Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA - 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Power Train (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (9) Tires (8)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/1/2016 - NEW BEDFORD, MA
2000 TOYOTA SOLARA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIRBAGS NEVER DEPLOYED DURING VEHICLE ACCIDENT. THE CONSUMER WAS REAR ENDED, WHILE STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/14/2016 - YUBA CITY, CA
AM EXPERIENCING SLUDGE BUILD UP IN THE ENGINE OF MY 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THIS VEHICLE WAS A PREVIOUSLY OWNED WHEN I PURCHASED IT ON MARCH 17, 2016. AT TIME OF PURCHASE I REQUESTED A CARFAX REPORT. MY CHOICE TO PURCHASE WAS MADE UPON REPORT DETAILS I.E. REPAIR & MAINTENANCE RECORDS, INCLUDING ROUTINE OIL CHANGES. THE CARFAX REPORT SPECIFIED ALL PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE HAD BEEN APPLIED TO THIS VEHICLE AND WAS UP TO DATE. THERE WERE NO KNOWN MANUFACTURE RECALLS AND/OR ISSUES ON THIS VEHICLE. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE I WAS UNAWARE OF ANY TROUBLESOME ISSUES ON THIS MAKE & MODEL, NOR WITH ITS ENGINE MODEL. AFTER MY OWN EXTENSIVE RESEARCH BEFORE SHOPPING FOR MY 2ND PREOWNED TOYOTA I NEVER DID COME ACROSS ANY SUCH INFORMATION REGARDING PROBLEMS/RECALLS & WOULD HAVE NEVER MADE THIS PURCHASE. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A TOYOTA FAN & AM VERY DISPLEASED WITH THE ENGINE SLUDGE PROBLEMS I LATER DISCOVERED AND ALSO THE FACT THAT THE DEALERSHIP WHICH SOLD ME THIS PREOWNED TOYOTA COVERED UP & PROVIDED ME WITH A FALSE CARFAX REPORT. I HAVE MY PROOF OF ROUTINE OIL CHANGES + THE CARFAX REPORT SHOWING ALL PREVIOUS OWNERS(2) ALSO MADE ROUTINE OIL CHANGES. I FEEL I AM A VICTIM OF A MANUFACTURES DEFAULT IN THIS ENGINE MODEL. I HAVE OWNED MY PREOWNED TOYOTA FOR ONLY 5 MONTHS AND FOR THE LAST 2 MONTHS I HAVE HAD IT SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY DUE TO ONGOING ENGINE TROUBLES I AM UNABLE TO TEND TO FINANCIALLY & DO NOT WISH TO DO ANY FURTHER DAMAGE TO IT. I AM GREATLY DISAPPOINTED. DEBORAH A. BANKS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/14/2016 - YUBA CITY, CA
AM EXPERIENCING SLUDGE BUILD UP IN THE ENGINE OF MY 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THIS VEHICLE WAS A PREVIOUSLY OWNED WHEN I PURCHASED IT ON MARCH 17, 2016. AT TIME OF PURCHASE I REQUESTED A CARFAX REPORT. MY CHOICE TO PURCHASE WAS MADE UPON REPORT DETAILS I.E. REPAIR & MAINTENANCE RECORDS, INCLUDING ROUTINE OIL CHANGES. THE CARFAX REPORT SPECIFIED ALL PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE HAD BEEN APPLIED TO THIS VEHICLE AND WAS UP TO DATE. THERE WERE NO KNOWN MANUFACTURE RECALLS AND/OR ISSUES ON THIS VEHICLE. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE I WAS UNAWARE OF ANY TROUBLESOME ISSUES ON THIS MAKE & MODEL, NOR WITH ITS ENGINE MODEL. AFTER MY OWN EXTENSIVE RESEARCH BEFORE SHOPPING FOR MY 2ND PREOWNED TOYOTA I NEVER DID COME ACROSS ANY SUCH INFORMATION REGARDING PROBLEMS/RECALLS & WOULD HAVE NEVER MADE THIS PURCHASE. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A TOYOTA FAN & AM VERY DISPLEASED WITH THE ENGINE SLUDGE PROBLEMS I LATER DISCOVERED AND ALSO THE FACT THAT THE DEALERSHIP WHICH SOLD ME THIS PREOWNED TOYOTA COVERED UP & PROVIDED ME WITH A FALSE CARFAX REPORT. I HAVE MY PROOF OF ROUTINE OIL CHANGES + THE CARFAX REPORT SHOWING ALL PREVIOUS OWNERS(2) ALSO MADE ROUTINE OIL CHANGES. I FEEL I AM A VICTIM OF A MANUFACTURES DEFAULT IN THIS ENGINE MODEL. I HAVE OWNED MY PREOWNED TOYOTA FOR ONLY 5 MONTHS AND FOR THE LAST 2 MONTHS I HAVE HAD IT SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY DUE TO ONGOING ENGINE TROUBLES I AM UNABLE TO TEND TO FINANCIALLY & DO NOT WISH TO DO ANY FURTHER DAMAGE TO IT. I AM GREATLY DISAPPOINTED. DEBORAH A. BANKS

View Details

ENGINE

8/14/2016 - YUBA CITY, CA
AM EXPERIENCING SLUDGE BUILD UP IN THE ENGINE OF MY 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. THIS VEHICLE WAS A PREVIOUSLY OWNED WHEN I PURCHASED IT ON MARCH 17, 2016. AT TIME OF PURCHASE I REQUESTED A CARFAX REPORT. MY CHOICE TO PURCHASE WAS MADE UPON REPORT DETAILS I.E. REPAIR & MAINTENANCE RECORDS, INCLUDING ROUTINE OIL CHANGES. THE CARFAX REPORT SPECIFIED ALL PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE HAD BEEN APPLIED TO THIS VEHICLE AND WAS UP TO DATE. THERE WERE NO KNOWN MANUFACTURE RECALLS AND/OR ISSUES ON THIS VEHICLE. AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE I WAS UNAWARE OF ANY TROUBLESOME ISSUES ON THIS MAKE & MODEL, NOR WITH ITS ENGINE MODEL. AFTER MY OWN EXTENSIVE RESEARCH BEFORE SHOPPING FOR MY 2ND PREOWNED TOYOTA I NEVER DID COME ACROSS ANY SUCH INFORMATION REGARDING PROBLEMS/RECALLS & WOULD HAVE NEVER MADE THIS PURCHASE. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A TOYOTA FAN & AM VERY DISPLEASED WITH THE ENGINE SLUDGE PROBLEMS I LATER DISCOVERED AND ALSO THE FACT THAT THE DEALERSHIP WHICH SOLD ME THIS PREOWNED TOYOTA COVERED UP & PROVIDED ME WITH A FALSE CARFAX REPORT. I HAVE MY PROOF OF ROUTINE OIL CHANGES + THE CARFAX REPORT SHOWING ALL PREVIOUS OWNERS(2) ALSO MADE ROUTINE OIL CHANGES. I FEEL I AM A VICTIM OF A MANUFACTURES DEFAULT IN THIS ENGINE MODEL. I HAVE OWNED MY PREOWNED TOYOTA FOR ONLY 5 MONTHS AND FOR THE LAST 2 MONTHS I HAVE HAD IT SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY DUE TO ONGOING ENGINE TROUBLES I AM UNABLE TO TEND TO FINANCIALLY & DO NOT WISH TO DO ANY FURTHER DAMAGE TO IT. I AM GREATLY DISAPPOINTED. DEBORAH A. BANKS

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2016 - HALEDON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH AND APPROACHING A STOP LIGHT, THE BRAKES FAILED AND THE CONTACT REAR ENDED THE PRECEDING VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED CHEST INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/21/2015 - BEAUMONT, TX
HOOD LATCH BRACKET BROKE.

View Details

STEERING

12/25/2010 - COATESVILLE, PA
THIS ITEM IS NOT A TOTAL FAILURE YET BUT IS HEADED IN THAT DIRECTION. THE POWER STEERING HOSE IS LEAKING FLUID WHERE IT JOINS THE RACK AND PINION STEERING ASSEMBLY. WHEN THE FLUID ALL LEAKS OUT I WILL HAVE NO POWER ASSIST IN MY STEERING AND IT COULD COME AT ANY MOMENT. MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER ( DEL TOYOTA IN THORNDALE, PA) REPORTED THIS PROBLEM TO ME WHILE THIS CAR WAS BEING SERVICED FOR AN OIL CHANGE. I HAVE NOT HAD IT REPAIRED YET. A NEIGHBOR OF MINE TOLD ME THAT HE EXPERIENCED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH HIS TOYOTA AVALON WHICH WAS A COUPLE OF YEARS OLDER THAN MY CAR. I AM REPORTING THIS PROBLEM BECAUSE MAYBE TOYOTAS IN MY AGE REGION ARE ALSO EXPERIENCING THIS SAME PROBLEM AND TOYOTA IS NOT ADMITTING TO A COMPONENT WEAKNESS IN THE POWER STEERING AREA AND MIGHT EVENTUALLY AGREE TO FIX IT. I HAVE NOTICED RECALLS OF CARS UP TO AROUND 10-15 YEARS OLD WHERE THE PROBLEMS MANIFEST THEMSELVES OVER EXTENDED TIME PERIODS.

View Details

AIR BAGS: FRONTAL

8/20/2010 - HILLSBORO, OH
IN A FRONT END COLLISION AND THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. CAR DEMOLISHED 2000 TOYOTA CAMRY SOLARA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/12/2010 - EVANSVILLE, IN
WIFE WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE. CAR HAD ALMOST COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, SHE WAS ABOUT TO PUT CAR IN PARK AND SET HANDBRAKE AND CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED IN TO A BRING WALL. SHE CRACK C1 AND C2 VERTEBRAE AND WAS IN THE HOSPITAL FOR 5 DAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2010 - ACTON, MA
I HAD A VERY TROUBLING ISSUE WITH MY 2000 TOYOTA SOLARA LAST WEEK. THE WIRING TO THE INSIDE FAN BLOWER MOTOR OVERHEATED, WAS SMOKING BADLY AND NEARLY STARTED A FIRE IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR. LUCKILY I STOPPED THE CAR BEFORE THINGS GOT OUT OF HAND. I HAD THE WIRING AND THE VERY BADLY CORRODED RESISTOR REPLACED (P/N 20238) AT A COST TO ME OF $254.07. DOES NHTSA HAVE THIS ISSUE ON RECORD AS A SAFETY RECALL?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds