Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (57) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (14) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seat Belts (14) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (12) Suspension (10) Visibility (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (19) Tires (41) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/19/2013 - STUART , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ENTERING A PARKING SPOT AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT PASSENGER TIRE. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THERE WAS A BRAKE FLUID LEAK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE CORRODED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 238,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/18/2012 - OAKLAND, NJ
STEEL BRAKE LINE ALONG RIGHT REAR FRAME MEMBER CORRODED AND FAILED RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKE FLUID AND BRAKING ACTION. INSPECTION OF OTHER STEEL BRAKE LINES SHOW EXTENSIVE CORROSION, DRAWING REASONABLE CONCLUSION THAT OTHER LINES WILL FAIL. ALL STEEL BRAKE LINES NEED TO BE REPLACED TO MAKE VEHICLE SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: HOSES, LINES/PIPING, AND FITTINGS

11/18/2012 - OAKLAND, NJ
STEEL BRAKE LINES ALONG REAR DIFFERENTIAL CORRODED AND FAILED RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKE FLUID AND BRAKING ACTIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/11/2012 - BRISTOL, RI
WHEN APPROACHING AN INTERSECTION TODAY THE TRAFFIC LIGHT TURNED RED AND WHEN I DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL IT COLLAPSED TO THE FLOOR CAUSING ME TO RUN THE LIGHT AND PASS INTO THE INTERSECTION. I THANK MY LUCKY STARS THAT NOBODY WAS INJURED. MY WIFE AND CHILD WERE TERRIFIED, AS WAS I, BUT WE MANAGED TO PASS THROUGH UNHARMED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/26/2012 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I WAS TRAVELING DOWN A CITY STREET IN PHILADELPHIA TAKING MY YOUNG KIDS TO DAYCARE, WHEN I HAD TO COME TO AN ABRUPT STOP TO AVOID A VEHICLE MAKING AN ILLEGAL U-TURN. THE TRUCK WOULD NOT STOP THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR THEN SLOWLY BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO A STOP. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED INTO A REPAIR FACILITY AND WAS TOLD BY THE MECHANIC MY SUBURBAN WAS THE THIRD IN TWO DAY PERIOD TO COME IN WITH RUPTURED BRAKE LINES DUE TO CORROSION. THIS MATTER NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED. I JUST ARRIVED HOME A WEEK PRIOR FROM VACATIONING WITH MY ENTIRE FAMILY IN THIS VEHICLE. MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN ROUTINELY CHECKED AND SERVICED BY BRYNER CHEVY IN JENKIN TOWN PA. I WAS NEVER INFORMED MY BRAKE LINES WERE CORRODED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/8/2012 - PARKERSBURG, WV
WAS SLOWING DOWN FOR A LIGHT AT AN INTERSECTION. WAS TRAVELING AROUND 15 MPH WHEN I STARTED TO BRAKE THEN THE PEDAL "POPPED" AND WENT TO THE FLOOR. IT DID COME TO A STOP ABOUT 20 FEET INTO THE INTERSECTION, LUCKY FOR THE 7 PASSENGERS THAT WHERE WITH ME NO ONE WAS COMING THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT MY BREAK LINES ARE IN THIS CONDITION AT THIS AGE. I OWNED A 78 CHEVY FOR ABOUT 12 YEARS, THE BRAKE LINES LOOKED AS GOOD AS NEW THE DAY I SOLD IT. LOOKING FOR A GARAGE THAT CAN REPLACE ALL THE LINES WITH NON-GM PARTS. UNLIKE GM I VALUE THE LIFE OF MY FAMILY. GM JUST LOST ANOTHER CUSTOMER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/26/2012 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 70 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT DID NOT CALL THE MANUFACTURER. THE CONTACT HAD THE FUEL PUMP REPLACED TWO MONTHS PRIOR TO THE RECENT FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 201,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/31/2012 - CROZET, VA
MY HUSBAND WAS BACKING OUR SUBURBAN DOWN THE DRIVEWAY (A HILL) WHEN HE COMPLETELY LOST BRAKING. PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND VEHICLE WASN'T SLOWING. EMERGENCY BRAKE WAS INEFFECTIVE. HE TURNED INTO A BUSH AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HILL AND RAN IT OVER, AND THAT PLUS LEVEL ROAD SLOWED HIM ENOUGH THAT HE WAS ABLE TO STOP AND DRIVE BACK UP THE DRIVEWAY. THERE IS A TRAIL OF BRAKE FLUID ALL THE WAY UP ON THE LEFT SIDE. FRONT BRAKE LINES WERE REPLACED 2-1/2 YEARS AGO DUE TO CORROSION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/30/2012 - MILLERSVILLE, MD
THE BRAKE LINE ON THE DRIVER SIDE HAS CORRODED AND CAUSED A LOSS OF BRAKE FLUID. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE HAS LOST SIGNIFICANT BRAKING ABILITY. UPON EXAMINATION OF THE OTHER LINES, IT IS APPARENT THAT CORROSION HAS AFFECTED ALL VISIBLE BRAKE LINES. THE METAL HAS BEGUN TO FLAKE OFF ON ALL THE LINES DUE TO CORROSION. THERE IS A VISIBLE LEAK IN THE BRAKE LINE, BELOW THE DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR. THE VEHICLE IS NOT DRIVABLE IN THIS CONDITION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2012 - ALTAMONT, NY
I WAS TRAVELING AT 40 MPH WHEN TRAFFIC STOPPED AHEAD. APPLIED BRAKES BUT BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED TO THE FLOOR WITH ONLY VERY MINOR BRAKING. AVOIDED ACCIDENT BY USING EMERGENCY BRAKE AND SWERVING ON TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER. THERE WAS NO WARNING ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL OF LOW BRAKE FLUID, LACK OF BRAKING CAPACITY OR ANY OTHER PENDING BRAKE MALFUNCTION. AFTER GETTING VEHICLE SAFELY HOME A VISUAL INSPECTION REVEALED A MAJOR LOSS OF BRAKE FLUID FROM THE MASTER CYLINDER AND BRAKE FLUID LEAKING FROM ABOVE THE VEHICLE FRAME, BELOW THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR BOARD. MAJOR CORROSION HAS OCCURRED IN THE VICINITY OF THE LEAK. ALTHOUGH THIS IS A 2000 VEHICLE, IT ONLY HAS 74,480 MILE OF USE. AN INTERNET SEARCH REVEALS THAT AN NHTSA ACTION NUMBER : EA11001 HAS BEEN ESTABLISHED FOR SIMILAR COMPLAINTS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds