Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (57) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (14) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seat Belts (14) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (12) Suspension (10) Visibility (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (19) Tires (41) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/3/2017 - ROSE VALLEY, PA
I HAD A FLAT TIRE. WHEN I WENT TO CHANGE IT, THE SPARE TIRE HOIST WITH LOWERS THE SPARE WAS INOPERABLE AND WOULD NOT LOWER THE SPARE. HAD TO TAKE TRUCK TO DEALER. I WAS TOLD BY DEALER THAT THE MECHANISM TO LOWER THE SPARE HAD RUSTED AND HAD SEIZED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED, WHICH II DID AND PAID FOR. IMAGINE BEING IN AN ISOLATED AREA WITH FOUL WEATHER AND NOT BEING ABLE TO CHANGE YOUR TIRE BECAUSE YOU COULD NOT ACCESS THE SPARE. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY ISSUE. I DID COMPLAIN TO DEALER WITHOUT SUCCESS OR SATISFACTION . THE CAR WAS OBVIOUSLY STATIONARY AT HE TIME THE EVENT

View Details

ENGINE

6/6/2017 - INDEPENDENCE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE BETWEEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND ENGINE FIREWALL. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED AND WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR BLISTERS TO THE BOTTOM OF THE FEET, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 232,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/6/2017 - INDEPENDENCE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE BETWEEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND ENGINE FIREWALL. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED AND WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR BLISTERS TO THE BOTTOM OF THE FEET, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 232,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/22/2016 - FAIRFIELD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION AND THE BRAKE PEDAL EXTENDED TO THE FLOORBOARD WITHOUT WARNING WHEN IT WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED FOUR TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE CABLE FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 11,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/3/2016 - HAMILTON, NJ
IN THE PROCESS OF REPLACING THE FUEL PUMP FOR THE 3RD TIME.. FIRST ONE WAS UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE NEXT 2 ARE ON ME..NOW MY MECHANIC INFORMED ME OF A NEWER DESIGN ... SHOULD HAVE CAME OUT EARLIER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/9/2016 - BRIGHTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 4 MPH ON DRY ROAD SURFACES, THE ABS ENGAGED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE RECURRED WHENEVER COMING TO A STOP. IN 2005, THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC); HOWEVER, THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE AT THE TIME. THE REMEDY WAS INSUFFICIENT AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,000. UPDATED 04/08/16

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/26/2015 - ARGENTA, IL
WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MILES PER HOUR APPLIED THE BRAKES AND BRAKE PEDAL BECAME SOFT AND WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE BARELY CAME TO A STOP BEFORE I HIT ANYTHING. NO WARNING LIGHTS OR MESSAGES APPEARED BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. FOUND BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM RUSTED METAL TUBING ON FRAME JUST BEHIND DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT WHEEL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/28/2015 - GREENCASTLE, IN
I HAVE BEEN WORKING IN THE 9100 KEYSTONE AVE. OFFICE BUILDING FOR THE PASSED TWO AND A HALF MONTHS. FOR OVER A MONTH NOW THERE HAS BEEN A BLACK CHEVROLET SUBURBAN PARKED IN THE SPOT NEXT TO MINE. IT HASN'T BEEN TOUCHED FOR OVER A MONTH. IF IT IS A STOLEN VEHICLE I WANT TO REPORT IT SO THAT IT CAN BE RETURNED TO THE OWNER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/13/2014 - WILLARDS, MD
BRAKES FAILED, HAD TO DRIVE OFF THE ROAD IN FEAR OF HITTING CAR IN FRONT OF ME. CORRODED REAR BRAKE LINES, REAR BRAKE LINE BLEW OUT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/2/2014 - DEALE, MD
I WAS SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY AND I PRESSED ON THE BRAKE TO ENGAGE REVERSE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THIS IS NOT A NORMAL BRAKING FOR OUR SUBURBAN. BRAKE FLUID WAS ADDED TO THE BRAKE FLUID COMPARTMENT AND BRAKES WERE RE-TESTED; BRAKE PEDAL CONTINUED TO GO TO FLOOR. FURTHER INVESTIGATION OF THE VEHICLE OUTSIDE THE SUBURBAN FOUND BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM BRAKE LINE WHEN BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds