Auto Recalls for Consumers

HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI - 2000 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by HARLEY DAVIDSON

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2000 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 HARLEY DAVIDSON FLHTCUI, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (1) Suspension (1)
Electrical System (9) Equipment (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/1/2011 - PORT ORANGE, FL
UNEXPECTED COMPLETE SHUT-DOWN OF ENGINE AND ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. USUALLY HAPPENS AT SLOW SPEEDS, IN FIRST, SECOND, OR THIRD GEAR. HAS BEEN HAPPENING MORE OFTEN. ONCE A MONTH THEN ONCE A WEEK, NOW ALMOST EVERY DAY. HAVE REPLACED FORK KEYED LOCK ELECTRICAL SWITCH ONCE IN PAST YEAR. HAVE ALSO BEEN EXPERIENCING MOMENTARY ENGINE HESITATIONS AS IF IGNITION WERE INTERRUPTED FOR A MOMENT. HAPPENS ALL THE TIME BUT NOT AT ANY REGULAR INTERVALS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/5/2009 - KILLEN, AL
ALTERNATOR ON 2000 MODEL HARLEY DAVIDSON ULTRA CLASSIC MOTORCYCLES WERE KNOWINGLY INSTALLED (SEE HARLEY DAVIDSON SERVICE BULLETIN M-1111 DATED FBE.16,2001)ON THIS YEAR MOTORCYCLE WITH A MISMATCHED STATOR/ROTOR COMBINATION. IN DOING SO THE STATOR BEING UNDERSIZED FAILS UNDER NORMAL DRIVING CONDITIONS. MINE FAILED ON ME. I , SINCE HAVE FOUND OUT THAT THIS WAS A KNOWN PROBLEM TO HARLEY DAVIDSON AND THEY DID NOT PERFORM A RECALL TO CORRECT THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION. ALL PERSONS OWNING THIS YEAR MOTORCYCLE HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THESE STATORS AT THEIR OWN EXPENSE. A VERY EXPENSIVE LABOR EXPENSE FOR THE OWNERS OF THESE MOTORCYCLES. TO MAKE THE SITUATION EVEN MORE DANGEROUS TO OPERATORS OF THESE MOTORCYCLES HARLEY DAVIDSON DID ISSUE A RECALL FOR THE 40AMP MAIN BREAKER TO BE REPLACE WITH A 50AMP MAIN BREAKER. THIS ONLY INSURED THAT THE 38 AMP STATOR WOULD FAIL. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP I USE THAT MY MOTORCYCLE HAD THE 40 AMP BREAKER REPLACE WITH THE 50AMP BREAKER DUE TO THIS RECALL BUT THAT MY MOTORCYCLE STILL HAD THE "38AMP STATOR AND THE 45AMP ROTOR". A DANGEROUS COMBINATION. LET ME EXPLAIN THE DANGER. WHEN YOUR STATOR FAILS A VERY SMALL RED LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE TO WARN THE OPERATOR OF A PROBLEM. YOU DO NOT KNOW THE PROBLEM AND THE MOTORCYCLE WILL CONTINUE TO OPERATE OFF THE BATTERY. YOU PROBABLY,IN DAYLIGHT HOURS WILL NEVER EVEN NOTICE THIS WARNING LIGHT ANYWAY. (AS I DID NOT). THE MOTORCYCLE WILL OPERATE NORMALLY AS THE BATTERY CONTINUES TO LOSE POWER. WHEN THE BATTERY FINALLY FALLS BELOW THE THRESHOLD OPERATING VOLTAGE OF THE ELECTRONICS FOR THE MOTORCYCLE THE ENGINE WILL BEGIN TO BACKFIRE AND THE OPERATOR WILL ,OUT OF INSTINCT, PULL THE CLUTCH IN. WHEN THIS HAPPENS THE ENGINE WILL DIE IMMEDIATELY. THIS CAN BE A LIFE THREATENING SITUATION. (ALMOST FOR ME). THERE MAY HAVE BEEN PERSONS THAT HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN AND CAUSED AN ACCIDENT THAT THEY MAY HAVE BEEN KILLED AND NOBODY EVEN REALIZED THIS WAS THE CAUSE. I CONTACTED HARLEY DAVIDSON AND THEY ARE NOT INTERESTED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE

6/22/2007 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
2000 HARLEY-DAVIDSON FLHTCUI (ELECTRA GLIDE ULTRA CLASSIC) CAM CHAIN TENSIONER FAILED AT 37,400 MILES. LARGE CHUNK OF MATERIAL BLOCKED OIL FLOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: ALTERNATOR/GENERATOR/REGULATOR

10/14/2005 - HARRISON, TN
WHILE DRIVING 65 M.P.H. ON HIGHWAY WITH PASSENGER, EXPERIENCED COMPLETE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTDOWN, RESULTING IN A DANGEROUS EMERGENCY STOP IN RURAL AREA. REPAIRING DEALER INFORMED ME THAT THE STATOR HAD BURNED UP, AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WITH A NEW HEAVY-DUTY DESIGN. AN H-D SERVICE BULLETIN STIPULATED WARRANTY REPLACEMENT ONLY IF STATOR FAILED WITHIN FIRST 12,000 MILES, EVEN THOUGH STATOR FAILURE IS KNOWN TO BE A WIDESPREAD PROBLEM. MY MOTORCYCLE HAD LESS THAN 16,000 MILES WHEN FAILURE OCCURRED. THESE FAULTY STATORS SHOULD BE REPLACED AT NO CHARGE DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY OF SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH IN A FAILURE AT HIGH SPEED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

6/14/2004 - GROSSE ILE, MI
THE PROBLEM INDICATED IN THE CIRCUIT BREAKER RECALL 04V134000 OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING AT 75 MPH OVER A BRIDGE ON THE FREEWAY. THE MOTORCYCLE REGAINED POWER WITHIN 45 SECONDS, BUT THIS ALMOST RESULTED IN AN ACCIDENT. MOTORCYCLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALERSHIP, BUT THEY DID NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE RECURRED WITHIN 6,000 MILES. THIS VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL DUE TO VIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: FUSES AND CIRCUIT BREAKERS

4/6/2004 - BOWIE, MD
YOUR CAMPAIGN NUMBER 04V134000 INCLUDES MODEL YEAR 2001-2003 H-D MOTORCYCLES. I HAVE A MODEL YEAR 2000 H-D MOTORCYCLE WITH THE EXACT SAME ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY 10 TIMES SINCE I HAVE HAD THE MOTORCYCLE. (THE INCIDENT DATE IS THE LAST TIME THE PROBLEM OCCURRED)

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: DELIVERY: FUEL PUMP

3/23/2004 - INDIALANTIC, FL
COMPLETE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTDOWN LIKELY CAUSED BY SAME PROBLEM AS ADDRESSED IN NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V134000. THE MAIN CIRCUIT BREAKER OPENS WITHOUT WARNING AND CAUSES A COMPLETE FAILURE OF ALL SYSTEMS. THIS AFFECTED MY 2000 FLHTCUI AND POSES AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHERE ALL SYSTEMS, INCLUDING LIGHTS FAIL. THIS COULD EASILY RESULT IN A FATAL ACCIDENT IF IT OCCURS IN A HIGH TRAFFIC CONDITION.

View Details

COMMUNICATIONS: HORN ASSEMBLY

3/23/2004 - INDIALANTIC, FL
COMPLETE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTDOWN LIKELY CAUSED BY SAME PROBLEM AS ADDRESSED IN NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V134000. THE MAIN CIRCUIT BREAKER OPENS WITHOUT WARNING AND CAUSES A COMPLETE FAILURE OF ALL SYSTEMS. THIS AFFECTED MY 2000 FLHTCUI AND POSES AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHERE ALL SYSTEMS, INCLUDING LIGHTS FAIL. THIS COULD EASILY RESULT IN A FATAL ACCIDENT IF IT OCCURS IN A HIGH TRAFFIC CONDITION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS

3/23/2004 - INDIALANTIC, FL
COMPLETE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTDOWN LIKELY CAUSED BY SAME PROBLEM AS ADDRESSED IN NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V134000. THE MAIN CIRCUIT BREAKER OPENS WITHOUT WARNING AND CAUSES A COMPLETE FAILURE OF ALL SYSTEMS. THIS AFFECTED MY 2000 FLHTCUI AND POSES AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHERE ALL SYSTEMS, INCLUDING LIGHTS FAIL. THIS COULD EASILY RESULT IN A FATAL ACCIDENT IF IT OCCURS IN A HIGH TRAFFIC CONDITION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/23/2004 - INDIALANTIC, FL
COMPLETE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM SHUTDOWN LIKELY CAUSED BY SAME PROBLEM AS ADDRESSED IN NHTSA RECALL CAMPAIGN 04V134000. THE MAIN CIRCUIT BREAKER OPENS WITHOUT WARNING AND CAUSES A COMPLETE FAILURE OF ALL SYSTEMS. THIS AFFECTED MY 2000 FLHTCUI AND POSES AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHERE ALL SYSTEMS, INCLUDING LIGHTS FAIL. THIS COULD EASILY RESULT IN A FATAL ACCIDENT IF IT OCCURS IN A HIGH TRAFFIC CONDITION.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds