Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET BLAZER - 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 602 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Exterior Lighting (90) Other (14) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (14)
Child Seat (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (4) Service Brakes Electric (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Communications (2) Fuel System Diesel (1) Power Train (87) Service Brakes Hydraulic (68) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electrical System (50) Fuel System Gasoline (46) Seat Belts (10) Steering (23) Visibility (31)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (36) Seats (49) Structure (47) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (64) Interior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (118) Wheels (12)
Equipment (17) Latches Locks Linkages (12)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/26/2013 - PALOS VERDES ESTATES, CA
FORTUNATELY, I HAD JUST GOTTEN OFF THE FREEWAY AND WAS LOOKING FOR AN ADDRESS AT A SLOW SPEED. ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR LURCHED; I HAD NO STEERING; I LOST ALL ELECTRICAL CONTROL; THE CAR GROUND TO A HALT; SMOKE CAME OUT FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I AND A FRIEND GOT OUT OF THE CAR. FORTUITOUSLY, FIRE TRUCKS APPEARED. IT TURNED OUT THEY WERE RETURNING FROM ANOTHER INCIDENT AS I COULD NOT BELIEVE THE IMMEDIACY OF THEIR RESPONSE. THEY TOOK OVER PREVENTING FURTHER AGGRAVATION OF THIS SITUATION. THE BATTERY WAS BOILING. ALL THE ELECTRICAL WIRE HARNESSES WERE MELTED. THE UPPER SUSPENSION CONTROL ARM WAS BROKEN. THE FIREMEN'S OBSERVATION WAS, IF I HAD BEEN GOING ANY FASTER, THE CAR COULD HAVE FLIPPED. AFTER BEING TOWED TO A NEARBY MECHANIC, I LEARNED THE UPPER CONTROL ARM HAD BROKEN. IT IMPAILED THE STARTER WHICH SHORTED. THAT MELTED THE WIRING HARNESSES TO AND FROM THE BATTERY, AS WELL AS BEING THE CAUSE OF THE BATTERY BOILING. THE KEY ISSUE IS THAT GENERAL MOTORS WOULD BUILD A VEHICLE WHERE THE UPPER CONTROL ARM IS SO FLIMSY IT WOULD BREAK. I HAVE READ OTHER INCIDENTS OF THE SAME THING WITH THE CHEVROLET BLAZER WHERE, FOR EXAMPLE, A PERSON WAS GOING 30MPH, THE CAR FLIPPED, AND THE PERSON WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS. A REPEATED CORPORATE FAILURE OF THIS NATURE SHOULD HAVE CONSEQUENCES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/19/2012 - SEVERN, MD
NOISE FROM ENGINE. DIAGNOSED AS BALL JOINTS NEED REPLACING OR WHEELS WILL FALL OFF. REPLACED UPPER AND LOWER BALL JOINTS AND IDLER ARM FOR ABOUT 1200.00. NOW(JUNE 19, 2012) AT 100,000 MILES, SAME NOISE COMING FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT. LOOKS LIKE ANOTHER BALL JOINT REPLACEMENT.

View Details

TIRES

5/29/2012 - MARCO ISLAND, FL
2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER 4X4, WAS PARKED FOR THREE WEEKS IN A DRIVEWAY OF A HOUSE DURING VACATION TRIP. UPON DRIVING THE VEHICLE UPON VACATION RETURN IT WAS FOUND THAT THE FIRESTONE FIREHAWK 500 235/70R15 RIGHT FRONT TIRE HAD BELT SEPARATION CAUSING MAJOR VIBRATION, STEERING DIFFICULTY AND REQUIRED TIRE REPLACEMENT. THREE OTHER FIRESTONE FIREHAWK 500 TIRES ON THE VEHICLE DO NOT INDICATE ANY DEFECT UPON VISUAL INSPECTION. FIRESTONE RECOMMENDS REPLACEMENT OF ALL TIRES DUE TO AGE, DOT 3303. TREAD REMAINING ON TIRES IS 3/32" OR MORE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/25/2012 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
THE ABS GRADUALLY CAME ON. WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE WHEELS LOCK UP AND THE BLAZER SKIDS ABOUT A FOOT. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS NEAR ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THE ABS. I TOOK THE BLAZER INTO THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THEY RAN THE VIN. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR MY BLAZER. HOWEVER, ACCORDING TO THE NHTSA WEBSITE, THERE ARE TWO RECALLS (00V055000 & 99V220000). I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHETHER OR NOT THERE ARE ANY RECALLS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

4/25/2012 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
THE ABS GRADUALLY CAME ON. WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE WHEELS LOCK UP AND THE BLAZER SKIDS ABOUT A FOOT. I HAVE HAD NUMEROUS NEAR ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THE ABS. I TOOK THE BLAZER INTO THE CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP AND THEY RAN THE VIN. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE ARE NO RECALLS FOR MY BLAZER. HOWEVER, ACCORDING TO THE NHTSA WEBSITE, THERE ARE TWO RECALLS (00V055000 & 99V220000). I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHETHER OR NOT THERE ARE ANY RECALLS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/12/2012 - ROCKFORD, MN
THE DRIVERSIDE AIR BAG WENT OFF WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY GARAGE. I STARTED THE VEHICLE AND LEFT THE DOOR OPEN, I THEN WENT TO TAKE THE GARBAGE OUT TO END OF MY DRIVEWAY. AS I WAS WALKING BACK TO MY GARAGE I HEARD A LOUD NOISE. I NOTICED THE AIR BAG HAD BEEN DEPLOYED WHEN I REACHED MY VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL RUNNING AND I DIDN'T NOTICE ANYTHING ELSE WRONG. I DROVE THE VEHICLE TO WORK AND I ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOW TO AIR OUT THE VEHICLE. ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER THE WINDOWS WOULDN'T WORK. I CHANGED THE FUSE BUT THAT DIDN'T SOLVE THE WINDOW PROBLEM. THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN BAD IF THE AIR BAG DEPLOYED WHEN I WAS DRIVING.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/30/2012 - KIRKSVILLE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED WITH THE ENGINE ACTIVATED WHEN THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR TAILGATE WINDOW EXPLODED. THE DEALER DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED. THE CURRENT AND THE FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 169,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/29/2012 - ANDERSONVILLE, TN
THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES ON THIS VEHICLE HAVE BEEN MALFUNCTIONING FOR AT LEAST A YEAR. THE PUMP WILL SURGE AT LOW SPEEDS AND IF I AM IN A TURN IT WILL AFFECT THE STEERING. THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL WILL LOCK UP.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/30/2011 - BELLEFONTE, PA
ALWAYS SMELL FUEL WHILE DRIVING REPLACED ALL FUEL SYSTEMS THEN ALL SENSORS NEEDED REPLACING SO I DID THAT AND NOW THERE TELLING ME I HAVE A ELECTRIC PROBLEMS SINCE BUYING THIS VEHICLE NEW I PUT OVER 6000.00 DOLLARS INTO AND I STILL HAVE ALL THE SAME PROBLEMS MOSTLY WITH THE FUEL SYSTEM I STILL SMELL ALOT OF FUEL WHEN DRIVING AND BACK FIRING AND SHUTTING OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING I HAVE ALL MY RECEIPTS FROM WORK DONE ON THE WHOLE FUEL SYSTEM AND I'VE LOOKED UP THIS KIND OF BLAZER AND EVERYONE WHO OWNED ONE HAS THE SAME PROBLEMS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/6/2011 - SPRING GROVE, VA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET BLAZER. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A TICKING SOUND COMING IN THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHO INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND A FAILURE WITHIN THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER, 08V231000, EXTERIOR LIGHTING BRAKE LIGHTS SWITCH WAS RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED BUT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE REPAIR COST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 158,000. UPDATED 07/15/11

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds