Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (57) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (14) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seat Belts (14) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (12) Suspension (10) Visibility (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (19) Tires (41) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

PARKING BRAKE

1/31/2006 - MINERAL SPRINGS, AR
: THE CONTACT STATED AFTER JACKING THE VEHICLE UP WHILE CHANGING THE OIL THE PARKING BRAKE FAILED AND THE VEHICLE ROLLED OFF THE JACK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP BUT NO REPAIRS WERE MADE. THE MANUFACTURER HAS BEEN ALERTED. PHONE INTERVIEW UPDATE (APRIL 5, 2006): MR. SUTTON SAID THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS IN 'N' WHEN HE LIFTED THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WITH A FLOOR JACK. THE GARAGE FLOOR HAD A 5 DEGREE INCLINE AND THE VEHICLE ROLLED OFF THE JACK.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

1/24/2006 - NEW BRAUNFELS, TX
I PURCHASED A 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN NEW IN JULY OF 2000. WITHIN 2 YEARS OF PURCHASE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WOULD NOT HOLD VERY WELL. LIVING IN HOUSTON, TEXAS. THIS SEEMED ODD SINCE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WAS RARELY USED. I NOTICED IT GRADUALLY GETTING WORSE. IN AUGUST OF 2005 WE MOVED TO A PART OF TEXAS WITH HILLS AND NEEDED THE PARKING BRAKE, BUT IT WOULD NOT HOLD EVEN IF FULLY DEPRESSED. REPAIRS AT THE CHEVROLET DEALER TOTALED $485 PLUS TAX. HOW COULD THE LINING, ROTORS, SHOES, AND RETAINERS OF THE PARKING BRAKE NEED REPLACING IF THE BRAKE JUST HOLDS THE VEHICLE IN PLACE WHEN AND IF USED? THIS SEEMS LIKE A DEFECT TO ME.

View Details

PARKING BRAKE

12/28/2005 - PINOLE, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED PARKING BRAKE WAS NOT WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE ADJUSTMENTS WERE MADE TO THE PARKING BRAKE. THE ADJUSTMENTS MADE TO PARKING BRAKE DID NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE AND STATED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. UPDATED 01/25/06.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

12/28/2005 - PINOLE, CA
: THE CONTACT STATED PARKING BRAKE WAS NOT WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP, WHERE ADJUSTMENTS WERE MADE TO THE PARKING BRAKE. THE ADJUSTMENTS MADE TO PARKING BRAKE DID NOT REPAIR THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALERSHIP LOOKED AT THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE AND STATED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. UPDATED 01/25/06.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/12/2005 - FREELAND, MD
BRAKE FAILURE AT LOW SPEEDS. ALMOST CAUSED A FEW ACCIDENTS (PARKING LOTS AND COMING UP TO A STOP SIGN OR RED LIGHT. THESE INCIDENTS HAPPENED OVER SEVERAL MONTHS. I HAD BRAKES, CALIPERS AND ROTORS PUT ON TO TRY AND FIX THE PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM STARTED OUT ONCE SO OFTEN AND AROUND AUG. 2005 IT HAPPENED EVERYTIME I DROVE MY VEHICLE AND TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND HAD IT REPAIRED. BOTH FRONT SPEED SENSORS WERE REMOVED AND CLEANED SENSOR MOUNTING SURFACES. TO ME THIS IS A SAFETY PROBLEM. THIS IS NOTHING I COULD PREVENT FROM HAPPENING. DEFECTIVE MATERIAL. I HAD AN OLDER SUBURBAN BEFORE THIS ONE AND NEVER HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT WAS STILL RUNNING AT 190,000 MILES.

View Details

TIRES: TREAD/BELT

11/30/2005 - EMPORIA, VA
DT: THE CONTACT STATES THERE IS A NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 01T001000, CONCERNING THE TIRES:TREAD/BELT. THE VEHICLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL. THIS CAUSED THE TIRE TO BLOWOUT ON THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE. WHEN HE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP, THEY CLAIMED THE TIRE WAS NOT INCLUDED DUE TO THE SERIAL NUMBER. THE TIRE HAS BEEN REPLACED AT CONSUMER'S EXPENSE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

11/29/2005 - HAZELWOOD, MO
DT: THE CONTACT STATES THERE IS NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 05V379000 CONCERNING ANTI LOCK BRAKES. THIS VEHICLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS AS INDICATED IN THE RECALL, BUT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN. THE CONTACT REPAIRED THE VEHICLE AT HIS OWN EXPENSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

10/17/2005 - HINGHAM, MA
ON SEPTEMBER 22, 2005 AT APPROXIMATELY 7:45 P.M.I PARKED AND LOCKED MY 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN AT THE LOCAL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL. APPROXIMATELY 10 SECONDS LATER, THE CAR ALARM SOUNDED. I UNLOCKED THE VEHICLE AND IMMEDIATELY NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE DASHBOARD. ALMOST IMMEDIATELY THEREAFTER THE FUSE BOX BEGAN TO SPARK AND IGNITED. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED 911 WHO ARRIVED APPROXIMATELY 4 MINUTES LATER AT WHICH TIME THE ENTIRE VEHICLE WAS ENGULFED IN FLAMES. THE FIRE INSPECTOR DETERMINED THE CAUSE OF FIRE TO BE ELECTRIC. THE CAR HAS BEEN DETERMINED A TOTAL LOSS BY OUR INSURANCE COMPANY. GENERAL MOTORS WAS NOTIFIED OF THIS INCIDENT ON SEPTEMBER 27, 2005. THEIR INVESTIGATOR INSPECTED THE CAR ON OCTOBER 1,2005. THEY CONTACTED US ON OCTOBER 6, 2005 TO ASK FOR WITNESSES AND AN OFFICIAL FIRE FORM FP-33C WHICH WE PROMPTLY PROVIDED. GENERAL MOTORS HAS NOT DETERMINED THE NATURE OF THE FIRE. WE ARE CONCERNED FOR OTHER CONSUMER'S SAFETY. WE ARE SHOCKED AT GM'S LACKADAISICAL APPROACH TO THIS SAFETY CONCERN. WE MUST KNOW WHAT THE CAUSE OF THIS AUTOMOBILE FIRE WAS. GENERAL MOTORS THUS FAR HAS SHOWN NO SENSE OF URGENCY IN THIS MATTER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

9/29/2005 - OAKLAND, NJ
2000 CHEVY SUBURBAN. ANTI-LOCK BRAKES ACTIVATING UNDER DRY NORMAL CONDITIONS CAUSING LONGER STOPPING DISTANCES. INVESTIGATED NHTSA WEBSITE AND FOUND FUTURE RECALL NOTICE RELATING TO THIS CONDITION. PRESENTED VEHICLE TO DEALER TO FIX PROBLEM. DEALER PERFORMED RECOMMENDED FIX, BUT THIS DID NOT REMEDY CONDITION, IN FACT IT MAY HAVE EXACERBATED THE PROBLEM. DEALERS ONLY RECOMMENDED SOLUTION WAS TO REPLACE THE FRONT WHEEL HUBS CONTAINING THE ANTI-LOCK SENSORS AT A COST OF $850. DEALER INDICATED THAT IT HAS HAD TO REPLACED NUMEROUS HUBS FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM ON THESES VEHICLES AND THAT CHEVY HAS NOT TAKEN RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY OF THESE SERVICES UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL STATUS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

9/26/2005 - STAFFORD, VA
DT: WHEN DRIVING AT SPEEDS OF 65-70 MPH THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE ACCELERATING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE ON THE INTERSTATE. THE VEHICLE OPERATED AT A REDUCED SPEED. THE ENGINE DID NOT DIE, BUT WITH HESITATION THE SPEED DROPPED FROM 65- 35 MPH. THE CONSUMER CONTINUED TO PRESS THE GAS PEDAL, AND THE ENGINE COUGHED AND SHOT BACK UP AGAIN. THE CONSUMER PULLED OVER ON THE SHOULDER TO AVOID A TRACTOR TRAILER. THE CONSUMER RECEIVED A CONSUMER SERVICE BULLETIN ALERTING THE ISSUE OF ENGINE STALLING. THE CONSUMER LOST H LETTER AND CALLED GM, WHO SAID THIS WOULD NOT BE A RECALL UNTIL NOVEMBER. THE CONSUMER TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A CERTIFIED PEP BOYS MECHANIC, WHO DETERMINED THIS WAS A FUEL PUMP PROBLEM. THE FUEL PRESSURE, TEST THAT SHOWED A LOW FUEL PRESSURE LEVEL AT AN IDLE DUE TO FUEL PRESSURE, DROPPED EVEN MORE. THEY REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP. GM WOULD NOT REIMBURSE FOR CORRECTIONS. SINCE THE FUEL PUMP WAS REPLACED THERE HAVE BEEN NO PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds