Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE NEON - 2000 DODGE NEON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 349 complaints filed for the 2000 DODGE NEON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 DODGE NEON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 DODGE NEON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (74) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Power Train (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (73) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (6) Fuel System Other (1) Seat Belts (19) Steering (29) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (41) Interior Lighting (2) Seats (4) Structure (34) Visibility (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (56) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (26) Visibility Wiper (2)
Equipment (10) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (15) Wheels (5)
Exterior Lighting (13)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

7/23/2004 - MEMPHIS, TN
PROBLEMS WITH AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ON DODGE NEON 2000. THE LIGHT WAS INTERMITTENT AND WOULD BEEP EVERYTIME THE CONSUMER WOULD MAKE A TURN. RECALL# 99V043000. THE TIE RODS HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHEN THE CONSUMER TURNED THE AIR CONDITION ON, THE VEHICLE FELT AS THOUGH IT WAS GOING TO CUT OFF.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

7/23/2004 - MEMPHIS, TN
PROBLEMS WITH AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ON DODGE NEON 2000. THE LIGHT WAS INTERMITTENT AND WOULD BEEP EVERYTIME THE CONSUMER WOULD MAKE A TURN. RECALL# 99V043000. THE TIE RODS HAD TO BE REPLACED. WHEN THE CONSUMER TURNED THE AIR CONDITION ON, THE VEHICLE FELT AS THOUGH IT WAS GOING TO CUT OFF.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: PADS

7/6/2004 - LA MARQUE, TX
WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH CONSUMER HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. TOOK VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT REPAIR SHOP, AND MECHANIC REPLACED BOTH REAR BRAKES.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

6/21/2004 - STOW, OH
RIGHT FRONT TIE ROD BROKEN. 2000 DODGE NEON, 62,000 MILES. NO PRIOR DAMAGE TO THE FRONT END.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/16/2004 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I OWNED A 2000 DODGE NEON. I LAST DROVE THE VEHICLE ON MAY 25, 2004 AND IT HAD BEEN PARKED OUTSIDE MY APARTMENT SINCE THAT TIME. ACCORDING TO THE POLICE REPORT, ON MAY 27, 2004 AT ABOUT 2:45AM MY CAR WHILE PARKED OUTSIDE MY APARTMENT CAUGHT ON FIRE. I WAS UNAWARE OF THIS AND WAS ASLEEP IN MY APARTMENT AT THAT TIME. ACCORDING TO THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT, THE FIRE WAS CONFINED TO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND HAD TO BE PUT OUT BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT. ACCORDING TO THE INSURANCE FIRE INVESTIGATOR, THE HEAT FROM THE FIRE WAS SO INTENSE AND ENGINE AND FRONT END DAMAGE SO SEVERE THAT HE WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE AN OFFICIAL CAUSE BUT SUSPECTED THE FIRE TO BE ELECTRICAL IN NATURE. OFFICIALLY ACCORDING TO MY INSURANCE, THE CAUSE IS UNKNOWN. MY INSURANCE DETERMINED MY VEHICLE TO BE A TOTAL LOSS. I HAVE NO REASON TO EXPECT ARSON OR THAT IT WAS DELIBERATELY SET FIRE. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENTS ALSO DID NOT SUSPECT ARSON AND ARE NOT PURSUING FURTHER INVESTIGATION. THE CONSEQUENCE OF THIS FIRE WAS A BIG FINACIAL LOSS FOR ME(BASED ON MY ANNUAL INCOME) DUE TO THE INSURANCE REIMBURSING ONLY HALF THE ORIGINAL COST OF THE CAR. I ALSO AM THANKFUL THAT I WAS NOT OPERATING THE VEHICLE WHEN THIS HAPPENED WHICH COULD HAVE CAUSED ME SERIOUS INJURIES. I DID HAVE TWO PRIOR ACCIDENTS TO THE FRONT END OF THIS VEHICLE WITH ONE OF THE CRASHES REQUIRING THE ENGINE TO BE REMOVED AND PUT BACK IN. THIS CRASH, HOWEVER, TOOK PLACE OVER A YEAR AGO AND I HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE NEON UP UNTIL MAY 27, 2004. AS A RESULT, I DO NOT SUSPECT THE PRIOR REPAIRS TO BE THE CAUSE OF THIS FIRE. WITH THE RECENT RECALL OF THE CHRYSLAR PT CRUISER, I THOUGHT I SHOULD REPORT THIS NEON ENGINE FIRE TO PROTECT OTHER NEON OWNER'S SAFETY.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: STABILIZER BAR

6/5/2004 - HOLBROOK, MA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR YOU CAN HEAR BANGING UNDER THE FRONT CHASIS. THE SWAY BAR LINKS HAVE BEEN BREAKING FROM THE SWAY BAR. TWICE THEY HAVE BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER AT MY COST. THE THIRD TIME THEY REPAIR AT NO COST. I HAVE REPLACED TWO LINKS ON THE RIGHT AND TWO ON THE LEFT SIDE. THE FIRST TIME WAS THE RIGHT. THE SECOND TIME WAS THE RIGHT AND LEFT. THE THIRD TIME THE RIGHT. THE FIRST TIME WAS MAY 16, 2002. THE SECOND WAS SEPTEMBER 24, 2003. THE THIRD TIME JUNE 1, 2004. THE DEALERSHIP CAN NOT FIND THE REASON TO THE FAILURE OFTHE LINKS.

View Details

STEERING: LINKAGES: TIE ROD ASSEMBLY

5/12/2004 - SYRACUSE, NY
HAD STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN,WAS PROCEDING THRU INTERSECTION WHEN THERE WAS A LOUD "BANG"AND IT FELT AS IF SOMETHING HAD FALLEN OFF THE CAR.STOPPED VEHICLE AND GAVE IT AN EXTERIOR INSPECTION THAT FOUND 1 TIRE POINTING IN THE THE EXPECTED DIRECTION AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE TIRE POINTING OFF IN A DIFFERENT DIRECTION.HAD CAR TOWED TO DEALERSHIP WHO ADVISED BOTH TIE-RODS ARE BROKE AND NEED TO BE REPLACED.THIS IS A 2000 DODGE NEON WITH ABOUT 51,500 MILES ON IT. OVER THE PHONE THE SERVICE PERSON ADVISED THIS IS NOT NORMAL WEAR&TEAR AND THAT THESE PARTS COULD NOT BE GREASED. I HAD A HONDA WITH OVER 250,000 MILES ON IT AND THE TIE RODS NEVER BROKE AND MY HUSBAND HAS A CHEVY TRUCK WITH OVER 148,000 MILES AND HIS TIE-RODS ARE FINE. THE SERVICE PERSON ADVISED THAT WE WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE BILL TO REPAIR THIS.SERVICE DEPT.WAS ADVISED THAT WE WANTED THE OLD PARTS SAVED AND THEY AGREED.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: CONTROL ARM: LOWER ARM

4/7/2004 - SOUTH RIDING, VA
THE RECALL THAT NHTSA SET IN MAY OF 1999 FOR THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS OF THE 2000 DODGE NEON WAS NOT APPLIED TO ALL 2000 DODGE NEONS. THE DEFECTIVE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ARE ON MY CAR, AND I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED, NOR SENT THE RECALL NOTICE. MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ON BOTH SIDES OF MY CAR HAVE SEPARATED FROM THE PIVOT TUBE AND ARE SECURED BY ONLY A BOLT. THE BUSHINGS ARE BOTH SPLIT. THE STEERING WHEEL VIBRATES AT ALL SPEEDS, A SYMPTOM OF THIS DEFECT THAT MY CAR HAS DISPLAYED FOR 3 YEARS. BOTH LOWER CONTROL ARMS MUST BE REPLACED IMMEDIATELY OR I COULD LOSE CONTROL OF MY CAR AND HAVE AN ACCIDENT. PLEASE, EXTEND THE RECALL NOTICE FOR 2000 DODGE NEONS TO INCLUDE THOSE BUILT IN FEBRUARY OF 1999, THE MONTH MY CAR WAS BUILT. I AM VERY DISTURBED ABOUT THIS DEFECT BEING IGNORED ON MY VEHICLE CONSIDERING THE DANGER THAT IT POSES TO ME. HAD IT NOT BEEN FOR THE FACT I PURCHASED NEW TIRES, I MAY NOT HAVE KNOWN ABOUT THE DEFECT IN TIME. I COULD HAVE DIED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2004 - EAU CLAIRE, WI
I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY RECALL NOTICES SINCE PURCHASING MY CAR USED WITH 12,000 MILES ON IT FROM A 5 STAR DEALERSHIP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY: PEDAL/LINKAGE

3/21/2004 - GRAND FORKS, ND
ON NUMEROUS INSTANCES MY CLUTCH WOULD STICK, AFTER DEPRESSING ONE MORE TIME IT WAS RELEASED. THIS CONTINUED, UNTIL FINALLY IT REMAINED STUCK WITH ME IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION. THIS CONDITION THEN REQUIRED A FULL REPLACEMENT OF THE CLUTCH SYSTEM, ALTHOUGH IT WAS THE FAULTY CLUTCH CABLE WHICH CAUSED THE CONDITION. THE CABLE CONSISTENTLY FOLDED UPON ITSELF, AS I AM TOLD, AND WAS KINKING UP IN THE ENGINE. I DON'T AGREE THAT A VEHICLE THAT IS ONLY A FEW YEARS OLD AND UNFORTUNATELY JUST OUT OF WARRANTY SHOULD BE EXPERIENCING SUCH COSTLY OR DANGEROUS PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds