Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 2000 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (73) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (19) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (41) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Structure (34) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (15) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (13)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

8/28/2005 - LAFAYETTE, TN
WIRES ON COMPRESSOR PLUG BROKE, COMPRESSOR WOULD NOT COME ON. CRIMPED WIRE BACK TOGETHER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/18/2005 - AMHERST, 00
DT: THE FRONT PART OF THE SUBFRAME ON CALLER'S VEHICLE RUSTED. THE RUST WAS FALLING OFF THE VEHICLE IN BIG PIECES. DEALER SAID TO CALL MANUFACTURER. ON THE OTHER HAND, MANUFACTURER SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO. CALLER SAID THE VEHICLE WAS A CHRYSLER NEON. DIDGE DID NOT APPEAR ON THE VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: CRUISE CONTROL

8/12/2005 - GARDEN CITY, MI
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL SET AND ENGAGED, I WAS FORCED TO DEPRESS THE BRAKES. THE CRUISE CONTROL DID NOT DISENGAGE, NOR WAS I ABLE TO TURN IT OFF VIA THE BUTTONS ON THE STEERING WHEEL. I CAME WITHIN 5 FEET OF REAR-ENDING ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN WE WERE TRAVELING AT SPEEDS ABOVE 55 MPH. IF I DID NOT KEEP THE BRAKES DEPRESSED, THE CRUISE CONTROL TRIED TO BRING THE VEHICLE UP TO THE SET POINT. AFTER ABOUT FIVE MINUTES, THE CRUISE CONTROL SHUT ITSELF OFF AUTOMATICALLY. SUBSEQUENT TIMES THE ON/OFF SWITCH HAS WORKED ON THE CRUISE CONTROL, BUT IT DOES NOT DISENGAGE WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL IS DEPRESSED. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO A DEALERSHIP DETAILING THE PROBLEM TO FIX IT. THEY CHARGED ME FOR A DIAGNOSTIC EVALUATION AND HAVE FOUND THAT THERE IS A BAD SERVO. BEING IN THE DETROIT AREA, WITH THE RECENT FORD RECALLS FOR FAILING CRUISE CONTROL SWITCHES, I WAS IMMEDIATELY AND STILL AM VERY WORRIED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

6/22/2005 - LEWISTON , NY
DT: BROKE DOWN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THE RADIATOR SEPARATED FROM THE ENGINE, AND TRANSMISSION LEAKED INTO THE ENGINE. HAD TWO DIFFERENT COMPARTMENTS FLUSH AND RADIATOR REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: RADIATOR ASSEMBLY

6/22/2005 - LEWISTON , NY
DT: BROKE DOWN ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THE RADIATOR SEPARATED FROM THE ENGINE, AND TRANSMISSION LEAKED INTO THE ENGINE. HAD TWO DIFFERENT COMPARTMENTS FLUSH AND RADIATOR REPLACED.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

3/14/2005 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
PARKING MY 2000 DODGE NEON OFF AN ASHPHALT ROAD ONTO GRAVEL DRIVE WAY. I WAS PARKING AT NORMAL SAFE SPEED, AS I PUT THE CAR INTO PARK MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. NOW THE HORN WILL NOT BLOW, AND STEERING IS TIGHTER THAN NORMAL. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, AND THEY TOLD ME IT SOUNDED LIKE THE "CLOCK SPRING", AND WAS NOT HAZADAROUS TO DRIVE. I NOTICED THERE IS A RECALL ON ANOTHER MODEL OF DODGE VAN FOR THE SAME PART, WHY ISN'T THERE BEEN ONE FOR NEON? WHY IS THIS NOT CONSIDERED A SAFETY HAZAROUD? NOW IF I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKECT EXPENSE TO REPAIR THIS SPRING BEFORE I CAN EVEN GET THIS INSPECTED DUE TO THE HORN NOT PROPERLY WORKING.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL: SENSOR/CONTROL MODULE

3/14/2005 - CHRISTIANSBURG, VA
PARKING MY 2000 DODGE NEON OFF AN ASHPHALT ROAD ONTO GRAVEL DRIVE WAY. I WAS PARKING AT NORMAL SAFE SPEED, AS I PUT THE CAR INTO PARK MY AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON, AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. NOW THE HORN WILL NOT BLOW, AND STEERING IS TIGHTER THAN NORMAL. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR, AND THEY TOLD ME IT SOUNDED LIKE THE "CLOCK SPRING", AND WAS NOT HAZADAROUS TO DRIVE. I NOTICED THERE IS A RECALL ON ANOTHER MODEL OF DODGE VAN FOR THE SAME PART, WHY ISN'T THERE BEEN ONE FOR NEON? WHY IS THIS NOT CONSIDERED A SAFETY HAZAROUD? NOW IF I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKECT EXPENSE TO REPAIR THIS SPRING BEFORE I CAN EVEN GET THIS INSPECTED DUE TO THE HORN NOT PROPERLY WORKING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

2/25/2005 - JEANNETTE, PA
THE DRIVER APPLIED THE BRAKES WHILE BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE AND THE PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR. THE DRIVER DROVE TO THE DEALER. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THE DRIVER THAT THE BRAKE PADS NEEDED REPLACEMENT. PLEASE PROVIDE ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

2/25/2005 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
NO ACCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED TO THIS VEHICLE. DOOR LOCKS DO NOT RELIABLY OPEN THE DOORS, EITHER MANUALLY OR VIA THE ELECTRIC LOCK BUTTON. THIS CREATES AN UNSAFE SITUATION WHEREBY A PERSON MAY BECOME TRAPPED INSIDE THE CAR. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WHERE THE DRIVER HAD TO CRAWL INTO THE BACK TO EXIT OUT VIA THE REAR PASSENGER DOORS. PROBLEM DIAGNOSED BY DEALER AS ELECTRONIC DOOR LOCK MECHANISM. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE TO ALLOW A FAILURE IN THIS MANNER. A RECALL SHOULD EXIST.

View Details

STRUCTURE

1/25/2005 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHENEVER IT RAINS, I HAVE A LOT OF WATER ON THE BACK FLOORBOARDS AND TRUNK. SOMETIMES IT'S ABOUT AN INCH OR TWO HIGH. WE'VE TRIED NUMEROUS WAYS TO CONTROL IT OR EVEN TO GET IT DRY SO THAT IT WOULD NOT MILDEW. IT DOES NOT WORK AND IT SMELLS REALLY BAD NOW. IT SEEMS TO BE A FACTORY PROBLEM AND WILL TRY TO GET DEALER TO FIX. SEEMS LIKE MANY PEOPLE HAVE NOT BEEN SUCCESSFUL DOING THAT BUT MORE COMPLAINS FROM PEOPLE SOMEDAY MAY HELP.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds