Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (7) Parking Brake (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (57) Trailer Hitches (1)
Electrical System (14) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Power Train (14) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Seat Belts (14) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Engine (1) Fuel System Other (6) Seats (12) Suspension (10) Visibility (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes (19) Tires (41) Wheels (4)
Equipment (6) Other (5) Service Brakes Air (4)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

5/25/2005 - COLUMBIA, IL
DT: ABOUT ON 4/1/05 THERE WAS A PROBLEM WHEN DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, BRAKES MADE A GROWLING SOUND, AND DIDN'T GRAB. EXTENDED STOPPING DISTANCE IS REQUIRED. BRAKES HAVE BEEN INSPECTED TWICE BY FIRESTONE AND ONCE BY DEALER. ALL TESTS SHOWED NO REASON FOR PROBLEM. UPON REPORTING THE PROBLEM TO DEALER, THEY REPORTED THEY WEREN'T AWARE OF THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, AIR: DISC: ROTOR

5/16/2005 - RESTON, VA
WE EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS WITH THE BRAKES ON OUR 2000 SUBURBAN LAST FALL AND TOOK IT IN FOR WORK. WE WERE TOLD THE REAR ROTORS WERE COMPLETELY RUSTED AND WOULD NEED REPLACEMENT, AND THE FRONT ROTORS REQUIRED SIGNIFICANT MACHINING TO REPAIR. THE BRAKES STILL WEREN'T RIGHT, AND WE NOTICED THE ANTILOCKS WERE KICKING IN EVEN ON SLOW DRY STOPS. THE DEALER DISCOVERED THE ANTILOCK UNIT WAS DEFECTIVE AND REPLACED IT. WE'VE BEGUN NOTICING 'GRABBINESS' IN THE BRAKES AND TOOK IT BACK IN. AFTER ONLY 10,000 MILES SINCE PUTTING NEW REAR ROTORS ON, WE AGAIN NEED NEW ROTORS. THE FIRST TIME WE WERE TOLD TRUCKS FROM THE NORTHEAST (WE BOUGHT IT AT AN UPSTATE NY DEALER) ALWAYS NEEDED NEW ROTORS BECAUSE OF ALL THE SALT. THE TRUCK HAS MAYBE BEEN IN NY FOR 20% OF ITS LIFESPAN. THIS MOST RECENT TIME WE WERE ASKED IF WE HAD BEEN TRAILING A BOAT IN THE OUTER BANKS. WE WERE CHARGED $800 THE FIRST TIME TO REPAIR THIS AND NOW, 10,000 MILES LATER WE'RE BEING CHARGED ANOTHER $1200.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

4/26/2005 - RALEIGH, NC
VEHICLE STALLED, HESTITATED WHEN STARTED, SMOKED WHEN VEHICLE IS FIRST STARTED, DID NOT REGISTER GAS CORRECTLY, GAS NEEDLE WOULD FLOAT. I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE IS NOT PART OF THE CURRENT RECALL, HOWEVER, I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEMS AS NOTED ON THE RECALL AND MY VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED THE SAME YEAR.

View Details

SEAT BELTS: FRONT: RETRACTOR

4/25/2005 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
DRIVER'S SHOULDER HARNESS RETRACTOR DOES NOT RETRACT SHOULDER HARNESS ASSEMBLY. HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR WARRANTY REPAIR ON THE SHOULDER HARNESS ASSEMBLY, BUT THE REPAIR WORK DID NOT REMEDY THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING: HYDRAULIC POWER ASSIST: PUMP

3/24/2005 - BEND, OR
2000 SUBURBAN 2500 [XXX] - LOSS OF STEERING AND BRAKES AT SPEED. MY 73 YEAR OLD FATHER WAS DRIVING MY 4 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER TO SCHOOL AND WAS ROUNDING A CORNER WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO TURN AND THE BRAKES BARELY ABLE TO STOP. HE WENT STRAIGHT MIDWAY THROUGH THE TURN AND APPLIED THE BRAKES AS HARD AS HE COULD. LUCKILY, NO CARS WERE APPROACHING AND HE EVENTUALLY STOPPED. I HAD THE SUBURBAN TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT A RECALL WAS IN PROGRESS FOR MY VEHICLE AND THE PARTS AND LABOR WOULD BE REPLACED FOR FREE. I WOULD HAVE TO PUT THE REPAIR ON MY VISA AND THEN BE REIMBURSED. I CALLED GM AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD SEND THE REIMBURSEMENT FORMS. THEY THEN CALLED ON MARCH 17TH AND SAID THAT MY VEHICLE WAS JUST OUTSIDE THE VIN RECALL RANGE BUT WAS IN THE SAME YEAR AND I WOULD NOT BE REIMBURSED. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE PARTS THAT WERE RECALLED WERE IN MY VEHICLE BUT GM CLAIMS THAT MY VEHICLE IS NOT AFFECTED. HERE IS THE RECALL DESCRIPTION FROM GM - "THE HYDRAULIC PUMP DRIVESHAFT CAN FRACTURE IN THE 98,221 VEHICLES MENTIONED, WHICH CAUSES IMMEDIATE LOSS OF POWER STEERING ASSIST AND CAN RESULT IN LOSS OF BRAKING ASSIST". THE REPAIR WAS OVER $600 BUT MORE IMPORTANTLY, MANY OF THE VEHICLES WITH THE BAD PARTS (LIKE MINE) WILL NOT BE RECALLED AND SOMEONE COULD EASILY BE KILLED ( A PEDESTRIAN, A HEAD ON CRASH, ETC). WE'RE TALKING ABOUT CATASTROPHIC STEERING AND BRAKE FAILURE AT THE SAME TIME! NORMALLY, I'M NOT TOO CARING ABOUT THIS STUFF AND I REGARD IT AS SOMEONE ELSES PROBLEM BUT I DON'T WANT THIS BLOOD ON MY HANDS IF I DON'T DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

3/5/2005 - CHINO, CA
ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) TRACTION CONTROL MODULE FAILURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: CONTROL UNIT/MODULE

3/5/2005 - CHINO, NN
ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM (ABS) TRACTION CONTROL MODULE FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

2/7/2005 - EDWARDSVILLE, IL
I WAS GOING ON VACATION AND DRIVING AND ENGINE DIED .FAILURE WAS FUEL PUMP SHORT AND WAS BARE WIRES EXPOSED BY MELTING SAME AS IN YOUR NHTSA ACTION NUMBER PE04042 AND EA04026. PARTS WERE REPLACED AND PLEASE NOTE THAT NOT A GENERAL MOTORS DEALERSHIP WITHIN A 100 -MILES PLUS HAD THE FUEL PUMP IN STOCK. I WAS TOLD IT WAS TOO EXPENSIVE TO STOCK . THIS IS THEIR ONE OF THEIR MAIN ENGINES AND NO ONE STOCKS THEM!? PLUS THIS WAS A FRIDAY AND NO SAID THEY COULD GET TO MY 2000 SUBURBAN TILL TUESDAY PERIOD!

View Details

STEERING

2/4/2005 - ELKHORN, NE
NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 05V005000 CONCERNING A FRACTURED DRIVESHAFT. THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN. BUT VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE WITH THE STEERING, MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: DRIVELINE: DRIVESHAFT

2/4/2005 - ELKHORN, NE
NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 05V005000 CONCERNING A FRACTURED DRIVESHAFT. THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN. BUT VEHICLE HAD TROUBLE WITH THE STEERING, MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds