Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET ASTRO - 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (20)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (56) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (6) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

3/7/2008 - GRIFFIN, GA
I RECENTLY HEARD OF A RECALL ON THE TAHOES AND GM TRUCKS REGARDING THE GAUGE PANEL OR CLUSTER PANEL. I DRIVE A 1990 CHEVY ASTRO VAN WHICH IS ON A TAHOE FRAME. I AM HAVING THE SAME TYPES OF PROBLEMS WITH MY GAUGE PANEL AS DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL. MY ABS/BRAKE LIGHT COMES ON AT VARIOUS TIMES FOR NO REASON. MY TEMP AND OIL GAUGES CHANGE FROM HOT TO COLD AND BACK AGAIN FOR NO REASON AND THE CHECK GAUGE LIGHT WILL LIGHT UP. NOW THE GAS HAD WILL CHANGE EVEN WHEN THE CAR IS NOT ON. AS A WOMAN I NEED TO BE ABLE TO DEPEND ON MY CARS GAUGES TO LET ME KNOW IF THERE IS A PROBLEM. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE SHOP YESTERDAY AND THEY COULD NOT FIND A REASON FOR MY CAR TO BE DOING THESE THINGS. I CALLED OUR CHEVY DEALER HERE IN GRIFFIN WHERE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED AND THEY DID NOT WANT TO HELP ME. I AM NOW ASKING YOU FOR HELP. SINCERELY, DANA D. HORTMAN

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: WHEEL SPEED SENSOR

2/27/2008 - NEW FAIRFIELD, CT
UNWANTED ABS ACTIVATION AT LOW SPEEDS CAUSING INCREASED STOPPING DISTANCE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: LOCK

2/24/2008 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
DOOR HANDLE ON RIGHT REAR DUTCH DOOR OF OUR 2000 ASTRO VAN BROKE SUDDENLY WHEN TRYING TO OPEN DOOR. WHILE THE DUTCH DOOR FEATURE IS OPERATIONALLY VERY HANDY, THE DOOR DESIGN ALWAYS HAD A FLIMSY FEEL TO IT - SO WE ALWAYS USED GREAT CARE WHEN OPENING AND CLOSING. AFTER IT BROKE, WE FOUND THE NHTSA #634576 WITH SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, SO FELT OBLIGATED TO ADD TO YOUR LIST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/24/2008 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
DOOR HANDLE ON RIGHT REAR DUTCH DOOR OF OUR 2000 ASTRO VAN BROKE SUDDENLY WHEN TRYING TO OPEN DOOR. WHILE THE DUTCH DOOR FEATURE IS OPERATIONALLY VERY HANDY, THE DOOR DESIGN ALWAYS HAD A FLIMSY FEEL TO IT - SO WE ALWAYS USED GREAT CARE WHEN OPENING AND CLOSING. AFTER IT BROKE, WE FOUND THE NHTSA #634576 WITH SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, SO FELT OBLIGATED TO ADD TO YOUR LIST.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

12/28/2007 - BROOKLYN, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2001 CHEVROLET ASTRO. THE HAZARD LIGHT SWITCH AND BRAKE LIGHTS MALFUNCTIONED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE SWITCH WAS FAULTY AND WAS THE SAME AS THE RECALLED SWITCH FOR THE 2001 CHEVROLET ASTRO (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 05V099000 EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS:SWITCH). THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 90,000. UPDATED 02-14-08.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

11/13/2007 - MCCONNELSVILLE, OH
CHEVY 2000 ASTRO, CUTS OUT WHILE DRIVING. WE EVEN PUSHED THE VAN INTO A CHEVY DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT TELL US WHAT IT WAS AFTER HOOKING IT UP TO DIAGNOSTICS. WE FIGURED IT WAS THE COIL WIRE. RECENTLY THE VAN HAS BEEN BOGGING DOWN WHEN IT IS UNDER LOAD. ALSO, WHEN IT RAINS IT RUNS ROUGH. WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND THEY REPLACED OUR FUEL FILTER. IT RAN FINE BUT STILL CUTS OUT SOMETIMES RUNNING UP HILL. SO WE CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS. IF YOU LET THE VAN SIT OVER THE WEEKEND WITH OUT DRIVING IT, THE VAN WAS REALLY HARD TO START. UNTIL FINALLY IT JUST WOULDN'T START AT ALL. IN ADDITION THE DOOR LOCKS SOMETIMES WORK AND SOMETIMES DON'T . THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW IS VERY SLUGGISH GOING UP YOU ACTUALLY HAVE TO HELP IT BY PULLING UP ON IT. WE KEEP BLOWING FUSES WHEN WE USE OUR CIGARETTE LIGHTER TO CHARGE OUR CELL PHONE. IT REALLY NEEDS HELP.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

11/13/2007 - MCCONNELSVILLE, OH
CHEVY 2000 ASTRO, CUTS OUT WHILE DRIVING. WE EVEN PUSHED THE VAN INTO A CHEVY DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT TELL US WHAT IT WAS AFTER HOOKING IT UP TO DIAGNOSTICS. WE FIGURED IT WAS THE COIL WIRE. RECENTLY THE VAN HAS BEEN BOGGING DOWN WHEN IT IS UNDER LOAD. ALSO, WHEN IT RAINS IT RUNS ROUGH. WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND THEY REPLACED OUR FUEL FILTER. IT RAN FINE BUT STILL CUTS OUT SOMETIMES RUNNING UP HILL. SO WE CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS. IF YOU LET THE VAN SIT OVER THE WEEKEND WITH OUT DRIVING IT, THE VAN WAS REALLY HARD TO START. UNTIL FINALLY IT JUST WOULDN'T START AT ALL. IN ADDITION THE DOOR LOCKS SOMETIMES WORK AND SOMETIMES DON'T . THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW IS VERY SLUGGISH GOING UP YOU ACTUALLY HAVE TO HELP IT BY PULLING UP ON IT. WE KEEP BLOWING FUSES WHEN WE USE OUR CIGARETTE LIGHTER TO CHARGE OUR CELL PHONE. IT REALLY NEEDS HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

11/13/2007 - MCCONNELSVILLE, OH
CHEVY 2000 ASTRO, CUTS OUT WHILE DRIVING. WE EVEN PUSHED THE VAN INTO A CHEVY DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT TELL US WHAT IT WAS AFTER HOOKING IT UP TO DIAGNOSTICS. WE FIGURED IT WAS THE COIL WIRE. RECENTLY THE VAN HAS BEEN BOGGING DOWN WHEN IT IS UNDER LOAD. ALSO, WHEN IT RAINS IT RUNS ROUGH. WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND THEY REPLACED OUR FUEL FILTER. IT RAN FINE BUT STILL CUTS OUT SOMETIMES RUNNING UP HILL. SO WE CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS. IF YOU LET THE VAN SIT OVER THE WEEKEND WITH OUT DRIVING IT, THE VAN WAS REALLY HARD TO START. UNTIL FINALLY IT JUST WOULDN'T START AT ALL. IN ADDITION THE DOOR LOCKS SOMETIMES WORK AND SOMETIMES DON'T . THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW IS VERY SLUGGISH GOING UP YOU ACTUALLY HAVE TO HELP IT BY PULLING UP ON IT. WE KEEP BLOWING FUSES WHEN WE USE OUR CIGARETTE LIGHTER TO CHARGE OUR CELL PHONE. IT REALLY NEEDS HELP.

View Details

VISIBILITY: POWER WINDOW DEVICES AND CONTROLS

11/13/2007 - MCCONNELSVILLE, OH
CHEVY 2000 ASTRO, CUTS OUT WHILE DRIVING. WE EVEN PUSHED THE VAN INTO A CHEVY DEALER AND THEY COULD NOT TELL US WHAT IT WAS AFTER HOOKING IT UP TO DIAGNOSTICS. WE FIGURED IT WAS THE COIL WIRE. RECENTLY THE VAN HAS BEEN BOGGING DOWN WHEN IT IS UNDER LOAD. ALSO, WHEN IT RAINS IT RUNS ROUGH. WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND THEY REPLACED OUR FUEL FILTER. IT RAN FINE BUT STILL CUTS OUT SOMETIMES RUNNING UP HILL. SO WE CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS. IF YOU LET THE VAN SIT OVER THE WEEKEND WITH OUT DRIVING IT, THE VAN WAS REALLY HARD TO START. UNTIL FINALLY IT JUST WOULDN'T START AT ALL. IN ADDITION THE DOOR LOCKS SOMETIMES WORK AND SOMETIMES DON'T . THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW IS VERY SLUGGISH GOING UP YOU ACTUALLY HAVE TO HELP IT BY PULLING UP ON IT. WE KEEP BLOWING FUSES WHEN WE USE OUR CIGARETTE LIGHTER TO CHARGE OUR CELL PHONE. IT REALLY NEEDS HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/18/2007 - WILLIAMSBURG, VA
MY 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO VAN WITH ALL WHEEL DRIVE INTERMITTENTLY FAILS TO STOP AT LOW SPEEDS DUE TO INAPPROPRIATE ACTIVATION OF THE ANTI LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM. THIS CONDITION HAS NEARLY RESULTED IN SEVERAL ACCIDENTS THAT JEOPARDIZED THE SAFETY OF PEOPLE AND PROPERTY, SUCH AS WHEN TRAVELING IN PARKING LOTS AND CROWDED CITY STREETS. THE ABS SYSTEM FAILURE DOES NOT REGISTER A SERVICE CODE, AND THE PROBLEM WAS NOT RECOGNIZED BY SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE LOCAL GM DEALERSHIP, WHO REPLACED TRANSFER CASE FLUID IN THE ABSENCE OF HAVING A CLUE. THROUGH SELF DIAGNOSIS, THE PROBLEM WAS CONFIRMED TO BE THE ABS SYTEM BECAUSE THE BRAKES OPERATE NORMALLY WHEN THE FUSE IS REMOVED FROM THE WIRING BLOCK SLOT LABELED ABS. DUE TO THE ABSENCE OF ANY PHYSICAL DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE, AND THE FAILURE OF THE VEHICLES DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM TO DETECT THIS PROBLE, IT IS CLEARLY A DEFECT IN THE VEHICLE OR COMPONENTS DESIGN OR CONSTRUCTION. OWNERS SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PULL FUSES ON SAFETY SYSTEM IN ORDER FOR THE BRAKES TO WORK WHEN NECESSARY. NHTSA SHOULD EVALUATE THE AGGREGATE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ALREADY ISSUED WITH THIS PROBLEM, AND UNDERSTAND THAT THE GM TRAINED SERVICE TECHNICIANS ARE NOT HELPING OWNERS REMEDY OR UNDERSTAND THIS DEFECT EXISTS. A RECALL NOTICE SHOULD BE ISSUED.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds