Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA - 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 61 complaints filed for the 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (2) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Power Train (6) Steering (1) Tires (8) Visibility (7)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/25/2010 - COATESVILLE, PA
THIS ITEM IS NOT A TOTAL FAILURE YET BUT IS HEADED IN THAT DIRECTION. THE POWER STEERING HOSE IS LEAKING FLUID WHERE IT JOINS THE RACK AND PINION STEERING ASSEMBLY. WHEN THE FLUID ALL LEAKS OUT I WILL HAVE NO POWER ASSIST IN MY STEERING AND IT COULD COME AT ANY MOMENT. MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER ( DEL TOYOTA IN THORNDALE, PA) REPORTED THIS PROBLEM TO ME WHILE THIS CAR WAS BEING SERVICED FOR AN OIL CHANGE. I HAVE NOT HAD IT REPAIRED YET. A NEIGHBOR OF MINE TOLD ME THAT HE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH HIS TOYOTA AVALON WHICH WAS A COUPLE OF YEARS OLDER THAN MY CAR. I AM REPORTING THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE MAYBE TOYOTAS IN MY AGE REGION ARE ALSO EXPERIENCING THIS SAME PROBLEM AND TOYOTA IS NOT ADMITTING TO A COMPONENT WEAKNESS IN THE POWER STEERING AREA AND MIGHT EVENTUALLY AGREE TO FIX IT. I HAVE NOTICED RECALLS OF CARS UP TO AROUND 10-15 YEARS OLD WHERE THE PROBLEMS MANIFEST THEMSELVES OVER EXTENDED TIME PERIODS.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/20/2010 - HILLSBORO, OH
IN A FRONT END COLLISION AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. CAR DEMOLISHED 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/12/2010 - EVANSVILLE, IN
WIFE WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE. CAR HAD ALMOST COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, SHE WAS ABOUT TO PUT CAR IN PARK AND SET HANDBRAKE AND CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN TO A BRING WALL. SHE CRACK C1 AND C2 VERTEBRAE AND WAS IN THE HOSPITAL FOR 5 DAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2010 - ACTON, MA
I HAD A VERY TROUBLING ISSUE WITH MY 2000 TOYOTA SOLARA LAST WEEK. THE WIRING TO THE INSIDE FAN BLOWER MOTOR OVERHEATED, WAS SMOKING BADLY AND NEARLY STARTED A FIRE IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR. LUCKILY I STOPPED THE CAR BEFORE THINGS GOT OUT OF HAND. I HAD THE WIRING AND THE VERY BADLY CORRODED RESISTOR REPLACED (P/N 20238) AT A COST TO ME OF $254.07. DOES NHTSA HAVE THIS ISSUE ON RECORD AS A SAFETY RECALL?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/23/2010 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
2000 TOYOTA SOLARA SE GAS PEDAL STICKS. HARD TO STEP ON IT. CAR JERKS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/23/2010 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
2000 TOYOTA SOLARA SE GAS PEDAL STICKS. HARD TO STEP ON IT. CAR JERKS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/11/2010 - ESSEX, MD
I HAVE A 2000 TOYOTA SOLARA AND I JUST GOT MY BRAKES DONE AND IT WAS LIKE I NEVER EVEN HAD THEM REPLACED THERE GRINDING MY VEHICLE IS HARD TO STOP THEY SQUEAK AND NOW MY IGNITION SWITCH IS BROKE WHEN I PURCHASE THE VEHICLE THEY TOLD ME I HAD TO MAKE ANOTHER KEY I MADE 2 BUT ITS THE SAME CONSISTENT PROBLEM NOBODY IS TAKING THIS MATTER SERIOUS AND IT REALLY IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION TO BE IN ESPECIALLY WITH YOUNGER AGE CHILDREN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

3/11/2010 - ESSEX, MD
I HAVE A 2000 TOYOTA SOLARA AND I JUST GOT MY BRAKES DONE AND IT WAS LIKE I NEVER EVEN HAD THEM REPLACED THERE GRINDING MY VEHICLE IS HARD TO STOP THEY SQUEAK AND NOW MY IGNITION SWITCH IS BROKE WHEN I PURCHASE THE VEHICLE THEY TOLD ME I HAD TO MAKE ANOTHER KEY I MADE 2 BUT ITS THE SAME CONSISTENT PROBLEM NOBODY IS TAKING THIS MATTER SERIOUS AND IT REALLY IS A DANGEROUS SITUATION TO BE IN ESPECIALLY WITH YOUNGER AGE CHILDREN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/26/2010 - WILMINGTON, DE
OWNER OF 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY-SOLARA WAS ENTERING A MARVIN'S MARKET. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ENTER THE PARKING LOT HER VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED FOR APPROX. 55-60' AND CRASHED INTO THE MARVIN MARKET STOREFRONT PLATE GLASS WINDOWS. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED INTO THE MARVIN MARKET STRIKING A PERSON INSIDE THE STORE. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED THROUGH THE STORE AND STRUCK A SECOND PERSON INSIDE THE STORE. THE VEHICLE CAME TO A REST INSIDE THE STORE AND ON TOP OF THE SECOND PERSON THAT WAS STRUCK. THE DRIVER OF THE VEHICLE STATED TO THE RESPONDING POLICE OFFICER THAT THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND SHE IMMEDIATELY JAMMED HER FOOT ON THE BRAKES WITH NO SUCCESS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

2/18/2010 - RAPID CITY, SD
2000 TOYOTA SOLARA SLE CONV/2DR. I HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT MY BRAKES FOR YEARS. THEY SAY NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THEM. BUT THERE IS. SOMETIMES I CAN'T STOP/SLOW DOWN I FEEL I HAVE NO BRAKES. OR COULD IT BE THE GAS PEDAL. I HAVE DIFFERENT FLOOR MATS IN THE VEHICLE BUT IT STILL DOES IT. IT HAPPENS ONCE IN AWHILE. I LET A FRIEND DRIVE IT FOR AWHILE AND IT HAPPENED TO HIM. I TELL PEOPLE IF SOMETHING HAPPENS TO ME IN MY VEHICLE IT WOULD BE BECAUSE OF NO BRAKES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds