Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET ASTRO - 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (20)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (56) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (6) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: ANTI-THEFT DEVICES

10/22/2003 - LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ
THE BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR AND AFTER BEING PUMPED A FEW TIMES ACTUALLY SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A FEW TIMES BUT UNABLE TO REPRODUCE AT DEALERSHIP. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO SHOP TOO MANY TIMES FOR MANY ITEMS INCLUDING SIDE DOOR RATTLES, IGNITION PROBLEM WITH SECURITY FEATURE, WINDSHIELD ECT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

10/22/2003 - LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ
THE BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR AND AFTER BEING PUMPED A FEW TIMES ACTUALLY SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A FEW TIMES BUT UNABLE TO REPRODUCE AT DEALERSHIP. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO SHOP TOO MANY TIMES FOR MANY ITEMS INCLUDING SIDE DOOR RATTLES, IGNITION PROBLEM WITH SECURITY FEATURE, WINDSHIELD ECT.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: PUMP

9/9/2003 - WATERLOO, IA
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE STALLED, AND BRAKE PEDAL WENT DOWN TO THE FLOOR DUE TO POWER STEERING PUMP MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

8/21/2003 - GLEN FLORA, WI
2000 ASTRO VAN WITH 50,000 MILES. REVERSE AND SECOND GEARS WENT OUT. NOW COSTING $1500 TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT. WE BOUGHT THIS VAN NEW IN 2000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

8/18/2003 - CHITTENANGO, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS HYDRAULIC ANTILOCK BRAKING SYSTEM DOES NOT OPERATE PROPERLY WHICH CAUSES EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE. ALSO, VEHICLE WON'T START AT VARIOUS TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

8/18/2003 - CHITTENANGO, NY
WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS HYDRAULIC ANTILOCK BRAKING SYSTEM DOES NOT OPERATE PROPERLY WHICH CAUSES EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE. ALSO, VEHICLE WON'T START AT VARIOUS TIMES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

7/14/2003 - N CANTON, OH
CODE 1870 IS WELL DOCUMENTED ON MULTIPLE WEB SITES. THE ALUMINUM VALVE HOUSING IS TOO SMALL AND WEARS OUT QUICKLY. THE SYMPTON IS A VERY HARD SHIFT FROM 1-2 AND 2-3 AS IF BEING REAR-ENDED ONLY AFTER THE VEHICLE IS HOT. CHEVY HAS REENGINEERED TO A BIGGER VALVE BUT STILL WANTS IT'S CUSTOMERS TO PAY HALF OF $2000 FOR A $350-$950 PROBLEM THAT SHOULD BE COVERED BY IT'S WARRENTY. SONNEX MAKES A STEEL REPLACEMENT AND CAN VERIFY HOW FREQUENT THE PROBLEM IS. CHEVY'S ALUMINUM REPLACEMENT IS QUESTIONABLE, LET ALONE THE DEAL THEY OFFER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK

7/2/2003 - RIGA, MI
MY REAR HATCH DOOR OF MY 2000 ASTRO VAN WILL NOT OPEN. ALL OF THE LOCKS ON MY VAN ARE NOT WORKING AS THEY SHOULD BUT AT LEAST I CAN USE THE INSIDE DOOR HANDLES TO GET IN AND OUT. THE HATCH HAS NO INSIDE DOOR RELEASE SO IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO GET MYSELF OUT OF THE BACK IF THAT WERE THE ONLY WAY OUT. ALSO, IF YOU ARE BRAKING AND HIT A BUMP THE BRAKES WILL NOT WORK. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL CLOSE CALLS BECAUSE I COULD NOT STOP THE VAN BECAUSE OF A BUMPY INTERSECTION AND THE BRAKES NOT HOLDING.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: LOCK

7/2/2003 - RIGA, MI
MY REAR HATCH DOOR OF MY 2000 ASTRO VAN WILL NOT OPEN. ALL OF THE LOCKS ON MY VAN ARE NOT WORKING AS THEY SHOULD BUT AT LEAST I CAN USE THE INSIDE DOOR HANDLES TO GET IN AND OUT. THE HATCH HAS NO INSIDE DOOR RELEASE SO IN CASE OF AN ACCIDENT I WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO GET MYSELF OUT OF THE BACK IF THAT WERE THE ONLY WAY OUT. ALSO, IF YOU ARE BRAKING AND HIT A BUMP THE BRAKES WILL NOT WORK. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL CLOSE CALLS BECAUSE I COULD NOT STOP THE VAN BECAUSE OF A BUMPY INTERSECTION AND THE BRAKES NOT HOLDING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/15/2003 - ST. AUGUSTINE, FL
HIS SITE WAS SENT TO US AND WE ARE CONCERNED WITH THE DISCREPANCIES IN THE MILEAGE ON THE ODOMETER ON A VAN WE MADE A DOWN PAYMENT ON TO BUY. THE NUMBERS JUST DON'T MATCH AND THERE IS A PERIOD OF 7 MONTHS VAN CANNOT BE ACCOUNTED FOR. THE DEALER SAID HE HAD NO INFORMATION ON PREVIOUS OWNER, ALTHOUGH IN NOV. 2002, THE SAME DEALER CHANGED OIL, THEN 7 MONTHS LAPSE. CAN YOU HELP US ? THE VAN IS A YEAR 2000 ASTRO AND WE ARE TRYING TO FIND OUT ABOUT THE MILEAGE. THANKS [email protected]

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds