Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2000 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 3727 complaints filed for the 2000 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (194) Engine And Engine Cooling (502) Interior Lighting (15) Seats (37) Suspension (410)
Child Seat (2) Equipment (90) Latches Locks Linkages (204) Service Brakes (1) Tires (96)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (63) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (14) Unknown Or Other (99)
Electrical System (1405) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Parking Brake (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (465) Vehicle Speed Control (174)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (391) Power Train (244) Steering (173) Visibility (132)
Engine (10) Fuel System Other (52) Seat Belts (54) Structure (159) Wheels (116)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 511
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/27/2015 - CARLINVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK THE VEHICLE, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE RPMS INCREASED. THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED OVER A CURB AND CRASHED INTO A HOUSE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE INSURANCE FACILITY AND THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2015 - NORTH OLMSTED, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE AND HEAVY SMOKE APPEARED. THE CONTACT STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND JUMPED OUT. THERE WERE FLAMES UNDER THE BOTTOM OF THE VEHICLE NEAR THE ENGINE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 160,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/1/2015 - DOWNERS GROVE, IL
VEHICLE WAS ACCELERATING FROM A TRAFFIC STOP ON A FOUR LANE CITY STREET. AT APPROXIMATELY 200 FEET BEYOND STOP THE VEHICLE WENT OUT OF CONTROL AND BEGAN SWERVING INTO ONCOMING LANES. BREAKS AND STEERING WERE INEFFECTUAL. BECAUSE OF SLOW SPEED, VEHICLE STOPPED WITHING TWENTY TO FORTY FEET. INITIAL INSPECTION ON SITE INDICATED THE RIGHT FRONT WHEEL SEPARATED FROM THE LOWER SUSPENSION ARM AND DRIVE SHAFT. INSPECTION BY A QUALIFIED MECHANIC AND INSURANCE ADJUSTER STATED THAT RUST HAD WEAKENED SUSPENSION ARM CAUSING IT TO BREAK APPROXIMATELY 5.5 INCHES INWARD FROM THE BALL-JOINT ATTACHMENT POINT. BECAUSE OF THE SLOW SPEED AND LIGHT TRAFFIC THERE WERE NO CASUALTIES OR PROPERTY DAMAGE. THIS VEHICLE WHILE BEING FIFTEEN YEARS OLD HAS ONLY SEVENTY-SIX THOUSAND MILE AND IS GARAGE KEPT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/20/2015 - ROFF, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER SHIFTING INTO THE DRIVE POSITION, THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY ACCELERATED TO 20 MPH. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS ENGAGED AND WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 89,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/12/2015 - ROCKMART, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS STARTED TO FLICKER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE CAR JUST QUIT RUNNING AFTER 10 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND GET HOME I HAVE HAD THIS CAR (2000 FORD FOCUS) FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR THE PLACE I PURCHASED IT FROM DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT ANY PROBLEMS BUT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND THEY HAVE ONLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE PUT AN ALTERNATOR ON IT AND CHANGED A COUPLE OF WIRES THAT WERE MELTED BUT IT DID NOT HELP! I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR NOW ESPECIALLY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD IN IT WITH ME THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/12/2015 - ROCKMART, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS STARTED TO FLICKER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE CAR JUST QUIT RUNNING AFTER 10 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND GET HOME I HAVE HAD THIS CAR (2000 FORD FOCUS) FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR THE PLACE I PURCHASED IT FROM DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT ANY PROBLEMS BUT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND THEY HAVE ONLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE PUT AN ALTERNATOR ON IT AND CHANGED A COUPLE OF WIRES THAT WERE MELTED BUT IT DID NOT HELP! I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR NOW ESPECIALLY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD IN IT WITH ME THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE!!!

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/12/2015 - ROCKMART, GA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY HEADLIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS STARTED TO FLICKER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE CAR JUST QUIT RUNNING AFTER 10 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AND GET HOME I HAVE HAD THIS CAR (2000 FORD FOCUS) FOR A LITTLE OVER A YEAR THE PLACE I PURCHASED IT FROM DID NOT TELL ME ABOUT ANY PROBLEMS BUT I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND THEY HAVE ONLY GOTTEN WORSE I HAVE PUT AN ALTERNATOR ON IT AND CHANGED A COUPLE OF WIRES THAT WERE MELTED BUT IT DID NOT HELP! I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR NOW ESPECIALLY WITH MY 2 YEAR OLD IN IT WITH ME THIS CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/17/2015 - NEWARK, OH
THE IGNITION LOCK CYLINDER (WHERE THE KEY INSERTS/TURNS ON THE STEERING COLUMN) LOCKED UP ON ME WITHOUT WARNING, STRANDING ME WHERE I LAST PARKED THE CAR. NO AMOUNT OF LUBRICATION OR QUICK FIXES HELPED. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ, THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY COMMON ISSUE WITH THE FORD FOCUS IN THAT YEAR RANGE. I'M GETTING QUOTES FROM LOCKSMITHS IN THE $250 RANGE. LUCKILY I WASN'T STRANDED IN A BAD PLACE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2015 - ARNOLD, MO
VEHICLE TURNING AND COLLIDED WITH ANOTHER VEHICLE SPPEDING. PER INSURANCE COMPANY, VEHICLE WAS TOTALLED. PAID FOR REPAIRS, THEN REALIZED THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2015 - GREENBAY, WI
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2000 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THERE WAS SMOKE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND THE ENGINE STALLED. THE CONTACT STEPPED OUT OF THE VEHICLE AS IT FILLED WITH SMOKE AND THEN CAUGHT FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND NO INJURIES WERE REPORTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,450.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 511
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds