Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2000 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3723 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (194) Engine And Engine Cooling (502) Interior Lighting (15) Seats (37) Suspension (409)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (90) Latches Locks Linkages (204) Service Brakes (1) Tires (96)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (63) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (14) Unknown Or Other (99)
Electrical System (1405) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (465) Vehicle Speed Control (172)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (391) Power Train (244) Steering (173) Visibility (132)
Engine (9) Fuel System Other (52) Seat Belts (54) Structure (159) Wheels (116)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 511
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/12/2015 - ROCKMART, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS STARTED TO FLICKER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE CAR JUST QUIT RUNNING AFTER 10 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND GET HOME I HAVE HAD THIS CAR (2000 FORD FOCUS) FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR THE PLACE I PURCHASED IT FROM DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT ANY PROBLEMS BUT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND THEY HAVE ONLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE PUT AN ALTERNATOR ON IT AND CHANGED A COUPLE OF WIRES THAT WERE MELTED BUT IT DID NOT HELP! I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR NOW ESPECIALLY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD IN IT WITH ME THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE!!!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/12/2015 - ROCKMART, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS STARTED TO FLICKER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE CAR JUST QUIT RUNNING AFTER 10 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND GET HOME I HAVE HAD THIS CAR (2000 FORD FOCUS) FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR THE PLACE I PURCHASED IT FROM DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT ANY PROBLEMS BUT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND THEY HAVE ONLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE PUT AN ALTERNATOR ON IT AND CHANGED A COUPLE OF WIRES THAT WERE MELTED BUT IT DID NOT HELP! I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR NOW ESPECIALLY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD IN IT WITH ME THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/12/2015 - ROCKMART, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS STARTED TO FLICKER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE CAR JUST QUIT RUNNING AFTER 10 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND GET HOME I HAVE HAD THIS CAR (2000 FORD FOCUS) FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR THE PLACE I PURCHASED IT FROM DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT ANY PROBLEMS BUT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND THEY HAVE ONLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE PUT AN ALTERNATOR ON IT AND CHANGED A COUPLE OF WIRES THAT WERE MELTED BUT IT DID NOT HELP! I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR NOW ESPECIALLY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD IN IT WITH ME THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/17/2015 - NEWARK, OH
THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER (WHERE THE KEY INSERTS/TURNS ON THE STEERING COLUMN) LOCKED UP ON ME WITHOUT WARNING, STRANDING ME WHERE I LAST PARKED THE CAR. NO AMOUNT OF LUBRICATION OR QUICK FIXES HELPED. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON ISSUE WITH THE FORD FOCUS IN THAT YEAR RANGE. I'M GETTING QUOTES FROM LOCKSMITHS IN THE $250 RANGE. LUCKILY I WASN'T STRANDED IN A BAD PLACE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2015 - ARNOLD, MO
VEHICLE TURNING AND COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE SPPEDING. PER INSURANCE COMPANY, VEHICLE WAS TOTALLED. PAID FOR REPAIRS, THEN REALIZED THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2015 - GREENBAY, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2000 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT STEPPED OUT OF THE VEHICLE AS IT FILLED WITH SMOKE AND THEN CAUGHT FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,450.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - LANSING , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, SMOKE EMITTED THROUGH THE VENTS AND THE ENGINE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND STATED THAT THE FIRE INITIATED AT THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. A POLICE AND A FIRE REPORT WERE NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 139,000. UPDATED 2/24/15

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/20/2014 - AURORA , CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE SLIP ON ICE AND CRASHED INTO A BOULDER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT PIECES OF THE DASHBOARD FRACTURED CAUSING INJURIES TO THE FRONT PASSENGER+S LEFT SIDE OF THE FACE, FRONT OF NECK, CHEST, ABDOMEN, AND LEFT THIGH WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - BUHL, ID
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER CLOSING THE REAR HATCH, THE RUNNING LIGHTS, POWER LOCKS, AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL LIGHTS FAILED TO ACTIVATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 214,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - WESTLAND, MI
KEY WONT GO INTO IGNITION, WHEEL LOCKED UP, HAVE TO GET LOCKSMITH TO FIX...BARELY AFFORDABLE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 511
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds