Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 2000 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (73) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (19) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (41) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Structure (34) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (15) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
UNFORTUNATELY I RAN INTO A DRIVER WHOM WAS IN FRONT OF ME DUE TO LOW VISIBILITY & BAD BRAKES. MY HEADLIGHTS ARE EXTREMELY DULL & FOGGY. ALSO, WHOMEVER OWN THE CAR BEFORE ME HAD THE BRAKE VACUUM REPLACED DUE TO RECALL & EVER SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR THERE'S BEEN A BRAKE PROBLEM. SUCH AS NEEDING A NEW MASTER CYLINDER, NEW PROPOSITIONING, NEW BRAKE SHOES, AND WHEEL CYLINDER. I HAVE RECEIPTS OF ALL WORK COMPLETED. I HAVE A ONE YEAR OLD WHOM RIDE ALONG AND I'M HIGHLY CONCERNED ABOUT HIS SAFETY. I LOVE THE CAR BUT IF IT CONTINUES I WILL JUNK OUT MY CAR AND LOOK TO SUE DODGE CHRYSLER AND WHOMEVER ELSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE MAKING OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
UNFORTUNATELY I RAN INTO A DRIVER WHOM WAS IN FRONT OF ME DUE TO LOW VISIBILITY & BAD BRAKES. MY HEADLIGHTS ARE EXTREMELY DULL & FOGGY. ALSO, WHOMEVER OWN THE CAR BEFORE ME HAD THE BRAKE VACUUM REPLACED DUE TO RECALL & EVER SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR THERE'S BEEN A BRAKE PROBLEM. SUCH AS NEEDING A NEW MASTER CYLINDER, NEW PROPOSITIONING, NEW BRAKE SHOES, AND WHEEL CYLINDER. I HAVE RECEIPTS OF ALL WORK COMPLETED. I HAVE A ONE YEAR OLD WHOM RIDE ALONG AND I'M HIGHLY CONCERNED ABOUT HIS SAFETY. I LOVE THE CAR BUT IF IT CONTINUES I WILL JUNK OUT MY CAR AND LOOK TO SUE DODGE CHRYSLER AND WHOMEVER ELSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE MAKING OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/8/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
UNFORTUNATELY I RAN INTO A DRIVER WHOM WAS IN FRONT OF ME DUE TO LOW VISIBILITY & BAD BRAKES. MY HEADLIGHTS ARE EXTREMELY DULL & FOGGY. ALSO, WHOMEVER OWN THE CAR BEFORE ME HAD THE BRAKE VACUUM REPLACED DUE TO RECALL & EVER SINCE I'VE PURCHASED THE CAR THERE'S BEEN A BRAKE PROBLEM. SUCH AS NEEDING A NEW MASTER CYLINDER, NEW PROPOSITIONING, NEW BRAKE SHOES, AND WHEEL CYLINDER. I HAVE RECEIPTS OF ALL WORK COMPLETED. I HAVE A ONE YEAR OLD WHOM RIDE ALONG AND I'M HIGHLY CONCERNED ABOUT HIS SAFETY. I LOVE THE CAR BUT IF IT CONTINUES I WILL JUNK OUT MY CAR AND LOOK TO SUE DODGE CHRYSLER AND WHOMEVER ELSE ASSOCIATED WITH THE MAKING OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

4/3/2013 - STILWELL, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SUB FRAME BECAME RUSTED COMPLETELY. THE MIDDLE OF THE FRAME AND EACH WHEEL WHERE THE CONTROL ARM WAS LOCATED WAS ALSO RUSTED. THE CONTACT SPOKE WITH THE MANUFACTURER AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NO REPAIR AVAILABLE FOR THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT WAS OVER THE 10 YEAR STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS. THE FAILURE AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 110,000. KMJ

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/17/2013 - OLYMPIA, WA
AS WITH A MULTITUDE OF OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE, WHENEVER THERE IS A RAIN (HEAVY OR LIGHT), WATER LEAKS INTO THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR (MOST LIKELY THROUGH THE TRUNK, POSSIBLY AROUND THE TAILLIGHT OR ANOTHER HARD TO DIAGNOSE AREA). THE WATER WILL FILL UP THE SPARE TIRE WELL AND POOL THERE, THEN MOVE UNDER THE BACK SEATS AND THE BACK SEAT FLOORS WHERE AGAIN THE WATER POOLS AND SOAKS INTO THE LINING/CUSHIONS/INTERIOR. ALL OF THIS WATER CAUSES BOTH STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE BODY OF THE CAR (RUST AND OTHER ISSUES), PRODUCES MILDEW AND MOLD IN THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE (A POTENTIAL HEALTH HAZARD), AND CREATES HIGHLY HUMID AND MOIST ENVIRONMENT INSIDE THE CAR. THE LEAK AND WATER HAVE ALSO AFFECTED THE REVERSE/BACKUP LIGHTING (ANOTHER HAZARD) AND RUSTED PARTS OF THE SPARE TIRE WELL. IN ADDITION THE HIGH HUMIDITY RESULTS IN INTERIOR WINDOWS BEING NOT JUST FOGGED BUT HAVING A WORRISOME AMOUNT OF CONDENSATION THAT MUST BE REMOVED BEFORE DRIVING SAFELY. NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS HAVE BEEN MADE TO "SEAL" THE LEAK IN THE TRUNK TO NO AVAIL. A QUICK INTERNET SEARCH FOR THIS PROBLEMS REVEALS HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE OF THE LEAK. DODGE HAS NEVER ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE WITH CONSUMERS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/17/2013 - OLYMPIA, WA
AS WITH A MULTITUDE OF OTHER OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE, WHENEVER THERE IS A RAIN (HEAVY OR LIGHT), WATER LEAKS INTO THE INTERIOR OF THE CAR (MOST LIKELY THROUGH THE TRUNK, POSSIBLY AROUND THE TAILLIGHT OR ANOTHER HARD TO DIAGNOSE AREA). THE WATER WILL FILL UP THE SPARE TIRE WELL AND POOL THERE, THEN MOVE UNDER THE BACK SEATS AND THE BACK SEAT FLOORS WHERE AGAIN THE WATER POOLS AND SOAKS INTO THE LINING/CUSHIONS/INTERIOR. ALL OF THIS WATER CAUSES BOTH STRUCTURAL DAMAGE TO THE BODY OF THE CAR (RUST AND OTHER ISSUES), PRODUCES MILDEW AND MOLD IN THE INTERIOR OF THE VEHICLE (A POTENTIAL HEALTH HAZARD), AND CREATES HIGHLY HUMID AND MOIST ENVIRONMENT INSIDE THE CAR. THE LEAK AND WATER HAVE ALSO AFFECTED THE REVERSE/BACKUP LIGHTING (ANOTHER HAZARD) AND RUSTED PARTS OF THE SPARE TIRE WELL. IN ADDITION THE HIGH HUMIDITY RESULTS IN INTERIOR WINDOWS BEING NOT JUST FOGGED BUT HAVING A WORRISOME AMOUNT OF CONDENSATION THAT MUST BE REMOVED BEFORE DRIVING SAFELY. NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS HAVE BEEN MADE TO "SEAL" THE LEAK IN THE TRUNK TO NO AVAIL. A QUICK INTERNET SEARCH FOR THIS PROBLEMS REVEALS HUNDREDS AND HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE OF THE LEAK. DODGE HAS NEVER ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE WITH CONSUMERS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2012 - FAIRHAVEN, MA
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN THE PASSING LANE. A WHITE SUV TRIED PASSING ANOTHER CAR THAT WAS TO HER RIGHT. THE SUV MISJUDGED AND HIT THE REAR RIGHT PANEL OF MY DAUGHTERS NEON SENDING HER INTO THE MEDIAN WHERE THERE ARE WIRE GUARD RAILS. SHE HIT THE GUARD RAIL ON THE DRIVERS FRONT LEFT DAMAGING THE BUMPER, FENDER, WHEEL, RIM STEERING RACK AND EVERYTHING ON THE LEFT FRONT OF THE CAR. THE AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THE STATE POLICE FILLED A POLICE REPORT WHICH STATES NO FAULT OF NEON DRIVER AND THE SUV TOOK OFF.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/26/2012 - HOPEWELL, VA
MY DAUGHTER HIT ICE ON A BRIDGE GOING ABOUT 40 -45 MPH SPUN AND STRUCK THE GUARDRAIL HEAD ON AND WHILE SPINNING HIT GUARDRAIL WITH FRONTEND AT LEAST ONE OR MORE TIMES, THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CAR WAS A TOTAL LOSS. THIS HAPPENED ON 2/20/2012. SHE HIT HER JAW ON THE STEERING WHEEL, LUCKILY THERE WAS NO BROKEN BONE JUST VERY SORE. THE OFFICER AT THE ACCIDENT STATED THAT WE SHOULD CONTACT A LAWYER ABOUT THIS. THE CAR BELONGED TO MY STEPMOTHER BEFORE MY DAUGHTER, AND SHE DID NOT RECEIVE ANY RECALL NOTICES ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

1/10/2012 - KINCAID, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED HER TO CRASH INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE SEAT BELTS DID NOT PROPERLY RESTRAIN AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT AND A PASSENGER WERE REPORTED INJURED AND TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL VIA AMBULANCE. THE POLICE WERE NOTIFIED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS SEVERELY DAMAGED AND TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WAS AN OPEN RECALL ON THE VEHICLE FOR THE BRAKES (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 01V154000-SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: POWER ASSIST: VACUUM) BUT NOT FOR THE SEAT BELT AND AIR BAGS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/10/2012 - KINCAID, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 DODGE NEON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STOP THE VEHICLE, THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM FAILED AND CAUSED HER TO CRASH INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE SEAT BELTS DID NOT PROPERLY RESTRAIN AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT AND A PASSENGER WERE REPORTED INJURED AND TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL VIA AMBULANCE. THE POLICE WERE NOTIFIED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS SEVERELY DAMAGED AND TOWED TO THE CONTACT+S RESIDENCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE WHO ADVISED THAT THERE WAS AN OPEN RECALL ON THE VEHICLE FOR THE BRAKES (NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 01V154000-SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: POWER ASSIST: VACUUM) BUT NOT FOR THE SEAT BELT AND AIR BAGS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 129,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds