT THE HIT AND MISS QUALITY WASN'T AS SEVERE ONCE I REMOVED ALL EXTRAS FROM THE KEY AFTER RECEIVING THE RECALL NOTICE A WEEK AGO. I STARTED TO PAY MORE ATTENTION TO WHAT WAS GOING ON TO SEE IF PERHAPS THE ISSUE WAS RELATED LAST SUNDAY THE BATTERY SEEMED DEAD AGAIN AND THE CAR WOULDN'T START. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES UNTIL I GOT THINGS TO LIGHT UP BUT THEN THE KEY SLIPPED OUT WHILE TRYING TO START IT. I SLIPPED THE KEY BACK IN AND NOW IT WON'T TURN TO EITHER THE OFF OR START POSITIONS. IT REMAINS IN ACC OR ON POSITIONS ONLY. EVEN IF I CHARGED THE BATTERY I WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO START IT OR TURN THE ELECTRICAL ACCESSORIES OFF TO KEEP THE BATTERY FROM DRAINING AGAIN. FROM WHAT I CAN TELL, THE RECALL DOESN'T ACTUALLY REPLACE THE IGNITION SWITCH IT ONLY MODIFIES THE KEYS TO KEEP THE IGNITION SWITCH FROM BECOMING FAULTY. WHAT AM I SUPPOSED TO DO SINCE THE PROBLEM HAS ALREADY OCCURRED? EVEN THOUGH THE PART THAT THE RECALL WAS ISSUED FOR CAUSED MY PROBLEM, WILL I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET TO FIX THE ACTUAL PROBLEM? WHO DO I CONTACT IF THEY WILL FIX THE PROBLEM?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/18/2014 - BUHL, AL
ON THE MORNING OF JULY 5 2008, MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING THE CAR IN THE DESCRIPTION ABOVE SHE WAS A MILE FROM HOME WHEN SHE RAN OFF OF THE EDGE OF THE ROAD AND WHEN SHE TRIED TO PULL HER CAR BACK ONTO THE HIGHWAY SHE COULD NOT CONTROL IT, THE CAR WENT OFF AND CRASH INTO A DEEP DITCH AND HIT A TREE. SHE WAS BADLY INJURED BUT THE PASSENGER IN THE CAR WAS KILL FROM A HEAD INJURED. I KNOW THAT THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY PERSONAL CAME OUT AND INVESTIGATER THE SCENE, WE NEVER FIND OUT WHAT CAUSE THE CAR TO HAVE NO CONTROL, SO NOW THAT THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS CAR BECAUSE OF THE KEY TURNING IN THE IGNITION AND FALL OUT, I NEED TO KNOW IF OR WHAT I CAN DO TO SEE IF THIS IS WHAT CAUSE HER TO CRASH. WE NO LONG HAVE THIS VEHICLE BUT I AM HOPING THAT THERE IS A WAY TO FIND OUT AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. AFTER THE CRASH HER KEYS WAS IN THE FLOOR IN THE VEHICLE. IS THERE SOME WAY TO FIND OUT THE REPORT THAT HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY FILED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/15/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
OUR IGNITION WENT OUT ON OUR CAR, WE PAID $193.58 IN PARTS AND $200 IN LABOR AND THEN IT WAS INVOLVED IN RECALL 14350 AND THEY WON'T REIMBURSE US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - SUNNYVALE, CA
THIS CAR IS AN ELECTRICAL NIGHTMARE. THE INTRIGUE SEEMS TO HAVE SO MANY OF THE SAME ALERO PROBLEMS, BUT NO RESOLUTION FROM GM REGARDING THEM. VEHICLE CONTINUALLY WILL: NOT START, START AND THEN DIE, HAVE THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GO HAYWIRE (ALL GAUGES DROP TO THE BOTTOM, THEN JUMP BACK UP, LIGHTS COMING ON THEN GOING OFF - ABS, CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE ENGINE, ETC) ADDITIONALLY - SECURITY (PASSLOCK) LIGHT WILL COME ON SOMETIMES WHEN THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GOES NUTS, AND THEN WILL STAY ON. THIS OFTEN LEADS TO A NO-START CONDITION. IF BATTERY IS DISCONNECTED FOR A FEW MINUTES, THIS WILL USUALLY RESOLVE THE ISSUE. SOMETIMES, WHEN THERE'S A NO-START (NO CRANKING) - TURNING THE CAR TO ACC, AND THEN MOVING THE SHIFTER THROUGH A COUPLE GEARS, WILL RESOLVE THE ISSUE. WHEN THERE'S A NO-START (WITH CRANKING) - THIS CAN EVENTUALLY BE RESOLVED BY DISCONNECTING THE BATTERY FOR A LONG TIME. THE GAUGES GOING CRAZY WHILE DRIVING: OFTEN, WHEN NOT ACTIVELY PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR, THE GAUGES WILL DROP TO THE BOTTOM (EMPTY GAS TANK LIGHT COMES ON, RPM, GAS, AND HEAT NEEDLES DROP TO ZERO; SPEED USUALLY REMAINS FUNCTIONAL). WHEN PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR, THEY ALL POP BACK UP TO FUNCTIONAL (ONLY TO DROP AGAIN WHEN THERE'S NO ACCELERATION). THE KEY - CAN BE TAKEN OUT OF THE IGNITION SWITCH WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING, WITH NO RESISTANCE. I HAVE REPLACED: BATTERY MULTIPLE TIMES, BATTERY CABLES ONCE, THE IGNITION SWITCH & CYLINDER HAVE BEEN REPLACED AT LEAST ONCE OR TWICE BY A MECHANIC TRYING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE; WIRING HARNESSES WITHIN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND BELOW THE STEERING WHEEL HAVE BEEN REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/22/2014 - SUNNYVALE, CA
THIS CAR IS AN ELECTRICAL NIGHTMARE. THE INTRIGUE SEEMS TO HAVE SO MANY OF THE SAME ALERO PROBLEMS, BUT NO RESOLUTION FROM GM REGARDING THEM. VEHICLE CONTINUALLY WILL: NOT START, START AND THEN DIE, HAVE THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GO HAYWIRE (ALL GAUGES DROP TO THE BOTTOM, THEN JUMP BACK UP, LIGHTS COMING ON THEN GOING OFF - ABS, CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE ENGINE, ETC) ADDITIONALLY - SECURITY (PASSLOCK) LIGHT WILL COME ON SOMETIMES WHEN THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER GOES NUTS, AND THEN WILL STAY ON. THIS OFTEN LEADS TO A NO-START CONDITION. IF BATTERY IS DISCONNECTED FOR A FEW MINUTES, THIS WILL USUALLY RESOLVE THE ISSUE. SOMETIMES, WHEN THERE'S A NO-START (NO CRANKING) - TURNING THE CAR TO ACC, AND THEN MOVING THE SHIFTER THROUGH A COUPLE GEARS, WILL RESOLVE THE ISSUE. WHEN THERE'S A NO-START (WITH CRANKING) - THIS CAN EVENTUALLY BE RESOLVED BY DISCONNECTING THE BATTERY FOR A LONG TIME. THE GAUGES GOING CRAZY WHILE DRIVING: OFTEN, WHEN NOT ACTIVELY PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR, THE GAUGES WILL DROP TO THE BOTTOM (EMPTY GAS TANK LIGHT COMES ON, RPM, GAS, AND HEAT NEEDLES DROP TO ZERO; SPEED USUALLY REMAINS FUNCTIONAL). WHEN PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR, THEY ALL POP BACK UP TO FUNCTIONAL (ONLY TO DROP AGAIN WHEN THERE'S NO ACCELERATION). THE KEY - CAN BE TAKEN OUT OF THE IGNITION SWITCH WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING, WITH NO RESISTANCE. I HAVE REPLACED: BATTERY MULTIPLE TIMES, BATTERY CABLES ONCE, THE IGNITION SWITCH & CYLINDER HAVE BEEN REPLACED AT LEAST ONCE OR TWICE BY A MECHANIC TRYING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE; WIRING HARNESSES WITHIN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND BELOW THE STEERING WHEEL HAVE BEEN REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2014 - MISSION HILLS, KS
THE IGNITION SWITCH -- WHICH WAS REPLACED IN 2012 WITH A NEW GM DEALER PART -- TURNS BY ITSELF TO THE ACC SETTING WHILE DRIVING (ENGINE CUTS OUT AND POWER STEERING LOSES POWER). I SUSPECT THAT THIS IS RELATED TO THE GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL PROBLEM, BUT SINCE THIS MODEL IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST, I AM ENCOUNTERING A CHALLENGE TO GET IT REPAIRED. PLEASE PHONE ONLY -- NOT AN E-MAIL USER

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2014 - MISSION HILLS, KS
THE IGNITION SWITCH -- WHICH WAS REPLACED IN 2012 WITH A NEW GM DEALER PART -- TURNS BY ITSELF TO THE ACC SETTING WHILE DRIVING (ENGINE CUTS OUT AND POWER STEERING LOSES POWER). I SUSPECT THAT THIS IS RELATED TO THE GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL PROBLEM, BUT SINCE THIS MODEL IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST, I AM ENCOUNTERING A CHALLENGE TO GET IT REPAIRED. PLEASE PHONE ONLY -- NOT AN E-MAIL USER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2014 - MISSION HILLS, KS
THE IGNITION SWITCH -- WHICH WAS REPLACED IN 2012 WITH A NEW GM DEALER PART -- TURNS BY ITSELF TO THE ACC SETTING WHILE DRIVING (ENGINE CUTS OUT AND POWER STEERING LOSES POWER). I SUSPECT THAT THIS IS RELATED TO THE GM IGNITION SWITCH RECALL PROBLEM, BUT SINCE THIS MODEL IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST, I AM ENCOUNTERING A CHALLENGE TO GET IT REPAIRED. PLEASE PHONE ONLY -- NOT AN E-MAIL USER

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

4/11/2014 - NORTON SHORES, MI
THE FAN FOR THE HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING KEEPS FAILING TO WORK, THE FRONT TURN SIGNAL EITHER BURNS OUT IN 4 DAYS OR WON'T WORK AT ALL EVEN WITH PROFESSIONALLY INSTALLED ALL NEW BULBS.THE ENGINE KEEPS RUNNING EVEN WHEN I REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL

4/11/2014 - NORTON SHORES, MI
THE FAN FOR THE HEAT AND AIR CONDITIONING KEEPS FAILING TO WORK, THE FRONT TURN SIGNAL EITHER BURNS OUT IN 4 DAYS OR WON'T WORK AT ALL EVEN WITH PROFESSIONALLY INSTALLED ALL NEW BULBS.THE ENGINE KEEPS RUNNING EVEN WHEN I REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds