Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (57) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (14) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seat Belts (14) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (12) Suspension (10) Visibility (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (19) Tires (41) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

PARKING BRAKE

9/8/2006 - KRUM, TX
EMERGENCY BRAKE FAILURE ON MY 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN , I NEVER USED IT, INSPECTION TIME CAME AND I SPENT EIGHT HUNDRED DOLLARS GETTING BRAKE FIXED. BAD E-BRAKE DESIGN ON TAHOE AND SUBURBANS, NEED TO HAVE RECALL GM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

6/20/2006 - FRANKLIN, IN
: THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 20 MPH ON DRY ROADS, THE ABS ON THE VEHICLE ACTIVATED WITHOUT WARNING WHICH NEARLY CAUSED A COLLISION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE ABS SENSORS ON BOTH FRONT BRAKES WERE CORRODED. THE SENSORS WERE CLEANED AND REPAIRED. THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL # 05V379000. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE VIN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: TAILGATE: HINGE AND ATTACHMENTS

6/5/2006 - BOSSIER CITY, LA
REAR BACK GLASS IS DETACHING ITSELF FROM THE MOLDING THAT HOLDS THE WINDOW TO THE HINGES OF THE VEHICLE. I HAD THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER LOOK AT THE WINDOW AND THEY TOLD ME THAT IT WAS NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR. I KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT NORMAL FOR A VEHICLE OF THIS AGE,(ONLY 4 YEARS OLD WHEN PROBLEM FOUND). NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE TO FIX THIS BUT I THINK THAT THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL BY GMC SINCE I'VE TALKED WITH BODY SHOPS IN THIS AREA AND THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THEY HAVE SEEN THIS TYPE OF PROBLEM. FOR SAFETY IF THIS WINDOW WERE TO SEPARATE WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING IT MAY POSSIBLY CAUSE A MISHAP ON THE ROAD.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

5/20/2006 - GEORGETOWN, TX
IN 2004 I HAD A FUEL SYSTEM FAILURE. A LOUD WHINING NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE FUEL TAKE AREA. ALL OF A SUDDEN I BEGAN HAVING FUEL FLOW PROBLEMS. AS I ENTERED AN INTERSECTION I HAD A FUEL SYSTEM FAILURE WHICH ALMOST RESULTED IN A VEHICLE COLLISION. FORTUNATELY THE OTHER DRIVER WAS ABLE TO AVOID MY STALLED OUT VEHICLE. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ASE CERTIFIED MECHANIC WHO REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP AT 900+ COST. MAY 2006 I AM NOW AGAIN NOTICING SOME FUEL SYSTEM PROBLEMS LIKE THE ONES BEFORE. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS WEBSITE AN OBSERVING THE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON FUEL SYSTEMS ON 2000 SURBURBAN'S SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE. I CAN NOT AFFORD ANOTHER 900 DOLLAR REPAIR BUT WILL HAVE TO FIND SOME WAY TO PAY IT. THIS SHOULD BE A COST CHEVY NEEDS TO PAY. IT TRULY SEEMS THEY HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

4/22/2006 - GLENNS FERRY, ID
I PURCHASED A 2000 SUBURBAN IN FEBRUARY 2004 NAD THE PARKING BRAKE WAS NOT WORKING THEN. I HAVE ADJUSTED THE CABLE TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT POSSIBLE AND STILL NO HELP. FROM THE RESEARCH I HAVE DOWN THIS APPEARS TO BE A TREMENDOUSLY COMMON PROBLEM, WITH NO FIX FROM GM OTHER TO REPAIR THE PARKING BRAKE AT THE OWNERS EXPENSE EVERY 5K TO 20K MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/18/2006 - AUSTIN, MN
: THE CONTACT STATED THE DUST SHIELD TO THE REAR BRAKES RUSTED AND FRACTURED. THIS WAS NOTICED DURING A ROUTINE INSPECTION BY THE DEALER. THE DEALER DETERMINED THE RUST WAS DUE TO CLIMATE CONDITIONS AND ROAD SALT. UPDATED 5/11/2006 - AS A RESULT OF THE RUSTING DUST SHIELD, THE INBOARD BRAKE PAD DOES NOT CONTACT THE DISC RESULTING IN A RUSTED DISC ON THE INBOARD SIDE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

3/16/2006 - ST. LOUIS, MO
RECALL ON THE ABS ACTIVATION WHEEL SENSORS WAS PERFORMED AND I STILL HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKE SYSTEM AND THEY WANT TO CHARGE ME MORE TO WORK ON THE CAR. I FEEL THAT THEY NEVER FIX THE PROBLEM WITH THE SYSTEM AND THE CAR IS STILL HAVING BRAKE PROBLEM AT LOW SPEED AND IN PARKING LOTS AND WE ARE AFRAID THAT WE ARE GOING TO HAVE A CRASH IN THE CAR. I WOULD LIKE THEM TO LOOK AT IT AGAIN AND FIX THE ABS SYSTEM THEY SHOULD WORK TO STOP THE CAR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY

3/16/2006 - TORRINGTON, CT
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. AFTERWARDS, THE ODOR OF GASOLINE WAS PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS SEEN BY A DEALER FOR INSPECTION. THE DEALER DETERMINED THE FUEL TANK ASSEMBLY WAS CRACKED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP FOR REPLACEMENT OF THE FUEL TANK ASSEMBLY WHICH CORRECTED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/22/2006 - HERNDON, VA
: THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH OR LESS THE ABS ACTIVATED. THE INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP DETERMINED THE ABS SENSOR AND HUB NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL, # 05V379000, REGARDING THE ABS. THE VEHICLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL; HOWEVER IT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO THE VIN. UPDATED 03/17/06

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

2/21/2006 - HARTLAND, WI
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS SUDDENLY STOPPED WORKING. HIGH BEAMS AND OTHER LIGHTS ALL WORK. THE LOW BEAMS CAME BACK ON AFTER 1/2 HOUR THE FIRST TWO TIMES, BUT NOW ARE NOT WORKING AGAIN. I FOUND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM IN ONLINE DISCUSSION FORUMS (FOR EXAMPLE: HTTP://WWW.AUTOMOTIVEHELPER.COM/TOPIC303104.HTM ), AND THE PROBLEM APPARENTLY INVOLVES WIRES THAT ARE PINCHED IN THE STEERING COLUMN DUE TO THE DESIGN OF THE TILT WHEEL. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT AND THE LIGHTS SUDDENLY GO OUT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds