Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2000 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3713 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (193) Engine And Engine Cooling (502) Interior Lighting (15) Seats (37) Suspension (407)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (90) Latches Locks Linkages (203) Service Brakes (1) Tires (96)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (61) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (14) Unknown Or Other (102)
Electrical System (1399) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (465) Vehicle Speed Control (168)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (390) Power Train (243) Steering (172) Visibility (132)
Engine (5) Fuel System Other (52) Seat Belts (54) Structure (155) Wheels (116)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 508
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - GRAFTON, WI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 03V482000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHORTLY AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED THE FAILURE SPECIFIED ON THE RECALL NOTIFICATION RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO PERFORMED THE RECALL REPAIRS ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. HE DEALERSHIP STATED THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE TO HONOR RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,444.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/10/2014 - SHREWSBURY , MA
DRIVING AT 20MPH THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL FELL OFF. THIS HAPPENED DUE TO THE SUBFRAME BEING COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH AND IT BROKE AT THE ARM LEADING TO THE WHEEL. INSPECTION STICKER 9 MONTHS EARLIER DID NOT MENTION ANY ISSUES. CAR BODY DOES NOT APPEAR TO HAVE ANY RUST. $750 TO REPAIR USING USED SUBFRAME. VALUE OF CAR APPROX $1400. UNUSUAL LEVEL OF SUBFRAME RUST FOR AGE, CONDITION AND GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION OF CAR.

View Details

WHEELS

7/10/2014 - SHREWSBURY , MA
DRIVING AT 20MPH THE LEFT FRONT WHEEL FELL OFF. THIS HAPPENED DUE TO THE SUBFRAME BEING COMPLETELY RUSTED THROUGH AND IT BROKE AT THE ARM LEADING TO THE WHEEL. INSPECTION STICKER 9 MONTHS EARLIER DID NOT MENTION ANY ISSUES. CAR BODY DOES NOT APPEAR TO HAVE ANY RUST. $750 TO REPAIR USING USED SUBFRAME. VALUE OF CAR APPROX $1400. UNUSUAL LEVEL OF SUBFRAME RUST FOR AGE, CONDITION AND GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION OF CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2014 - DURANT, OK
REAR WHEEL BEARING WENT OUT , MAKING HORRIBLE NOISE AND GRINDING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/5/2014 - SILVER SPRING, MD
THE KEY WILL NOT TURN. THE STEERING WHEEL AND IGNITION ARE LOCKED.

View Details

TIRES

5/17/2014 - WANAQUE, NJ
COMPLAINT AGAINT GENERAL ALTIMAX RT TIRES, SIZE 195/60R15. EXTREAMLY LARGE BUBBLES IN SIDEWALLS IN 3 OUT OF 4 TIRES ON OUR 2000 FORD FOCUS. I JUST PURCHASED THE 2 FRONT TIRES 4/2/2014 AND THE BACK 2 TIRES JULY 2013.. 1 TIRE, RIGHT REAR WENT FLAT THE OTHER DAY, FOUND LARGE HOLE IN SIDEWALL OF TIRE, IT APEARED NOTHING HAD PUNTURED THE TIRE. I DID NOT THINK NOTHING OF IT AT 1ST. TOOK CAR TO FORD DEALER TO HAVE TIRE REPACED, WHICH THEY DID. WHILE AT THE FORD DEALER, THEY POINT OUT LARGE BUBBLES IN THE SIDEWALLS OF BOTH FRONT TIRES, THOSE 2 TIRES WERE JUST PURCHASED A LITTLE MORE THAN 1 MONTH AGO AND ONLY DRIVEN 2870 MILES. I CALLED GENEAL TIRE COMPANY AND THEY SAID TO CONTACT THE SELLER OF THE TIRE, TIRE SELLER SAYS TO SEE THE TIRE COMPANY TO GET ADDRESSED. THE TIRE BUBBLES ARE VERY LARGE AND A DANGEROUS CONDITION, THESE TIRES COULD EXPLODE AT ANY TIME, THE CAR COULD NOT BE DRIVEN WITH THESE TIRES. I JUST PURCHASED 2 TIRES OF A DIFFERENT BRAND FOR THE FRONT OF THE CAR, WHILE I FIGHT WITH GENERAL TIRE COMPANY. I WORKED AS A TECHNICIAN FOR A FORD DEALER FOR OVER 20 YEARS, AS MY PRIOR PROFESSION. I HAVE NEVER SEEN TIRES FOR HUGE BUBBLES LIKE THESE GENERAL TIRES. THESE GENERAL TIRES ARE SAFETY HAZZARD AND SHOULD BE RECALLED AND I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE. I WILL NEVER BUY GENERAL TIRES AGAIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/29/2014 - PENNSBURG, PA
I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR SINCE DECEMBER OF 2003 AND IT HAS BEEN A VERY LARGE MONEY PIT. THIS TIME THE CAR JUST STOPPED RUNNING. I HAD TAKEN IT TO AUTOZONE AND THEY TOLD ME IT NEED AN EGR SENSOR OR HOSING FOR IT. WHEN I WAS TURNING AT A LIGHT THE CAR JUST STOPPED RUNNING WHEN I HAD JUST TURNED ONTO A MAIN HIGHWAY. THERE HAS BEEN MAJOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS WITH IT SINCE DAY ONE. THIS CAR HAS HAD 5 CLUTCHES IN IT AND I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT THAT ALL IN ITSELF BECAUSE A CAR SHOULD NEVER NEED THAT MANY CLUTCHES WITHIN 100,000 MILES. THAT IS RIDICULOUS AND VERY EXPENSIVE AND I HAVE GOTTEN NO WHERE WITH THAT EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE OTHER 2000 FORD FOCUS'S WITH THE SAME ISSUE. MY ONE HEAD LIGHT IS NOT RIGHT IT NEVER HAS BEEN THERE IS CORROSION ON THE INSIDE OF THE HEADLAMP. THE REAR DOOR LATCH DOES NOT WORK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT DOOR ALSO DOES NOT LATCH CORRECTLY AND NO LONGER LOCKS AT ALL. THE TRUNK LATCH IS NOT RIGHT EITHER. IT WILL NOT ALWAYS UNLATCH AND THEN CLOSE AGAIN. IT OFTEN REQUIRES SEVERAL MORE TIMES OF PUSHING THE TRUNK RELEASE AND IT WILL FINALLY UNLOCK AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. I HAVE PUT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS INTO THIS LEMON. I HAVE ALL THE REPAIR PAPERWORK, IT HAS A BRAND NEW BREAKING SYSTEM, BRAND NEW TRANSMISSION, BRAND NEW ENGINE, BRAND NEW CLUTCH, BATTERY. WE HAVE REPLACED EVERYTHING IN THIS CAR AND HERE WE GO AGAIN....THIS CAR HAS SAT MORE THAN IT HAS BEEN DRIVEN!!! I HONESTLY FEEL THAT WE SHOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR THE MONEY WE SPENT ON BUYING THE CAR BECAUSE IT WAS AND IS STILL A LEMON SINCE DAY ONE......

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/23/2014 - MORGANTOWN , WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH ON A CURVED ROAD, A LOUD NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MOVED OFF THE ROADWAY TO INSPECT THE FAILURE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE SUBFRAME HAD BECOME COMPLETELY DETACHED FROM THE VEHICLE DUE TO CORROSION. THERE WAS ALSO A LARGE HOLE UNDER THE CARRIAGE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,140.

View Details

SEATS

4/7/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
A HOLE APPEARED IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT UPHOLSTERY, NEAR THE DRIVERS LEFT HIP. DISASSEMBLY OF THE SEAT CUSHION REVEALED A BROKEN WELD WHICH ALLOWED A SHARP METAL PIECE TO PUNCTURE THE UPHOLSTERY. I ALSO OBSERVED THIS ON REPLACEMENT SEATS I PURCHASED FROM A 2002 SVT FOCUS. PHOTOS (OF THE 2000 SEAT) AT HTTPS://FLIC.KR/P/MLE2FP; HTTPS://FLIC.KR/P/MLDUYH; HTTPS://FLIC.KR/P/MLE5W6. I WAS AWARE OF THE HOLE WHEN I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2005, BUT DID NOT DISCOVER THE CAUSE UNTIL RECENTLY, WHEN THE SEAT FOLDING MECHANISM FAILED, AND I HAD TO REPLACE THE SEATS, AND NOTICED A SIMILAR HOLE IN SEVERAL THAT I SAW. I THEN DISASSEMBLED THE ORIGINAL SEAT AND FOUND THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THIS ISSUE IS DANGEROUS IN THAT IT EXPOSES THE DRIVER'S BODY TO A SHARP METAL PROJECTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/21/2014 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
ENGINE STALLS WHILE MOVING AT SPEEDS UP TO 20MPH. DIFFICULT TO RESTART. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 508
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds