Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 2000 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (73) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (19) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (41) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Structure (34) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (15) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (13)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

6/7/2008 - BIRDSBORO, PA
I BOUGHT A USED CAR FROM JD BYRIDER OF READING PA ,I WAS TOLD THE CAR WAS SAFETY INSPECTED AND THE STICKERS ARE ON VEHICLE, COME TO FIND OUT FROM MY OWN MECHANIC THE CAR WAS NOT SAFETY INSPECTED PROPER BECAUSE THERE WAS ALOT OF THINGS FOUND DEFECTIVE ON IT LIKE ROTORS WERE WARPED BRAKE PAD FELL APART DRUMS NO GOOD BROKEN BOLTS TO OIL PAN AND REAR MAIN SEAL BROKE CAR VIBRATES WHEN AT A RIGHT LIGHT AND WHO EVER DID THE INSPECTION DIDN'T DO IT THE WAY HE WAS SUPPOSED TO WHICH I THINK WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

6/7/2008 - BIRDSBORO, PA
I BOUGHT A USED CAR FROM JD BYRIDER OF READING PA ,I WAS TOLD THE CAR WAS SAFETY INSPECTED AND THE STICKERS ARE ON VEHICLE, COME TO FIND OUT FROM MY OWN MECHANIC THE CAR WAS NOT SAFETY INSPECTED PROPER BECAUSE THERE WAS ALOT OF THINGS FOUND DEFECTIVE ON IT LIKE ROTORS WERE WARPED BRAKE PAD FELL APART DRUMS NO GOOD BROKEN BOLTS TO OIL PAN AND REAR MAIN SEAL BROKE CAR VIBRATES WHEN AT A RIGHT LIGHT AND WHO EVER DID THE INSPECTION DIDN'T DO IT THE WAY HE WAS SUPPOSED TO WHICH I THINK WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

6/7/2008 - BIRDSBORO, PA
I BOUGHT A USED CAR FROM JD BYRIDER OF READING PA ,I WAS TOLD THE CAR WAS SAFETY INSPECTED AND THE STICKERS ARE ON VEHICLE, COME TO FIND OUT FROM MY OWN MECHANIC THE CAR WAS NOT SAFETY INSPECTED PROPER BECAUSE THERE WAS ALOT OF THINGS FOUND DEFECTIVE ON IT LIKE ROTORS WERE WARPED BRAKE PAD FELL APART DRUMS NO GOOD BROKEN BOLTS TO OIL PAN AND REAR MAIN SEAL BROKE CAR VIBRATES WHEN AT A RIGHT LIGHT AND WHO EVER DID THE INSPECTION DIDN'T DO IT THE WAY HE WAS SUPPOSED TO WHICH I THINK WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: ARM: IDLER AND ATTACHMENT

3/17/2008 - PORT HUENEME, CA
WE HEARD A POP IN OUR ENGINE WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY, UNCERTAIN THAT IT WAS OUR VEHICLE WE CONTINUED, AS WE EXITED THE HIGHWAY WE HAD LOST POWER STEERING IT SEEMED. CONTINUE HOME ABOUT 20 MILES AND ONCE WE PULLED INTO OUR DRIVEWAY WE OPENED THE HOOD TO FIND OUR POWER STEERING BELT HAD COME OFF. WHILE INVESTIGATING THE BELT, NOTICED OUR DRIVEBELT IDLER PULLEY HAD DISINTEGRATED. WE HAVE BEEN TRYING TO ORDER THIS PART FROM SEVERAL AUTO PART STORES AND THE DEALER TO NO AVAIL. IT IS ON FACTORY BACK ORDER FOR OVER THE PAST MONTH, WHICH HAS LEFT US WITH ONLY ONE VEHICLE FOR OUR HOUSEHOLD.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

9/18/2007 - LANCASTER, CA
TURNING SIGNAL HEADLIGHTS 80% FAILURE, WHEN TEMPERATURE IN VEHICLE OVER 100 DEGREES. WHEN LIGHTS ARE ENGAGED, ALL REAR MARKING LAMPS, SIDE, AND INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED, AND FOG LIGHTS CAME ON WHEN IN OFF POSITION. I SPOKE TO A TECH OFF THE RECORD, THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. THIS RESULTED IN A NEAR COLLISION SINCE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS NOT VISIBLE TO DRIVER. WHEN TEMP IN CAR WENT DOWN LATER THAT EVENING, SWITCH WORKED. TODAY IN THE AM IT WORKED, BUT FAILED THIS AFTERNOON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: TURN SIGNAL: SWITCH

9/18/2007 - LANCASTER, CA
TURNING SIGNAL HEADLIGHTS 80% FAILURE, WHEN TEMPERATURE IN VEHICLE OVER 100 DEGREES. WHEN LIGHTS ARE ENGAGED, ALL REAR MARKING LAMPS, SIDE, AND INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED, AND FOG LIGHTS CAME ON WHEN IN OFF POSITION. I SPOKE TO A TECH OFF THE RECORD, THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. THIS RESULTED IN A NEAR COLLISION SINCE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS NOT VISIBLE TO DRIVER. WHEN TEMP IN CAR WENT DOWN LATER THAT EVENING, SWITCH WORKED. TODAY IN THE AM IT WORKED, BUT FAILED THIS AFTERNOON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

9/18/2007 - LANCASTER, CA
TURNING SIGNAL HEADLIGHTS 80% FAILURE, WHEN TEMPERATURE IN VEHICLE OVER 100 DEGREES. WHEN LIGHTS ARE ENGAGED, ALL REAR MARKING LAMPS, SIDE, AND INSTRUMENT PANEL FAILED, AND FOG LIGHTS CAME ON WHEN IN OFF POSITION. I SPOKE TO A TECH OFF THE RECORD, THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. THIS RESULTED IN A NEAR COLLISION SINCE INSTRUMENT PANEL WAS NOT VISIBLE TO DRIVER. WHEN TEMP IN CAR WENT DOWN LATER THAT EVENING, SWITCH WORKED. TODAY IN THE AM IT WORKED, BUT FAILED THIS AFTERNOON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING: INTERIOR/UNDER DASH

8/2/2007 - WILKES-BARRE, PA
I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY CAR BACK AND FORTH FROM COLLEGE AND RUNNING ERRANDS AROUND TOWN. I HAVE A COMPLETELY STOCKED 2000 DODGE NEON ES. I USE THE HEADLIGHTS MOST OF THE TIME, EVEN DURING THE DAY, TO INCREASE VISIBILITY. ONE NIGHT, I WAS DRIVING THROUGH MY TOWN. I SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING BUT NOT THINKING ANYTHING OF IT SINCE I WAS NEAR A RURAL AREA THAT COULD HAVE CAMP FIRES LIT. THIS HAPPENED ABOUT 2 MONTHS AGO. THEN I NOTICED THAT MY HEADLIGHTS WERE NOT WORKING AS THEY USED TO. THE FOG LIGHTS WOULD TURN ON SOMETIMES AND OTHER TIMES NOT. I FIGURED THAT IT WAS JUST A SWITCH AND NOT A BIG DEAL SO I DID NOTHING TO FIX IT. THEN MY HIGH BEAMS STOPPED WORKING ABOUT 2 WEEKS AGO. I DID A BIT OF RESEARCH TO TRY TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM. I STUMBLED UPON A WEBSITE AND READ ABOUT LOOKING AT THE MULTI-FUNCTION SWITCH. SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. I JUST GOT FINISHED CHECKING OUT MY CAR. THE WIRING HARNESS THAT CONNECTS TO THE MFS IS MELTED AS HAS EVIDENCE OF BURN MARKS. THE HEADLIGHTS CURRENTLY WORK BUT THE FOG LIGHTS AND HIGH BEAMS DO NOT. I HAVE TAKEN SEVERAL PICTURES OF THE MELTED HARNESS AND WILL SEND THEM TO WHOEVER I NEED TO. I HAVE READ UP ON REPLACING THE WIRING HARNESS BUT IT IS RATHER EXPENSIVE. ESPECIALLY IF IT WILL MELT AGAIN SOMETIME IN THE NEAR FUTURE. I BELIEVE THE PART NUMBER IS 5183442AA BASED ON SEVERAL SOURCES. I WILL BE REPLACING THIS PART PROBABLY ON MY OWN TO SAVE SOME MONEY, ESPECIALLY ON A PART I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO BE ORDERING IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

3/16/2007 - PLYMOUTH, MI
- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE NEON. WHILE TURNING LEFT INTO A PARKING LOT THE VEHICLE ABRUPTLY STOPPED. THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE TIE ROD FAILED, CAUSING THAT TIRE TO LEAN. THE TRAVEL SPEED WAS APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AWAY. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH TIE ROD ENDS. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE BOTH 90,898. THE CONTACT HAS THE REPAIR ORDER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: POWER ASSIST

3/8/2007 - POUGHKEEPSIE, NY
WATER LEAKING IN BRAKE POWER BOOSTER CAUSE BRAKES TO FREEZE IN COLD; BRAKE VALVES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED; FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED; ABS SYSTEM DISCONNECT- NOT WORKING PROPERLY - CONTROLLER GIVEN OFF ERROR CODE - POSSIBLE NEED TO BE REPLACE; ALL BRAKE SYSTEM LIGHTS ON IN CAR - NO DIAGNOSIS FOR PROBLEM; RATTLING NOISE IN DASH BOARD; HIGH HUMMING NOISE UNDER CAR WHEN DRIVE - UNABLE TO HEAR RADIO BETWEEN RATTLING & HUMMING NOISES; AC WORK BUT NO HEAT; WHEN DRIVING WHEELS SOMETIMES FEEL LIKE THEY ARE GOING TO FALL OFF; RECENTLY FOUND OUT CAR FAILED NYS EMISSION TEST ON DATE OF PURCHASE; I FILED COMPLAINT WITH BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU REGARDING DEALER WHERE I BROUGHT CAR FROM - THEY HAVE FAILED TO RESPOND.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds