Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 2000 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (73) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (19) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (41) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Structure (34) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (15) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (13)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

1/10/2005 - WILLISTON, VT
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IT WOULD NOT MOVE. AFTER CHECKING THE TRANSMISSION FUEL IT WAS LEAKING ONTO THE GROUND. CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE HAD PLENTY OF TRANSMISSION FLUID, AND THAT ALL OF THE FLUIDS HAD RECENTLY BEEN CHECKED AND CHANGED IF NEEDED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

1/4/2005 - WORTHINGTON, OH
WHILE TRAVELING AT ABOUT 40 MPH ALL OF A SUDDEN THE BRAKES LOCKED UP AND DID NOT OPERATE. VEHICLE SPINNED OUT THE ROAD BEFORE COMING TO A STOP. CONSUMER WILL CONTACT MANUFACTURER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

12/13/2004 - SAINT CHARLES, MO
WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUTS DOWN. THE CONSUMER STATES THE BATTERY HAS BEEN CHANGED IN THE VEHICLE SEVEN TIMES. CONTINUOUSLY. CONSUMER HAS CONTACT THE DEALER. HOWEVER, THE PROBLEM STILL EXIST. PLEASE PROVIDE ANY FURTHER INFORMATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

11/26/2004 - COATESVILLE, PA
2000 DODGE NEON-I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR 5 YEARS AND USE IT SOLELY FOR COMMUTING TO AND FROM WORK. I AM A CAREFUL DRIVER AND DO NOT ABUSE THIS VEHICLE. DURING THESE 5 YRS I HAVE HAD THE FOLLOWING WORK ON THIS CAR; REPLACED THE BRAKES TWICE WITHIN THE FIRST 2 YRS REPLACED THE BATTERY 3 TIMES OVER 5 YEARS REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION AT 70K REPLACED THE RADIATOR AT 70K THE CAR PERFORMS VERY POORLY IN ICE AND SNOW. I HAVE SPUN OUT ON SEVERAL MAJOR HIGHWAYS MERELY DOING LESS THAN 10 MPH IN SNOW/SLUSH. I WAS TOLD MY MECHANIC THAT IT IS THE WEIGHT DISTRIBUTION AND POOR DESIGN OF MY VEHICLE THAT THIS HAPPENS. MY TIRES HAVE ALWAYS BEEN MAINTAINED/REPLACED WHEN TREAD WAS GETTING LOW. I RECENTLY PAID $400 FOR A SET OF NEW MICHELIN HARMONY TIRES HOPING THAT THE UPCOMING SNOW AND ICE SEASON MAY NOT KILL ME. CAR HAD A MUSTY/FISHY ODOR WHEN I USED THE HEATER DURING THE FIRST 2 YEARS. THIS HAS SINCE GONE. MY TRANSMISSION DIED DURING A THUNDERSTORM ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK. IT GAVE NO WARNING, ALL FLUIDS HAD JUST BEEN CHECKED THE WEEKEND BEFORE WHEN MY OIL WAS CHANGED. THIS INCIDENT RESULTED IN OVER $1900 WORTH OF REPAIR CHARGES. I HAD JUST BOUGHT OUT MY LEASE THAT VERY WEEK. THE $1900 I PAID WAS MY ENTIRE SAVINGS. THE FOLLOWING REPAIR WORK OUTSTANDS; CDPLAYER IS DEAD. IT CHEWED UP MY CDS. (1 YEAR) MY REAR PASSENGER DOOR LOCK BUZZES WHEN I LOCK IT. IT APPARENTLY NEEDS A NEW DOOR LOCK ASSEMBLY AND ACTUATOR. (2ND YEAR) THE TRUNK LATCH DOES NOT AUTOMATICALLY OPEN. IT TAKES SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO LOCK. (1ST YEAR).

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: COOLING SYSTEM: RADIATOR ASSEMBLY

11/16/2004 - BLOOMINGTON, IN
WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH VEHICLE STALLED. VEHICLE WAS LEAKING FLUID. CONSUMER COULD NOT RESTART VEHICLE, AND HAD IT TOWED TO DEALER FOR INSPECTION. MECHANIC DETERMINED THAT THE RADIATOR WAS CRACKED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

11/8/2004 - WHITESTONE, NY
WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH ENGINE STALLED. AS A RESULT, VEHICLE HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

9/8/2004 - CANADA, 00
WHILE PULLING OUT OF A PARKING SPACE FRONT TIE RODS BROKE.AS A RESULT, DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE TWISTED INWARD.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/1/2004 - TUCSON, AZ
WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH VEHICLE STALLED. CONSUMER PULLED OVER AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. DEALERSHIP WAS NOTIFIED, BUT DID NOT RESOLVE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

TIRES: SIDEWALL

8/10/2004 - SALEM, OR
WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 35-40 MPH CONSUMER HEARD A CLICKING AND BUMPING NOISE. SHE PULLED TO THE SIDE, GOT OUT, AND NOTHING APPEARED TO BE WRONG. SHE WENT BACK INTO THE VEHICLE AND DROVE ON THE HIGHWAY AND SAME NOISE STARTED, BUT JUST A LITTLE LOUDER THEN, CONSUMER PULLED OFF INTO A DRIVEWAY, GOT OUT AND NOTICED THAT THE RUBBER SEPARATED FROM TIRE SIDEWALL. GOODYEAR, EAGLE MS, P1855/60R15.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/23/2004 - MEMPHIS, TN
PROBLEMS WITH AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ON DODGE NEON 2000. THE LIGHT WAS INTERMITTENT AND WOULD BEEP EVERYTIME THE CONSUMER WOULD MAKE A TURN. RECALL# 99V043000. THE TIE RODS HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHEN THE CONSUMER TURNED THE AIR CONDITION ON, THE VEHICLE FELT AS THOUGH IT WAS GOING TO CUT OFF.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds