Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TAHOE - 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 279 complaints filed for the 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Exterior Lighting (5) Parking Brake (12) Service Brakes Air (6) Tires (24)
Electrical System (10) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (101) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (3) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (5) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Interior Lighting (1) Seats (7) Structure (7) Visibility (22)
Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes (27) Suspension (7) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/21/2019 - VILOET, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE. WHILE THE CONTACT'S SON WAS DRIVING 40 MPH, HE CRASHED INTO A VEHICLE THAT RAN A RED LIGHT. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT'S SON SUSTAINED CHEST, LOWER BACK, AND NECK PAINS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT'S SON WENT TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM TWO SEPARATE TIMES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR FINALIZED INFORMATION FROM THE INSURANCE COMPANY TO DETERMINE IF THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2017 - VICTORIA, TX
THE DASH BOARD ON MY TAHOE 2000 WITH 1999 BODY STYLE IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE. THE PROBLEM IS IT IS IN SHARDS AND CONTINUES TO FALL APART. IT IS EFFECTING MY DASHBOARD, THE FRONT PANEL WITH GAGES, MY AIR CONDITIONER, HEATER, RADIO. I HAVE CALLED THE COMPANY AND HAVE BEEN GIVEN A LIST OF COMPANIES TO CALL BUT NO HAS THE DASH. I NOLONGER ALLOW MY GRANDCHILDREN. ELDERLY PARENTS OR ANYONE TO RIDE WITH ME. IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT THE SHARDS WOULD PROBABLY DISFIGURE OR KILL SOMEONE. I NEED A DASHBOARD. THE AREA OVER THE STEERING WHEEL IS IN WORST CONDITION AND THE PASSENGER SIDE IS CRACKED. PLEASE HELP ME REMAIN SAFE ON THE ROAD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/26/2017 - MACON, GA
OPENEDáTAILGATEáGLASSáWHILEáVEHICLEáWASáPARKEDáINáMYáDRIVEWAYáANDáITáSHIFTEDáTOáLEFTáANDáTHENáTHEáWHOLEáTOPáCAMEáLOOSE.áANDáTHISáCOULDáINJURYáSOMEONE.áTHEáMETALáHINGESáTHE ATTACHáTHEáGLASSáTOáTHEáVEHICLEáAREáATTACHEDáWITHáAáPLASTICáORáGLUEáOFáSOMEáTYPEáTHATáDEGENERATES.áIFáTHISáOCCURSáWHILEáDIVINGáTHEáGLASSáCOULDáDETACHáANDáPOSEáAáSAFETYáISSUE.áMY UNDERSTANDINGáISáTHATáINá2005áGMáREDESIGNEDáTHEáGLASSáWITHáBOLTSáATTACHINGáIT.áMANYáOWNERSáONáGMáFORUMáHAVEáHADáTHISáPROBLEMáANDáITáISáDIFFICULTáORáIMPOSSIBLEáTOáSAFELYáFIXáIT.áI CONTACTEDáGMáSUPPORTáANDáTHEYáSTATEDáTHATáIáWOULDáHAVEáTOáTAKEáTOáAáGMáDEALERáANDáHAVEáFIXEDáATáMYáCOST.áIáFEELáITáSHOULDáBEáAáSAFETYáRECALLáDUEáTOáPOORáDESIGN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/22/2017 - MACON, GA
OPENED TAILGATE GLASS WHILE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY AND IT SHIFTED TO LEFT AND THEN THE WHOLE TOP CAME LOOSE. AND THIS COULD INJURY SOMEONE. THE METAL HINGES THE ATTACH THE GLASS TO THE VEHICLE ARE ATTACHED WITH A PLASTIC OR GLUE OF SOME TYPE THAT DEGENERATES. IF THIS OCCURS WHILE DIVING THE GLASS COULD DETACH AND POSE A SAFETY ISSUE. MY UNDERSTANDING IS THAT IN 2005 GM REDESIGNED THE GLASS WITH BOLTS ATTACHING IT. MANY OWNERS ON GM FORUM HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM AND IT IS DIFFICULT OR IMPOSSIBLE TO SAFELY FIX IT. I CONTACTED GM SUPPORT AND THEY STATED THAT I WOULD HAVE TO TAKE TO A GM DEALER AND HAVE FIXED AT MY COST. I FEEL IT SHOULD BE A SAFETY RECALL DUE TO POOR DESIGN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/3/2016 - LAMBERTVILLE, MI
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE , I APPLIED THE BRAKES TO STOP AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT , AND THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR . THE TAHOE FINALLY STOPPED AFTER A MUCH LONGER THAN NORMAL DISTANCE . AFTER INSPECTING THE MASTER CYLINDER , THERE WAS HARDLY ANY BRAKE FLUID REMAINING . I FOUND THAT THE BRAKE LINES WERE VERY RUSTED , AND THAT THE LINE GOING TO THE REAR BRAKES WAS RUSTED THROUGH . THIS RUSTING OF THE BRAKE LINES SHOULD NEVER OCCUR !

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2015 - WILSONVILLE, AL
IN 2011 MY ABS/BRAKE LIGHT STARTING COMING ON TOOK TO DEALERSHIP WAS TOLD HOW MUCH IT WOULD COST TO REPAIR. IN SEARCHING ONLINE HOW TO FIX, I SEE A RECALL WAS GIVEN TO SALT BELT STATES IN 2005. I OWN TRUCK SINCE 2002. TOLD BY GMC TODAY THE RECALL ALTHOUGH IT STATES SALT BELT STATES RECALL ONLY AFFECTED CERTAIN VIN #'S IS THIS CORRECT? FIRST OWNER LIVED IN SALT BELT STATE AND TRUCK MANUFACTURED IN SALT BELT. I SEE THERE ARE ADDITIONAL GMC PRODUCTS WITH SAME PROBLEM. WHY DON'T THEY REPAIR?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/28/2015 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE ABS SYSTEM DISENGAGED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WOULD RE-ENGAGE IF THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED AND THEN DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WOULD BE AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD VEER TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HUB BEARING ASSEMBLY ON THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FOR A PERIOD OF TIME AND THEN TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE, A BURNING OIL ODOR WOULD COME FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING THE VEHICLE SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, IT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS ENGINE OIL LEAKING FROM THE MAIN SEAL AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2015 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE ABS SYSTEM DISENGAGED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WOULD RE-ENGAGE IF THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED AND THEN DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WOULD BE AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD VEER TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HUB BEARING ASSEMBLY ON THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FOR A PERIOD OF TIME AND THEN TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE, A BURNING OIL ODOR WOULD COME FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING THE VEHICLE SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, IT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS ENGINE OIL LEAKING FROM THE MAIN SEAL AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/28/2015 - DETROIT, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE ABS SYSTEM DISENGAGED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS SYSTEM WOULD RE-ENGAGE IF THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS RELEASED AND THEN DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WOULD BE AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD VEER TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HUB BEARING ASSEMBLY ON THE DRIVERS SIDE OF THE VEHICLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE RECURRED ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS FOR A PERIOD OF TIME AND THEN TURNING OFF THE VEHICLE, A BURNING OIL ODOR WOULD COME FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE HAVING THE VEHICLE SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, IT WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS ENGINE OIL LEAKING FROM THE MAIN SEAL AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, HOWEVER THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/17/2015 - INVER GROVE HEIGHTS , MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 CHEVROLET TAHOE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PARK OR MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 05V379000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) AND 00V345000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds