Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2000 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3707 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (193) Engine And Engine Cooling (502) Latches Locks Linkages (203) Service Brakes (1) Tires (95)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (90) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (14) Unknown Or Other (99)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (61) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (465) Vehicle Speed Control (168)
Electrical System (1399) Fuel System Gasoline (390) Power Train (243) Steering (172) Visibility (132)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Other (52) Seat Belts (54) Structure (155) Wheels (115)
Engine (5) Interior Lighting (15) Seats (37) Suspension (407)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 508
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/23/2014 - MORGANTOWN , WV
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH ON A WINDING ROAD, A LOUD NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE IT WAS NOTICED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE SUBFRAME DETACHED COMPLETELY DUE TO RUST CORROSION. A LARGE WHOLE WAS VISIBLE UNDERNEATH THE CARRIAGE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,140. JS

View Details

SEATS

4/7/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
A HOLE APPEARED IN THE DRIVER'S SEAT UPHOLSTERY, NEAR THE DRIVERS LEFT HIP. DISASSEMBLY OF THE SEAT CUSHION REVEALED A BROKEN WELD WHICH ALLOWED A SHARP METAL PIECE TO PUNCTURE THE UPHOLSTERY. I ALSO OBSERVED THIS ON REPLACEMENT SEATS I PURCHASED FROM A 2002 SVT FOCUS. PHOTOS (OF THE 2000 SEAT) AT HTTPS://FLIC.KR/P/MLE2FP; HTTPS://FLIC.KR/P/MLDUYH; HTTPS://FLIC.KR/P/MLE5W6. I WAS AWARE OF THE HOLE WHEN I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN 2005, BUT DID NOT DISCOVER THE CAUSE UNTIL RECENTLY, WHEN THE SEAT FOLDING MECHANISM FAILED, AND I HAD TO REPLACE THE SEATS, AND NOTICED A SIMILAR HOLE IN SEVERAL THAT I SAW. I THEN DISASSEMBLED THE ORIGINAL SEAT AND FOUND THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM. THIS ISSUE IS DANGEROUS IN THAT IT EXPOSES THE DRIVER'S BODY TO A SHARP METAL PROJECTION.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2014 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
ENGINE STALLS WHILE MOVING AT SPEEDS UP TO 20MPH. DIFFICULT TO RESTART. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/21/2014 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
ENGINE STALLS WHILE MOVING AT SPEEDS UP TO 20MPH. DIFFICULT TO RESTART. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2014 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
CAR WAS DRIVING NORMALLY, PARKED MY CAR, TRIED TO RESTART IT AND KEY WOULD NOT TURN. POSSIBLY A BROKEN IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/4/2014 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
AUTO ACCIDENT ON 8/26/2013 IN FREDERICKSBURG, VA, CORNER OF HWY 1 AND HWY 208 AT 9:15 AM. DRIVING BETWEEN 5-7 MPH DUE TO STOP AT RED LIGHT TO MAKE RIGHT TURN. DRIVER IN FRONT STARTED THROUGH THE RED LIGHT AND STOPPED. I HIT HER CAR BUT NO CAR BODY DENTS ON EITHER CAR. MY 2000 FORD FOCUS UPON IMPACT DEPLOYED (2) AIR BAGS, EVEN THOUGH I WAS THE ONLY PERSON IN THE CAR AND NO WEIGHT ON PASSENGER SEAT. THE AIR BAGS CAUSED ALL THE CAR DAMAGE AND SECOND DEGREE BURN ON MY RIGHT HAND. THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LID SMASHED THE CAR WINDSHIELD. THE CAR WAS DRIVABLE BUT UNSAFE TO DRIVE AWAY FROM ACCIDENT. I TOWED IT TO LOCAL FORD DEALER (PURVIS) ON HWY 1 FOR DIAGNOSTICS TEST TO CHECK THE SENSORS. THE DEALER REPORT SAID THAT THE CAR OPERATED AS DESIGNED AND BOTH AIR BAGS SHOULD DEPLOY AND CAUSE ALL THAT DAMAGE (CAR/BODY) ESTIMATED $4914.00 AT LOW SPEEDS. THE REPAIR COST IS MORE THAN THE VALUE OF THE CAR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2014 - ONTORIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT WAS DRIVING 35 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RETURN TO AN IDLE POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN FOR INSPECTION OR DIAGNOSIS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 00V302000 (VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2013 - MANTUA, NJ
I WAS PULLED OVER ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK ALMOST MIDNIGHT, AND WAS NOTIFIED BY THE OFFICER THAT I HAD NO TAILLIGHTS, BUT MY TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARD LIGHTS WERE WORKING. THE LICENSE PLATE LIGHT AND RUNNING LIGHTS ARE NOT WORKING EITHER. IN ADDITION, SEVERAL MONTHS AGO THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLEW A FUSE, AND HAVE REPEATEDLY BLOWN THE SAME FUSE. I SAW THAT THE WIRES ON TOP OF THE HATCHBACK, INSIDE THE RUBBER TUBE, ARE CRACKED AND BROKEN. I SAW ONLINE THAT THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT, AS I WORK SECOND SHIFT AND ALWAYS DRIVE IN THE DARK. I DON'T KNOW HOW LONG THE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN OUT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/23/2013 - MANTUA, NJ
I WAS PULLED OVER ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK ALMOST MIDNIGHT, AND WAS NOTIFIED BY THE OFFICER THAT I HAD NO TAILLIGHTS, BUT MY TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARD LIGHTS WERE WORKING. THE LICENSE PLATE LIGHT AND RUNNING LIGHTS ARE NOT WORKING EITHER. IN ADDITION, SEVERAL MONTHS AGO THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLEW A FUSE, AND HAVE REPEATEDLY BLOWN THE SAME FUSE. I SAW THAT THE WIRES ON TOP OF THE HATCHBACK, INSIDE THE RUBBER TUBE, ARE CRACKED AND BROKEN. I SAW ONLINE THAT THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT, AS I WORK SECOND SHIFT AND ALWAYS DRIVE IN THE DARK. I DON'T KNOW HOW LONG THE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN OUT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

8/23/2013 - MANTUA, NJ
I WAS PULLED OVER ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK ALMOST MIDNIGHT, AND WAS NOTIFIED BY THE OFFICER THAT I HAD NO TAILLIGHTS, BUT MY TURN SIGNALS AND HAZARD LIGHTS WERE WORKING. THE LICENSE PLATE LIGHT AND RUNNING LIGHTS ARE NOT WORKING EITHER. IN ADDITION, SEVERAL MONTHS AGO THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS BLEW A FUSE, AND HAVE REPEATEDLY BLOWN THE SAME FUSE. I SAW THAT THE WIRES ON TOP OF THE HATCHBACK, INSIDE THE RUBBER TUBE, ARE CRACKED AND BROKEN. I SAW ONLINE THAT THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM. THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT, AS I WORK SECOND SHIFT AND ALWAYS DRIVE IN THE DARK. I DON'T KNOW HOW LONG THE LIGHTS HAVE BEEN OUT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 508
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds