Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET ASTRO - 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (20)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (56) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (6) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK

9/11/2004 - GLENDALE, AZ
HAVE BROUGHT VAN IN 4 TIMES IN 4 YEARS ABOUT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. SMELLING WIRES BURNING. HAVE GONE THROUGH 6 BATTERIES IN 4 YEARS. REPLACED ALTERNATOR. RADIO/CD HAS BEEN REPLACED. NEW CD STOPED WORKING AFTER 1 WEEK OF BEING REPLACED. DEALER REFUSES TO REPLACE AGAIN. RADIO, OVERHEAD DIGITAL TEMP & MISC GAGES GOES OUT, SPEEDOMETOR, BATTERY, FUEL, AND ODOMOTER QUITS, ONLY THE OIL STILL WORKS. ABS BREAKING PROBEMS, PEDEL TO FLOOR, HAVE RAN INTERSECTIONS DUE TO THIS. HAVE HAD MINOR DINGS TO BUMPER BECAUSE IT ROLLED TO STOPS AT LOW SPEEDS. LOUD CLUNK IN REAR WHEN STOPPED TOO. DEALER REFUSED TO CALL IT A LEMON. REFUSED TO HELP FIX BECAUSE ITS A LEASE. ALSO HANDLE OVER PASSENGER AIRBAG DISINTEGRATED IN 3RD YEAR, AND NOW THE DRIVER ARM REST IS SPLIT IN 4TH YEAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

7/29/2004 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
THE REAR INSIDE DOOR HANDLE BROKE OFF THE DOOR PANEL. CONSUMER WAS UNABLE TO EXIT THE VEHICLE FROM THE INSIDE. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: PUMP

7/27/2004 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
VAN WAS BEING BACKED INTO DRIVEWAY,STEERING AND BRAKES WENT HARD AND BELT STARTED TO SQUEAL FOR ABOUT 6 SECONDS.BELT SQUEAL STOPPED BUT STEERING AND BRAKES DID NOT RETURN.DURING INSPECTION FOUND POWER STEERING SHAFT BROKEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

7/22/2004 - PITTSBURGH, PA
INTERMITTENTLY AND AT ANY SPEED, WHEN THE BRAKES WERE APPLIED, THE VEHICLE WOULD SLIDE. THE DEALER EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT THE ABS SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER SEVERAL MONTHS, THE SENSOR WENT OUT AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

7/11/2004 - OVERGAARD, AZ
SIRS, I RECENTLY HAD TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP IN THE FUEL TANK OF MY 2000 CHEVY ALL WHEEL DRIVE ASTRO VAN, BECAUSE IT CONTAINS THE SENDING UNIT THAT CONTROLS THE FUEL GAGE ON THE DASH,AND THAT FUNTION FAILED. THE PUMP HAD BEGUN TO MAKE A LOUD NOISE. I HAVE RETAINED THE OLD PART. THE BILL FOR REPLACEING THE PUMP, WITH LABOR, CAME TO $560.46. I PRICED A COMPLETE DELL DIMENSION 2400 COMPUTER SYSTEM, INCLUDING SHIPPING AND IT WAS ONLY $494.00. THIS IS OUT RAGIOUS HAVING TO PAY $560.46 FOR AN AUTO FUEL PUMP. WHERE CAN I GET RELIEF? THIS IS A RIPOFF AND IT MUST BE STOPPED. THANKS, MICHAEL COLEMAN [email protected]

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

7/3/2004 - BELLEVUE, NE
ENTIRE SEAL WAS LIFTING FROM TOP AND DOWN BOTH SIDES, WATER LEAKING IN AT TOP OF WINDSHIELD, ENTIRE WINDSHIELD AND SEAL HAD TO BE RESET. TRIED GOING TO DEALER ABOUT BULLETIN THEY SAID THEY HEARD OF NO SUCH THING ON MY VAN YEAR OR TYPE. ENDED UP HAVING TO PAY WHOLE COST MYSELF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: COOLING UNIT AND LINES

6/10/2004 - DALLAS, TX
I HAVE A 2000 CHEVY ASTRO AWD THAT THE TRANSMISSION COOLING LINES HAVE A BRACKET THAT HOLDS THE LINES TO THE OIL PAN. THIS BRACKET RUBBED HOLES IN BOTH OF THE LINES. IF MY WIFE HAD NOT SEEN THE FLUID ON THE GARAGE FLOOR WHEN SHE BACKED OUT, THE TRANSMISSION WOULD HAVE BURNED UP. THE TRANSMISSION LINE HAS A ONE INCH GASH WHERE THE BRACKET HELD THE TRANSMISSION LINES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

6/4/2004 - WESTON, WV
CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT A BRAKE PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING DOWNHILL BRAKES OVERHEATED. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY STRONG SMELL, LIKE BURNED RUBBER. CONSUMER TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. BUT DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. DEALER URGED CONSUMER TO TAKE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. HOWEVER, CONSUMER FELT THAT TRAVEL TIME TO THE ALTERNATE DEALERSHIP WOULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD. THE ROTORS AN DPADS WERE REPLACED AT 28K MILES THERE WERE RUSTED AND CRACKED. ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS THE BRAKES OVERHEATED WHEN DESCENDING STEEP GRADES. THE BRAKE PROBLEM WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

6/4/2004 - WESTON, WV
CONSUMER COMPLAINED ABOUT A BRAKE PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING DOWNHILL BRAKES OVERHEATED. ALSO, THERE WAS A VERY STRONG SMELL, LIKE BURNED RUBBER. CONSUMER TOOK VEHICLE TO THE DEALER. BUT DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. DEALER URGED CONSUMER TO TAKE VEHICLE TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. HOWEVER, CONSUMER FELT THAT TRAVEL TIME TO THE ALTERNATE DEALERSHIP WOULD BE A SAFETY HAZARD. THE ROTORS AN DPADS WERE REPLACED AT 28K MILES THERE WERE RUSTED AND CRACKED. ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS THE BRAKES OVERHEATED WHEN DESCENDING STEEP GRADES. THE BRAKE PROBLEM WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

4/29/2004 - MADISON, AL
I HAVE A 4 YEAR OLD CHEVY ASTRO VAN WITH A KELSEY HAYES EBC UNIT. RECENTLY THE ABS LIGHT STARTED COMING ON FROM TIME TO TIME WHEN THE ENGINE HAD BEEN RUNNING FOR A WHILE, BUT IT WOULD GO OFF WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED COLD. I HAD MY BRAKE SYSTEM CHECKED AND THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. THE CODE INDICATED A BAD RELAY IN THE COMPUTER CONTROL SYSTEM. THE PROBLEM IS THAT IT CAUSES THE ABS LIGHT TO COME ON AND WHEN THAT HAPPENS I HAVE NO ABS WORKING. THIS COULD CAUSE A SAFETY ISSUE UNDER CERTAIN BRAKING CONDITIONS. THE LIGHT DOESN'T COME ON ALL THE TIME SO THE QUESTION IS DO I PAY OVER $900 FOR SOMETHING THAT I BELIEVE TO BE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT OR DO I TAKE A CHANCE THAT WHEN I NEED MY BRAKES THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WILL WORK. AS OF NOW, I HAVE NOT REPLACED THE PART. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE PART # WAS 12478045 . THIS PART CANNOT BE PURCHASED EXCEPT THROUGH A DEALER. IT IS THEIR PRODUCT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds