Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2000 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3739 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (194) Engine And Engine Cooling (502) Interior Lighting (15) Seats (37) Suspension (411)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (91) Latches Locks Linkages (204) Service Brakes (1) Tires (96)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (63) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (14) Unknown Or Other (101)
Electrical System (1407) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (465) Vehicle Speed Control (176)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (391) Power Train (245) Steering (173) Visibility (132)
Engine (13) Fuel System Other (52) Seat Belts (54) Structure (159) Wheels (116)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 512
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/20/2017 - FOSTER CITY, CA
KEY WOULD NOT TURN IN THE IGNITION

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2017 - SHELTON, CT
2000 FORD FOCUS LX SEDAN - WELL MAINTAINED AND CARED FOR. AT APPROXIMATELY 58,000 MILES AND WITHOUT WARNING WENT TO START UP AND HEARD A LOUD BANG UNDER THE HOOD FOLLOWED BY A LOT OF METALLIC SOUND AND THEN STALLED. ATTEMPTED TO RESTART AND HEARD MORE METALLIC SOUND. TURNED OFF ENGINE HAD TOWED TO MECHANIC. MECHANIC DIAGNOSIS IS #4 VALVE SEAT DROP FAILURE CAUSING EXTENSIVE SHRAPNEL DAMAGE. ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. AFTER INTERNET RESEARCH SEE THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT FORD KNOWS ABOUT THE FOCUS SOHC 2L ENGINE VALVE SEAT DEFECT AND THEY WONT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/16/2016 - GRASS VALLEY, CA
WE PURCHASED A VEHICLE ON 09/03/2016 FROM GRASS VALLEY AUTO WHOLESALE BROKERS, GRASS VALLEY, CA. THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING A TICKING NOISE AND SEEMED TO HAVE A POWER ISSUE, IT KEPT LOSING IT. THE NEXT DAY I CALLED THE LOT AND TOLD THEM. THEY SAID THEY HAD IT CHECKED OUT AND NOT TO WORRY. I DID. IT KEPT HAPPENING SPORADICALLY. I HAD A 3 MONTH/3K MILES WARRANTY. AFTER CALLING THE LOT AGAIN, I RELAYED THE SAME SYMPTOMS THE CAR WAS HAVING. I WANTED TO KNOW DID THEY THINK IF IT COULD BE A TRANSMISSION ISSUE, COULD BE, WAS THE ANSWER I GOT.. IN NOVEMBER I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO JR'S TRANSMISSION, CAME RECOMMENDED. THEY SERVICED THE TRANSMISSION, IT WAS GOOD. IT WAS STILL HAPPENING. TWO DAYS AGO, COMING OFF A STOPLIGHT, I PUT THE GAS DOWN AND IT MADE A LOUD KNOCK . I HOBBLED TO THE CORNER, APPROX 100 YARDS. IT WAS TOWED TO THE AUTO LOT SUGGESTED MECHANIC, WHO PROBABLY WORKED ON THE VEHICLE IN THE BEGINNING. HE TOLD ME IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. WHEN I CALLED GRASS VALLEY WHOLESALE AUTO BROKERS, THE OWNERS SON, WHO IS ALSO A SALESMAN THERE, TOLD ME WE WILL WORK SOMETHING OUT. MAYBE MY DAD COULD TAKE CARE OF HALF OF (REFERRING TO THE ANTICIPATED COST OF REPAIRS). TODAY, THE OWNER WOULD NOT TALK TO ME, NOR ANSWER THE PHONE. I LEFT A MESSAGE WITH THE OWNERS SON. I HAVEN'T HEARD BACK. I SOUGHT OUT HELP TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE STRAIGHT AWAY FROM THE DEALER AND REPAIR BUT THE DEALER BRUSHED ME OFF. THAT WAS WHEN MY WARRANTY WAS IN EFFECT. NOW IM TWO WEEKS OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY SHOULD HAD CHECKED THE VEHICLE WHEN I HAD ORIGINALLY WANTED ANSWERS ABOUT WHAT WAS CAUSING IT. AS ACCORDING TO THE OWNER, HIS MECHANIC KNOWS HIS CARS INSIDE AND OUT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/16/2016 - GRASS VALLEY, CA
WE PURCHASED A VEHICLE ON 09/03/2016 FROM GRASS VALLEY AUTO WHOLESALE BROKERS, GRASS VALLEY, CA. THE VEHICLE WAS MAKING A TICKING NOISE AND SEEMED TO HAVE A POWER ISSUE, IT KEPT LOSING IT. THE NEXT DAY I CALLED THE LOT AND TOLD THEM. THEY SAID THEY HAD IT CHECKED OUT AND NOT TO WORRY. I DID. IT KEPT HAPPENING SPORADICALLY. I HAD A 3 MONTH/3K MILES WARRANTY. AFTER CALLING THE LOT AGAIN, I RELAYED THE SAME SYMPTOMS THE CAR WAS HAVING. I WANTED TO KNOW DID THEY THINK IF IT COULD BE A TRANSMISSION ISSUE, COULD BE, WAS THE ANSWER I GOT.. IN NOVEMBER I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO JR'S TRANSMISSION, CAME RECOMMENDED. THEY SERVICED THE TRANSMISSION, IT WAS GOOD. IT WAS STILL HAPPENING. TWO DAYS AGO, COMING OFF A STOPLIGHT, I PUT THE GAS DOWN AND IT MADE A LOUD KNOCK . I HOBBLED TO THE CORNER, APPROX 100 YARDS. IT WAS TOWED TO THE AUTO LOT SUGGESTED MECHANIC, WHO PROBABLY WORKED ON THE VEHICLE IN THE BEGINNING. HE TOLD ME IT NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. WHEN I CALLED GRASS VALLEY WHOLESALE AUTO BROKERS, THE OWNERS SON, WHO IS ALSO A SALESMAN THERE, TOLD ME WE WILL WORK SOMETHING OUT. MAYBE MY DAD COULD TAKE CARE OF HALF OF (REFERRING TO THE ANTICIPATED COST OF REPAIRS). TODAY, THE OWNER WOULD NOT TALK TO ME, NOR ANSWER THE PHONE. I LEFT A MESSAGE WITH THE OWNERS SON. I HAVEN'T HEARD BACK. I SOUGHT OUT HELP TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE STRAIGHT AWAY FROM THE DEALER AND REPAIR BUT THE DEALER BRUSHED ME OFF. THAT WAS WHEN MY WARRANTY WAS IN EFFECT. NOW IM TWO WEEKS OUT OF WARRANTY. THEY SHOULD HAD CHECKED THE VEHICLE WHEN I HAD ORIGINALLY WANTED ANSWERS ABOUT WHAT WAS CAUSING IT. AS ACCORDING TO THE OWNER, HIS MECHANIC KNOWS HIS CARS INSIDE AND OUT.

View Details

EQUIPMENT

12/14/2016 - MAKAWAO, HI
THE KEY WOULD NO LONGER TURN IN THE IGNITION, LEAVING ME AND MY BABY NIECE STRANDED FAR AWAY FROM HOME. WE PARKED THE VEHICLE AND WHEN WE RETURNED, WE FOUND OURSELVES STRANDED, BECAUSE THE IGNITION LOCK COULD NO LONGER BE OPERATED. APPARENTLY THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH FORD FOCUS LOCKS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/14/2016 - MAKAWAO, HI
THE KEY WOULD NO LONGER TURN IN THE IGNITION, LEAVING ME AND MY BABY NIECE STRANDED FAR AWAY FROM HOME. WE PARKED THE VEHICLE AND WHEN WE RETURNED, WE FOUND OURSELVES STRANDED, BECAUSE THE IGNITION LOCK COULD NO LONGER BE OPERATED. APPARENTLY THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH FORD FOCUS LOCKS!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/27/2016 - GRIFFIN, GA
I WAS TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE ONE AFTERNOON DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC AND THE CAR BEGAN TO STALL ALMOST AS IF IT WERE OUT OF GAS BUT IT WASN'T. BY THE GRACE OF GOD I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO RIGHT HAND LANE AND INTO THE EMERGENCY LANE AS THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN. I TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. AFTER SITTING IN THE EMERGENCY LANE FOR APPROXIMATELY 15 MINUTES THE CAR STARTED. I BEGAN TO MAKE MY WAY BACK IN TRAFFIC WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT ABOUT A QUARTER OF A MILE AND VEHICLE AGAIN STARTED TO STALL. I WAS TERRIFIED. I FINALLY MADE IT TO THE NEXT EXIT WHERE I LEFT THE CAR AND HAD A MECHANIC PICK IT UP. NO TROUBLE CODES WERE DETECTED. THIS WAS ONLY THE BEGINNING. IT SEEM TO GET A LOT WORSE DURING SUMMER MONTHS. I HAVE REPLACED SO MANY PARTS ON THIS CAR AND HAD IT CHECKED OUT BY NUMEROUS TECHNICIANS BUT NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT IS CAUSING THIS VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM. I HAVE CHECKED FOR RECALLS AND THERE HAVE BEEN RECALLS WITH THE SAME YEAR,MAKE, AND MODEL BUT FOR SOME REASON MY CAR ISN'T LISTED IN THE RECALL. EVERY TIME I DRIVE THIS CAR I AM NERVOUS WRECK. HOPING AND PRAYING THAT I WILL MAKE IT SAFELY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/8/2016 - CENTERVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2016 - CARTERLAKE, IA
TAKATA RECALL I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH ALL DOOR AND TRUNK LATCHES. THE LEFT REAR DOOR WILL NOT OPEN AT ALL. THE RIGHT REAR DOOR WILL ONLY OPEN SOMETIMES FROM THE INSIDE BUT IT IS A STRUGGLE. THIS IS ALSO THE CASE WITH PASSENGER FRONT DOOR AND DRIVER DOOR. RECENTLY (4 DAYS AGO) THE DRIVER DOOR STARTED NOT OPENING. TRUNK WILL SOMETIMES OPEN WITH KEY AND WILL NOT SHUT ALL THE WAY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2016 - BELCAMP, MD
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. AFTER RESTARTING, THE CONTACT NOTICED THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR AND SMOKE CAME FROM THE SIDE OF THE ENGINE WHERE THE BATTERY WAS CONNECTED. AFTERWARDS THE VEHICLE IGNITED INTO FLAMES. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE VEHICLE HAD ITS BATTERY REPLACED. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT HAD TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A SALVAGE YARD WHERE IT WAS DEEMED TOTALED. THE FIRE INVESTIGATOR INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FIRE STARTED FROM THE BATTERY CABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 512
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds