Auto Recalls for Consumers

MERCEDES E430 - 2000 MERCEDES E430 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by MERCEDES

There are 18 complaints filed for the 2000 MERCEDES E430

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 MERCEDES E430. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 MERCEDES E430, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (3) Other (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/21/2016 - PARK RIDGE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 MERCEDES-BENZ E430. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURES LISTED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 98V256000 (AIR BAGS), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 120,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/3/2015 - EDISON, NJ
MOUNTING FOR SUSPENSION SPRING FAILED, CAUSING THE SUSPENSION SPRING TO FALL OUT. I WAS GOING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, AND IT HAPPENED AT THE END OF MY DRIVEWAY. HAD I BEEN CRUISING ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED A CRASH.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/12/2014 - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR, ALL OF THE DASHBOARD INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS WENT OUT. I COULD NO LONGER GET A READING ON THE SPEED I WAS DRIVING, THE GAS LEVEL, ETC. OR ANYTHING ELSE. ADDITIONALLY, THE BRAKE LIGHTS AND THE TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS WENT OUT. I WAS LUCKY THAT THIS HAPPENED DURING THE DAY AS THERE WAS STILL DAYLIGHT. HAD IT HAPPENED AT NIGHT, THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR PROBLEM AS I WAS MORE THAN 45 MINUTES FROM HOME. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS A RECALL OF CERTAIN 2000 S430 VEHICLES DUE TO THIS "CLUSTER LIGHT "MALFUNCTION." I CHECKED MY VIN AND APPARENTLY MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, THOUGH I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: INSTRUMENT PANEL

10/12/2014 - STOCKBRIDGE, GA
AS I WAS DRIVING THE CAR, ALL OF THE DASHBOARD INSTRUMENT CLUSTER LIGHTS WENT OUT. I COULD NO LONGER GET A READING ON THE SPEED I WAS DRIVING, THE GAS LEVEL, ETC. OR ANYTHING ELSE. ADDITIONALLY, THE BRAKE LIGHTS AND THE TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS WENT OUT. I WAS LUCKY THAT THIS HAPPENED DURING THE DAY AS THERE WAS STILL DAYLIGHT. HAD IT HAPPENED AT NIGHT, THIS WOULD HAVE BEEN A MAJOR PROBLEM AS I WAS MORE THAN 45 MINUTES FROM HOME. I UNDERSTAND THERE WAS A RECALL OF CERTAIN 2000 S430 VEHICLES DUE TO THIS "CLUSTER LIGHT "MALFUNCTION." I CHECKED MY VIN AND APPARENTLY MY VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL, THOUGH I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/4/2014 - STERLING, VA
MOUNTING FOR SUSPENSION SPRING FAILED, CAUSING THE SUSPENSION SPRING TO FALL OUT. I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE, AND IT HAPPENED AT THE END OF MY DRIVEWAY. HAD I BEEN CRUISING ON THE HIGHWAY, IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED A CRASH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/7/2011 - NORTHRIDGE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 MERCEDES E430. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO DECELERATE INSTEAD. THE FAILURE WOULD RECUR SEVERAL TIMES INTERMITTENTLY. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION

10/14/2010 - BROOKLYN, NY
2000 E430 SPORT. NO NEED TO PRESS THE BRAKE TO MOVE THE SHIFT GEAR OR TO REMOVE THE KEY WHILE THE CAR IS OFF. THE SHIFT FEAR MOVES FREELY FROM PARK TO DRIVE WHILE THE VEHICLE IS OFF.

View Details

AIR BAGS: SIDE/WINDOW

8/26/2010 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 MERCEDES BENZ E430. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SIDE CURTAIN AIR BAGS INDEPENDENTLY DEPLOYED AS HE STARTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE REPAIRS WOULD BE AT HIS EXPENSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 202,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/1/2010 - WEST ORANGE, NJ
2000 MERCEDES BENZ E430. THE CONSUMER WAS IN A HEAD-ON COLLISION AND AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONSUMER STATED AN OUT OF CONTROL VEHICLE HIT THE RIGHT FRONT OF HER VEHICLE. THE OTHER DRIVER'S AIR BAG DEPLOYED. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM MB STATED THE SRS FUNCTIONED AS DESIGNED; IT DIDN'T DEPLOY BECAUSE THE IMPACT WAS BELOW DEPLOYMENT THRESHOLD. THE CONSUMER THEN RECEIVED A LETTER IN THE MAIL WHICH STATED THE DAMAGE SUSTAINED BY THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEVERE ENOUGH TO REACH AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. THE LETTER ALSO STATED THE SEAT BELT WOULD HAVE RESTRAINED THE CONSUMER IF IT WAS WORN PROPERLY. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SEAT BELT DID NOT RESTRAIN HER PROPERLY. UPDATED 05/12/10 UPDATED 07/06/10

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/1/2010 - WEST ORANGE, NJ
2000 MERCEDES BENZ E430. THE CONSUMER WAS IN A HEAD-ON COLLISION AND AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONSUMER STATED AN OUT OF CONTROL VEHICLE HIT THE RIGHT FRONT OF HER VEHICLE. THE OTHER DRIVER'S AIR BAG DEPLOYED. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM MB STATED THE SRS FUNCTIONED AS DESIGNED; IT DIDN'T DEPLOY BECAUSE THE IMPACT WAS BELOW DEPLOYMENT THRESHOLD. THE CONSUMER THEN RECEIVED A LETTER IN THE MAIL WHICH STATED THE DAMAGE SUSTAINED BY THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SEVERE ENOUGH TO REACH AN AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. THE LETTER ALSO STATED THE SEAT BELT WOULD HAVE RESTRAINED THE CONSUMER IF IT WAS WORN PROPERLY. THE CONSUMER STATED THE SEAT BELT DID NOT RESTRAIN HER PROPERLY. UPDATED 05/12/10 UPDATED 07/06/10

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds