Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET ASTRO - 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (20)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (56) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (6) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

8/31/2005 - BROOKFIELD, CT
WHEN I APPLY BRAKES WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS (ABOUT 10 MPH), THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM ENGAGES. THIS GREATLY INCREASES THE STOPPING DISTANCE, AND GIVES THE FEELING THAT THE VEHICLE MAY NOT STOP AS INTENDED. THIS FAILURE CAN ALSO CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO "PULL" TO LEFT OR RIGHT DURING THE APPLICATION OF THE BRAKES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/25/2005 - SAEGERTOWN, PA
DT: THE CONSUMER STATED HIS WIFE PUT HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND IT DID NOT STOP; IT ACCELERATED WHEN SHE HIT THE BRAKE AND SHE HIT TWO PARKED CARS ON 7-23-05. SHE WAS GOING APPROX. 3-5 MPH. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. PREVIOUSLY, THEY HAD FELT SOME PULSATING IN THE PEDAL, BUT IT BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THEY HAVE FELT IT ACCELERATE. NO LIGHTS CAME ON PRIOR TO THIS OR PREVIOUSLY. THIS OCCURRED DURING NORMAL BRAKING, ON A DRY ROAD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

7/25/2005 - SAEGERTOWN, PA
DT: THE CONSUMER STATED HIS WIFE PUT HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND IT DID NOT STOP; IT ACCELERATED WHEN SHE HIT THE BRAKE AND SHE HIT TWO PARKED CARS ON 7-23-05. SHE WAS GOING APPROX. 3-5 MPH. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED. PREVIOUSLY, THEY HAD FELT SOME PULSATING IN THE PEDAL, BUT IT BECAME PROGRESSIVELY WORSE. THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THEY HAVE FELT IT ACCELERATE. NO LIGHTS CAME ON PRIOR TO THIS OR PREVIOUSLY. THIS OCCURRED DURING NORMAL BRAKING, ON A DRY ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

7/1/2005 - REDDING , CA
DT: CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE STALLED. WHEN THIS HAPPENED THERE WERE NO BRAKES. THERE WERE NO WARNINGS BEFORE THE STALLING, IT HAPPENED AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED FOR APPROXIMATELY 10-15 MINUTES. THIS DID NOT HAPPEN EVERY TIME THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THE SERVICE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY DID INFORM THE CONTACT THAT THIS SPECIFIC MODEL YEAR HAD INTERMITTENT STALLING PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE DID NOT HAVE BRAKING CAPABILITY. THERE WAS FILE NUMBER 1-34-55-39614 WITH THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER. UPDATED 02/07/06.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

5/5/2005 - PEMBROKE, MA
DT: PROBLEM WITH BRAKES AND BEARINGS LAST YEAR THE BRAKES STARTING PULSATING AND HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE OF RUSTING AND PITTING. THIS YEAR THE BEARINGS WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS VEHICLE HAS 34,000 ORIGINAL MILES.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: WHEEL BEARING

5/5/2005 - PEMBROKE, MA
DT: PROBLEM WITH BRAKES AND BEARINGS LAST YEAR THE BRAKES STARTING PULSATING AND HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE OF RUSTING AND PITTING. THIS YEAR THE BEARINGS WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS VEHICLE HAS 34,000 ORIGINAL MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK

5/4/2005 - WYOMING, MI
IN FALL OF 2004 I BEGAN TO NOTICE THAT THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY. WHEN COMING TO A STOP THEY WOULD KICK IN WHILE I WAS GRADUALLY STOPPING, THEN DISENGAGE AT THE LAST MINUTE, CAUSING ME TO NEARLY COLLIDE WITH WHATEVER WAS IN FRONT OF ME! I DROVE UNDER THESE CONDITIONS FOR A SHORT TIME, NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. SUBSEQUENTLY, MY HUSBAND REMOVED THE FUSE TO DISARM THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES. I WAS IN THE PROCESS OF INVESTIGATING WHAT MIGHT HAVE CAUSED THE PROBLEM AND HOW MUCH IT SHOULD COST, SINCE I DO NOT ENTIRELY TRUST THE DEALERSHIP (CLASSIC CHEVROLET) TO BE HONEST WITH ME, BASED ON PAST EXPERIENCES. PLEASE REFER TO THE INVESTIGATION ANNOUNCED ON MAY 2, 2005 WHICH DOES NOT MENTION THE CHEVROLET ASTRO VAN (2000).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: WHEEL SPEED SENSOR

5/3/2005 - WELLSVILLE, NY
I READ IN THE LOCAL PAPER THAT THE NHTSA HAS OPENED AN INVESTIGATION OF GENERAL MOTORS ANTILOCK BRAKING SYSTEMS. MY CHEVROLET ASTRO VAN HAS EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM - ANTILOCK BRAKING ENGAGING AT LOW SPEEDS DUE TO CORROSION IN AND AROUND 1 OR MORE OF THE AXLE SPEED SENSORS. I REMOVED THE ANTILOCK MAIN FUSE TO DE-ENERGIZE THE SYSTEM. THIS IS NOT A PERMANENT FIX BUT DOES REMOVE THE IMMEDIATE DANGER. I KNOW OF ANOTHER ASTRO, OWNED BY SOME CLOSE FRIENDS, WITH THE IDENTICAL PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

4/25/2005 - NORTH RICHLAND HILLS, TX
I HAVE A 2000 CHEV ASTRO PASS. VAN LS EXT SPORT. BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER DOORS ARE SEPARATING FROM THIER HINGES. THE ADHESIVE IS FAILING, AND I AND AFRAID THE DOORS WILL FALL OFF.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

3/21/2005 - LONGWOOD, FL
WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ACCELERATOR PEDAL GOT STUCK. WHEN THE DRIVER TAPPED THE PEDAL TO RELEASE IT PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR, AND THE VEHICLE SPED TO 100 MPH. DRIVER HAD TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds