Auto Recalls for Consumers

VICTORY V92 - 1999 VICTORY V92 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by VICTORY

There are 46 complaints filed for the 1999 VICTORY V92

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 1999 VICTORY V92. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 1999 VICTORY V92, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Other (1) Power Train (41) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Fuel System Gasoline (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

12/5/2008 - HOPE, ID
I PURCHASED A 1999 VICTORY V92 MOTORCYCLE AND THE THIRD GEAR IMMEDIATELY MALFUNCTIONED. I FOUND A RECALL TO PREVENT THE FAILURE. DOES THIS APPLY TO THE FAILURE ITSELF. I SPOKE WITH POLARIS AND THEY WANT $3400 TO REPAIR THE BIKE AND THEN THEY WILL COMPLETE THE RECALL REPAIRS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

5/31/2008 - BROOMFIELD, CO
I RECENTLY PURCHASED A 1999 VICTORY V92 MOTORCYCLE. ABOUT A WEEK AFTER I BOUGHT THE MOTORCYCLE IT STARTED SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL WHEN YOU TRIED TO UPSHIFT, THEN WHEN YOU TRY TO UPSHIFT AGAIN IT IS IN THE WRONG GEAR. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES NOW. THIS HAPPENED WHEN A CAR DID NOT SEE ME AND I NEEDED TO GIVE IT SOME THROTTLE TO GET OUT OF THE WAY, INSTEAD I WAS BUSY SEARCHING FOR THE RIGHT GEAR. LUCKILY I WAS NOT RAN OVER. I HAVE READ MANY REPORTS OF THE SAME THING HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE,SOMETIMES WITH THE TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTING RESULTING IN A SKID, BUT THERE IS NOTHING BEING DONE ABOUT IT. THE PROBLEM WITH THESE MOTORCYCLES NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE PEOPLE ARE INJURED OR KILLED, WHICH I AM SURE SOME PEOPLE HAVE BEEN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

9/13/2007 - PORTLAND, OR
TL CONTACT OWNS A 1999 VICTORY V92. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO THIRD GEAR. NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 06V298000 (POWERTRAIN:MANUAL TRANSMISSION) WAS REFERENCED, HOWEVER, THE DEALER STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT HAD MORE THAN 30,000 MILES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,800 AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 63,733.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

11/23/2006 - YUBA CITY, CA
1999 POLARIS VICTORY 92C MANUAL TRANSMISSION. EA05-002. WHAT IS THE STATUS OF THIS INVESTIGATION. I BOUGHT MY MOTORCYCLE BRAND NEW AND HAVE VERY FEW MILES ON IT (LESS THAN 2000) AS I AM AFRAID THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING TO FAIL. THE ONLY THING I HAVE RECEIVED FROM POLARIS REGARDING THIS ISSUE IS THEY ARE WILLING TO DO A REPAIR UPGRADE TO THE TRANSMISSION IF I WILL PAY HALF THE COST OF THE REPAIR KIT ($884.00) PLUS THE COST OF THE INSPECTION AND INSTALLATION OF THE UPGRADE KIT (APPROXIMATELY 11 HOURS OF LABOR @ $60.00 PER HOUR = $660.00) THE TOTAL COST TO ME TO UPGRADE THE TRANSMISSION IS APPROXIMATELY $1550.00. I DO NOT FEEL THIS IS FAIR IF THE TRANSMISSION HAS A DESIGN FLAW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

10/8/2005 - SUMMERFIELD, FL
TRANSMISSION DOWN SHIFTS FROM 3RD GEAR TO 2ND GEAR WITHOUT WARNING CAUSING FAST SLOW DOWN IN SPEED , 1 ST OCCURRENCE ON BRIDGE IN DAYTONA WITH PASSENGER , NO CRASH OCCURRED BUT WAS VERY CLOSE CALL , TRANSMISSION STILL HAS SAME PROBLEM , AFTER A FEW DAYS , 1999 VICTORY V92 C 20000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

10/7/2005 - ANCHORAGE , AK
SPECIAL NOTE: YOUR SITE DOES NOT HAVE POLARIS INDUSTRIES OR VICTORY MOTORCYCLE SO I HAD TO CHOOSE ANOTHER MANUFACTURER TO ENTER INFORMATION. I HAVE A 1998 VICTORY V-92C MOTORCYCLE SERIAL #209 THAT HAS BEEN HAVING TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. SERIAL #5VPCB159X3000209, I HAVE TAKEN TO DEALER AND THEY STATED THERE WAS A LOOSE BOLT ON ONE SIDE WHICH WAS CORRECTED. THAT DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM AND AM NOW BEING TOLD THAT THE BIKE NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. THIS BIKE HAS EXTREMELY LOW MILES AND I AM THE ONLY OWNER. WHEN I SAY LOW MILES I HAVE LESS THAT 10,000 MILES ON THIS MODEL. THE BIKE HAS ALWAYS BEEN MAINTAINED AT THE LOCAL DEALER EVEN OIL CHANGES. THIS BIKE HAS ALSO ONLY BEEN STORED INSIDE AND IS IN SHOWROOM CONDITION I AM EXTREMELY UNHAPPY ABOUT THIS AND FEEL THAT VICTORY SHOULD RECALL THESE BIKES WITH THESE TRANSMISSIONS THAT THEY ADMIT ARE VERY WEAK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

9/9/2005 - ANSON, ME
I OWN A 1999 VICTORY MOTORCYCLE MODEL V92C. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS NATIONWIDE ON VICTORY CHAT SITES THAT THE TRANSMISSIONS IN THESE MOTORCYCLES ARE FAILING AT AN ALARMING RATE WITH SOMETIMES CATASTROPHIC RESULTS (TRANSMISSIONS LOCKING UP AND THUS LOCKING UP THE REAR WHEEL WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING ACCIDENTS, ETC.). I HAVE 18,000 MILES ON MY BIKE AND IT IS NOW SHOWING THE SYMPTOMS LEADING TO SUCH FAILURE. FALSE NEUTRAL INDICATIONS, UNRELIABLE SHIFTING, AND A STRANGE VIBRATION FROM THE TRANSMISSION AREA. I BELIEVE TRANSMISSION FAILURE IS IMMINENT. I HAVE BEEN IN TOUCH WITH THE DEALER I PURCHASED THE BIKE FROM NEW ON 4/16/99 AND THEY TELL ME MY ONLY RECOURSE IS TO PURCHASE AN "UPGRADED" REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSION TO THE TUNE OF $2500 PLUS LABOR. I'M TOLD THAT I'M ONE OF THE LUCKY ONES IN THAT I GOT 18000 MILES OUT OF IT. BECAUSE OF THE APPARENT HIGH FAILURE RATE, THE LOW MILEAGE ON MACHINES AT TIME OF FAILURE, THE POTENTIAL OF GRIEVOUS BODILY HARM TO OPERATOR AND PASSENGER AND WHAT I HAVE READ ABOUT VICTORY'S KNOWLEDGE OF THIS PROBLEM BEFORE AND DURING PRODUCTION OF THESE MOTORCYCLES, VICTORY MOTORCYCLES SHOULD ASSUME RESPONSIBILITY FOR CORRECTING THE PROBLEM AND DO RIGHT BY THEIR CUSTOMERS WHO PUT THEIR TRUST AND FAITH IN THE COMPANY. I BELIEVE VICTORY SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO ISSUE A CORRECTIVE RECALL ON ALL MOTORCYCLES WHICH USE THIS TRANSMISSION. I UNDERSTAND AN INVESTIGATION HAS BEEN OPENED ON THIS MATTER BUT I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE RESULTS ARE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

8/11/2005 - SCOTTSBURG, IN
THE TRANSMISSION HAS SHIFTED HARD & LOUD SINCE I BOUGHT THE VICTORY. IT HAS ALSO POPPED OUT OF GEAR & SKIPPED GEARS FREQUENTLY. THE PROBLEMS ARE MOST COMMON WHEN SHIFTING 3/2, 2/3, 4/3, 3/4. THE DEALER SAID IT IS JUST THE NATURE OF THE BEAST. I ASKED ANOTHER DEALER & I WAS TOLD THE SAME THING. ONE DEALER I SPOKE WITH NO LONGER CARRIES THE VICTORY LINE AND THE OTHER IS COMPLETELY OUT OF BUSINESS. I AM A VERY EXPERIENCED TECHNICIAN,AND MOTORCYCLE RIDER. IT IS CLEAR THAT MY VICTORY HAS A SERIOUS TRANSMISSION CONCERN. I CONTACTED VICTORY,THEY SAID THEY MIGHT PAY A PORTION OF THE REPAIR, AS LONG AS THE CAUSE IS NOT ABUSE OR LACK OF MAINTENANCE. I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE TEAR DOWN. THEY WOULD DETERMINE THE CAUSE AND THE AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE IF ANY,AT THAT TIME. I DECLINED AT THAT TIME. I REALLY FELT THAT VICTORY WAS TRYING TO RIP ME OFF. A MONTH AGO THE TRANS STARTED A LIGHT RATTLE NOISE IN ALL GEARS. I PARKED IT AT THAT TIME AFRAID OF A LOCK UP/CRASH. I KNOW OF THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH EARLY VICTORY MOTORCYCLES,AND SO DOES VICTORY. ITS TIME THEY DO THE RIGHT THING BEFORE MORE PEOPLE GET HURT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

7/9/2005 - SANFORD, ME
MY 1999 VICTORY IS DISPLAYING THE SYMPTOM'S DESCRIBED IN EA05002, INCLUDING FALSE NEUTRAL BETWEEN 2ND AND 3RD GEARS, DIFFICULTY FINDING NEUTRAL, AND IN ADDITION, EXCESSIVE MECHANICAL NOISE IN 4TH GEAR. THE MOTORCYCLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 9200 MILES ON IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: MANUAL TRANSMISSION

7/8/2005 - ZEELAND, MI
I AM THE OWNER OF A 1999 VICTORY MOTORCYLE. TWO YEARS AGO I NOTICED DIFICULTY SHIFTING INTO 2ND GEAR. THIS ONLY HAPPED ONCE IN A WHILE. NOW I NOT ONLY HAVE DIFICULTY SHIFTING BUT THE BIKE SLIPS OUT OF 3RD GEAR. IM AFRAID MY TRANS IS ABOUT TO FAIL ALL TOGETHER. I KNOW THIS IS A PROBLEM ON MANY 1999--2001 MOTORCYLES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds