Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET ASTRO - 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET ASTRO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Other (1) Service Brakes Air (7) Tires (20)
Communications (1) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Power Train (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (56) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (25) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (6) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

4/28/2004 - MADISON, AL
I HAVE A 4 YEAR OLD CHEVY ASTRO VAN WITH A KELSEY HAYES EBC UNIT. RECENTLY THE ABS LIGHT STARTED COMING ON FROM TIME TO TIME WHEN THE ENGINE HAD BEEN RUNNING FOR A WHILE, BUT IT WOULD GO OFF WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED COLD. I HAD MY BRAKE SYSTEM CHECKED AND THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. THE CODE INDICATED A BAD RELAY IN THE COMPUTER CONTROL SYSTEM. THE PROBLEM IS THAT IT CAUSES THE ABS LIGHT TO COME ON AND WHEN THAT HAPPENS I HAVE NO ABS WORKING. THIS COULD CAUSE A SAFETY ISSUE UNDER CERTAIN BRAKING CONDITIONS. THE LIGHT DOESN'T COME ON ALL THE TIME SO THE QUESTION IS DO I PAY $800 FOR SOMETHING THAT I BELIEVE TO BE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT OR DO I TAKE A CHANCE THAT WHEN I NEED MY BRAKES THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WILL WORK. AS OF NOW, I HAVE NOT REPLACED THE PART. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THE PART # WAS 13354733 HE COULD NOT/WOULD NOT TELL ME THE TYPE OF KELSEY HAYES EBC UNIT EXCEPT HE SAID THEY ONLY MADE ONE KIND FOR THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: PUMP

3/15/2004 - CENTERVILLE, OH
POWER STEERING PUMP WENT OUT, WHICH RENDERED POWER STEERING AND BRAKES INOPERATIVE!! BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY, COULDN'T STOP, WENT ACROSS TRAFFIC, UP INTO CUL DE SAC (THANK GOODNESS NO OTHER VEHICLES COMING). $800 REPAIR!!! ONLY 50,000 +/- MILES ON VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/20/2004 - GADSDEN, AL
UNCONTROLLED ENGINE ACCELERATION: WITHOUT WARNING, THE ENGINE REVVED TO FULL THROTTLE. THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE EVEN WITH FOOT OFF GAS PEDAL AND FULL BRAKES APPLIED. THE CAUSE WAS IDENTIFIED AS A BROKEN ACCELERATOR CABLE. THE BREAKAGE OCCURRED NEAR THE GAS PEDAL. THE CAR HAD 48,000 MILES. THE GAS PEDAL HAD BEEN "JERKY" INTERMITTENTLY ON INITIAL DEPRESSION FOR THE PRECEDING YEAR. DEALERSHIP SERVICING ATTRIBUTED THIS TO A DIRTY THROTTLE BODY, WHICH WAS CLEANED AND "DEFERRED." BUT 6 WEEKS LATER, THIS BREAK IN THE ACCELERATOR CABLE OCCURRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/4/2004 - BROOKLYN, NY
ON TUESDAY , DEC. 30, 2003, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENGAGE THE DRIVE ON THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION OF MY YEAR 2000 CHEVY ASTRO VAN, 2WD, THE ENTIRE SHIFT ASSEMBLY CRUMBLED IN MY HANDS AS IS IT WAS A PIECE OF CANDY. I TOOK DELIVERY OF THIS VEHICLE ON 7/20/2000 FROM BK CHEVY HERE IN BROOKLYN, NEW YORK. THE VAN DOESN'T EVEN HAVE 10,000 MILES ON IT!!! IT LOOKS BRAND NEW ON THE OUTSIDE. THIS IS A MANUFACTURER'S DEFECT THAT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL HAD THE VEHICLE BEEN IN MOTION. FORTUNATELY I WAS IN PARK... AND THE SHIFT ASSEMBLY BROKE APART WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN PARK. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BK CHEVY SERVICE CENTER FOR REPAIR. THIS IS GOING TO BE AN OUT-OF-WARRANTY REPAIR AND COST ME A LOT OF MONEY. I HAVE ASKED FOR ALL THE BROKEN PARTS TO BE PLACED IN THE BOX THE NEW PARTS CAME IN AND I AM WILLING TO SHIP THE BROKEN PARTS FOR TESTING TO WASHINGTON, DC. I AWAIT INSTRUCTIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

12/30/2003 - FONTANA, CA
I HAVE HAD MANY ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH MY CHEVROLET ASTRO VAN. 2000 YEAR MODEL. I HAVE ONLY 60,000 MILES AND IT'S BEEN IN FOR CHANGING OF OXYGEN SENSOR TWICE A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTEER INSTALLED IN THE FIRST 4000 MILES. AT 7000 MILES I HAD TO HAVE SOME CONNECTOR REPLACED BECAUSE MY VAN WOULD GO FOR ABOUT 5 MILES AND THEN JUST DIE ON ME, LIKE NO GETTING FUEL. NOW FOR THE PAST 6 MONTHS I AM HAVING A PROBLEM WITH MY BRAKE AND ABS LITE COMING ON AND WHEN I PUT ON THE BRAKES THEY GRAB AND LET GO AND IT TAKES A LONG TIME TO STOP. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO MANY PLACES AND EVERYONE TELLS ME THEY CAN'T FIND NOTHING WRONG. I HAD IT HOOKED UP TO THE SEE WHAT THE COMPUTER FAULT WAS AND IT SAYS THE RELAY. THE RELAY IS 800.00 DOLLARS AND THE MECHANIC SAYS IT MAY STILL NOT BE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

12/30/2003 - CHICAGO, IL
CHECY ASTRO CARGO VAN 2000, FRONTAL COLLISION RESULTING IN TOTAL LOSS BY INSURANCE CARRIER. NEITHER FRONT AIR BAG OPERATED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

11/10/2003 - APPLE VALLEY, CA
WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES THE BRAKE PEDAL GOES TO THE FLOOR, ALMOST RESULTING IN A COLLISION. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER, AND DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

10/22/2003 - LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ
THE BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR AND AFTER BEING PUMPED A FEW TIMES ACTUALLY SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A FEW TIMES BUT UNABLE TO REPRODUCE AT DEALERSHIP. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO SHOP TOO MANY TIMES FOR MANY ITEMS INCLUDING SIDE DOOR RATTLES, IGNITION PROBLEM WITH SECURITY FEATURE, WINDSHIELD ECT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

10/22/2003 - LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ
THE BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR AND AFTER BEING PUMPED A FEW TIMES ACTUALLY SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A FEW TIMES BUT UNABLE TO REPRODUCE AT DEALERSHIP. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO SHOP TOO MANY TIMES FOR MANY ITEMS INCLUDING SIDE DOOR RATTLES, IGNITION PROBLEM WITH SECURITY FEATURE, WINDSHIELD ECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

10/22/2003 - LITCHFIELD PARK, AZ
THE BRAKES WENT TO THE FLOOR AND AFTER BEING PUMPED A FEW TIMES ACTUALLY SLOWED THE VEHICLE DOWN. THIS HAS HAPPENED A FEW TIMES BUT UNABLE TO REPRODUCE AT DEALERSHIP. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN TO SHOP TOO MANY TIMES FOR MANY ITEMS INCLUDING SIDE DOOR RATTLES, IGNITION PROBLEM WITH SECURITY FEATURE, WINDSHIELD ECT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds