Auto Recalls for Consumers

VOLVO S80 - 2000 VOLVO S80 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Volvo Car USA LLC

There are 316 complaints filed for the 2000 VOLVO S80

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2000 VOLVO S80. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2000 VOLVO S80, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Exterior Lighting (8) Parking Brake (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (1)
Electrical System (53) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Power Train (24) Service Brakes Hydraulic (21) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Seat Belts (4) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (93)
Engine (4) Fuel System Other (3) Seats (2) Structure (5) Visibility (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (72) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (34) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (2) Other (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

9/11/2018 - MIDDLETOWN, NJ
I WANT TO MAKE YOU AWARE OF A VERY SERIOUS CAR ACCIDENT THAT MY MOTHER HAD ON 9-5-18. SHE WAS DRIVING HER 2000 VOLVO S80 WHEN HER CAR BEGAN TO ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN. SHE WAS NOT ABLE TO CONTROL THE CAR. MY MOM HAD HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE BUT THAT DID NOT STOP THE VEHICLE. UNFORTUNATELY, AT THAT POINT THE CAR WAS OUT OF CONTROL HITTING AND BANGING UP ALL THE CARS AROUND IT. THEN THE CAR FINALLY SMASHED INTO ANOTHER CAR STOPPING THE OUT OF CONTROL CAR. MY MOM WAS SERIOUSLY HURT AND TAKEN TO THE HOSPITAL. SHE HAD EMERGENCY SURGERY TO REPAIR HER AORTA THAT TORE FROM THE CRASH. SHE ALSO BROKE HER STERNUM. I AM DEVASTATED BY WHAT HAPPENED TO MY MOM. I FEEL THAT IT IS EXTREMELY IMPORTANT THAT YOU AND VOLVO ARE MADE AWARE OF THIS TRAGIC SITUATION THAT OCCURRED BY THIS VOLVO S80.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/22/2015 - TEMPE, AZ
VEHICLE HAS THE SMELL OF FUEL. THE 2001-2005 MODELS HAVE A RECALL FOR THIS SAME ISSUE BECAUSE OF THE PLASTIC ON THE FUEL PUMP FLANGE CRACKING. MANY OWNERS OF THE 2000 MODELS ARE REPORTING THIS ISSUE. THE FUEL PUMP IS THE SAME USED ON THE 2000 YEAR MODEL AS THE 2001-2005 SO THE 2000 SHOULD BE PART OF THE RECALL ALSO. THE SMELL OF FUEL IS NOT JUST UNPLEASANT BUT DANGEROUS. I HAVE A 11 MONTH OLD SON WHO RIDES IN MY CAR AND IT WOULD BE TRAGIC IF SOMETHING HAPPENED TO MY FAMILY OR SOMEONE ELSE. YOU CAN SEARCH GOOGLE AND SEE MANY OTHER OWNERS REPORTING ISSUES IN THE 2000 MODEL VOLVO S80. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS. THANK YOU!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/7/2015 - MERCED, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CAR LIGHTS AND ALL THE ELECTRONIC STOP WORKING AND TURN OFF

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/7/2015 - MERCED, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CAR LIGHTS AND ALL THE ELECTRONIC STOP WORKING AND TURN OFF

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2015 - MERCED, CA
I WAS DRIVING AND MY CAR LIGHTS AND ALL THE ELECTRONIC STOP WORKING AND TURN OFF

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/14/2015 - ELIZABETH, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2000 VOLVO S80. THE CONTACT NOTICED A FUEL ODOR NEAR THE REAR SEAT OF THE VEHICLE AND THE FUEL GAUGE INDICATOR DRASTICALLY DECREASED. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF FUEL LEAKING ON THE GROUND NEAR THE REAR SIDE OF THE VEHICLE UNDER THE FUEL TANK. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL PUMP FLANGE WAS CRACKED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED FROM NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 09V483000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATE 01/15/16 MA UPDATED 02/04/16. UPDATED 03/04/16 UPDATED 03/14/16.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

3/27/2015 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
MY DRIVER SEAT BELT JUST LOCKED UP AND I AM UNABLE TO GET IT TO RELEASE. ALL OF THE HOUSING INSIDE CAR APPEARS TO BE CRACKING. I HAVE HAD THE TWO FRONT WINDOWS REPAIRED OVER AND OVER AGAIN. AND NOW I CAN'T EVEN LET MY FRONT WINDOWS DOWN. I HAVE ALSO PAID TO HAVE THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIRED. NOT TO MENTION HOW MANY TIMES I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE O2 SENSORS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/27/2015 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
MY DRIVER SEAT BELT JUST LOCKED UP AND I AM UNABLE TO GET IT TO RELEASE. ALL OF THE HOUSING INSIDE CAR APPEARS TO BE CRACKING. I HAVE HAD THE TWO FRONT WINDOWS REPAIRED OVER AND OVER AGAIN. AND NOW I CAN'T EVEN LET MY FRONT WINDOWS DOWN. I HAVE ALSO PAID TO HAVE THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIRED. NOT TO MENTION HOW MANY TIMES I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE O2 SENSORS.

View Details

VISIBILITY

3/27/2015 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
MY DRIVER SEAT BELT JUST LOCKED UP AND I AM UNABLE TO GET IT TO RELEASE. ALL OF THE HOUSING INSIDE CAR APPEARS TO BE CRACKING. I HAVE HAD THE TWO FRONT WINDOWS REPAIRED OVER AND OVER AGAIN. AND NOW I CAN'T EVEN LET MY FRONT WINDOWS DOWN. I HAVE ALSO PAID TO HAVE THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIRED. NOT TO MENTION HOW MANY TIMES I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE O2 SENSORS.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

10/14/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WITHIN THE PAST FEW DAYS, I'VE GOTTEN MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE FOUL SMELL OF GASOLINE LINGERING ON MY VEHICLE. SURE ENOUGH, I TAKE IT TO A MECHANIC AND THE FUEL PUMP IS VISIBLY MOIST ON THE EXTERIOR FROM AN OBVIOUS FUEL LEAKAGE. I RESEARCHED "VOLVO S80 FUEL PUMP" AND FOUND A RECALL IS IN PLACE. THE RECALL STARTS FROM 2001 MODELS AND RANGES UP TO 2005 MODELS AND IS DUE TO THE MATERIAL USED IN THE FUEL PUMP (RECALL CAMPAIGN 09V-483). SINCE MY VEHICLE IS A 2000 MODEL, MY LOCAL VOLVO DEALERSHIP SAID "I DO NOT MEET THE QUALIFICATIONS". MY CONCERN IS IF THE MATERIAL USED IN THE ASSEMBLY OF THE FUEL PUMP CHANGED FROM S80 2000 TO 2001 MODELS. I WOULD LIKE TO BE NOTIFIED WHAT MATERIAL WAS USED FOR S80 2000 MODELS VERSUS THE MATERIAL USED FOR S80 2001 MODELS AND MAKE SURE THAT THE MATERIAL FOR S80 2000 MODELS "MAY NOT DEVELOP CRACKS DUE TO EXPOSURE TO CERTAIN ENVIRONMENTAL CONDITIONS AND VARYING FUEL QUALITY" AS DOES THE S80 2001 MATERIAL. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds