Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 2000 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (73) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (19) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (41) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Structure (34) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (15) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (13)

Pages:  
<<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

3/10/2004 - DEPEW, NY
COUPLE ISSUES, FAULTY REPAIR DONE TO MY CAR FOR AN ANTIFREEZE LEAK, DEALER REPAIRED THERMOSTAT AND CAR STILL LEAKED. ANOTHER DEALER TOLD ME THAT SOURCE OF LEAK WAS THE HEAD GASKET, KNOWN ISSUE WITH THESE VEHICLES, CURRENTLY A CLASS SUIT OUT ON IT.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER ARM

3/8/2004 - CAMP HILL, PA
CONSUME RCOMPLAINED ABOUT A FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM PROBLEM. CONSUMER CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER, AND THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR. HOWEVER, THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/3/2004 - BELEN, NM
WHEN THE ENGINE IS STARTED AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON. WHEN AIR BAG LIGHT COMES ON HORN AND CRUISE CONTROL DO NOT WORK. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DETERMINED THAT A NEW CLOCK SPRING WAS NEEDED. THE CONSUMER BELIEVES THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR REPLACING THE CLOCKSPRING SINCE IT IS A SAFETY RELATED DEFECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/2/2004 - MARIETTA, GA
I HAVE A DODGE NEON 2000. ON THE MORNING OF JANUARY 29, 2004, MY AIRBAG SIGNAL APPEARED WITH A RINGING NOISE FOR A BRIEF MOMENT. LATER THAT DAY, THE SIGNAL BEGAN TO APPEAR MORE OFTEN WHEN TURNING MY STEERING WHEEL. THE FOLLOWING MORNING, I HAD THE DEALERSHIP TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. I WAS LATER INFORMED 5 HOURS LATER IT WAS THE CLOCKSPRING AND IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURE NOR THE EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE PRICE TO FIX IT WOULD BE $389. THIS IS A RIPOFF. THE REASON CONSUMERS PURCHASE AUTOMOBILES WITH AIRBAGS IS FOR THE EXTRA SECURITY. IF THERE WAS A DEFECT WITH THE SEAT BELTS, THERE WOULD BE A RECALL. JUST LIKE SEAT BELTS ARE DESIGN FOR PROTECTING PASSENGERS FROM HARM SO IS THE AIRBAGS. THUS, CLOCKSPRINGS SHOULD BE RECALLED AND NOT PUT ON THE EXPENSE OF THE CONSUMER DUE TO THE MANUFACTURE NOT PROVIDING A MORE SECURE PART ESPECIALLY WHEN THE CONSUMER IS STILL MAKING PAYMENTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2004 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
CONSUMER'S VEHICLE REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE AT 25 MPH. THE IMPACT BENT THE HOOD AND CRACKED THE WINDSHIELD. UPON IMPACT, NONE OF THE VEHICLES AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION: COOLING UNIT AND LINES

1/17/2004 - MANALAPAN, NJ
SEE COMPLAINT 10053281 FOR INITIAL BACK ROUND INFO. RADIATOR REPLACED DUE TO COOLANT TRANSMISSION BLOW-OUT. THAT COST ME $500. THEN WHEN THE 5 STAR DEALER TESTED THE CAR, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. DEALER WANTED 600 JUST TO INVESTIGATE AND SAID THAT IT COULD COST AS MUCH AS $2,500 ADDL TO REPLACE. I JUST READ ABOUT COMPLAINT 10039597 WITH SAME PROBLEM. IT SOUNDS LIKE THERE IS A MFG DEFECT THAT CHRYSLER IS NOT OWNING UP TO. I CALLED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS AND THEY WERE NOT GOING TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS BECAUSE I DID NOT BUY EXTENDED COVERAGE. PLEASE GET BACK TO ME. THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/15/2004 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
BOUGHT CAR FROM FATHER IN LAW, HE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. HE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.SOON AFTER I BOUGHT FROM HIM IN 2000(IT WAS STILL NEW!),POWER WINDOWS QUIT WORKING THEN STARTED WORKING AGAIN.CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT, STILL DONT WORK. FRONT END CRASH 2003 MAY, 4783.45 IN DAMAGE, AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AT 40MPH !!! I HAD CAR REPAIRED BY NON CHRYSLER GARAGE AS PER ADVICE OF ERIE INSURANCE CO. ERIE WONT COVER BECAUSE THEY SAY ITS CHRYSLER'S PROBLEM, CHRYSLER SAYS ITS MY PROBLEM BECAUSE WORK WAS DONE AT NON DAIMLER CHRYSLER GARAGE AND THEY WERE RUDE AND HUNG UP ON ME! ERIE TOLD ME TO HAVE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK DONE ON IT BECUZ IN AUG 03 THE AIR BAG LITE STARTED TO COME ON AND HORN WONT WORK. I HAD THE CHECK DONE AND THEY SAID CLOCKSPRING NEEDS REPLACED. NOT ERIE OR CHRYSLER WILL FIX.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/15/2004 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
BOUGHT CAR FROM FATHER IN LAW, HE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. HE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.SOON AFTER I BOUGHT FROM HIM IN 2000(IT WAS STILL NEW!),POWER WINDOWS QUIT WORKING THEN STARTED WORKING AGAIN.CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT, STILL DONT WORK. FRONT END CRASH 2003 MAY, 4783.45 IN DAMAGE, AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AT 40MPH !!! I HAD CAR REPAIRED BY NON CHRYSLER GARAGE AS PER ADVICE OF ERIE INSURANCE CO. ERIE WONT COVER BECAUSE THEY SAY ITS CHRYSLER'S PROBLEM, CHRYSLER SAYS ITS MY PROBLEM BECAUSE WORK WAS DONE AT NON DAIMLER CHRYSLER GARAGE AND THEY WERE RUDE AND HUNG UP ON ME! ERIE TOLD ME TO HAVE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK DONE ON IT BECUZ IN AUG 03 THE AIR BAG LITE STARTED TO COME ON AND HORN WONT WORK. I HAD THE CHECK DONE AND THEY SAID CLOCKSPRING NEEDS REPLACED. NOT ERIE OR CHRYSLER WILL FIX.

View Details

VISIBILITY

1/15/2004 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
BOUGHT CAR FROM FATHER IN LAW, HE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. HE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.SOON AFTER I BOUGHT FROM HIM IN 2000(IT WAS STILL NEW!),POWER WINDOWS QUIT WORKING THEN STARTED WORKING AGAIN.CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT, STILL DONT WORK. FRONT END CRASH 2003 MAY, 4783.45 IN DAMAGE, AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AT 40MPH !!! I HAD CAR REPAIRED BY NON CHRYSLER GARAGE AS PER ADVICE OF ERIE INSURANCE CO. ERIE WONT COVER BECAUSE THEY SAY ITS CHRYSLER'S PROBLEM, CHRYSLER SAYS ITS MY PROBLEM BECAUSE WORK WAS DONE AT NON DAIMLER CHRYSLER GARAGE AND THEY WERE RUDE AND HUNG UP ON ME! ERIE TOLD ME TO HAVE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK DONE ON IT BECUZ IN AUG 03 THE AIR BAG LITE STARTED TO COME ON AND HORN WONT WORK. I HAD THE CHECK DONE AND THEY SAID CLOCKSPRING NEEDS REPLACED. NOT ERIE OR CHRYSLER WILL FIX.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/15/2004 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
BOUGHT CAR FROM FATHER IN LAW, HE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW. HE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.SOON AFTER I BOUGHT FROM HIM IN 2000(IT WAS STILL NEW!),POWER WINDOWS QUIT WORKING THEN STARTED WORKING AGAIN.CRUISE CONTROL WENT OUT, STILL DONT WORK. FRONT END CRASH 2003 MAY, 4783.45 IN DAMAGE, AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY AT 40MPH !!! I HAD CAR REPAIRED BY NON CHRYSLER GARAGE AS PER ADVICE OF ERIE INSURANCE CO. ERIE WONT COVER BECAUSE THEY SAY ITS CHRYSLER'S PROBLEM, CHRYSLER SAYS ITS MY PROBLEM BECAUSE WORK WAS DONE AT NON DAIMLER CHRYSLER GARAGE AND THEY WERE RUDE AND HUNG UP ON ME! ERIE TOLD ME TO HAVE DIAGNOSTIC CHECK DONE ON IT BECUZ IN AUG 03 THE AIR BAG LITE STARTED TO COME ON AND HORN WONT WORK. I HAD THE CHECK DONE AND THEY SAID CLOCKSPRING NEEDS REPLACED. NOT ERIE OR CHRYSLER WILL FIX.

View Details
Pages:  <<  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  13  14  15  16  17  18  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds