Auto Recalls for Consumers

OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA - 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Communications (2) Exterior Lighting (15) Power Train (15) Structure (3) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (12) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/23/2011 - NEWARK, DE
HAZARD SWITCH INTERFERING WITH TURN SIGNAL OPERATION - THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL BECAME INOPERATIVE - ALL BULBS LIT UP EXCEPT FOR THE RIGHT SIDE MARKER LIGHT WHEN THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL WAS TURNED ON; HOWEVER, THE MARKER LIGHT AND ALL OTHERS THAT ARE SUPPOSED TO FLASHED WITH THE 4-WAY FLASHERS. ALL BULBS AND THE FLASHER UNIT WAS REPLACED WITH NEGATIVE RESULTS. DURING FURTHER EXAMINATION ON 9/23/11 WHEN THE FLASHER SWITCH WAS JIGGLED THE TURN SIGNAL BEGAN WORKING AND THEN STOPPED BUT THEN WORKED AGAIN EACH TIME THAT THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH WAS JIGGLED. THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL FOR A SIMILAR ISSUE WHERE THE HAZARD SWITCH INTERFERED WITH THE STOP LAMPS - CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V231000. TWO DEALERSHIPS AND OLDSMOBILE WERE CONTACTED REGARDING THIS AND THE ANSWER WAS THAT THERE ARE NO OPEN RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE. ONE OF THEM MENTIONED THAT A RECALL HAD BEEN DONE IN A YEAR PRIOR TO 2008 WHICH INVOLVED REPLACING THE HAZARD SWITCH. AN OLDSMOBILE REP STATED THAT THE 2008 RECALL ONLY PERTAINED TO VEHICLES WITH CERTAIN VIN NUMBERS BUT COULD NOT CONFIRM THAT THE REPLACEMENT HAZARD SWITCH INSTALLED IN A PREVIOUS RECALL WAS NOT FROM THE SAME STOCK AS THE SWITCH INSTALLED IN THE VEHICLES THAT HAD THE HAZARD SWITCH REPLACED IN THE 2008 RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/23/2011 - NEWARK, DE
HAZARD SWITCH INTERFERING WITH TURN SIGNAL OPERATION - THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL BECAME INOPERATIVE - ALL BULBS LIT UP EXCEPT FOR THE RIGHT SIDE MARKER LIGHT WHEN THE RIGHT TURN SIGNAL WAS TURNED ON; HOWEVER, THE MARKER LIGHT AND ALL OTHERS THAT ARE SUPPOSED TO FLASHED WITH THE 4-WAY FLASHERS. ALL BULBS AND THE FLASHER UNIT WAS REPLACED WITH NEGATIVE RESULTS. DURING FURTHER EXAMINATION ON 9/23/11 WHEN THE FLASHER SWITCH WAS JIGGLED THE TURN SIGNAL BEGAN WORKING AND THEN STOPPED BUT THEN WORKED AGAIN EACH TIME THAT THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH WAS JIGGLED. THERE HAS BEEN A RECALL FOR A SIMILAR ISSUE WHERE THE HAZARD SWITCH INTERFERED WITH THE STOP LAMPS - CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 08V231000. TWO DEALERSHIPS AND OLDSMOBILE WERE CONTACTED REGARDING THIS AND THE ANSWER WAS THAT THERE ARE NO OPEN RECALLS FOR THIS VEHICLE. ONE OF THEM MENTIONED THAT A RECALL HAD BEEN DONE IN A YEAR PRIOR TO 2008 WHICH INVOLVED REPLACING THE HAZARD SWITCH. AN OLDSMOBILE REP STATED THAT THE 2008 RECALL ONLY PERTAINED TO VEHICLES WITH CERTAIN VIN NUMBERS BUT COULD NOT CONFIRM THAT THE REPLACEMENT HAZARD SWITCH INSTALLED IN A PREVIOUS RECALL WAS NOT FROM THE SAME STOCK AS THE SWITCH INSTALLED IN THE VEHICLES THAT HAD THE HAZARD SWITCH REPLACED IN THE 2008 RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2011 - TEMPE, AZ
PLASTIC CLAMP HOLDING POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE TO RH SPLASH GUARD BROKE OPEN ALLOWING CABLE TO SHIFT FORWARD AND DROOP ONTO TOP OF IDLER ARM. SUBSEQUENT DETERIORATION OF CABLE JACKET CAUSED CABLE TO SHORT ON IDLER ARM, ENERGIZING CHASSIS OF VEHICLE WHEN ATTEMPTING TO RESTART, HEATING UP PARKING BRAKE CABLE, BURNING LH KICK PANEL, CARPET, INSULATION, AND PARKING BRAKE CABLE GROMMET AT FLOOR OF VEHICLE. SOLUTION WILL INCLUDE INSTALLATION OF STEEL/RUBBER HOLDING CLAMP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/2/2011 - BALDWIN, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY BETWEEN 5-10 MPH, THE CONTACT APPROACHED A STOP SIGNAL AND THE ABS BEGAN TO ENGAGE SUDDENLY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE IN OPERATION WITH AN INCREASE IN THE STOPPING DISTANCE. WHEN REACHING THE DESTINATION, THE CONTACT DISABLED THE ABS FUSE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 114,000. UPDATED 03/15/11 UPDATED 03/21/11

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK

2/2/2011 - BALDWIN, NY
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY BETWEEN 5-10 MPH, THE CONTACT APPROACHED A STOP SIGNAL AND THE ABS BEGAN TO ENGAGE SUDDENLY. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE IN OPERATION WITH AN INCREASE IN THE STOPPING DISTANCE. WHEN REACHING THE DESTINATION, THE CONTACT DISABLED THE ABS FUSE. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 114,000. UPDATED 03/15/11 UPDATED 03/21/11

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/3/2009 - GREENFIELD, WI
. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FUEL GAUGES ON THE INSTRUMENT CONTROL PANEL DISPLAYS INACCURATE READINGS OF THE AMOUNT OF FUEL INSIDE OF THE FUEL TANK. AS A CONSEQUENCE HIS RISK FOR VEHICLE CRASH INCREASES SHOULD THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY STALL BECAUSE OF DEPLETED FUEL LEVELS.THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 48,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS: SWITCH

4/23/2009 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. THE REAR BRAKE LIGHTS FAILED WHICH MADE IT DIFFICULT FOR ANOTHER DRIVER TO KNOW THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BRAKING AND/OR STOPPED WHICH COULD AVOID A CRASH. THE DEALER REPAIRED THE VEHICLE ACCORDING TO RECALL # 08V231000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING:BRAKE LIGHTS:SWITCH). THE CONTACT WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR PAYING $372.00 FOR THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT HE SHOULD NOT HAVE PAID FOR THE REPAIR AND THEY WOULD REIMBURSE HIM; HOWEVER, SHORTLY AFTERWARDS A REPRESENTATIVE DENIED REIMBURSEMENT STATING THAT HIS VEHICLE WAS EXCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE CONTACT HAS NOT RECEIVED A REIMBURSEMENT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,008 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 75,667.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HAZARD FLASHING WARNING LIGHTS: SWITCH

9/25/2008 - HUDSON, NH
I PURCHASED A USED 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA IN JUNE 2008. THE VEHICLE PASSED STATE REQUIRED INSPECTION WITH NO ISSUES. ON 9/19/08 THE STOP LAMPS UNEXPECTEDLY BLEW ALL FOUR BULBS AND THE STOP LAMPS NOW DO NOT WORK AT ALL EVEN WITH NEW BULBS INSTALLED. UPON DOING INTERNET SEARCH FOR CAUSES AND REPAIR SOLUTIONS, I FOUND THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL IN 2001 REGARDING STOP LAMP/HAZARD FLASHER SWITCH FAILURES. I CALLED A LOCAL DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE HAZARD FLASHER SWITCH HAD BEEN REPLACED DURING THE FIRST RECALL AND THEY COULD NOT DO THE REPAIR AGAIN, HOWEVER, I ALSO FOUND THAT A NEW RECALL HAD BEEN ISSUED IN 2008 FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I HAVE REPLACED THE BULBS AND STOP LAMP SWITCH WITH NO RESOLUTION TO THE FAILURE OF THE STOP LAMPS. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT WILL COST ME $100 TO GET THE WIRING CHECKED AND I WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF REPAIRS. IF THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH THE LIGHTING I BELIEVE THAT THE TESTING SHOULD BE AT NO COST. FAILURE OF THE STOP LAMPS PUTS MY FAMILY AT SERIOUS RISK OF INJURY IF VEHICLES BEHIND ME ARE NOT ABLE TO KNOW THAT I AM STOPPING. THE HIGHMOUNT LIGHTS,FLASHERS,BACK UP LIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS ARE NOT AFFECTED...ONLY THE LOWER STOP LAMPS. I ALSO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH MULTI FUNCTION TURN SIGNAL SWITCH BEING LOOSE ON STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE PURCHASED THE PART BUT HAVE NOT HAD IT INSTALLED AS OF THE DATE OF THIS LETTER. WHEN ENGAGING THE SWITCH TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN MAKING A RIGHT TURN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/25/2008 - HUDSON, NH
I PURCHASED A USED 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA IN JUNE 2008. THE VEHICLE PASSED STATE REQUIRED INSPECTION WITH NO ISSUES. ON 9/19/08 THE STOP LAMPS UNEXPECTEDLY BLEW ALL FOUR BULBS AND THE STOP LAMPS NOW DO NOT WORK AT ALL EVEN WITH NEW BULBS INSTALLED. UPON DOING INTERNET SEARCH FOR CAUSES AND REPAIR SOLUTIONS, I FOUND THAT THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL IN 2001 REGARDING STOP LAMP/HAZARD FLASHER SWITCH FAILURES. I CALLED A LOCAL DEALER AND THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE HAZARD FLASHER SWITCH HAD BEEN REPLACED DURING THE FIRST RECALL AND THEY COULD NOT DO THE REPAIR AGAIN, HOWEVER, I ALSO FOUND THAT A NEW RECALL HAD BEEN ISSUED IN 2008 FOR THE SAME ISSUE. I HAVE REPLACED THE BULBS AND STOP LAMP SWITCH WITH NO RESOLUTION TO THE FAILURE OF THE STOP LAMPS. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT WILL COST ME $100 TO GET THE WIRING CHECKED AND I WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF REPAIRS. IF THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH THE LIGHTING I BELIEVE THAT THE TESTING SHOULD BE AT NO COST. FAILURE OF THE STOP LAMPS PUTS MY FAMILY AT SERIOUS RISK OF INJURY IF VEHICLES BEHIND ME ARE NOT ABLE TO KNOW THAT I AM STOPPING. THE HIGHMOUNT LIGHTS,FLASHERS,BACK UP LIGHTS AND TURN SIGNALS ARE NOT AFFECTED...ONLY THE LOWER STOP LAMPS. I ALSO HAVE AN ISSUE WITH MULTI FUNCTION TURN SIGNAL SWITCH BEING LOOSE ON STEERING COLUMN. I HAVE PURCHASED THE PART BUT HAVE NOT HAD IT INSTALLED AS OF THE DATE OF THIS LETTER. WHEN ENGAGING THE SWITCH TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON. THIS ONLY HAPPENS WHEN MAKING A RIGHT TURN.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM

7/28/2008 - LYNN, MA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2000 OLDSMOBILE BRAVADA. THE CONTACT HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE MUFFLER. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS INSPECTED BY A MECHANIC, HE WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION MOUNT CROSS MEMBER OF THE FRAME WAS ROTTED AND READY TO BREAK LOOSE. THE CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGES WERE 85,000. UPDATED 09/23/08 THE CONSUMER ALSO STATED THERE WAS A GASKET LEAK IN THE EXHAUST. UPDATED 09/25/08.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds